Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

SSG 10 Below Winter Gloves

SSG Riding Gloves
- Item #19878
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The SSG 10 Below Winter Gloves is a winter glove with supreme protection in cold weather. Proven waterproof protection (Not just water resistant). Thinsulate and exclusive SSG polar fleece lining. Plus SSG digital™ palm for superior grip.Knitted cuff for extra warmth. Stretch knit back for flexibility.

4 layers for warmth!

Imported.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SSG 10 Below Winter Gloves is rated 4.229 out of 5 by 131.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love these! I got these as I was looking for a warm and waterproof glove. These are a very comfortable glove for the most part and now that they are broken in are not as clumsy for most barn work. For riding they are also fine. However,they do not keep my fingers warm below 25 degress unless im really working hard or slip in hand warmers. Temps in the teens or below 0 these would not work at all, but most gloves dont and that's when I use mittens. Also, I have long fingers and ordered the largest size i could without making them too big. I should have gone another size up. these are an 8 and fingers still too short--mostly the thumb part between it and the palm of my hand as it restricts movement and can cramp up my hand. Now that they are broken in a little, they are more flexible but not the greatest. They have held up well but I tend to trash my gloves after a season so I am being careful with them.
    Date published: 2015-01-20
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Failed everything I bought these thinking they would really help me they northern Illinois winters. But no. First they were too small. I measured a perfect 7. I guess I have long fingers because the gloves were half an inch to short on the fingers. I wore them anyway for an evening. Too see if they would stretch. It was about 10 degrees and within minutes my hands were numb. When I tried to ride, it was impossible. I had sausage fingers. I have a pair of $12 gloves from farm and fleet that work so much better! My hands are toasty in below zero temps and they are thin enough and grippy enough to ride in. Don't waste your money on these.
    Date published: 2015-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great work horse of a glove! I've had these gloves for about a month and they are fine for riding and barn chores after they stretched out a bit. I hate the dexterity you lose with insulated gloves but I can manage nearly everything from mixing my horse's supplements in his feed to mucking stalls. The real test came this evening when the temps have plummeted to 8 degrees with 20-30 mph wind gusts. Hands, even fingers, stayed toasty. What I find remarkable is that the barn hose coupling was leaking and the faucet is an outdoor one so I was exposed to the elements while working on it. The water immediately froze on the gloves, my fingers froze together along with the pliers and my fingers remained dry and warm!!!! My husband does not have these gloves and he did not fare nearly as well. I was so impressed, as soon I came in the house and got changed, I sat down to specifically write this review. Very happy with this product.
    Date published: 2015-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves Got these gloves several weeks ago and have worn them almost everyday. They are warm.
    Date published: 2015-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful gloves I bought these last year figuring they would not be warm and I would not be able to use my hands in the barn with them on. Wrong on both counts! I liked them so much I bought them as presents for all best horsey friends!!!!
    Date published: 2014-12-30
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Sizes run small When these gloves arrived, I immediately put them on to go out to feed horses. I struggled to get them on the first time - extremely tight, and I have small hands. I was looking forward to them keeping my hands warm, but within minutes of going outside to feed, my fingertips were frozen solid. (It was about 25-30 degrees out that day.)I do like the waterproof aspect. They do seem to be very waterproof.I would suggest getting a larger size than you think you need, and don't plan on these things keeping your hands warm.
    Date published: 2014-12-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not what I expected I bought these about a month ago after seeing recommendations on them for their warmth and dryness. I'm hoping mine were just the exception. The first time I put them on, the liner inside ripped apart and they never kept my hands dry nor warm.
    Date published: 2014-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love the grip on these gloves! still have my first pair bought 2 years ago, i use them for driving, the new pair is for chores and ridding , recommended them to a friend, and she got them to!
    Date published: 2014-12-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wonderfully warm, but a bit bulky on my hands... While the gloves are great for keeping my hands warm in snowy Michigan, I did feel that they were a bit bulky. I have long fingers, but slim hands so perhaps they wouldn't be as bulky on someone else?
    Date published: 2014-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome gloves! At first I thought they would be way to bulky and considered returning them but then i decided to try them and absolutely loved them! Super warm and comfortable. Can be a little bulky but what good winter glove isn't. I even rode in them and they were decent!
    Date published: 2014-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm, durable Just pulled these out for their second season. Noticed that they still look good--no strands, loose seams, etc. Worked well for last year's freezing temps in the Mid-Atlantic. Above 25-30 degrees, they make my hands sweat. Keep my hands perfectly warm in single digit temps. While I don't immerse my hands in water while wearing them, they keep my hands dry while doing barn chores, which sometimes incidental wetness from soaking feed, cleaning water buckets, etc. They're too bulky to put a bridle on, but I can manage blanket hardware just fine with them. My favorite feature is the elastic wrist straps that keep them tethered when you take them off. I did go up one size larger than I use for my SSG All Weather gloves, and they fit perfectly.
    Date published: 2014-11-23
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from way small! I don't know what happened with this shipment but these gloves were so small that I could not get my dominant much past the palm. Even when on, they were so tight I could not move my fingers.
    Date published: 2014-11-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Durable, but not very warm! These gloves should be renamed "30 Above" Instead of "10 Below". I live in the Tundra of Minnesota and specifically purchased these gloves to stay warm on our frequent subzero days. DO NOT keep your hands warm in anything under 30 or so degrees (but I generally have cold-ish hands). You are also unable to ride in them, as they are so bulky that you feel you are riding with oven mitts on and it completely messes up their feel. Would most likely be best for less temperamental climates, but the name of the glove misled me!
    Date published: 2014-11-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from smaller than other size 7 Great value, warm gloves on the one day it got below freezing this month, but I'll go up one size next time
    Date published: 2014-09-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from I guess it's just me I cannot stand these gloves - I have the SSG Winter Training gloves, and adore them, but wondered if these might be even warmer. I'm also probably one of the only people who can say I actually wore these gloves in temperatures that were 10 below zero - in fact, I tried to wear them when it was 20 below in South Dakota for a hunting trip, and within 10 minutes, my fingers hurt so badly I had to go back to the car.So I tried to wear them when I got home for riding in mid-30s weather. They are just terrible - you don't have any dexterity or grip, and they don't keep you very warm. It was like trying to ride wearing oven mitts. Too much bulk at the end of the fingers left me feeling like a clown. I couldn't wait to get them off and go back to my old reliable Winter Ranchers. And the elastic strap to keep them on is a pain in the butt - I was going to cut them off, but thank goodness I didn't so I can return these gloves to SP. And thank goodness for SmartPak's amazing customer service and return policy, or I'd be incredibly bummed I was out the money for these.Honestly, I have two pairs of the Winter Training gloves, and I adore them - do yourself a favor and go try those instead.
    Date published: 2014-04-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from warm gloves These are very warm and comfortable. I only wish the fabric breathed better. I usually have cold hands, but mine were actually sweating in these and then the inside would be damp.
    Date published: 2014-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Useful for barn, dog walking, etc Warm and water-resistant, but do get wet through if dunked in water - as in, when removing ice from frozen water troughs. Dry quickly, through. Good grip.
    Date published: 2014-03-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warmest Riding Gloves I bought these 2weeks ago and wish I had bought themearlier. They are the warmest riding gloves I have now.The only problem I have is that I have big wrists and they are a bit tight around the wrist for me. But the factthey are warm and waterproof makes it worth the little bit of uncomfortableness.
    Date published: 2014-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from how have I lived without these all this time? These gloves are a must for any cold climate riders. I never realized the amount of torture I was putting myself through with other "winter" gloves until I got these. Seriously the best winter gloves, not just for riding, but for doing chores, feeding, especially watering. I live in the Chicago-land area and this 2013/2014 winter has been brutal and unforgiving, but these gloves are a life saver. With all the warmth they provide you'd think they'd be bulky but surprisingly they are not. I have all the warmth without any loss of feel. Highly highly recommend, good job SSG.
    Date published: 2014-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!!! I absolutely love these gloves! I teach lessons, do barn chores, ride in them and it always amazes me at how warm and toasty they keep my hands. These are the only gloves I wear now in the wintertime. And this winter has been particularly harsh in Central PA. Many mornings I was feeding and doing barn chores with a windchill of -20F and my hands stayed warm. Never happened with any other gloves I've tried. My first pair lasted two winters. I just had to replace them because my pointer finger wore through the outer material. I'm ashamed to say that I put black duct tape around the finger so that I could keep them for odd winter jobs to keep my new ones nicer longer. That's how much I love them! I recommend them to all of my students for winter riding.
    Date published: 2014-02-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very warm, however sometimes the inner lining sometimes gets bunched up and it is difficult to straighten out/
    Date published: 2014-02-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice gloves I was looking for a warm pair of barn gloves and purchased a pair of these. Overall, they're a nice pair of gloves. The wrist opening is a little snug so it makes it kind of annoying if you need to take them on and off a lot. However, this feature also helps keep them snug on your hands. Bonus - they have elastic loops inside so you can attach to your wrists, jacket sleeves, etc so you don't lose them when you take them off! They're warm gloves but for the days that it was 20-30 degrees outside, I found myself still wanting another layer of gloves or perhaps a thicker pair. Maybe I'm just a wimp :)
    Date published: 2014-02-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good winter glove, but not at 10 Below I'm a long-time fan of SSG gloves, and I'm happy with these, but the "10 Below" label is misleading. They're good, waterproof work and riding gloves down to about 20 F. Below that, they get cold and fight tightly enough to prevent slipping a heat pak inside. Typical SSG quality: Excellent! The fit is tight and true to size, so be sure to measure around the widest part of your hand (just below your knuckles) and order that number size. I first ordered a small, which is my usual size, only to find they were about child's size. I gave them away (to a child) and measured and reordered a 7. The second pair fits exactly with no room for error. That's two sizes larger than the first pair. If we ever get some above-freezing weather for riding, these will be my primary riding gloves, I'm sure. Especially love the elastic band that goes around your wrist so you can drop the glove to use your fingers without losing the glove on the ground. Nice touch!
    Date published: 2014-02-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I can move my fingers!! I recently just bought these and they work great in cold weather. I was able to still move my fingers in then which is a big deal to me when it's 0 degrees outside and I want to unlatch a gate or something similar. Very much worth the money!
    Date published: 2014-02-06
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from 10 Below is a joke!! I bought these gloves for our coldest weather. 10 below is an absolute joke!! My hands get so cold at 20 degrees that I can only stay outside for 30 to 45 mins.
    Date published: 2014-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves! we've had an exceptionally cold winter in NC this year. These gloveshave kept my hand warm and dry on cold mornings. They do run a little small so if in doubt I would size up.
    Date published: 2014-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best winter gloves I have ever had Love them. They are warm, water proof and smart looking. i returned the first pair as the gloves ran a size small. SmartPak made returning so easy and sent another pair a size larger - just by calling customer service - and they fit "like a glove". Would definitely recommend these. I live in SC and this year we are having an extremely cold winter. So these come in handy working around the barn.
    Date published: 2014-01-29
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from 10 below what? Fit is comfortable and can tack up wearing them. Yet, if it hits below freezing I need to wear a glove liner with them or my hands freeze. They're not near as warm as other riding gloves I own. It was my hope they would keep my hands toasty when the weather dips into the 20 degree F, yet that's not the case. Since I wore them when the weather was in the 40's F I didn't return. This is not the glove I pick when riding or doing chores when the temperature dips below 32 degree F.
    Date published: 2014-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm :) A little bulky for bridling but nice and warm for riding. In 30 degree weather my hands actually sweat! Love em
    Date published: 2014-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm and Comfortable I got these gloves for Christmas and love them! We have some chilly days in the winter and they jeep my hands warm. The gloves are good quality.
    Date published: 2014-01-16
    • 2015-03-01T06:47CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_127
    • loc_en_US, sid_9878, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.