Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

SmartPak Lite AP Saddle Pad

SmartPak
- Item #19504
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

We thought about what we want, as riders, when we’re shopping for saddle pads. Then we brought it to life. Outstanding quality, classic styling, and unbeatable prices. Perfect for schooling. 

Favorite Features

  • Lightweight
  • Breathable
  • Quilted

Poly/cotton blend.
Imported.

Sizing It Up

21 ¾" spine x 20" drop.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Lite AP Saddle Pad is rated 4.6794 out of 5 by 131.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy! Every time I need a saddle pad, I buy one of these. The price is great, they hold up well, they launder well. Hard to beat!
    Date published: 2015-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE LOVE LOVE the embroidery!!! I purchased this pad as a gift for the young lady leasing my horse. I decided to get a customized schooling pad for her, and after looking at my options I got just her first name embroidered. I was, admittedly, a little apprehensive, as it appears most of the custom work is done with both a graphic and text, but I just wanted her first name with no graphic. I was worried that her name wouldn't be centered as nicely without the graphic and it might be too small. Boy, was I wrong!!!!! They're clearly no spring chickens, the folk(s) who did the sewing. It's PERFECT! Nice, clean, bold, centered. My OCD was tickled to death when I saw the job. The pad itself is very light and breathable (exactly what I wanted) and is of excellent quality. I will be buying more for my friends and myself.
    Date published: 2015-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nicely done! Ordered for my daughter for Christmas and she loved it. The monogram was nicely done and the product is well made. Great price too.
    Date published: 2014-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect light pad! So many baby pads are too thin and my horse ends up sweating through to the half pad, others are much to thick and cause fitment issues. These are perfect! Smartpak hit the nail on the head with these!
    Date published: 2014-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome saddle pad I LOVE these pads. So light. They are very durable and wash well.
    Date published: 2014-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from new favorite saddle pads I love these! They're the perfect size and shape for my saddle, and don't seem to collect hair like my other pads. And no billet straps are a plus for me, since I don't like them anyway.
    Date published: 2014-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very attractive and well done I had the opportunity to take advantage of SmartPaks low SmartPerks discount and the free embroidery on this pad. I put our mares name and breed logo and chose the royal blue border and red embroidery ... looks very nice and it's in my daughter's preferred color combo, red white and blue. Thanks SmartPaks for this lovely pad. Since I'm familiar with the pads and they are great, the embroidery was the icing on the cake!
    Date published: 2014-12-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely pad I purchased this pad for schooling. It is well constructed and the perfect thickness for a well-fitted saddle. The pad does not have the billet tabs, but it pad stays in place nicely under my custom fit saddle. It slides back under my slightly narrow saddle. Great pad for a great price. I am always pleased with Smartpak products. If it came in more solid colors, I would buy one of each!
    Date published: 2014-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality Lightweight, easy to clean, great fit, doesn't slip, and durable.Love the different trim colors.I have three, one of which with embroidery, which of course turned out beautifully.Thank you smartpak!
    Date published: 2014-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Saddle Pad Ever I bought 2 of these, the burgandy trim and the black trim a few months ago and I love them! I own some Dover and Roma ones that can't compare in fit or price. My other ones slip, even with the billet straps, and these fit perfectly and don't move at all! My hard-to-fit haflinger/qh and I have had lots of problems with saddle pads being too thick and changing the fit of the saddle, but these are light-weight enough that my saddle still fits like a glove. I can't wait to purchase the rest of the colors!
    Date published: 2014-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Love Love! This is my 2nd pad with a different monogram but I love both of them! And the embroidery is amazing! Can't wait to show in it next week!
    Date published: 2014-11-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from High Quality and Very Affordable! This saddle pad fits my 18" Tad Coffin saddle and my 17 hand Selle Francais (who's built like a tank) perfectly! I was a bit worried the material may be to heavy for use in Florida, but that is not the case, it is quite light weight and not at all stiff either! While it does get quite dirty on the underneath after about a week of daily use, you'd never know it after a quick trip through the washing machine. I've been riding in this saddle pad almost daily for about a month now and washing it about once a week or once every other week and it still looks and feels brand new. I actually just bought another, this time with my horse's name on it. I'd definitely recommend it.
    Date published: 2014-11-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from One year old and still going strong Purchased 4 of these pads a year ago and they still look fantastic. I wash them with bleach and they hardly fade. They are lightweight and do not add bulk under my saddles. They look as if I spent far more money on them even after a year of use.
    Date published: 2014-11-04
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Very slippery pads! I bought 4 of these pads (monogrammed) for my 3 show horses prior to the start of the show season. I haven't had any problems with the pads falling apart (like some of the other reviews mention), and they're absolutely lovely! They've washed up well and held up through a season's worth of use. But for some reason they slip on my big jumper to the point that I can't ride him in any of them. Doesn't matter if I add non-slip pads under and over the pad, the pad still slips back to the point that it hurts his withers and he starts reacting to it. I have never had a problem with any other saddle pads on this horse (though he is a TB with stereotypical TB withers), and was very surprised by how these pads move on him. They work fine on my other 2 show horses, but I won't be ordering more of this particular pad. And it's a shame because I love the shape and size and....well....really everything except for how slippery they are!
    Date published: 2014-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pad! I've only used this pad a few times, but so far so good. It's very lightweight and thin, so it works great with my Mattes half pad. It is a little on the small side for my 17.5" monoflap jumping saddle, but that's okay. I do wish it came in base colors other than white because I would definitely buy like 4 more! I'm sure I'll be buying more in the near future though.[Excuse the dirt on the pad in this photo. White pads are hard to keep clean. ;) ]
    Date published: 2014-10-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Schooling Pad I've had these saddle pads for several years and they are excellent for everyday training. They are not the most durable or well made pad but for $17 they are a great value. They do their job and look fancier than they are.
    Date published: 2014-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A good happy medium Baby pads are too light and flimsy for my taste, so I ordered this pad with customization. It is just the right thickness; still light and breathable, but has good structure. As the description suggests, it is lighter and cooler than the medium AP saddle pad. The customization came out just as I had hoped. Great product, I will be ordering more!
    Date published: 2014-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Pad I love this pad…lightweight and washes well. I will certainly be purchasing more!
    Date published: 2014-10-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Saddle pad for schooling! This is a fantastic saddle pad for the price! Very light-weight, and breathable! It is a great size (It doesn't swallow up my QH like most saddle pads do), and I really love the fact that it has a girth-strap, but no billet-strap. Overall I love this saddle pad!
    Date published: 2014-09-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to Customize Custom monograms were easy to order online. this option does not work, however, on my smart phone.
    Date published: 2014-09-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute clean little pad. I like this pad a lot but I bought it for my Dressage saddle since it has that nice wither cut but it is a bit too short for the saddle I am trying to use it with. I will save it for use with a jump saddle.
    Date published: 2014-09-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks great embroidered I love this saddle pad. It's lightweight, great-looking, well-priced and washes well. It looks fantastic embroidered (lots of compliments). I plan on buying these (embroidered) as gifts for the holidays.
    Date published: 2014-09-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Like the pad but it is to short for my dressage saddle. :( Would be fine for a jumping saddle.
    Date published: 2014-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great for the price Nice for every day useWe used as a prize for a hunter pacePeople loved them
    Date published: 2014-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice lightweight pad for a well fitted saddle I have used this pad about 5-6 times (washed after the first couple) and it's just right. The price can't be beat, either! I needed a thinner pad for a very well-fitted and flocked saddle and this fit the bill. My horse is a sporty Haflinger with a shorter back and I ride in Junior length flaps (jump saddle) and while all the other AP pads are huge, interfering with girthing, this one fits just as well as the custom-sized pad I had made.
    Date published: 2014-07-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cool&lite In the heat of summer the pad is great at keeping my horses cool after a long day in the show ring or at home when schooling.Pad is a little short to use with a medium or long mattes pad, but that's my only complaint
    Date published: 2014-07-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good pad for the price Purchased this pad for my daughter for daily schooling rides. The drop of it is not as long as some jumper pads but it isn't too short either. Horses get really dusty in the turnout, but pads wash clean with no stains and they haven't shrunk yet (3 trips thru the laundry at this point) deffinatly nice pad for the price
    Date published: 2014-06-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Updated Review I reviewed this pad about 9 months ago and really my only complaint was the stitching didn't line up on the diamond quilting. I also had it only a month, purchasing 2. I now own three. Even though the stitching didn't line up, not a single stitch has some loose. The pads don't slide on my horse and are the perfect thickness of light and not too thick - great for my perfectly fitted saddle. I haven't noticed any shrinking either (wash warm), as opposed to another retailer's popular brand that was a gift, and was nearly identical to SP Lite in features, theirs shrunk so much, it was unusable in length for my 17.5" saddle. It also washing very cleanly. Esp considering the awesome price, you can't go wrong with this pad. Two are very nicely embroidered by SP, and one I had done locally with a custom design. Wish there were more colors, at least for trims - then I'd buy more.
    Date published: 2014-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome every day Pad This saddle pad is the perfect thickness for every day use. Good quality and holding up well. Very happy will buy more.
    Date published: 2014-04-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THIS PAD!! Hands down the best pad to use under a half pad. I use this pad ONLY under my Ogilvy hunter half pad. Everything else is too thin, too thick, or just slides all over! This pad DOES NOT MOVE and is the perfect thickness. It's also not stiff like my last Lettia baby pad I bought (and hated). I will never buy another pad, now I just wish they offered more colors!! I'm just going to dye a few of the black trimmed ones. ;) Ps. Mine both came with perfect tight stitching.
    Date published: 2014-04-09
    • 2015-03-01T06:47CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_122
    • loc_en_US, sid_9504, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.