Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Available Monday - Friday
9:00am - 5:30pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
Putting your horse's supplements on AutoShip helps you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one individual AutoShip supplement or horse's SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
Because you have your horse's supplements on AutoShip, you get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by syncing them with your AutoShip order, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!

Ex Stress

Peak Performance Nutrients — Item #11818
Our Price: List Price:
Our Price: Our Price: Sale Price: : $ (%) :
Member Price:
(Members save 5% at SmartPak)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . And, because you have supplements on AutoShip, you save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items!)
:
SmartPerks Price:
(Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
:
Your Price:
(You save 5% as a member of . Because you have supplements on AutoShip, you can save an extra 10% on this and all other SmartPak tack & apparel items! Enter promo code PERKS at checkout.)
SmartSuggestion Bucket (Learn why)
  • MORE VIEWS
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
Choose size & ship frequency
DAILY DOSES Top Pick

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

AutoShip & Save
You'll love our AutoShip because it's:
  • Focused on healthy , because consistency is key
  • Easy to snooze or cancel online, anytime
  • Totally flexible - edit your order as often as you'd like
  • Your VIP pass to FREE SmartPerks benefits
PLUS! You'll save 5% on every shipment if you order this product on AutoShip
The frequency you selected is not eligible for SmartPerks benefits that come with AutoShip supplement orders. In order to get benefits like free shipping and 10% off, set this product to ship at least every days. What are SmartPerks?

Maintains a healthy nervous system

  • Concentrated levels of vitamin B1, other B vitamins & magnesium for nervous system function
Ex Stress is an all-natural, herb-free formula to help your horse handle the stress of travel and competition. Ex Stress contains concentrated levels of vitamin B1 (thiamine), other B vitamins, and magnesium.

View our Calming Supplement Comparison Chart

Ingredients

Guaranteed Analysis
(Maintenance Dose = 2 scoops (20g) daily)
Ingredient Per Serving Per Pound
Vitamin B-1 (min) 3977 mg 89,615 mg
Magnesium (min) 1357 mg 6.73%
Pyridoxine B6 (min) 1193 mg 26,884 mg
Riboflavin B2 (min) 994 mg 22,404 mg
Niacin (min) 298 mg 6,721 mg
Folic Acid 24 mg 538 mg
Ingredient Statement:: Magnesium Sulfate, Thiamine Hydrochloride, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Riboflavin, Niacin, Folic Acid.

Instructions

Instructions for Use:
Directions for Use: Feed 1 serving twice per day with feed or as directed by your veterinarian or equine nutritionist. Serving Size: 10 grams
You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Botanical Animal® Devil Be Gone™ is designed to ...
    Description:
    "Botanical Animal® Devil Be Gone™ is designed to help animals feel calm and safe. Helps address willfulness, rebelliousness, hostility, aggressiveness, anger, or an obsessive need to protect the caregiver. Directions for Use: For best results, administer The Flower Essences directly ...
    "Botanical Animal® Obsess Less™ is a homeopathic remedy ...
    Description:
    "Botanical Animal® Obsess Less™ is a homeopathic remedy designed to help pets who manage their anxiety with negative, often obsessive, behaviors. Many pets are plagued with internal stressors that are expressed through obsessive-compulsive behavior. This can lead to self-destructive tendencies ...
    "Levelor™ is designed to help support normal hormone ...
    Description:
    "Levelor™ is designed to help support normal hormone levels and healthy nervous system function. Perfect for helping maintain a quiet disposition in mares and geldings, this formula includes a combination of raspberry leaf, taurine, magnesium, dong quai root powder, and ...
    "Majesty’s Kalm+ Wafers are especially helpful when your ...
    Description:
    "Majesty’s Kalm+ Wafers are especially helpful when your horse is anxious, nervous, distracted, or exhibits behavioral problems. These wafers support balanced behavior and a relaxed attitude, especially during traveling or competitive situations. They contain a targeted selection of ingredients to ...
    "Perfect Prep EQ Extreme Paste is a proprietary ...
    Description:
    "Perfect Prep EQ Extreme Paste is a proprietary blend of natural ingredients that helps maintain relaxation and focus in horses under stressful conditions. Feed 90 minutes before performance or trailering; effects last 6-8 hours. Contains L-tryptophan, magnesium, thiamine (vitamin B1), ...
    "Perfect Prep EQ Gold Paste uses natural ingredients ...
    Description:
    "Perfect Prep EQ Gold Paste uses natural ingredients in a proprietary blend to support sustained relaxation and focus in horses during stressful conditions. Perfect Prep EQ Gold acts gradually. Its effects peak 8 hours after first administration, and last up ...
    "Perfect Prep EQ Gold Pellets offer the same ...
    Description:
    "Perfect Prep EQ Gold Pellets offer the same powerful calming support as Prefect Prep EQ Gold Paste in a pelleted formula for easy administration with feed. This formula contains a proprietary blend of ingredients that includes an amino acid complex, ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Ex Stress is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 73.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Split between two horses I was interested in supplementing my mare with magnesium as she is on long-term omeperazole for ulcers and studies in humans have shown a decrease in magnesium. When comparing supplements I noticed Ex-Stress had significantly more B vitamins as most of the other supplements and I know B vitamins can help with spookiness, so I had SmartPack split the dose into two and give half to my sometimes spooky gelding. Both horses are doing great on 1/2 dose!
    Date published: 2013-05-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Definitely works I have an OTTB with severe anxiety. The ExStress is definitely working for him. The biggest drawback is that it has to be given twice a day. I tried doubling it up and giving it once a day but it didn't work for my guy. And he eats absolutely anything so I can't speak as to the palatability of it, but the smell is a little off putting.
    Date published: 2013-04-04
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ex Stress.... I guess I will never know if ExStress works for my horse because he just won't eat it. He's not a picky eater, he used to lick Probios powder off the bottom of his bucket, but he leaves ExStress at the bottom of his bucket with some grain which he never does. The supplement smells strongly of vitamin B so I can't blame him for not liking the taste either. It also stains your bucket, your horse, and your hands. The pellet version is so much more expensive than the powder that I think I will just go with something else all together. I don't want to pay that much more for something that I'm not sure is palatable or will even work!
    Date published: 2012-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nerve Calmer My horse was very nervous and alert untill I put him on the Ex Stress. He has be able to relax and really focus on working when in the arena.
    Date published: 2012-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It Great product. Only downside is the strong B vitamin smell. Tried smartcalm but prefer this product - less nervous but not too quiet for upper level dressage work.
    Date published: 2012-03-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Relieves stress of horse & rider ExStress is a great way to calm the spooky or eager horse without drugging them or worrying about herb balance. We use it on windy days or when the horses are really fresh. Works exceptionally well at new venues when there is so much to see to distract from focusing in competition. Easy directions and effective.
    Date published: 2012-03-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from My horse wouldn't eat it. I purchased Ex Stress in my Smart Pak. It was a waste of money since my horse wouldn't touch it. I had it mixed with his Strategy Pellets, but he refused to eat. Wouldn't touch it. As soon as I omitted the Ex Stress, he went back to eatting his other supplements. I used the powder.
    Date published: 2011-09-20
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horse Wouldn't Eat It. I decided to change my horses calming supplement from SmartCalm to Ex-Stress because I felt that the higher level of Vitamin B-1 potency would be a benefit. The first day I fed Ex-Stress (powder) to my horse, he wouldn't eat it. I mix all his supplements with a small amount of STRATEGY and he usually devours it, but not this time. He wouldn't finish it. I will go back to the Smart Calm with an additional Vitamin B-1 supplement.
    Date published: 2011-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the price My 16 year old Arab-Saddlebred cross is very jumpy when it comes to thunder storms and gunfire. Keeping her on this product is essential for my peace of mind and hers. She still has to be managed through the episodes but is not nearly as stressed as she was without the product. Previously she would colic. stomp her feet and had loose stools, and took up to a half hour to calm down, and I had to give her Pepto Bismo. She is about 75% better with the calming influence of Ex Stress with the B-vitamins for her nerves. Her recovery time is just a few minutes.
    Date published: 2011-06-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ex Stress Use I've only been using this product for a short time and am looking forward to seeing if it is useful during our next stressful situation. I have high hopes.
    Date published: 2011-05-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No Stress with EXStress! Been using this product for over 5 years and can't recommend it enough. Definitely has reduced the anxiety in my mare without a tranquilizing effect. Ingredients are water soluable so there's no worry about toxicity or accumulation. Saw results within 14 days and now she is on a maintenance dosage.
    Date published: 2011-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A NEW mule! I didn't realize how awesome this product was until my mule was NOT on it for 2-3 months! On this product, he is calm, focused, has manners, collects in the ring, etc. OFF this product, he's a terror to deal with! Anxious, pacing, screaming (mules can't whiney), throwing his head up, pawing, mismannerful, etc. Both the farrier and the vet said, PLEASE, put this mule back on his Ex Stress!
    Date published: 2011-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well worth while Since useing this on my 12 year old arabian gelding he is calmer and more focused than ever.
    Date published: 2011-04-21
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not Sold on This Product My mare does not seem to like the taste of this product and has been leaving her pelleted food, especially where the supplement is. Once senior (sweeter) feed was added to her diet, she ate it more readily. She has only eaten it more consistently for about a week. Given the difficulty in having her eat it (vs SmartCalm, which she liked), I'm not sure if the product has been given a fair test yet. I'm not sure if her increased reactivity since switching is due to not getting the correct dosage of the product for enough time yet OR if the product just isn't as calming as SmartCalm. I just am not enjoying riding my more distracted, nervous Thoroughbred mare as much as I was when she was on SmartCalm consistently...she still had tons of energy but was more focused and less jittery.
    Date published: 2011-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from ExStress works My horses have been on the product about three weeks and I see a big improvement how they handle stressful situations....Really good product!
    Date published: 2011-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This works! I have been using Ex-Stress for about a year now. I have tried other calming products, but for my horse, Ex-Stress works the best! I have an AQHA gelding that was very spooky when I got him...so much so that it was very difficult to get his attention He was more concerned with where the boogie man was going to jump out from. After a few weeks on Ex-Stress I noticed a huge difference. He was much more relaxed and I had his attention. This allowed me to start our work on desensitizing and he is an amazing horse now. I take him everywhere! The Ex-Stress does take a few days for them to start eating, but they will in grain. I LOVE this product!
    Date published: 2011-03-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GOOD PIC I HAVE OWNED MY REDHEAD TB MARE FOR ABOUT 3 YEARS NOW. SHE HAS BEEN QUITE NASTY AT TIMES. I HAD HER ON MARE MAGIC AND THAT JUST WAS NOT ENOUGH. ON THE ADVICE OF MY TRAINER I PUT HER ON EX STRESS. WITHIN 3 WEEKS SHE WAS MUCH MORE FOCUSED DURING HER TRAINING NOT TO MENTION VERY PLEASANT WHEN GIRTHING.
    Date published: 2011-03-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent ingredients I first found this product at the World Cup. They sold me when they said no added sugar. Now I get to have a great product in an easy to use smartpak! My older horse is very hot, and is easily spooked even in his own pen. This has certainly taken the edge off.
    Date published: 2011-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Highly Recommend This product has been very effective on calming my mare down during the winter. It seems that as winter comes each year, she had a lot of anxiety and moodiness.
    Date published: 2010-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very helpful Extremely hot thbrd benefits from this supplement. Others notice improvement as well
    Date published: 2010-12-28
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from my horse would not eat this, no matter what I put it in, he worked around it or just left the whole bucket of senior. I would like it in a pellet form.
    Date published: 2010-12-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Actually works , & Well!! I have tried Quietex, SmartCalm Pellets and Calm and Cool - This is the first product that i have used with GOOD Results. Gives My WB X alot more focus and less, Ah ! What was that??? Still has active engery Just more focused. A wonderful product ! Will Keep in my SmartPak !
    Date published: 2010-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ex-stress REALLY works This is the ONLY product I have found that works on my off the track TB. She's 17 years old now (still thinks she's about 4) and is on a maintenance dose of ex-stress. It really works. I ran out of the product once and I could barely even walk her to the pasture. I have her on an auto shipment and never again will I go without this product. I like that it's natural and take the edge off without making them drowsy. Before I found ex-stress I never would have thought I'd ever be able to take my horse to a show. Now she goes and shows off her stuff without panic.
    Date published: 2010-09-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works This is the only calming product that has worked for me. Herbs made my horse jumpy, and other vitamin B or magnesium or combo supplements did not have the same evening out but not dopey effect as this product. My picky eater (herbs are poison!) will eat it. Doses can be upped or lowered depending on the horse. Bought a 5 lb bucket and will use it daily on one horse. The others might get some in stressful situations. Downside: it is expensive relative to other vit B / magnesium products.
    Date published: 2010-05-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Actually Stood for the Farrier! We have an ulcer-laden, previously abused, stress case in our barn. A friend with a similar personality & ulcer suffering horse tried this product and swears by it. She brought me some to try. We saw a change almost immediately. He's still a little irritable, but overall much more calm. Even stood quite well for the farrier (his worst anxiety). It's only been a few weeks, so I'm hoping for continued improvement.
    Date published: 2010-05-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Okay Purchase My 6 year old gelding has trouble with focus. He's not bad, he's just what you'd call A.D.H.D. I thought I would try the product just to take away the need to stare at a tree for five minutes before gaining our focus back. So far, I feel no difference in his focus or attitude. In fact, after the first week he was on the product he felt more "up" than usual and there was a bit more fighting over what we were going to do that day....he was all for long gallops instead of dressage work. I'm going to continue Ex-Stress for a little while longer and see, but I will most likely discontinue the use of it.
    Date published: 2010-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works for us My mare seemed to have a bit of anxiety- just a little edgy and over-reactive. I tried Mare Magic and Magnesium and neither did much for her. She has been on Ex Stress for a couple months now, and the product seems to be a perfect match for her. She is the same horse- just a little less uptight and flighty. She seems more settled and her reactions more appropriate. A beach umbrella got loose and blew by the ring the other day- of course she startled (so did I), but she quickly got her composure back and listened to my reassurances. I am very satisfied with this product.
    Date published: 2010-04-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good calming supplement My mare is on stall rest for 6 weeks following a suspensory ligament injury. This supplement has made it bearable for her. Best if mixed in some kind of mash so it doesn't fall through the grain to the bottom.
    Date published: 2010-04-14
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from have a picky horse, should have known better, she won't even touch it!
    Date published: 2010-04-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Try This Product I have been searching for the mystery cause of my 19-yr-old Paint mare's personality change. This reliable girl was frantic on the trail; would NOT walk. After 3 days on this, there was a noticeable difference and I hope to see more. If a B1 deficiency is your problem, this could be your fix. Downside, my mare hates the taste and it doesn't smell too good to me either. But it works!
    Date published: 2010-03-24
    • y_2017, m_12, d_17, h_1
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_66
    • loc_en_US, sid_1818, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak
    • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
    • CLOUD, getContent, 31ms
    • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders