Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Samshield Shadow Matt Helmet

Samshield
- Item #19903
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Samshield is a mix between the rider's needs, the designer's creative energy and the engineer's technical vision.

Following the success of the Premium model, Samshield developed a new model with a wide appeal.

ASTM/SEI approved.

Harness is made of faux leather.

Helmets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    87% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Samshield Shadow Matt Helmet is rated 4.5556 out of 5 by 45.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it!! I ordered this helmet and when I received it I realized it was the wrong size. Conveniently, smartpak includes a return label and I received my new helmet within the following weeks. Super comfortable and has good ventilation. I like that it's a hard outer shell as it's easy to wipe clean. Ovrerall super pleased with the quality and with smartpak's great return policy!!
    Date published: 2014-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this helmet! I will be riding in college and wanted a new helmet to bring with me. I had my heart set on a GPA, but then saw the Samshield and liked the look of it, as well as the price. I ordered 2 in different sizes and was able to return the one that didn't fit as well. It is a sleek, great looking helmet. It fits very well and is truly comfortable.
    Date published: 2014-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfiest helmet ever! I bought this helmet a month ago, and I've loved it ever since. I had a Charles Owen, which I liked, but it pinched me too much front to back. I tried this helmet on, and I loved it! The padding is so unbelievably comfortable, it looks so classy, it's easy to clean, and it's so well ventilated. For oval heads, I 100% recommend this helmet.
    Date published: 2014-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best helmet This helmet is the best helmet I have ever owned. It is so comfortable and breathable. I love the removable liner in the helmet and how it is super easy to clean. This helmet is great for the hot summer days which can sometimes get up into the 100+ degrees.
    Date published: 2014-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fit! this helmet is very comfortable. air flow seems to be good. no head pinching, and no squeezing band sensation across the forehead. feels good over hours of wear.
    Date published: 2014-06-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Totally not worth the price tag I think I was expecting that this helmet would transform me into Grace Kelly given that it is over $400. Instead, it looked like a big smooth bowling ball on my head. It was too round and pinched at front and back for my oval head. Further, I thought the One K was way nicer, and as I point out in my One K review, both helmets are made in Korea and I suspect by the same company. The Samshield is better padded, but the One K is way less weird looking. I honestly don't get the hype on this brand. Maybe the custom ones are all that, but I doubt it if they are starting with the same bulbous shell! Seriously give the One K a shot and put the extra $200 towards a nice new bridle or breeches.
    Date published: 2014-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the fit! Bought this a month ago and it fits great! I have a head that is hard to fit and was able to ride in this helmet without the usual pinching.
    Date published: 2014-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very comfortable I looked a many different helmets in all price ranges before deciding on the sam shieild. What I like most about it is how it keeps the pressure off your forehead and the inner lining is very comfortable. There is no head pressure which is a relief from the other helmets I have tried where I always ended up with a headache. This one I forget that it is on. It could be a bit lighter in weight but not bad. It is well worth the price.
    Date published: 2014-05-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet. Comfortable and light weight. I have tried practically every high ended helmet on the market and Charles Owen and Samsheild are the only two brands that fit my oval to round head.
    Date published: 2014-04-28
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Chin Strap too big! I wanted to love this helmet. It is beautifully made. Great craftsmanship and quality. Beautiful look.Not a big deal but I found I had to order 1 size larger. The lining is so plush I had to order a larger size to accommodate the plush lining.My major complaint- you can not adjust the chin strap forward or backwards...it is set at a forward angle so when I have the helmet on the chin strap comes right to the edge of my chin! It easily goes over my chin if I push the helmet visor up...that wont work at all if I get knocked in the head or tossed from my horse the helmet would pop off!!Im ordering a size 7...so its not like I have a teeny head but even so I have to adjust the chin strap as tight as it ALLOWS to be secure. It wont let me tighten it smaller because of the design of the very long side straps. Poor design!!!!Like I said I wanted to love this helmet. I ordered the blue and it is a beautiful navy but it is not adjustable at all to my head. Bummer.
    Date published: 2014-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Baby!!! My trainer is sponsored by Samshield and almost every rider at my barn has a Samshield. My IRH was getting beat up and old so I decided to purchase a Samshield. I am so in love, I couldn't be happier!!! I used to have issues with my old helmet giving me headaches because it would squeeze my head if my hairnet wasn't right; now I don't even feel like Im wearing a helmet. It doesn't rub, and the liner is super comfortable. I also love how the liner is removable, especially because some of my shows in the summer can  get up to 100+ degrees. I love love LOVE this helmet!
    Date published: 2014-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet! I used to have a GPA Titium, it was comfortable, but my hair was always a sweaty mess...there was no ventilation (contrary to the vent...). I could feel the airflow instantly with my new Samshield, and the price point is nice too. Comfortable fit, sleek look and a great protector on the chin strap that eliminates that pesky chin strap buckle. The option of the two liners gives everyone a choice on how they want the helmet to fit... they snap in, snap out, very easy to wash! Try this helmet, you won't be disappointed.
    Date published: 2014-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best helmet ever! Insanely comfortable and looks i Best purchase. Shapes perfect to my head, while looking classy 
    Date published: 2014-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love! Love this helmet! Fits my head perfectly, love the snap out padding (smartpak sells extras too- that will be fantastic in summer!), love the breeze through the vents. 
    Date published: 2014-01-02
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Weird chin strap This helmet is incredibly comfortable and fit my head great. I was really sad to have to return it. The chin strap on this is way to far forward and basically cups your chin rather than going under your chin. Perhaps if you have a pointier chin and no cheeks it would be ok but it is a really weird fit and an even weirder look. 
    Date published: 2013-12-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Helmet I opened the box and was thrilled with the look and feel of the Samshield.  I was looking to replace my KEP due to a fall.  However, when I put it on it sat "on top" of my head a bit - it was the right size (1/8" larger than I normally wear) and then proceeded to sit up on the forehead and down in the back after I wore it around for a while.  Memory foam line is very nice.  The faux leather chin strap is a bit thick and not very pliable (out of the box).  Sadly, I had to return it.  As we all know helmets are such a personal fit item.  If a KEP fits you, likely this won't.  It is well made, gorgeous, with simple lines.  All in all I so wish it would have fit my head.  
    Date published: 2013-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Luxury car for your head... Wow, this helmet is amazing. I went from my old troxel that I have had for a few years and finally got fed up with the lining coming off to this helmet. What a difference! I wasn't expecting the air vents to actually work but they do! I can feel a breeze on my scalp and I don't get light headed and overheated now. I've ridden outside in 90 degrees and my head feel like there's nothing there. I would recommend this helmet to anyone if you want to splurge for the quality. I plan on using this helmet for training and showing and keep it in a case when I'm not wearing it. I'd rather save my brains everyday than just at the show.Make sure to measure your head accurately and with your hair at it's thickest (i.e. not wet and slicked back). The sizing chair is very, very accurate so if you have poofy hair like I do make sure to measure properly.
    Date published: 2013-10-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice but just didn't fit my head I liked the look and quality of this helmet however the shape wasn't right for my head so I returned it. Felt a lot of pressure on my forehead that would certainly give me a headache. I have an oval shaped head and I think this may work better for a rounder shape.
    Date published: 2013-07-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very well fitting helmet This helmet feels so great on. It looks nice is light and molds to the shape of your head. Great for schooling or the show ring.
    Date published: 2013-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet! I wore CO helmets before this one. I love the fit, removable liner and the fact it forms to your head! It is also very cool, I was surprised!
    Date published: 2013-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet I have to say I love this helmet. It's comfortable and doesn't look like a football helmet on your head.I also appreciate the free shipping from smartpak to and from. I thought I had the correct sizing and realized I needed a smaller size. I was able to easily mail back and get the correct one sent.I love the customer service offered by smartpak.
    Date published: 2013-07-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from samshield helmet-quality changed ? i bought this helmet in a tack store last year. 100% loved it. decided to order another since horses were living in 2 different barns.i have concerns about the one i received in may. the chin strap is too long. the velcro is in a spot that you cant use. today i took it to a seamstress to move the velcro. she said the harness is not leather. for $395. i should not need to change something and the harness should be leather. i will contact smartpak about this.
    Date published: 2013-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Satisfied Customer I received this helmet off of my wishlist for my birthday. I measured my head, and chose the corresponding size. The helmet felt a little small at first, but after a few minutes, the memory foam insert did its memory foam thing and it fit perfectly. I have an oval shaped head, and it's a perfect fit for me. The GPA was too round when I tried it a couple of years ago, as was the IRH and nearly every other brand. The Samshield not only fits perfectly, but looks great as well. No more mushroom-head for me! My trainer has this helmet also; she has used it for years and it looks like new after a good cleaning. I also love the vent; my head stays cool and I can actually feel the breeze as I'm riding. I feel safe and comfortable in this helmet; what more can I say? I would definitely recommend this helmet.
    Date published: 2013-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Slick helmet, great fit I love my Samshield! It turns heads in the show ring without being too flashy - very classy, refined, beautifully designed helmet. Since I show both hunters and jumpers, I love that this helmet shines in both rings. Super comfortable, love the leather harness, perfect fit. Couldn't ask for anything more in a helmet!
    Date published: 2013-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet I haven't had it long, so I can't speak for the durability. I love how it fits and feels, and also how it looks. The harness is also much nicer than the plain nylon ones.
    Date published: 2013-05-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wish I had purchased sooner My old and beloved GPA Titium needed replacing but the new version did not fit me so I procrastinated for months putting up with headaches from my old helmet. I am so glad I purchased the Samshield, it is the most comfortable helmet I have ever worn, it is very secure and the removeable lining is wonderful. The inside lining was soaked after my GP class at the last show, I removed it and placed it on the top of my helmet case, after 20 miutes it was dry. It may have been dry sooner I just didnt check it. After an afternoon of training horses I simply place the liner on top of the helmet in its case and in the morning it is dry and fresh. Another great point is the front vent, I have never felt the air on my head like that before, my hair stayed fairly dry and as an added bonus my head didnt itch!! As far as size I ordered a size larger than usual following the samshield size chart, it was too big but my usual size fit perfectly. A great helmet, will order the more expensive version for show now that I know my size. Only gave 4 stars on durability because it seems durable and is easy to clean but i have not owned it long enough to know for sure.
    Date published: 2013-04-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet Most important piece of riding equipment I own. And I love it!
    Date published: 2013-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love This Helmet! Finally have a helmet that fits! Also love that it is not covered in faux velvet so I can just wipe it clean. Have gotten lots of compliments.Cannot wait until they offer the mat vs. fluffy base as an option for the custom helmets!
    Date published: 2013-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most Comfortable, Lightweight Helmet I got this helmet for Christmas and could not be happier with my hubby! It's super comfy and while it may seem a teeny bit snug at first, it keeps the helmet in place WITHOUT the "headache" pressure. Plus, the memory foam inserts eventually mold to your head for a super-comfy ride (the hidden vents kept my head from sweating). The profile is very sleek - no "bubble/mushroom head" or "bug eyes." This helmet will look nice in both the hunter and jumper ring. I do not doubt the durability - everything seems to be very high quality and it comes with a basic drawstring helmet bag to keep the dust off.
    Date published: 2012-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best helmet I've tried... This is the most comfortable helmet I've ever put on my head. At first, it was a little snug, but quickly molded to my head without feeling tight. I highly recommend this helmet to anyone who thinks comfort is important.
    Date published: 2012-10-20
    • 2015-03-06T07:07CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_44
    • loc_en_US, sid_9903, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.