Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Magnesium 5,000

Med-Vet Pharmaceuticals (MVP) — Item #18286
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
SmartSuggestion Bucket (Learn why)
  • MORE VIEWS
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
Choose size & ship frequency
DAILY DOSES Top Pick

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

AutoShip & Save
You'll love our AutoShip because it's:
  • Focused on healthy , because consistency is key
  • Easy to snooze or cancel online, anytime
  • Totally flexible - edit your order as often as you'd like
  • Your VIP pass to FREE SmartPerks benefits
PLUS! You'll save 5% on every shipment if you order this product on AutoShip
The frequency you selected is not eligible for SmartPerks benefits that come with AutoShip supplement orders. In order to get benefits like free shipping and 10% off, set this product to ship at least every days. What are SmartPerks?
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer so you won't find it cheaper anywhere else. This also means we can't apply any further discounts or promotions

Supports a healthy nervous system & muscles

  • Provides 5,000 mg of magnesium

Ingredients

Guaranteed Analysis:
(Maintenance Dose = 1 scoop (56.7 grams) daily)
Ingredient Per Serving Per Pound
Crude Protein, Min 7,380 mg 13%
Crude Fat, Min. 3,400 mg 6.0%
Crude Fiber, Max. 5,680 mg 10%
Magnesium, Min. 5,000 mg 8.82%
Ingredient Statement: Wheat middlings, rice bran, magnesium oxide, mangesium proteinate, soybean oil, calcium propionate, natural and artificial flavors.

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Feeding Directions: (Enclosed measure approximates 2 oz) Adult Horses (900-1,100lbs): Maintenance: Provide 2 ounces daily. Working/Performance: Provide 2-4 ounces daily.
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Four supplements in one product. Joint, hoof, coat, ...
    Description:
    "Four supplements in one product. Joint, hoof, coat, and digestion. 4 in 1 contains 3,500 mg glucosamine, 1,000 mg chondroitin, 1,200 mg MSM, 16 mg biotin, 1,500 mg yucca, and omega 3 and 6 fatty acids. Apple-flavored powder. View our ...
    "Biotin II 22X is a super-concentrated pellet that ...
    Description:
    "Biotin II 22X is a super-concentrated pellet that contains 22 mg biotin, 1,895 mg methionine, 1,563 mg sulfur, amino acids, trace minerals, and live stabilized microbials for optimum feed utilization. Biotin II 22X provides sound nutrition and carefully balanced rations ...
    "D-Carb Balance is a multi-vitamin/mineral supplement formulated for ...
    Description:
    "D-Carb Balance is a multi-vitamin/mineral supplement formulated for horses predisposed to insulin resistance and/or an inability to metabolize high carbohydrate levels. D-Carb Balance is in a palatable pellet form with a rice bran base. Chromium and magnesium may help regulate ...
    "This herbal liquid mix helps to support a ...
    Description:
    "This herbal liquid mix helps to support a healthy, balanced hormonal and nervous system in mares throughout the year, or throughout the season. Some geldings or stallions may also benefit from this mix. Learn more about Hilton Herbs View our ...
    "Tired of losing shoes? Dry, broken, crumbly, or ...
    Description:
    "Tired of losing shoes? Dry, broken, crumbly, or cracked hooves? Try Grand Hoof. A concentrated 1 oz serving of Grand Hoof contains a blend of 5,000 mg of MSM, biotin, methionine, lysine, zinc, copper, B6, and probiotics. Delicious apple flavoring! ...
    "Omega Suregut is a fully comprehensive digestive supplement ...
    Description:
    "Omega Suregut is a fully comprehensive digestive supplement containing both probiotics and prebiotics. Both are crucial to help ensure the production of beneficial bacteria throughout the digestive tract. Omega Suregut is also formulated to include stabilized ground flaxseed, yeast, and ...
    "Perfect Prep EQ Extreme Paste is a proprietary ...
    Description:
    "Perfect Prep EQ Extreme Paste is a proprietary blend of natural ingredients that helps maintain relaxation and focus in horses under stressful conditions. Feed 90 minutes before performance or trailering; effects last 6-8 hours. Contains L-tryptophan, magnesium, thiamine (vitamin B1), ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Magnesium 5,000 is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 240.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the ease to feed Bought this supplement to help my mare's hooves. Can't wait to see if it helps. The daily prepackaged amount is the best. Makes giving it super easy.
    Date published: 2017-07-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to be working My horse eats this with other supplements with no problem. I got this on advice of my trainer. Seems to do the job.
    Date published: 2017-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing change in my paranoid/schizophrenic! My large pony developed Cushings and insulin resistance. He became dangerous with his paranoid/schizophrenic behavior (not common with Cushings).I have had him since he was born, and I could no longer catch and halter him in a corral without him frantically bolting away, running over me, and finally standing with every muscle on rigid alert. The magnesium was a miracle for him. He has become my sweet boy again, relaxed and affectionate. I wouldn't have believed it if I hadn't seen it with my own eyes.
    Date published: 2017-06-11
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Caused diarrhea I gave the suggested dosage for my 11 y/o ottb and within 1 day he got diarrhea. I called smartpak to see if diarrhea is ever a problem, and the representative said "no, we've never heard anything like that." I politely told her there was an old review on the website that complained about the supplement giving a horse "loose stool." After speaking with my vet, he said he would suspect diarrhea being caused by the magnesisum supplement. I immediately stopped using the supplement.
    Date published: 2017-06-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Simon has been on this for almost 2 months. I haven't seen any improvements.
    Date published: 2017-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good result This has helped my mare be less touchy while grooming
    Date published: 2017-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works I Have 2 mares that are nervous and have difficulty focusing on the cattle( we cut). I bought this product and to my surprise, it works!!! No more grinding their teeth more focused and alot calmer.
    Date published: 2017-05-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Product We have been using this for almost two months. We are happy with the results! Our horse is calmer and less explosive. Happy we tried this.
    Date published: 2017-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product and price Great product. Does exactly what i want it to do for my horse.
    Date published: 2017-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made a huge difference ... Put my 3 year race horse on this to address very strange skiddish behavior. I started thinking he may have a magnesium deficiency that was affecting his response system. After 2 months on this, he's much more relaxed on the cross ties and in his stall.
    Date published: 2017-04-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from I switched to this product as it was cheaper, but did not see the same results and switched back to the other product.
    Date published: 2017-04-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Magnesium 5000 excellent for sensitive mare! My mare is extremely sensitive and reactive during the winter months. I immediately noticed a difference once starting her on Magnesium 5,000. I will never go a winter without it again!
    Date published: 2017-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Supplement! Noticed a difference within the first three weeks. Still will experience a "mare moment" but dialed down. Much more social/relatable now. Very happy with results. Cannot beat the price!
    Date published: 2017-02-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great supplement, but my horse is still a jerk I gave it several months but we decided that it didn't make a difference with my horse. He meets all the symptoms (not just mentally but physically as well,) of a magnesium deficiency, but he hasn't changed. He had issues back when he was a show horse, and now he's just kinda lost his mind after retirement. Some days he's cool as a cucumber, other days he's nervous, rearing in cross ties, kicking, biting, etc. Always fine under saddle, it's just the ground that he's a nightmare. He has a custom fitted saddle and everything a horse could want. But unfortunately he's still crazy. He's 23 though so we don't do much with him, so we put up with him. I DEFINITELY recommend this product for horses that meet the clinical symptoms of mag deficiency. It's a good quality, awesome price, and you know it's safe to feed. Just remember that each horse is different.
    Date published: 2017-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I was recommended to try this for a cresty neck and it's really helped my horse. I'm not even feeding it every day just a few times a week and it's really helped my horse. When I re-rdered I found Smart Pak to have the best pricing on this product.
    Date published: 2017-02-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Truly amazing In October, I bought a two year old thoroughbred gelding. He had only been handled for basic care, such as vet appointments, farrier, etc. He was EXTREMELY sensitive and reactive. He didn't like being touched and he couldn't seem to use the "thinking part" of his brain. A trusted trainer told me about supplementing magnesium, as our area and hay tends to be deficient. At the time, I was on a real budget, so, honestly, I bought the most economic Magnesium supplement I could find. My results: I started my gelding on this product a month after getting him, and within a week this horse started changing. He was much more willing to let me touch him, and wasn't so senstive that he became uncomfortable anymore. I finally made advances with his training. He was really starting to think and use that noggin of his. A month later, I had a completely different horse. Curious, playful, very intelligent, kind, and very willing. He's still a little on the sensitive side of the spectrum, but no where near as out of the ordinary as he was. In January, I decided to try a different "better quality" magnesium supplement, and I switched him over to Quiessence. It was a big mistake. Within two weeks of switching, I could see him reverting to his old ways. I still can't figure out WHY, but that magnesium supplement did not work for him one bit. He is now back on Magnesium 5000, and will STAY on Mag 5000! I really can't say enough about this product. It's been a miracle for us, and completely changed my horse. The fact that it is SO economical is a huge plus as well.
    Date published: 2017-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse seems happier Disclaimer: I'm not a huge believer in feed through supplements like this because I rarely think they actually do much (although they don't harm) so I periodically try things on a whim or if I inherit something. That said, my horse has been really good during the time he's been fed the magnesium so whether it is directly related to the supplement or other factors, I'm inclined to keep him on it for some time longer.
    Date published: 2017-02-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good Palate-ability, Results? My horses are eating the product well but I am not sure I am seeing the same relaxation in muscle groups as another product I have used in the past but, is more expensive (hence why I was trying this). It would be worth a try to someone though.
    Date published: 2017-02-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to be helping both of mine! I bought this for my young horse who is prone to muscle stiffness and decided to he and his mother (retired old TB mare) on this. My mare is moving so much better (she has bad arthritis/hock issue) and my gelding hasn't been as sore after silliness and hard work.
    Date published: 2017-02-07
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Haven't Noticed Any Sort of Difference Been giving this to mare for a little over a month with the proper loading dose. I've noticed zero difference. She remains very distracted and always looking for something to spook at. I will say that my horse tends to be on the picky side and had zero hesitation eating this supplement mixed in with her feed. I wish I had boughten the supplement in SmartPaks instead of buying the giant bucket because in the event that it doesn't work for her, I would've wasted only a fraction of the cost. Since I did buy the biggest bucket I will continue to give it to her just to use it up because it isn't doing any harm. Hopefully I'll be able to update my review in another month and get to say that it's made any sort of improvement on her attentiveness. I'm someone who generally leans toward either depo or regumate, but because my newest mare is only 4 I wanted to try something less invasive and was suggested I try a magnesium supplement. I will probably still end up giving her regumate.
    Date published: 2017-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I started my gelding on this product after doing much research on magnesium deficiencies in working horses. I have noticed that since starting on this supplement he is overall a happier horse, less nervous in new or scary situations, less agitated, just over ally more comfortable. I'm very pleased with this product.
    Date published: 2017-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Improved Cracks in Hoof! Bought this for my Hanoverian who had some hoof cracks that were not improving. Saw a noticeable improvement after just 5 weeks, and even more improvement after his second trim since starting. I bet the cracks will be gone after the next farrier visit. My gelding's diet lacked magnesium & this product fit the bill!
    Date published: 2017-01-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Working for both of mine! I bought this for my young horse who tends to get stiff from tight muscles and decided to give it to his arthritic, retired mother as well. Sees to be helping both of them. My young man has been less tight after hard work, and his older mom has been having an easier time getting up and looks pretty good when she decides to run around.
    Date published: 2017-01-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not for my horse I know many horses who thrive on this supplement, however my picky horse won't eat it!
    Date published: 2016-12-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Some improvement Takes a little edge off of my horse. No as much as I would like, but enough to keep him on it. Granted he has only been on this brand for 60 days. This product gave me the best results than the other Magnesium supplements out there.
    Date published: 2016-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cost Effective Way to Buy High Quality Magnesium I have a mare who had suffered several severe physical traumas before she came to me. She was a physical and mental wreck which made her perpetually tense and nervous. She was hyper alert and would spin out of control if upset. Even after a year of dealing with the physical issues and avoiding anything that might set her off, the mare was still hyper alert and hyper reactive. Her condition fit the description of a magnesium deficient horse. The magnesium didn't solve all the problems, but it certainly tipped the balance enough to get the horse back into work and starting to lead a normal life. Unfortunately, not all magnesium supplements are created equal. Many simply don't work. The one we were using at my barn worked really well but was very expensive. I was wary about changing brands ("If it ain't broke, don't fix it.") but when I couldn't get the usual brand, I tried a month's supply of MVP. It actually worked even better than the previous brand and at half the price. In fact, the MVP worked so well, we thought that the mare didn't need the magnesium any more. Not true. When we tried to titrate her off of it, she started to revert to her tense and reactive state. When we resumed the normal dose, she returned to being her new normal of relaxed compliance. Note: The mare remains a strong, keen, competitive horse with the magnesium. It's not going to turn her into an old school horse. But it does keep her sane and happy to do her job which is exactly what I was looking for.
    Date published: 2016-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great magnesium supplement! My TB gelding is very, very picky, and at first, he turned up his nose at these pellets. But after cutting the dosage in half for a few days and gradually working up to a full dose, he now happily scarfs them down. He's had some muscle soreness and having hay and pasture tested, we've found his diet is likely deficient in magnesium. Since starting him on the MVP Magnesium 5000 pellets, his hoof and hair quality have really improved, and his muscle soreness has dissipated, as well. This is a great product backed by the NASC seal, so you can rest easy knowing you're getting a high-quality supplement.
    Date published: 2016-10-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Needed supplement We had our soil tested and found that, among other things, our hay was lacking magnesium. We discussed the situation with our vet. This supplement has helped complete the horses' diet.
    Date published: 2016-10-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing results! I have used Magnesium 5000 on several nervous/spooky/flighty horses with great success. I have tried pretty much every calming supplement out there and have had the best results by far with Magnesium 5000.
    Date published: 2016-09-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Can't tell a difference yet I have been using this product for almost 2 months now. Haven't noticed a huge difference yet. So I am going to give it another month or so before I make a decision so that it will be fair. I have noticed she is gaining some weight, but I also recently switched over to a different grain, so hard to tell which one did that. She is a little calmer now, but still a little moody. I did notice she was calmer on the trail though. When winter hits I will be able to tell a lot more, since she is usually a pacer in her stall. But she still paces in her paddock. Again, I want to give it more time before I decide for sure.
    Date published: 2016-08-27
    • y_2017, m_12, d_14, h_22
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_28, tr_212
    • loc_en_US, sid_8286, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 156ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders