Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

SmartPak Small Hole Hay Net - NEW!

SmartPak
- Item #19916

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Feed your hay smarter with the SmartPak Small Hole Hay Net! With smaller openings than an average hay net, this hay net restricts access to the hay inside so your horse will slow down and enjoy his hay longer, and you'll have a whole lot less waste. Ideal for travel, as you'll have to fill up less frequently, and your horse won't leave as much behind. Also great for horses who need limited access for dietary reasons.

Favorite Features

  • NEW design, 2x wider opening to make loading hay a breeze!
  • 42" Diameter
  • 3 1/2 cm holes for restricted access to hay

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    SmartPak Small Hole Hay Net - NEW! is rated 4.4231 out of 5 by 286.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great in reducing wasted hay! This net holds an impressive amount of hay! In purchasing, I was looking to provide hay 24/7 and reduce the amount of waste. I had fed round bales in the past but got fed up with the amount of hay that got blown away or pooped/peed on. Even traditional (large hole) hay nets allowed quite a bit of hay to fall through, which was ultimately wasted. So far, Smartpak's hay net has kept waste to a minimum. It did not slow my horses down BUT I wasn't buying to deter speed eaters. I have Nibble Nets as well as and the horses prefer to eat out of Smartpak's slow feeder (probably because there's less work involved).
    Date published: 2014-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2014-02-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A really held up to the abuse! I bought this to slow down a large Drum horse from scarfing his hay in a matter of minutes instead of hours. It has REALLY helped! He has managed to get it untied once, took it outside and stomped it into a mud puddle and still holds up! He is a strong "biter" at the net and nothing has began to fray. Awesome product!
    Date published: 2014-02-10
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from A nice product but NOT the Nibble Net Super quality, lots of space for LOTS of hay (I could fit 1/2 a bale or more). Nice and stretchy/pliable, yet sturdy at the same time.The problem? It is NOT the Nibble Net. I bought it as a boredom buster thinking it would last my horse overnight. It did not slow him down at all!I thought this might be the more economical solution to the Nibble Net, but my horse burned right through it. It is still a very nice hay net for travel/trailer.
    Date published: 2014-01-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Slows down hay consumption This hay net has definitely slowed down my Hoover vacuum of an eater horse! He was quite violent with it at first, you could see the frustration in his face, but it's been a few weeks and while he has stretched out a few of the "holes" he hasn't ripped it and learned how to eat from it. I LOVE how wide it opens to load hay. So easy- why didn't anyone think of this sooner? Hope it lasts longer than a few months. 
    Date published: 2014-01-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice, Budget Friendly Hay Bag This bag worked well for one of our horses but the other one put a huge hole in it within 5 days. It definitely slows them down and keeps them from inhaling their hay which is a huge plus. I would recommend these bags and will buy another for the gelding that is not tearing his up.
    Date published: 2014-01-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good value This is the first small hole hay bag I've used. I'm more fond of it than my mare, though she is getting acclimated to it. I've used it for a couple of weeks.Initially, the drawstring tie had an extra loop that prevented it from opening fully. I took it back the the SP retail store where the gals retied it for me. They're great!
    Date published: 2014-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Slow Down and Chew Your Food! We have been using this net for about a month now and have no complaints. Easy to load. Easy to hang and tie. Slows down our hay inhaler. She still picks it clean but it takes much longer. Gives me peace of mind in that eating fast can make a horse colic and have other health issues. I also like that it keeps her occupied on these ugly wnter days and nights.
    Date published: 2014-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So easy! For some reason this hay net is the easiest EVER! The closing rope is GREAT! I love it, my horse loves it. Well worth the extra money!
    Date published: 2014-02-10
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Most Disappointing Smartpak Purchase Ever :-( I was really excited to see SP carrying small hole hay nets with 3.5 cm (=1.37 inches) holes.  I've been buying ones with 2 inch holes and I really wanted to find ones with smaller holes that were still economical. My horses have mastered the 2 inch holes and I wanted something to slow them down more.  I have several different types and brands of small hole and slow feeder products and I thought these ones would be great, even though they are double the price of the 2 inch ones I use daily.I got these today and I was disappointed with the quality of the material.  It's very flimsy and I don't think they would last very long.  The worst part is, the holes are 2 inches!  Not the less than 1.5 inches they should be.  They need to change the product description to say the correct size.  I know that .5 inches normally wouldn't be a big deal, but in terms of slow feeders there is a huge difference in how much hay they can pull out at a time.  I included a picture.  Sorry if it is hard to see but it shows the actual size of the holes compared to a ruler where the yellow lines equal an inch.  The nets are getting returned first thing tomorrow morning, and I'll continue buying them somewhere else.
    Date published: 2014-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent net I'm so impressed. I'm saving 2/3's of a bale a day just by using this hay net. I've boarded my horses all my life until now & this being my first time having my horse home I worried about the long hours with nothing to eat. this net solves this problem. I always keep it full & Bubbas whole attitude has changed come feeding time. I put 4 flakes in his hay net at 4:30pm sat and by 8am sun morning he still had a few bites of hay left. 3 flakes on the ground used to last a little over an hour, 3 flakes of hay in a solid nylon bag with a small opening in the front last almost 3 hours and 3 flakes in my new Small Hole Hay net lasts well over 13 hours..glad i bought 2.
    Date published: 2014-01-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very durable and user friendly It's easy to fill but the only problem I have is hanging. I didn't purchase the hanger and I have to tie them to the rail.
    Date published: 2013-12-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very durable and user friendly. I very happy with hey net except, I didn't purchase the hanger and have a hard time hanging them.
    Date published: 2013-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best less expensive slow feeder. We have used slow feeders for the past 8 years. This one is easy to fill and holds 2 1/2 large (3 strand) flakes of grass hay.
    Date published: 2013-12-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Generously sized This net has a lot of room in it: almost too much, as it almost reaches the floor from my hanging spots with other nets. I can almost put half a bale of hay in it, which is a big plus when it's so cold out your snot freezes. It's easy to put hay in, especially if using a muck bucket as it easily folds down over the sides. I am worried about its durability though, as I found a hole in mine after two weeks of use.
    Date published: 2013-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very durable and easy to fill! I tried MULTIPLE slow feeding devices and this one is by far the best. I purchased my first in February of 2013 and it is still like brand new with daily use and a VERY aggressive, destructive horse. He has shredded other nets in minutes. I even soak my hay for 8+ hours a day in the nets. They have withstood the back and forth between a wet/dry state. Wide opening makes it a breeze to fill. I LOVE them!
    Date published: 2013-12-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works! My big guy likes to eat...and eat...and EAT! But he gains weight easily. This net has been great because it stretches meals out, and slows down his eating. I usually put a little pile of hay on the ground, and hang the hay net next to it so he can go back and forth. I didn't expect the net to survive--my guy can untie knots, undo clips, and rip things apart, but the net is in perfect condition.
    Date published: 2013-12-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great Idea, But Just Didn't Work For My Guy I like give my draft cross a hay net to keep him busy traveling and at shows, but he doesn't really need the calories, so I thought this would be a good solution.  The net made him really angry - he'd grab it and shake it so hard that I could feel the whole trailer rocking while I was driving.  After a couple of trips, he'd ripped several large holes in the net.  I think this net would work better for a less determined horse. 
    Date published: 2013-12-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Wish it Lasted Longer I bought this hay bag back in the spring, and my mare has managed to tear (or eat) two giant holes in the bottom of the bag. Great concept and it did work, I just wish it lasted longer. I will have to reorder another one soon.
    Date published: 2013-11-18
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Hard to Fill/Load with Hay I usually like Smartpak products but their small hole hay net is not very durable and is extremely difficult to fill. I have other brands of small hole hay feeders and do not have the same problems with them. I purchased two of these hay nets and was very disappointed with them overall. The one feature that is helpful is the amount of hay they hold. They are quite large, but it takes a long time to stuff them. The nylon has no stiffness to it, so the net flops all over, more so than others that are usually coated with a plastic or wax. I would not recommend this slow feeder hay net, especially for the money.
    Date published: 2013-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Blessing for my mate My big 17.2 KWPN mare is on rest after a serious injury. We are on month fourth of at least 8. Being I  the stall so much, she gets a ton of hay. The problem was she'd plow through her 5 flakes in 2 hours leavIng her bored and up to mischief. This has slowed her way down. She hasn't colicked once since I got this bag, and she has come to prefer eating hay from her bag rather than loose. She did tear a hole in it, but she's very smart and rough with it. I have to double knot it closed because she learned to remove the string that holds it closed! We use it all day every day and it stood up to 4 months of constant rough abuse. I can't re commend this bag enough.
    Date published: 2013-10-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Holds up to a hungry Haflinger I was a bit hesitant to get these bags because some of the reviews have said they weren't very strong and got holes in them quickly, that the holes were too large, or that they couldn't hold much hay. I have not found any of these things to be true.I got these for my Haflinger, who vacuums his hay up in about 30 minutes. He is not on grass, so I wanted a way to slow him down so that he would always have something to eat and not develop ulcers. With this hay net, a flake of hay now lasts him about 3 hours. I just put in hay, tie the bag closed, and then put it on the ground. He tosses it around, moves it all over the paddock, puts one foot on it and pulls with his teeth and still we don't have any durability issues with it. At night, I can easily fit 20lbs of hay in the net, and usually there is some left in the morning.The holes do look a bit large when you get the bags, but they do measure 3cm, which is the same as any of the other slow feed bags on the market. I also think that tightly packed flakes work best in the net, and at loose hay would not last nearly as long.We are very happy with these hay nets as they not only slow down my horse, but provide him with some entertainment and mental stimulation throughout the day as well. And they are priced well below other similar nets on the market. I would highly recommend this product.
    Date published: 2013-11-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wish it lasted longer The product is great except if you have a hungry horse who gets frustrated and chews the netting to make the holes bigger. sigh
    Date published: 2013-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING!!!!!! I bought them for my horses. I have my Fjord horse(the other ones are ridden by friends) and he eats so quickly! His barn name is Shorty, but is show name is Short Stuff. The net makes it tricky for him to get globs of hay! He is Western and we do Barrel Racing. I once had to loosen his strap because it was too big!
    Date published: 2013-10-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from small hay net a winner My chunky bay tends to eat so quickly and always seems starved. In efforts to keep his weight down during a lay up I resorted to the small hole hay net. I fill up a tub with water, drop the net full of hay and soak for 20 minutes or so, then let the net drain for a few minutes before I hang it up. It takes him a LONG TIME to eat, and he does not get frustrated trying to pull it out of the net like he used to. I love it!
    Date published: 2013-10-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works good slows their feeding down but hay is kinda hard to load in it. Would recommend for horses that get bored and are hard keepers.
    Date published: 2013-10-08
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not very satisfied I have only had the hay nets for about 2 weeks and my horses have ripped holes in all of them... not worth it.
    Date published: 2013-12-20
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bad Purchase I bought this a few weeks ago and the first time i used it it broke. Very unhappy with the quality and its obviously not durable enough for a horse. I would recommend NOT buying this!!
    Date published: 2013-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable and big I really like this hay net. The holes are much smaller than your traditional hay net which means less waste and a bag that stays filled longer. Very large capacity, I typically put 3-4 flakes in at a time and there's still a lot of net to fill up.
    Date published: 2013-10-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does what it's designed to do I have a wide body Oldenburg mare that can finish a flake of hay in 10 minutes. This hay net really helps slow her down. She is fairly aggressive about pulling the hay out and the net has held up fine since I started using it about 3 weeks ago. I think loading hay nets is a pain but maybe I'll figure out an easier way...some day.
    Date published: 2013-09-25
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2013 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.