Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Solstice Winter Paddock Boot

SmartPak
- Item #19714

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

As riders in New England, we know a thing or two about winter. We designed the Solstice collection to offer unique style and cozy warm comfort. These boots are what your feet want for Christmas. 

The Solstice Paddock Boot has a rugged, chunky outsole that offers great traction in winter's worst weather. These boots look great with jeans or paired with your half chaps for a warm winter ride. Faux fur lining is cozy and warm. Designed for all-day comfort with a water-resistant foot. Elastic ankle gussets for easy on/off.

Imported.

11/15/11: These boots have an easy fit. Please consider sizing down if you are in between sizes.
You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Solstice Winter Paddock Boot is rated 4.3103 out of 5 by 58.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My go-to winter boot! I actually wear these all year round. They are GREAT! I love the forgiving fit (easy to add layers of socks or a toe-warmer packet) and the easy on, easy off design. The elastic ankle gussets keep it secure in mud, but are easy to tug off at the end of the day. I spend many, many hours a day in my boots...these have been my favorite. I just bought my third pair and will buy another when this pair is ready to be retired. They are warm, cozy, breathable, and durable.
    Date published: 2014-01-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfortable and warm These boots are great to wear around with jeans -- in town -- in the barn ! They run a bit large as described -- and work for me to ride in when cold enough to wear thick socks -- here in Montana though we seem to be either tooooo cold to ride or warm enough that I hardly need the warmer boots. Still I enjoy the comfort and look of the boots as well as the versatility.
    Date published: 2013-12-30
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not what I expected Leather is thin, but the workmanship is nice.  These are not warm enough to use as winter boys at all, but they are fine for work with jeans.  Really sloppy big in the heel.
    Date published: 2013-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm and comfy At first I ordered my usual shoe size, but the boots were too big. I called and ordered a size down and they are just right. The exchange was very easy. I wear them to clean the barn and walking from my car to my job at the ski center. So far the traction has been awesome as well.
    Date published: 2013-12-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very large - Definitely order a size down. Great quality and nice looking but a hard fit. I normally wear an 8 so I purchased an 8. I did read that they are a little larger than a normal size 8 but I thought that was to accommodate thick wool socks. Even with my THICK Smartwool socks, the boots are far too large to ride in. The ankle, due to the elastic, is very loose and the boots don't stay on well. Unfortunately, I walked in the barn aisle with them when I first purchased them and got them dirty so I didn't try to return them. I have purchased in-soles to try to make them a tighter fit - hopefully this works. They are great quality THOUGH and would be really nice boots if they fit.
    Date published: 2013-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These boots are terrifically awesome! I have had these boots 1 -2 months now, and I just love them.  They do run big, but I wear orthotics and a thick sock and it's working fine.  
    Date published: 2013-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots! These boots are great.  Nice and warm.  Stylish.  My only complaint is that the leather is so soft that the boots don't supply much support when walking through the chopped up/frozen pasture.  With these boots, wool socks, and toastie toes, I was able to be outside riding for over 4 hours without freezing in 20 degrees - sounds like a lot of stuff, but this is the warmest boot I've found so far!
    Date published: 2013-12-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Quality is good I wish the boot would have come in half sizes. The seven was just a little too tight and the 8's even with a heavy sock are still a little to big. I would not consider this to be a snow boot. Also the rear tab to pull them on should have been more ridged to make getting your finger in to pull.
    Date published: 2013-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Fit My feet always get cold in the winter so I went looking for a nice winter riding boot. Most boots wont accommodate my thick winter socks but these boots have a looser fit so they are comfortable with my socks. They also keep my feet very warm and don't leak water in! An overall awesome boot!
    Date published: 2013-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Work Boots! Cozy from the get-go!  Good support, too!  And they look great!  I have had them only a month now, but I have no complaints.  
    Date published: 2013-12-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous boots I bought these boots knowing that they run a little big.  I bought two pairs one size smaller and one bigger to see which one fit.  I did this because SmartPack offers free returns.  I returned the ones that did not fit effortlessly.  In less than 4 days received my refund.  Love my new boots with the correct size. Great for people with wide feet.
    Date published: 2013-11-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the boot, don't like the pull up strap love the boot, runs large, excellent for riding in, use it with half chaps and i wore my work clothes to ride in HAHA - the tag in back to pull on boot is scratchy, would like a better tag
    Date published: 2013-11-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfy boots My old paddock boots disintegrated and I was forced to replace them. I was skeptical. These new boots feel like I've been wearing them forever. The leather is so soft. They do run wide so I put a Dr Scholls insole in the bottom. I would buy these boots again!
    Date published: 2013-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice boots! Have only worn these a few time so can't comment yet on durability, but I can say I love them now. They do run large (had to return my normal size) but actually fit like jodhpur boots used to. I have a wide foot (C-D) with a narrow(A) heel so I have trouble with fit, these are great with only a small amount of excess space at the heel - easily resolved with a foam insert. I like the old fashioned gore side with pulls on the top -and hope that you'll consider an unlined version for summer. These are the first boots I've gotten in years that didn't cause blisters and bruises in the "break-in period" - they fit like they should out of the box. Absolutely love them, and I'm glad to find an above the ankle boot without zippers or laces, and wide enough to accomodate my feet without pain.
    Date published: 2013-11-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm boots These boots are warm. I put waterproofer on them and that has kept my feet dry. The only problem is that the pulls on the back for slipping them on broke off of one of them. Other than that they are nice. They are really comfortable, I hope they make some without the insulation for warmer weather!
    Date published: 2013-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solstice Winter Paddock Boot I bought these for my daughter as her feet were always cold. She loves them and says they are quite warm and really comfy. I definitely recommend them.
    Date published: 2013-11-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from love these! these boots work great for me. I have a hard time keeping my feet warm. I haven't had a problem at all this winter, even when it got to -6 with the wind chills.
    Date published: 2013-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfy boots I went down 1/2 size and they fit great.....plenty of room for heavy socks. I got them to wear while doing my barn chores, but they are too cute to get muddy! Maybe I should order another pair to keep clean for wearing with jeans......hmmm?
    Date published: 2013-01-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Look good but don't fit I first ordered a size 39 (closest to my real size). They were too big. Returned them for a size 38 > they are too small! The leather is very nice and they seem to be well made. The sizing is just not good. Thank goodness SmartPak doesn't charge return postage,
    Date published: 2013-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Toasty warm It was 10 degrees today, and these boots kept my feet warm throughout my 3 hours at the barn. They are good looking enough that I wear them out and about as well. One thing: I ordered a half size down after reading reviews that they run large. They are STILL very roomy, but I like a little extra room in the winter.
    Date published: 2013-01-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm, comfy boots! I love these boots! Yes, they are really roomy. I wear a size 8.5 and have a slightly wider foot, so I ordered a size 8, as recommended - but they are still quite loose. I added a pair of insoles, and I wear heavy socks - that helps. I was afraid if I ordered them any smaller (size 7), they would have been too short. If they came in half sizes, a 7.5 would have been perfect!
    Date published: 2013-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boots These are great boots! I always have a problem with cold feet in the winter. Since I've been wearing these boots, my feet have stayed nice and warm. They are very comfortable too. I read the reviews about the boots running large, so I bought a size smaller and they fit perfectly.
    Date published: 2013-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice boot I really like the way these boots fit and they are easier to get on and off than some of my other boots. They are comfortable and warm. I had a slight problem with a little damage that happened the first time I wore them, but SmartPak offered to pay for the return and exchange, no questions asked. Their awesome customer service is the reason I buy many of my supplies from them.
    Date published: 2013-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Too good for the Barn! I love these paddock boots. In fact they are way too nice to wear them to the barn. They have become a go to shoe when I wear my jeans. Fits is true to size. Lining is toasty and warm. I would buy again!
    Date published: 2013-01-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from too big Way too big. Like two sizes too big. And the quality just wasn't there. I thought the leather would be a lot nicer. I sent them back and won't reorder.
    Date published: 2013-01-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Boots are worth a look at Super comfy, easy to slip on and off. Durable. Wish they were a little more waterproof.
    Date published: 2013-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Toasty Warm! Keeping my toes warm has always been a Winter problem - but with a heavy pair of socks, these do the trick very nicely. Like everyone else, I found that they do run large and I recommend considering what socks you'll be wearing with them. Elastic sides provide great comfort and flexibility and they're extremely comfortable for riding - and walking, for that matter. I'm 100% pleased with this purchase.
    Date published: 2013-01-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Boots I ordered these boots during the Christmas Deals, and I absolutely love them. They are very comfortable, keep my toes very warm, and are very easy to ride in. My only complaint is that they run very big. I normally wear a size 7 1/2, so I ordered a 7. The 7 is still too large, so I would recommend ordering down a good bit. Even though they run big, they are very well made. I am very glad I ordered these boots!
    Date published: 2013-01-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Nice! So, I ordered these as part of the 12 Deals of Christmas---I usually wear a 7 & 1/2 or 8 in regular street shoes (not even sure what size my tall boots are...) so I ordered a 7 & they were HUGE! Even with thick socks. Sent them back & got a 6---just right. They still feel big, but I think that is because they are VERY roomy in the toe area. Very nice leather-I got the brown-& I love the sherpa lining. I haven't worn them to ride in yet-but I think they will be fine. Very nice & good quality. Another SmartPak great buy!
    Date published: 2013-01-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from too big These boots are at least a size too big. The leather isn't as soft as I would have liked either. Not the quality I expected. I'm sending them back and don't think I'll re-order them.
    Date published: 2013-01-03
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.