Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
7:00am - 10:00pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
MSM Pellets by SmartPak
SmartPak Equine — Item #14588
  • MORE VIEWS
  SmartPaks Over $40 Ship Free!
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
DAILY DOSE SMARTPAKS

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

Supports a healthy inflammatory response

  • 10,000 mg of MSM, a naturally occurring sulfur compound with well-known benefits
  • Research has shown that MSM protects tissues against the damaging effects of exercise and stress
MSM for horses is now available in tasty pellets! MSM is a naturally occurring sulfur compound known for its ability to help horses with stiffness and discomfort associated with exercise and normal daily activity. In addition, this economical supplement may help with itchy skin due to environmental or seasonal conditions, and may also help maintain normal respiratory function. Research has shown that MSM protects tissues against the damaging effects of exercise and stress. MSM Pellets by SmartPak provide 10,000 mg of 99% pure MSM (Methylsulfonylmethane) in a tasty pellet that horses love!

View our Joint Supplement Comparison Chart

View Our Comfort Supplements Comparison Chart

View our Respiratory Supplement Comparison Chart

Ingredients

Active Ingredients per 20 g:
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoop (20g) daily)
  • Methylsulfonylmethane (MSM)
    99% (10,000 mg)
Inactive Ingredients:: Alfalfa meal, Lignin sulfate, Natural and Artificial Flavors.

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Horse Weight Recommended Amount
Under 500 lbs. 0.5 scoops
500 – 1000 lbs. 1 scoop
1000 – 1500 lbs. 1 scoop
Over 1500 lbs. 1.5 scoops
Directions for Use: Administer 20 g daily, 1 scoop = 20 g.

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "GLC 5500 can support healthy joints in horses. ...
    Description:
    "GLC 5500 can support healthy joints in horses. GLC 5500 helps defend against the daily wear and tear that training and competing cause to joint tissues. This patented formula includes four sources of bioavailable glucosamine. GLC 5500 has been clinically ...
    "Hyaluronex® is a highly concentrated liquid equine joint ...
    Description:
    "Hyaluronex® is a highly concentrated liquid equine joint supplement that delivers bioactive hyaluronan. More important to professional equine enthusiasts, Hyaluronex provides the premium ingredient MHB3 Hyaluronan, now covered by six United States Patents. The unique formulation for Hyaluronex is tailored ...
    "The original oral hyaluronic acid joint supplement for ...
    Description:
    "The original oral hyaluronic acid joint supplement for horses, in a flavored oral supplement. HA is a substance that helps maintain normal, healthy joints. Conquer Gel is veterinarian-researched, developed, and tested to ensure quality. Suitable for all breeds, sports, and ...
    "SmartGain is the weight gain solution you have ...
    Description:
    "SmartGain is the weight gain solution you have been looking for, with four complementary methods of support! This comprehensive formula provides amino acids to support lean muscle development, extra calories from healthy fats, prebiotics, probiotics, and enzymes for digestive health, ...
    "SmartCalm Ultra Paste is a comprehensive, herb-free formula ...
    Description:
    "SmartCalm Ultra Paste is a comprehensive, herb-free formula that supports proper nervous system function, helping to manage stress and anxiety in skittish horses. This convenient paste is ideal for providing extra support in new situations and during times of stress. ...
    "In addition to providing key ingredients for healthy ...
    Description:
    "In addition to providing key ingredients for healthy joints, Recovery EQ was developed to support healthy circulation, aid in normal healing, and help combat tissue stress. The primary active ingredient of this unique formula is Nutricol®, a potent blend of ...
    "Antioxidants may help your horse's body fight the ...
    Description:
    "Antioxidants may help your horse's body fight the damaging effects of free radicals and oxidative stress. SmartAntioxidant Pellets are a potent, cost-effective antioxidant formula containing vitamin C, vitamin E, grape seed extract, super oxide dismutase and citrus bioflavonoids. SmartAntioxidant Pellets ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    MSM Pellets by SmartPak is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 363.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Too soon to tell I started supplementing my gelding who has a thoroughpin. I am hoping that it will alleviate the swelling of his tissue on his back hock. It is too soon to know if it is working as I have not seen any dramatic change yet.
    Date published: 2016-12-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from my horse eats this well i am so far happy with the results of this product
    Date published: 2016-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Barn staple MSM is a staple in my barn. Smart MSM makes it easy and the horses, even picky ones love it.
    Date published: 2016-11-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very palatable for my picky eater. I bought the MSM pellets because my horse would not eat the loafers I had tried. He loved the pellets and they seem to help give him some relief from his DSLD.
    Date published: 2016-11-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from MSM pellets Love the pellets, easy to dispense and can simply be added to my other grain.
    Date published: 2016-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Great Product, very effective on my 29 year old gelding.
    Date published: 2016-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value! My older mare seemed to really benefit from this product. I tried it in conjunction with another powder joint supplement (which she didn't really care for) that didn't include MSM. I decided to switch to smartflex senior as it was cheaper than both combined, but would highly recommend it for a maintenance joint supplement.
    Date published: 2016-08-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Job! Use this for my mare that was diagnosed with EPM before I bought her. She is free of EPM, however I just want to give her system a boost, so this was recommend for horses that had EPM. She loves it, that's whats important!
    Date published: 2016-08-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to feed! My gelding has been on MSM pellets for a month. His heaves have been improving over that time. Although he takes other supplements and medication, I did notice an improvement since starting MSM. It's easy to feed and is great tasting.
    Date published: 2016-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Results Bought this as a recommendation for horses that had EPM, my Mare has no signs of it, although It's highly recommend she stay on MSM.
    Date published: 2016-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love MSM smartpaks bought MSM for my mares..they love the pellets and smartpaks makes it easy to ensure you are giving the correct amount daily
    Date published: 2016-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I'm glad I got the product. Even my shoer noticed a difference in my horses movememt. She's a great horse and I need to keep here healthy and happy!
    Date published: 2016-05-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great product, Does not last I bought this product on 3/24/16. My horse was the only one receiving the loading dose (one scoop that was included once a day). I was the one making up his food. I found that it did not last the 56 days but is already gone. I started a few days after the order was placed so roughly 3/27 was his first dose. It was gone by 4/27. I love this product but hesitate to spend the money knowing it isn't going to last the full time.
    Date published: 2016-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love that it is a pellet!! I love that this comes in a pellet & is easy to feed.
    Date published: 2016-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from MSM our horses will eat I have not had success giving powdered supplements or granular MSM, but they both eat this with their maintenance grain. It can help joints and hopefully help some with inflammation in our older horse's lungs or "heaves"
    Date published: 2016-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definitely see improvement MSM pellets have really helped my pony during show season. He is less sore and even his hooves are stronger. Hopefully keeping him on these will see even more improvement. Great and affordable supplement
    Date published: 2016-04-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to feed for a picky eater I started my mare on this product a little over a month ago. She's an extremely picky eater and eats a pelleted feed, so this product is perfect for her!! I highly recommend!!
    Date published: 2016-04-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from MSM Pellets are the best! My horse loves them, super easy to feed. He thinks they're a treat! No more messy powder to deal with.
    Date published: 2016-04-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No More Cracking I bought this product almost two months ago for my 10 year old Paint mare. She was a little stiff and even lunging in the round pen she would snap, crackle, and pop. Although I have used her in the past for local team penning competitions, she really was used mostly for trail riding, so it seemed odd to me that she would be having joint issues already at her age. None the less, I decided to try a joint supplement on her. I didn't know if I should spend my money on the more expensive supplements because although she was a little stiff, she didn't have chronic joint or lameness issues.I decided to take my chances on a cheaper supplement based on the reviews of MSM by SmartPak and I am so glad that I did! Although it took a solid month to see the difference, I no longer hear cracking as my horse moves about and she has become much more supple and flexible. I have been stretching her as well so I am sure that helps, but the snaps and cracks are gone!I would definitely recommend this supplement for those who are looking to prevent joint issues and fix minor ones like my mare had. Give the supplement at least a solid month to work. I can not speak on how the supplement would work on extremely bad joints, but I can say with confidence that this will work for younger horses with beginning stages of joint and stiffness issues.**Oh and as a side note .. My mare is VERY finicky with what she eats (there are days she wont eat an apple because it smells different) and she eats this no problem with either her grain or a little alfalfa pellets.
    Date published: 2016-04-12
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not sure if it is working My ottb has been on this for 1.5 months now because her hocks were stiff (only noticeable when hoof picking her hind legs) and nothing has changed so far. If I don't see any results in the next couple weeks I am going to try a supplement with glucosamine instead.
    Date published: 2016-04-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Results I use this product in addition to the SmartFlex Senior as I wanted a little more MSM than what that product offered. Having a white pony, he's prone to goopy eyes and a few other ailments that MSM can help plus a little extra for his joints couldn't hurt either. I've been pleasantly surprised with this so far. My pony hates powders, but has never had a problem eating every bit of these pellets. Plus the results in his eyes alone speak for themself.
    Date published: 2016-03-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2016-03-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pleasant surprise and great results. Mostly... I've had my 21 yr old TB gelding on this for two months in an attempt to alleviate mild stiffness out of the stall and to support his hocks and stifles. This is the only supplement that was added and there were no changes in work or environment during this time. It was a cool winter but the temps stayed steady without major fluctuations. Here's our result:Day 1 - 3: no significant changeDay 4 - 14: He appeared "brighter" and more energetic & vibrant over the week, if even a little hot, possibly from feeling good. Hock action on longe was improved.Weeks three and four: Much more forward, started to use himself better, worked out of his normal stiffness in about 15 mins instead of the usual 20. Seemed jittery and overly alert but still manageable.Month 2: Solid works with good forward movement and getting his lofty trot back, skin issues/propensity for rain-rot seem diminished. Jitters subsiding but still noticeable. Has become a royal nuisance in the pasture bugging all the younger horses and wanting to play. Sighh. Can't have it all.
    Date published: 2016-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from MSM pellets by Smart Pak I bought this over s month ago! Very happy with this..my pony is picky eater when it comes to suppliments ! These are tasty to him... He eats them with his grain!! When he shows signs of discomfort after s ride..these really help !!
    Date published: 2016-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ponies like it These are affordable pellets your horse is likely to eat.
    Date published: 2016-03-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from easy to use
    Date published: 2016-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great Works and horses don't even notice its there, highly recommend
    Date published: 2016-02-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Working great on my horse I bought this 2 months ago and I have seen substantial changes
    Date published: 2016-01-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from it works great for sophie. she even eats the pellets. she is very picky
    Date published: 2016-01-04
    • y_2017, m_4, d_22, h_9
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_53, tr_310
    • loc_en_US, sid_4588, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders