Order within and have it by * in (edit)
Ship speed applies to in stock items, pending location. Does not include personalized items like engraving, embroidery, SmartPaks, or PortionPaks. Complete details on our Shipping Policies page.
Contact our experts 24/7: Call 800-461-8898

The SmartPak Experts are now SmartPak TEXTperts!

All of our supplement and product expertise is just a text away! Ask questions, manage your account, and place orders by texting 26756 from your mobile phone. Have a great ride!

Text us at 26756

Available Monday - Friday
7:00am - 10:00pm EST

By texting 26756, you're giving SmartPak your consent to text you to help resolve your issue, including automated replies, at the number you provided. To opt out, text STOP to 26756. Text HELP to 26756 for info. Msg&data rates may apply. Consent to receive texts not required to buy products. Terms & conditions and the full Text Message Privacy Policy can be found at https://www.smartpakequine.com/content/2waytextTC in case you're interested.
SmartPaks help you take great care of your horse, so we take great care of you with SmartPerks! When you order your horse's supplements in SmartPaks, you're automatically* eligible for our FREE SmartPerks benefits, including:
  • Free ground shipping on what you want, when you want it
  • 10% off all SmartPak brand tack, apparel, and gear
  • A free Team SmartPak calendar, exclusive email offers and discounts, and more!
Learn more about SmartPerks
*At least one horse's individual SmartPaks must be over $40. Some exclusions apply.
Visit SmartPak.com/SmartPerks or call 1-800-461-8898 for details.
As a SmartPaks Subscriber, you can get free ground shipping all day, every day on just about everything we sell at SmartPak, thanks to your SmartPerks. The few add-on items we have can be shipped free by synching them with your horse's SmartPaks, shipping on a Barn Saver Shipping day, or by having a group of add-on items that total over $75.

Have a question?
Call 1-800-461-8898 or email CustomerCare@SmartPak.com anytime!
Barn Bag® Pleasure and Performance Horse Hay and Pasture Balancer
Life Data Labs, Inc. — Item #15902
  • MORE VIEWS
  SmartPaks Over $40 Ship Free!
Free Shipping Thanks To
This item may be eligible for
FREE GROUND SHIPPING
DAILY DOSE SMARTPAKS

Oops! Looks like you've already added this item to your order.

Please select a different recipient name if you'd like to create a new order, or give us a call - we're happy to help!

Helps keep your horse's diet balanced

  • Supplies the nutrients required for activity & performance in the correct amounts

A Healthy Diet Starts with Barn Bag®

When fed with hay or pasture, 1/2 cup Barn Bag® (85 gm or 1 scoop in SmartPaks) fulfills the daily nutrient requirement of an average 1,000 lb. horse. 

Barn Bag® is a concentrated nutrient source, which unlike other feeding stuffs, contains a minimal amount of calories and starch. Barn Bag® is ideal for Easy Keepers and horses affected by obesity, Insulin Resistance, Cushing’s, or Metabolic Syndrome. Barn Bag® eliminates the need for compounded feeds.

Should your horse need additional calories to gain weight or for demanding tasks such as riding or competitions, you may add whole oats, beet pulp, or vegetable oil to this diet.

An 11 lb. bag is a 60 day supply for a 1,000 lb. adult horse in average activity.

Made in the USA

Ingredients

Guaranteed Analysis:
Ingredient Per Serving Per Pound
Crude Protein, Min 32%
Lysine (Min) 2.0%
DL-Methionine (Min) 3.3%
Cystine (Min) .36%
Proline (Min) 1.2%
Tyrosine (Min) .7%
Histidine (Min) .6%
Phenylalanine (Min) 1.5%
Threonine (Min) .9%
Crude Fat, Min 10.8%
Phosphatidylcholine (Min) 3.4%
Omega 3 Fatty Acids (Min) 1.0%
Crude Fiber, Max 9.3%
Ash, Max 14.5%
Calcium, Min .85%
Calcium, Max 1.50%
Phosphorus, Min .80%
Sodium (Max) .22%
Magnesium (Min) 1.02%
Manganese (Min) 1,400 ppm
Zinc (Min) 1,300 ppm
Copper (Min) 420 ppm
Cobalt (Min) 7.0 ppm
Iodine (Min) 9.0 ppm
Selenium (Min) 5.8 ppm
Ascorbic Acid (Min) 2,280 mg
Vitamin A (Min) 21,000 IU
Vitamin D3 (Min) 5,400 IU
Vitamin E (Min) 2,000 IU
Pyridoxine (Min) 120 mg
Folic Acid (Min) 80 mg
Thiamin (Min) 90 mg
Biotin (Min) 9.5 mg
Choline (Min) 2,000 mg
Inositol (Min) 3,000 mg
Ingredients:: Soy Protein Concentrate, Dehydrated Alfalfa Meal, Lecithin, Yeast Culture Dehydrated, DL-Methionine, Sodium Selenite, Hydrated Sodium Calcium Aluminosilicate, Vitamin E Supplement, Magnesium Oxide, L-Lysine, Vitamin E Supplement, Ascorbic Acid, Manganese Oxide, Zinc Oxide, D-Biotin, Basic Copper Chloride, Pyridoxine Hydrochloride, Thiamine Mononitrate, Folic Acid, Vitamin A Supplement, Vitamin D3 Supplement, Calcium Iodate, Cobalt Carbonate, Permitted natural and artificial flavorings added.

Instructions

Instructions for Use:

Clinical Research

You Might Like
    Customers Also Shopped For
    "Over 30 years of equine nutritional research, clinical ...
    Description:
    "Over 30 years of equine nutritional research, clinical trials and field testing have gone into every cup of Farrier's Formula®. While no single nutrient is the key to a healthy hoof, studies show that most horses with hoof problems respond ...
    "Farrier's Formula® is the original hoof supplement, validated ...
    Description:
    "Farrier's Formula® is the original hoof supplement, validated through independent university research, and the #1 recommended* hoof supplement by farriers for 12 consecutive years. Provides a comprehensive selection of nutrients for the health of the hoof, skin, and coat! The ...

    Reviews

    out of 5
    98% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    The reviews provided on this website represent the experience of the individual posting the review. We do not adopt, edit, or endorse any of the submissions posted within the reviews section. Rather, the reviews are part of an online community of animal owners that desire to share their particular experience with other individuals. These reviews are not a substitute for discussing the health of your animal with a veterinarian.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Barn Bag® Pleasure and Performance Horse Hay and Pasture Balancer is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 44.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse loves it I have a fairly picky eater who just loves this stuff. It smells good to me even. I have in the past year decided for my horses to go the ration balancer way, and both horses are thriving. If this type of feeding regiment would benefit your horse I would definitely recommend this product.
    Date published: 2016-06-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Barn Bag has it all My 16 year old easy-keeper mare misses most of the nutrients from the pelleted feed that is fed at her barn since she gets only a small portion twice daily. Fancy gets the Hay and Pasture Balancer along with UltraCalm which I have given her for some time. She has begun to shed and her coat looks great and she enjoys the SmartPak supplements along with a taste of pelleted. feed.
    Date published: 2016-03-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product This is a great product for horses that aren't constantly getting the nutrients they need
    Date published: 2015-10-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from First time Smartpak user We've just begun using Smartpaks. My horse really likes the taste. I feel good about feeding them. They are convenient to feed with ingredients I trust.
    Date published: 2015-10-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Little bit does the job Purchased for use with my minis . Works great! All on one plus hay
    Date published: 2015-10-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well liked! Great product recommended by the Customer Service at Smartpak! Sooo happy...
    Date published: 2015-06-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2015-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product has been a fantastic balancer for my horses. I have managed both my pony and two TBs on grass & hay alone for over 7 years (they are in light-medium work). I have used Barn Bag the last 4 years to ensure they are getting the vitamins and minerals they need. They have maintained healthy coats, good energy and muscle. Note, I have a lot of grass and I hay 15-30 lbs hay per horse in the winter. My pony wears a grazing muzzle in the summer, but Barn Bag helps me know she is still getting the nutrients she needs. I highly recommend this product. It is very palatable - my horses eat it plain without any grain added and they come running in for it!
    Date published: 2014-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Multi-Vitamin Supplement out there! I have done intensive research on this product. I only want the best for my mare. Since changing her diet from a complete feed I have noticed a huge change in her coat, her attitude and her performance. She looks amazing, no weight fluctuations like before. She gets barn bag every morning with her Race Horse Oats, a 1/2 scoop of grass hay pellets and Timothy Hay. I don't think I will go back using the complete feed ever!
    Date published: 2014-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from both my horses love it! I have a 23 yr old appy gelding that came through last winter looking like he was at deaths door! Super picky guy.. plus he foundered about 15 years ago and has always had soundness issues since. It's a balancing act to get weight on and not make him refounder. He goes through phases where he won't eat hay, but will eat hay cubes, and back and forth. I scraped his whole diet. Started over trying to find the best things to get him back to health. There was 3 weeks in winter where it was well below 0 degrees F. This barn bag has been a huge help! He was getting really hot on the senior feed, and when I found this, I was really excited that I could finally get him his nutrients and calories seperate. I call it his pony granola. He is on lots of different stuff but he is a hard keeper and he has never over eaten. It's always been a struggle to get him to eat enough to manage his condition. When I showed the national appaloosa circuit (back when he was 4 and i was 12) he always finished his feed, but I rode him on average of 3-5 hours a day. He has never been lazy, he loves to work and will pout and go off his feed when not worked. I have saved a lot of money with this supplement. It's expensive, yes, but 63 dollars for a bag that lasts him 2 months and oats at 100# for 25$ is a huge difference from the senior feed at 20$ for 50 that he went through in a week. He eats less oats in weight too. I use Cocosoya oil and cool calories as well and it's been a magical mix. He's put on about 200 pounds since spring. I also have a new mare, 8 yrs old and FAT. She is fat and only ever had pasture. I give her this and 2 cups of beet pulp pellets and hay and she is slowly losing some weight. I had to start the beet pulp because she was jealous of Pokey getting grain and was starting to paw and bang her knee on the stall door at feed time. She thinks I'm trying to starve her! With the barn bag, I feel confident that she is getting all her nutritionalneeds met, while restricting her intake.
    Date published: 2014-10-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Supplement I changed my horse over to oats after moving from a barn that fed really cheap nasty processed grain. It was literally like feeding them a McDonald’s super sized meal twice a day every day. So after finding out how terrible that grain was for my horse I searched and searched for something healthy to feed. I even had a nutritionist out that took a ton of tests. So after sifting through a lot of decent products I decided to start feeding oats, I really liked that it was completely natural. But since oats don't provide everything a working horse needs I found this product and since using it for about 9 months or so I like it and my horse does too! I never saw a drastic change but my horse looks a whole lot healthier now. I recommend this product for anyone who needs a good supplement to pair with your horses oats! FYI, be sure to look at the feeding instructions, it recommends to split your horses doses into two feedings. It also states that in the Q&A part as well.
    Date published: 2014-05-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product Started my horse on this supplement. He is doing well on it and loves the taste
    Date published: 2013-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this feed! I bought this feed a couple of years ago to make sure my gelding was getting the proper nutrients as I wasn't sure he was getting it from the feed at the barn where I board. He is a VERY picky eater and I had tried numerous other vitamin/mineral supplements that he simply would not eat. This he loves! He always gets compliments on how he looks and has a lovely healthy coat and long beautiful tail that I contribute to good nutrition - and of course, good grooming! I have recommended Barn Bag to many of my horse friends.
    Date published: 2013-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fixed a Selenium Deficiency Last year we bought a 10 year old minature donkey. This spring, she started losing her hair in patches. After blood test, we discovered her selenium level was low. Started her on Barn Bag and in about 3 weeks the hair is growing in and looking very shinny. She likes the taste too.
    Date published: 2013-06-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great supplement I had to switch products for my colt and gave this one a try. He eats it readily, has kept a shine and a good weight and has plenty of energy. I have no plans of switching, again. This supplement is working perfectly for my situation.
    Date published: 2013-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good for fussy eaters. My thoroughbred mare was loosing weight rapidly. She is a very, very fussy eater and would rather not eat if it isn't to her liking. Due to the drought this year, the hay has been of poor quality and she wouldn't eat much. Worst yet, she doesn't like grain, so supplementing her is very, very difficult. Hooray for Barn Bag. After trying so many different supplements, I finally found something she would eat. 2 months later she is still liking it and putting on weight.
    Date published: 2012-09-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for fat ponies! Excellent way to get my full-figured Haflinger the nutrition she needs without having to feed so much grain. She eats anything - so I don't know if picky eaters will like it - but it looks appetizing.
    Date published: 2012-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Did Okay There wasn't anything wrong with this product and there was not a problem with her eating it, she is just a founder girl and things are not going her way.
    Date published: 2012-06-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from By the makers of Farrier's Formula I have had amazing success with Farrier's Formula. I mean, seriously amazing. It's transformed my mare's feet, coat, mane/tail, you name it. So, when she was already doing pretty well after about 6 months, I contacted Life Data Labs, and the originator of the product himself (Dr. Gravlee!) was kind enough to respond to my inquiries. He recommended that since my mare's foot condition was already taken care of, that I should switch to Barn Bag in order to give her more complete nutrition. Unfortunately, after several months on Barn Bag, I noticed a deterioration in her foot condition again, so I went back to Farrier's Formula (FF), and now, several months later, her feet are looking great again. So, I think that in my particular case, my mare (a TB) can't be off of the foot-specific nutrients in FF, and while Dr. Gravlee did say that FF and Barn Bag can be given together safely without overdosing on any particular ingredients (as there are several common ingredients to both products), I can't really afford to give both, especially since Barn Bag is more expensive than FF for the same amount, so I am just planning on leaving her on FF indefinitely, and am just trying to give her different types of hay to ensure she gets enough supplemental vitamins/minerals. Even so, I would still recommend Barn Bag to other owners whose horses do NOT have foot problems, however, as I honestly believe that anything made by Life Data Labs is high quality and backed up by rigorous testing, and their customer service is impeccable!! My picky mare also had no problem eating the Barn Bag or the Farrier's Formula.
    Date published: 2012-02-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No Worries with Barn Bag! My horse is actually a large pony. He is in training so he needs the proper amount of nutrition. Barn Bag is the perfect solution for him. He gets it with whole oats. He thrives on this diet!
    Date published: 2012-01-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have only been using this product for 2 mths now, she is keeping her weight up and is still energetic all day as her usual self.
    Date published: 2011-08-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My 16 yr. old gelding was diagnosed with IR and mild founder 8 months ago. Withdrew grain from the diet and started on Smart Control IR, Barn Bag and Farrier's Formula. The fatty deposits are gone and he is sound. He looks and acts great!
    Date published: 2011-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great with oats I add this vitamin/mineral supplement to oats for my horses once daily grain meal. I no longer feed the highly concentrated, high sugar content grains. They are healthy and love the more natural oats diet with my Smart Pak supplements.
    Date published: 2011-07-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely love it Barn Bag has worked out great for my barrel horse. He easily maintains a nice healthy weight. One sign that he is getting the nutrients that he needs is his coat. His coat has a beautiful healthy luster! He will be staying on this diet!
    Date published: 2011-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Nutrition/Low Calories A great supplement for my warmblood on grass hay. All the nutrients he needs with no added calories.
    Date published: 2011-07-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Answer For My I.R Horse Owning an I.R horse is like doing a jigsaw puzzle. You have to make all the pieces fit. Life Data Barn Bag is a piece to my horses puzzle that definitely fits. I have cut out his grain completely. He has lost the weight he needed to, has excellent muscle tone, and the stamina to go all day. Barn Bag is a great product.
    Date published: 2011-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from What's not to love? The bags only weigh 11 lbs. instead of 50 making it easy to store and the bags are vacuum sealed for freshness; it's a perfect vitamin/mineral supplement to complement my hay and my horses all love it! They get no grain, just Barn Bag, hay and pasture and their coats are all shiny and hooves are in excellent condition. I have one 29 year old retired horse as well as several other active dressage horses on it and they are all doing very well.I should also mention I order about 50 lbs. per month from SmartPak and they ship free because one of my horses gets other supplements in SmartPaks.
    Date published: 2011-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect This supplement is the only one I've been able to find especially made for horses on a diet of oats, hay, and pasture only. My mare is in the best condition ever. I board so my feed options are limited unless I provide my own grain which unfortunately I can't afford to do so supplementation is the only way to go. I searched long and hard for the right one.
    Date published: 2011-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Easy Keepers! Some of my Dressage horses and Driving Ponies get very little (handfuls) of concentrated feed. I worry that the broodmares, stallions, and young horses are getting nutritionally cheated, especially when their hay quality goes down at the end of the hay year. I use Barn Bag to make sure my horses and ponies are getting the correct vitamins and minerals.
    Date published: 2011-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product My thouroughbred mare had always been an easy keeper, but went through a rough winter about two years ago. She really improved when I began using a high quality general supplement. Barn Bag is excellent because there is little waste with the pellets. The product is also fresh and enthusiastically received by my horse.
    Date published: 2010-12-16
    • y_2017, m_4, d_22, h_3
    • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_43
    • loc_en_US, sid_5902, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
    • clientName_smartpak

    Q & A

    Healthy Horses  ❤  Happy Riders