Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

SmartPak Lite AP Saddle Pad

SmartPak
- Item #19504

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

We thought about what we want, as riders, when we’re shopping for saddle pads. Then we brought it to life. Outstanding quality, classic styles and unbeatable prices.

Perfect for schooling, this poly/cotton blend pad is lightweight and breathable. 21 3/4" spine x 20" drop.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    SmartPak Lite AP Saddle Pad is rated 4.6596 out of 5 by 94.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality and value! Perfect for under my gel pad and doesn't scrunch up like baby pads because it has the girth straps. I can't believe other people have mentioned mis-stitching, you would need a magnifying glass to notice! And as for value! You simply can't find a pad of this quality for twice this price. I originally bought 2 with monograms for about $25 each and then took advantage of the free embroidery offer and got 2 more for a total of less than $35 and free shipping! I wish I had bought more for gifts for friends! Smart paks continues to amaze with both their quality products and superb customer service. I was ordering these on a computer at work and having some trouble so I called smart pak and an actual human picked up on the first ring at 9pm! I know of not another business where that would be the case! I will continue to do all my horse related shopping from this terrific company!
    Date published: 2014-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Affordable and Nice I bought this pad a couple months ago. I've used it several times and it has held up well to washing. It is a great thickness for going under my thinline half pad. Thinner than a normal AP pad but thicker than a flimsy baby pad. Love the trim detail!
    Date published: 2014-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Schooling Pad! I bought 2 of these, one with navy and one with burgundy.  I read the reviews and saw that people had said they were small and had defects but I figured for the price it was ok.  Bother of mine were perfect, yes a bit small but perfect for my 17.5" close contact saddle with an Ogilvy half pad.  No defects at all on either.  Only thing to say is that the burgundy in the picture looks almost red but in reality it is actually dark burgundy just so people don't expect to receive a red trimmed saddle pad.
    Date published: 2014-04-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love!! I bought this saddle pad recently, and I've only used it once so far, but I like it! It looks classy and respective, and this is my 2nd pad like this! My only complaints are, the label at the top that says "Smartpak" starts to come off after a couple washes (which happens frequently because it's white), and my 2nd one is on the thin side. But that is it! 
    Date published: 2014-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Although I shouldn't have been surprised... I WAS! I bought this embroidered as a Christmas gift. I was highly impressed with it. The product itself was much more impressive than the "Lite" wrong would led you to believe. Tremendous quality at a great price. I wish it came in more colors, I'd buy some for me! (i.e. Red and Royal Blue Trim!)
    Date published: 2014-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Basic Saddle Pad Material is soft, blue is beautiful.  Like the small diamond so the pad doesn't bend and roll away front he horse.
    Date published: 2013-12-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from An Okay Pad My barn just ordered these last week, it was amazing to finally have a good pad for once, we use them for showing and schooling. There are only three things I don't like about it, it doesn't fit my 18" Wintec saddle, it slides around to much so I had to add an extra pad underneath so it wouldn't slide around. The last problem is the stitching on the girth strap is not enough. My friend also had this problem. All and all it's a good pad though.
    Date published: 2013-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Pad My school equestrian team bought some embroidered pads and they look great! They are lightweight, but not flimsy like most baby pads. I know some previous reviews expressed concern for careless stitching, but our pads are stitched neatly and straight.
    Date published: 2013-10-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from More attention to detail needed I really want to love this pad, but I only like it. First the size is awesome. Right length, right drop, not too forward. Love that it comes in color trims (more colors please!). Love the weight/thickness. It def has some stiffness like a regular pad (until flimsy baby pads). It has wither relief and girth strap - win win! I also find that it's not slippery and stays put. I also love the embroidery colors match EXACTLY!What I don't like is that stitching quality is sub-par. I have 3 of these pads now and inspected 2 of them, but have many mis-stitched diamonds (see photos). It looks like the stitches are tight, but it's unsightly and I do worry about longevity.There's obviously zero quality control because it's on both sides of two different pads in at least half a dozen locations of each side of each pad.Esp because I had 2 pad embroidered, I wasn't going to send them back. And for now they are usable. But if the stitching can be perfected, then we'll have a 5* winner with this pad!
    Date published: 2014-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved this saddle pad, it fit perfectly and it looks so Nice. I keep getting compliments on it at my stable.
    Date published: 2013-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Pad! This saddle pad is a great price! It was just what I needed. It looks great and is an amazing deal!
    Date published: 2013-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pad I purchased this pad in both hunter and burgundy trim and had both monogrammed. It looks great, is a perfect weight and fits my 17" antares AP saddle perfectly. I would definitely recommend it as a good schooling pad and even for shows; you can't go wrong for the price.
    Date published: 2013-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pad for the price Love this pad with the black binding for doing the jumpers. I bought two to use with the other pads I already have so I can have a fresh pad to use everyday. I did have a few of the stitches pop on one but I just sewed them back, only comment I can really make about durability. Love the pads otherwise.
    Date published: 2013-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gift purchase! Purchased this pad in white/black as a gift for a friend-- pad is of a substantial weight but not bulky. Embroidery was beautiful, and arrived very quickly even with customization.
    Date published: 2013-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit, great value I needed a new show pad and loved the look of this one. The price is awesome and the quality is great. I can't speak much to durability (I gave it 5 stars because it's held up great for me) since I only use this pad at shows (once every few weeks), but I love the look. I am new to eventing, so until I get my dressage saddle/pad, I will use this with my regular saddle
    Date published: 2013-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-05-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A good everyday pad This is a nice everyday pad, it washed up very nice, perfect for what I needed with a good reasonable price.
    Date published: 2013-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Affordable Pad I bought this in white with navy trim and had it monogrammed. It looks great! I would definitely buy more
    Date published: 2013-04-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Inexpensive, decent pad Doesn't come with the standard keeper that goes around the billet on each side, but even so it doesn't slide around. A nice little pad for everyday use, though probably a little overpriced. Easy to wash and dry, very useful.
    Date published: 2013-04-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cute pad, nice embroidery I got this pad customized for my sale horses. Its very nice quality for the price and would make a good schooling pad.
    Date published: 2013-04-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from basic saddle pad I bought two of these pads, one with a black trim and the other with a burgundy trim. When I got them after reading a few reviews about the stitching coming apart. Well after a few rides, a few stitches are coming out by the girth area. Won't stop me from buying more later. Other than that they hold up great, looks good in the show ring too.
    Date published: 2013-03-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best value out there This saddle pad washes well, lstays put on the horse's back, and is just the right thickness. I couldn't have made a better purchase.
    Date published: 2013-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice basic saddle pad This was exactly what I was expecting- a nice, basic saddle pad that sits well under the saddle and lines up with the billets on my saddle. It's the perfect thickness- thick enough to feel substantial, but not so much that it interferes with my saddle's fit. I've only used it once so far, so I can't comment on durability yet.
    Date published: 2013-02-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Adorable embroidery I purchased the white pad with black trim and had it embroidered. It turned out really cute and I get a lot of compliments on it. Thanks smart pak
    Date published: 2013-02-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great value Great pad at a great price! I highly recommend this pad! Good enough to use in the show ring too!!!
    Date published: 2013-01-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good While it Lasted I was amazed at the quality when I first got it and it was almost thick enough to use with out a half pad but after the first ride it turned brown.
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does the Job I needed a new show pad, so I turned to SmartPak. This pad is soft, classy and looks great with the monogram. The only thing that keeps it from being five stars is that the monogram color doesn't quite match the trim. Its pretty close though.
    Date published: 2013-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-01-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A hit at our barn gift exchange! I got two of these embroidered with our barn logo (thank you Barn Buddies free embroidery) and shipped (free) for just over $30. It got stolen in rapid succession as it looked great and everyone wanted it. I can't attest as to its durability since it hasn't been in use for long. But we'll but ordering more.
    Date published: 2012-12-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice pad! This pad is a very nice weight to use with a half-pad. Not bulky, not thin and slipping around. I like that there is a girth loop but not billet straps, which I usually cut off anyway. As the owner of a horse with a long wither, I also appreciate the contouring of the spine.The pad is priced so that it's affordable enough for everyday schooling, but certainly looks nice enough for a jumper schooling show, or schooling at a bigger show. These will certainly be my new go-to for schooling pads!
    Date published: 2012-11-01
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.