Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

SSG 10 Below Winter Gloves

SSG Riding Gloves
- Item #19878

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The SSG 10 Below Winter Gloves is a winter glove with supreme protection in cold weather. Proven waterproof protection (Not just water resistant). Thinsulate and exclusive SSG polar fleece lining. Plus SSG digital™ palm for superior grip.Knitted cuff for extra warmth. Stretch knit back for flexibility.

4 layers for warmth!

Imported.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    SSG 10 Below Winter Gloves is rated 4.3241 out of 5 by 108.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I can move my fingers!! I recently just bought these and they work great in cold weather. I was able to still move my fingers in then which is a big deal to me when it's 0 degrees outside and I want to unlatch a gate or something similar. Very much worth the money!
    Date published: 2014-02-10
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from 10 Below is a joke!! I bought these gloves for our coldest weather. 10 below is an absolute joke!! My hands get so cold at 20 degrees that I can only stay outside for 30 to 45 mins.
    Date published: 2014-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves! we've had an exceptionally cold winter in NC this year. These gloveshave kept my hand warm and dry on cold mornings. They do run a little small so if in doubt I would size up.
    Date published: 2014-02-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best winter gloves I have ever had Love them. They are warm, water proof and smart looking. i returned the first pair as the gloves ran a size small. SmartPak made returning so easy and sent another pair a size larger - just by calling customer service - and they fit "like a glove". Would definitely recommend these. I live in SC and this year we are having an extremely cold winter. So these come in handy working around the barn.
    Date published: 2014-01-29
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from 10 below what? Fit is comfortable and can tack up wearing them. Yet, if it hits below freezing I need to wear a glove liner with them or my hands freeze. They're not near as warm as other riding gloves I own. It was my hope they would keep my hands toasty when the weather dips into the 20 degree F, yet that's not the case. Since I wore them when the weather was in the 40's F I didn't return. This is not the glove I pick when riding or doing chores when the temperature dips below 32 degree F.
    Date published: 2014-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm :) A little bulky for bridling but nice and warm for riding. In 30 degree weather my hands actually sweat! Love em
    Date published: 2014-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm and Comfortable I got these gloves for Christmas and love them! We have some chilly days in the winter and they jeep my hands warm. The gloves are good quality.
    Date published: 2014-01-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from kind of interesting... These are really a pair of substantial gloves and for those whose hands stay warm in gloves, they would be great. Super supportive of your hands with a snug wristband. My hands/fingers only stay warm in mittens so they would definitely freeze in these gloves in "10 below" weather but for anyone whose hands stay warm in gloves in frigid temperatures, these would definitely keep you warm. They have an elastic band that attaches to your wrist or arm so you can slip the gloves off and they hang from the elastic band.
    Date published: 2014-01-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from definitely not 10 below... I always have cold hands and these gloves seemed like the perfect winter solution-especially since they're waterproof! Most of my work is on the ground- not riding, so I really needed the waterproof factor. I did find them to be a very tight fit (and I got the large), but perhaps they're made to be very fitted if used for riding. Unfortunately, I did not find them any warmer then my regular, inexpensive, thinsulate gloves, and the snug fit made it difficult to get in and out of them quickly.They seem to be well made, and have reinforcements where the greatest amount of "rub" would occur- but all in all, they're just not for me.
    Date published: 2014-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Phenomenal I bought these gloves for a friend of mine who struggles w cold hands in the winter. She is warm and dry while doing chores they are soft enough to ride in. They are a little too bulky for intricate work but they are great!
    Date published: 2014-01-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too Small I think sizing charts should include S, M, L, XL, etc... I initially ordered an 8, but returned them to hopefully get a size 11 that fits. I have no idea what size an 8 is, but would better understand what a Medium is. I also think that making them sized for men, or women, would be even more beneficial. The pair I got indicated that they were sized via unisex. This appears to be a great glove, but one that I am unable to wear in this extremely cold weather hitting the Midwest right now. I returned mine the day after Christmas, and have not heard from the manufacturer that they received my return, or even shipped out the new pair that I ordered.
    Date published: 2014-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from warm and dry hands These gloves are exactly as advertised. Cleaning water troughs in subzero temps and hands stayed toasty.
    Date published: 2014-01-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from useful winter glove Warm gloves for the average winter day.  I like the wrist loops on these gloves, to keep them handy when you have to take them off for a fine detail job.  They do run small, especially on the finger length.  I had to try 3 sizes before getting the right one!  They seem very durable, but I haven't had a chance to use them yet.  The cuff is nice and long, keeping your wrists covered.
    Date published: 2014-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Gloves I bought them as Christmas gifts for my grand children and they are enjoying them. They were very excited to be able to ride when the temps are cold.
    Date published: 2014-01-06
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Big disappointment I have previously owned several pair of these gloves, and was happy with them, so I knew what size to order. It is obvious the design of these gloves has been changed. The thumb was set on so high, I could only get half of my thumb into it and then there was absolutely no range of motion. I could not perform the simplest activity with these gloves on, they were so ill fitting. I can't decide whether my pair was mis-made or that the new design was so off. Cannot return because I attempted to wear them so they are not "as new". Extremely disappointed. Will not buy another pair.
    Date published: 2014-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gloves Just a great pair of gloves especially for an active outdoor person. They fit great, they're comfortable and they're warm!
    Date published: 2014-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these gloves! These are the best gloves to wear when the whether is below freezing. Keeps your hands warm while feeding the horses and doing barn chores. Durable and they keep your hands warm even if they get wet with carrying a water bucket.
    Date published: 2013-12-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great gloves, but not very warm I have several pairs of these gloves, and have used them for multiple seasons. They are not as warm as I had hoped. If I'm moving and my hands are warm, then they are okay. However, once you stop moving, your hands get cold very quickly. I recommend these for a cool fall, or early winter, but not for freezing weather in the middle of winter. On the other side, the quality is fantastic. They hold up well, especially with all of the abuse I put them through. I bought my first pair 3-4 years ago, and they're still around!
    Date published: 2013-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Truly warm and water proof These are great gloves for around the farm, I don't know that I'd ride in them other than hacking, they are very thick, which makes them very warm. I am a size 7 in every glove I've ever worn and these felt "snug" when I first tried them on but they do fit, they're just thicker than most gloves. Great for dragging the ring in, doing chores, bringing horses in and out, etc. AND - great for grabbing chunks of ice out of water troughs - they are that waterproof.
    Date published: 2013-12-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Warm, but bulky These are very warm gloves. And they are waterproof with good grip. However, they are bulky. So, I cannot fill the reins that well, but its not impossible to ride in them. Putting polo wraps and tightening the girth etc.. is difficult.
    Date published: 2014-01-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very warm and easy to do barn work with, however, the gloves are not the easiest to ride it. They're a little bulky and it can be hard to feel the horse's mouth.
    Date published: 2013-12-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice gloves, but not as warm as I had hoped About three months ago, I bought a size 7 (I have small-average hands). I also bought a size 8, which is a little bit roomier, but they both fit very well. Really like how these gloves have long fingers so it is easy to hold the reigns correctly. I have worn these gloves in 1-35 degree F weather. They have relatively little bulk, so it is not difficult to work with bridle hardware, etc. They are most effective when I keep them under my jacket so they get nice and warm until I get on my horse to ride. Using them around the barn, my fingers freeze, and stay frozen until I take the gloves off and rewarm my fingers and the gloves. They tend to become wet with sweat very quickly, but they also dry within a day, so I would recommend buying two pair. All told, I have not tried any gloves that work or warm better, though I had hoped they would keep my fingers warmer.
    Date published: 2013-12-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good winter gloves but not for riding These gloves are super warm.  I am glad I bought them for wearing around the barn.  Wisconsin winters get cold!  I only give them three stars though because I think they are too bulky for riding.  Maybe trail riding would be okay, but I feel awkward establishing a connection in them jumping or doing dressage.  I usually wear them into the arena with a pair of crocheted gloves stashed in my pocket to ride in.  I will be buying pair of SSG leather winter gloves that are less bulky.Also, I am tall (almost 6ft), with proportional hands...they are just a smidge too tight.  Either way, I am keeping them because they are already dirty but most of all, they are def WARM!
    Date published: 2013-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Gloves A bit bulky to ride in, but aren't all winter gloves. They are warm! I think these are a great value.
    Date published: 2013-12-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Warm! I show throughout the year, and not in Florida either! So it gets pretty cold on those 3 a.m horse show mornings. These are so warm. I don't even need hand warmers! They are very sleek to, not as bulky as some of the winter gloves. They are very easy to tack up and ride with. I also use them for work around the barn. Overall they are great!
    Date published: 2013-12-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Riding Gloves This gloves definitely run small. I did see this in other reviews and ordered 1 size up but they were still too small. Also, way to insulating for the Olympic Peninsula. It just does not get that cold here in the winter.
    Date published: 2013-11-30
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not All Purpose For riding, rein-feel, ONLY these are practical for keeping hands warm during winter rides. For any other purpose (buckles, knots, any fine motor activity) they are cumbersome. But they come with attached wrist loops so you can quickly remove them, do your work, and then put them back on for riding.
    Date published: 2013-11-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves Finally I have found a winter glove for riding and barn work, they are warm yet not bulky. You can manage to do buckles and ride still feeling the reins and pressure you want. Great buy!
    Date published: 2013-11-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best gloves for winter These gloves are amazing! I got them wet filling water tanks in cold weather and it never soaked through. They fit great though I did have to email Smartpak to figure out how to measure (around the width of the hand, leaving out the thumb). Found out the average size for women is a 7 and it fits perfectly. These gloves aren't too bulky and look nice, not like most of my barn gloves. Worth every penny!
    Date published: 2013-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from WATERPROOF...REALLY!!! These gloves are wonderful for all my New England wintertime barn chores. They truly keep my hands warm and dry and if on the rare occasion my palms get overheated and sweaty, they don't take too long to dry...They're ready the next time I have to feed the horses! This is my second season in my first pairs I've ordered (pairs because I keep spares in the barn). I have worn them out and just purchased 2 more pair for me and 2 extra pair for my barnyard helpers (our daughters ;) ). I LOVE them! I recommend them highly!!
    Date published: 2013-12-02
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.