Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

SmartPak Small Hole Hay Net - NEW!

SmartPak
- Item #19916
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Feed your hay smarter with the SmartPak Small Hole Hay Net! With smaller openings than an average hay net, this hay net restricts access to the hay inside so your horse will slow down and enjoy his hay longer, and you'll have a whole lot less waste. Ideal for travel, as you'll have to fill up less frequently, and your horse won't leave as much behind. Also great for horses who need limited access for dietary reasons.

Favorite Features

  • NEW design, 2x wider opening to make loading hay a breeze!
  • 42" Diameter
  • 3 1/2 cm holes for restricted access to hay

You Might Like
    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Small Hole Hay Net - NEW! is rated 4.4082 out of 5 by 343.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use With it's pillowcase shape this hay bag is very easy to fill. We now own 10.
    Date published: 2014-09-10
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Small hole Haynet - NOT so small holes :( I have been using a very similar Haynet with the same size holes. When I read the size of the holes in this net I thought aha! Great! They'll be "smaller". Not so. They are the same as the less expensive version of this Haynet. Only difference being1. This Haynet is longer.2. The material is thinner.3. The other Haynet is approx 9/10 dollars cheaperThat being said, I love Haynets and these are great! I just had different expectations. I would recommend to a friend. But the description should say "holes are 2" x 2" in a diamond shape so stretch".Oh well back to the search for a small holed hay net. .....
    Date published: 2014-08-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bought this for our draft horses to use while at shows, they work good, but they have figured out that they can break the twine to make the wholes bigger......great product but not draft horse sturdy.
    Date published: 2014-08-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I bought this to help keep our gelding occupied after we recently had to put his barn buddy down. (39 yr old coliced). It works great we put in a snack size 1/3 of a flake in the evening. He spends a good amount of time getting the hay out and it's like a puzzle for him. Makes both of us feel better. Holds up well to his batting it around.
    Date published: 2014-07-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Slows them down We bought this hay net for a mare that was gobbling up her hay at the speed of light. It has really slowed her down. She arrives in her stall slightly put out that she can no longer inhale her hay, but what she used to finish in 2 hours she now takes 7 to consume. I was concerned that the net would fall apart due to prior reviews, but it is holding up well.
    Date published: 2014-06-28
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not impressed I bought this for our Shetland with the idea in mind of "double-bagging" with it inside our canvas-backed nylon-webbed small-hole net. (The pony is a tenacious pig!) The small holes aren't very "small" and it hasn't held up well at all :(
    Date published: 2014-06-23
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Minis rips holes in it I got several of these to use for my horse and mini to slow them down and reduce waste from a common feeder. Unfortunately, they are frustrated at not getting the hay out fast enough (especially the mini!!) and have ripped a big hole in each of the bags that I put up! It usually takes about a month, but I have given up and am looking into other options. Some friends had better luck after zip-tying it to the inside of a hay rack so that the hay is slow-feeding through a metal hay rack. They are great, just not tough enough to stand up to some real yanking. Better for a more mellow/less aggressive eater.
    Date published: 2014-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good for minis! I bought this for my little butterball mini. He gets to nibble all day instead of finishing his ration in a couple of gulps. He's dry-lotted so it's important to be able to prolong his grazing time.
    Date published: 2014-05-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very durable and easy to use I bought this for my gelding who eats so fast he would stuff hay in his cheeks like a chipmunk just to fit more in. At first glance I joked that it could be used as a net to catch stray barn critters it looked so large. Once I began using it I love it. It is just the right size to hold about a flake and a half. The holes are tiny enough my boy has to slow down and graze. It is also super durable as he gets frustrated and bites at the net. We have been using it everyday for a few weeks and it still looks brand new.
    Date published: 2014-05-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Slows down horses Since horses are designed to eat all day, I thought this hay net would slow them down and make their meals last longer and this really helps! Horses learned how to use it and do not seem to frustrated. The only draw back of any hay net is the difficulty putting hay into it - this one is no exception. Still, it works great.
    Date published: 2014-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love how big it is! I bought this when I found out my horse was going to be on stall rest and this was amazing! She is already a slow eater so with this hay net filled it lasted her a long time and kept her busy and occupied! I only wish it was easier to hang up but it worked for its job.
    Date published: 2014-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth purchasing I have had one of these hay nets for many months. I love how easy it is to fill and how much my horses love it. The holes are small enough for my horses to eat slowly but large enough so they don't get frustrated. I tie the hay net to a clip so I can easily snap them inside or outside my trailer. They help keep my trailer cleaner too.
    Date published: 2014-04-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Work great! I feed all my hay in slow feed hay nets- they work great to slow down my horses from eating too fast and greatly minimizes waste. These seem durable and the cord isn't too long (a problem with some I have purchased elsewhere and the cord drags on the ground.)
    Date published: 2014-04-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better than expected I was worried that my aggressive eater would shred the hay net in a week. He has not been able to destroy it and NOT for lack of trying. So, I am happily surprised that it has stood the test of a horse that shredded 3 haynets in a week previous to this one. It is wearing out rather quickly at the bottom, though, so I have to watch it. I wish they would use stronger twine.
    Date published: 2014-04-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hay net The hay net is very heavy duty and it works great.
    Date published: 2014-04-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for horses that waste hay My horses used to eat their hay off the ground and they would end up wasting it. The hay net helps save hay, but also keeps them busy if they have to stay inside all day. The only downside is it isn't as durable as I had hoped, but other than that, good price for the product.
    Date published: 2014-04-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from sturdy hay net Bought based on good reviews. Have not used hay net yet.
    Date published: 2014-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for my easy keeper I love the small hole hay net - it was easy to load with the hay, tie it and then to hang it in the stall. My horse is very rough on hay nets, but this one is holding up well. Thank you for a great product at a reasonable price!
    Date published: 2014-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A really great hay net! Been using this for a long time and it has held up well with daily feeding, stomping and other sorts of abuse. Really big! Has lasted a lot longer than other haynets that use the thinner nylon. Im getting a few more!
    Date published: 2014-03-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great choice! This is a great choice. It really helps with slowing down hay consumption.
    Date published: 2014-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This hay net works perfectly. Stuffing is simple, as the opening remains open while you're working with it, it hangs neatly to any height you choose (by threading the drawcord through any hole you choose and then using a double-ended snap to secure), and I'm totally happy with it. Now, my horse isn't really enjoying the restriction of the small-hole, but his dismay I hope will die down in time.
    Date published: 2014-02-21
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Overall not happy with design, thankfully low cost I am really not happy with the design of the hay net, the only way to pull it closed is with the main cord which easily slips out when loading with hay and must be restrung,overall I prefer a hay net with a ring closure as opposed to just a pull cord, on the plus side the holes are small and should function as expected for slowing down hay consumption, but I find that I am not using this hay net, just too much trouble to restring.
    Date published: 2014-02-20
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nice Size but Doesn't Hold Up I like the size of this hay bag. You can fit several flakes in it but there are a couple of issues with it. The first is that it is hard to put the hay in the bag as the top wants to close up when empty. Also, after about 2 weeks, it has a hole in it. My horse is older and isn't rough with it nor does he chew it. I use the Nibble Net for my other two horses and will probably have to get something else to replace this hay bag.
    Date published: 2014-02-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great in reducing wasted hay! This net holds an impressive amount of hay! In purchasing, I was looking to provide hay 24/7 and reduce the amount of waste. I had fed round bales in the past but got fed up with the amount of hay that got blown away or pooped/peed on. Even traditional (large hole) hay nets allowed quite a bit of hay to fall through, which was ultimately wasted. So far, Smartpak's hay net has kept waste to a minimum. It did not slow my horses down BUT I wasn't buying to deter speed eaters. I have Nibble Nets as well as and the horses prefer to eat out of Smartpak's slow feeder (probably because there's less work involved).
    Date published: 2014-02-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A really held up to the abuse! I bought this to slow down a large Drum horse from scarfing his hay in a matter of minutes instead of hours. It has REALLY helped! He has managed to get it untied once, took it outside and stomped it into a mud puddle and still holds up! He is a strong "biter" at the net and nothing has began to fray. Awesome product!
    Date published: 2014-01-24
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from A nice product but NOT the Nibble Net Super quality, lots of space for LOTS of hay (I could fit 1/2 a bale or more). Nice and stretchy/pliable, yet sturdy at the same time.The problem? It is NOT the Nibble Net. I bought it as a boredom buster thinking it would last my horse overnight. It did not slow him down at all!I thought this might be the more economical solution to the Nibble Net, but my horse burned right through it. It is still a very nice hay net for travel/trailer.
    Date published: 2014-01-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Slows down hay consumption This hay net has definitely slowed down my Hoover vacuum of an eater horse! He was quite violent with it at first, you could see the frustration in his face, but it's been a few weeks and while he has stretched out a few of the "holes" he hasn't ripped it and learned how to eat from it. I LOVE how wide it opens to load hay. So easy- why didn't anyone think of this sooner? Hope it lasts longer than a few months. 
    Date published: 2014-01-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice, Budget Friendly Hay Bag This bag worked well for one of our horses but the other one put a huge hole in it within 5 days. It definitely slows them down and keeps them from inhaling their hay which is a huge plus. I would recommend these bags and will buy another for the gelding that is not tearing his up.
    Date published: 2014-01-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good value This is the first small hole hay bag I've used. I'm more fond of it than my mare, though she is getting acclimated to it. I've used it for a couple of weeks.Initially, the drawstring tie had an extra loop that prevented it from opening fully. I took it back the the SP retail store where the gals retied it for me. They're great!
    Date published: 2014-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Slow Down and Chew Your Food! We have been using this net for about a month now and have no complaints. Easy to load. Easy to hang and tie. Slows down our hay inhaler. She still picks it clean but it takes much longer. Gives me peace of mind in that eating fast can make a horse colic and have other health issues. I also like that it keeps her occupied on these ugly wnter days and nights.
    Date published: 2013-12-27
    • 2015-03-04T06:55CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_19, tr_324
    • loc_en_US, sid_9916, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.