Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Tredstep Donatello Field Boot

Tredstep Ireland Ltd.
- Item #19485

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Tredstep presents the "rebirth" of beautiful, classically designed boots reinterpreted to offer the rider unparalleled performance, comfort, and fit. Incorporating the first ever design of a top class boot which flexes with the rider, this boot enhances the effectiveness and comfort of the riding experience. This innovation is enveloped in exquisite leather and beautiful lines offering unsurpassed sophisticated luxury.

Favorite Features

  • Rear stretch panel and top gusset ensure a slim, contoured fit
  • Innovative ankle flexion design reduces break in time
  • Side spur rests
  • Rolled toe cap
  • Full-length heavy duty YKK coil zipper
  • Imported

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Tredstep Donatello Field Boot is rated 4.52 out of 5 by 175.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful, But... I ordered these boots to replace my beloved Ariat tall boots I've had for years. When these boots arrived I was very impressed at the quality of the leather and overall beauty. Unfortunately, I am a size six and the smallest size these boots come in is a 6.5/7.5. I was hoping they ran a bit small but they were true to size. I had to return them because the foot was just a little too big. However the rest of the boot fit and looked great!
    Date published: 2014-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful boots! My trainer recommends these boots to everyone so I decided to get my own pair. unfortunately, I made a mistake in the measuring and they did not fit so I returned them. Personally, I can't speak on the quality and durability of this product because I haven't had mine long, but my trainer has had her's for several years and adores them.
    Date published: 2014-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Of the Bunch! Really all I can say is GREAT BOOTS! They are durable, comfortable, attractive andthey clean up really well. I don't show much but when I do these always rise to the occasion. I school, do barn chores and through general walking and working, have put these boots through a LOT. I describe them as "the cheapest customs on the market" There are so many options in size and height anybody can get a fit for them. I have average size calves but I'm pretty tall so I got the tall height and the regular calf. They break in fast, clean up super easily and are comfy. They stand for running errands after being at the barn or riding in the rain. I am on quite the budget so these came from a gift from my parents, grandparents and husband. Get these boots! (I am just now retiring these boots after six years of daily use)
    Date published: 2014-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE! a must have I ordered these boots about 3 weeks before I took my mare to her first big show. I got them about a week before the actual show I probably rode in them 3 times before the show and the were awesome. The broke in nicely and fit perfect.
    Date published: 2014-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2014-01-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product, good service I bought these boots as a Christmas present for my wife. The phone help from SmartPak was excellent, as that helped me choose the proper size. The free two-way shipping for potential returns was also a major bonus. As it turned out, the fit was good out of the box. Positive overall experience.
    Date published: 2014-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprisingly Nice Boot I bought these to replace my ariat hunter boots when their zipper busted (after an impressive 5 years of regular use).  Unlike my ariats, these took about 5 rides to break in for walking around (they were rubbing above my heel on each leg), but they are more form fitting through the ankle so that's probably why.  They were great to ride in from day 1 and after 4 months of 4-5 days a week of riding in them I'm happy to report that I love them.  The leather is soft but seems to be very durable.  I'm not easy on my boots and often slop through mud or pick out a few stalls with them on after riding and they still look pristine.  I do always use boot trees with zippered boots however and do make sure to clean and condition them once a month.   As an added plus, these boots look so much better than my ariats on me - they are more slimming through the ankle and the profile is much nicer.  I couldn't be happier with them. I just hope the zipper lasts several years...like my ariats. 
    Date published: 2014-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value for price! I ride in these a few times a week and they hold up very well! The best part is that they were so easy to break in-- I believe mine only took two or three rides. They look very nice on the leg and they are very stylish. They seem to be very durable to me after a few walks in the snow and in the wash rack. The only complaints I have are that the zipper covers haven't held up very well for me and they are very painful for me to walk in, but I understand that since they are meant to be riding boots not walking boots. Great boots for the low cost!
    Date published: 2013-12-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Loved them until... These boots look and feel great! I loved them. They broke in real easy and have such a nice look to them, what was not to love? To keep them looking nice I only wore them when riding. It was only under 2 months when the zipper blew :( Lame.
    Date published: 2013-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best! These boots are better than the Ariats that are more than twice the price (the leather and zipper are FAR better), better than Sergio Grasso boots which were more than three times the price (nicer fit, much more durable) and are equal to my Parlanti show boots. I wear these boots four or more times a week and have owned them for about a year and a half. The leather is tough as nails, absolutely beautiful when it is polished up and just molds to your leg. There is little to no break in time (mine took two rides, my friends were fine when she purchased them) and they are comfy ALL day. I live in Maine so the winters can be bitter up here so it is nice that these boots have a slightly rounder toe and much more forgiving leg so that I can fairly easily fit a pair of big wool socks on underneath. The soles have held up well and the zipper hasn't even ever zipped wrong or separated like my cough cough Ariats did on my FIFTH ride with them.... not impressed with those boots. Especially for the price... -_- I don't like spending money on boots because I expect them to hold up to the wear and tear that they are intended for, so the Tredstrep brand has far exceeded my expectaions in that way. Buy these boots, you will NEVER regret it. (I use these boots for jumping, dressage, X-country, bareback, trail, barn work... etc)
    Date published: 2014-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! I got these boots last year at this time and have absolutely abused them. Once broken in, about 6 rides, they have been so comfortable that I neglect to take them off when walking around the farm for hours on end. They have gotten wet, really wet, and had jump poles dropped on the toes and been on woodsy trail rides and still polish up great. I had the soles replaced due to wearing them ridiculously long hours and walking heavier on one foot than the other. Now I have finally purchased a pair of waterproof Solstice boots to save my Donatello boots for showing. I think they are a great value. 
    Date published: 2013-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite boot yet! I bought these in the beginning of October for a horse show that was very last minute. My other boots were too old and not fit for showing in so I decided to get these. They arrived a day before the show. I pulled them out of the box and they were beautiful. I walked around my house for about 15 minutes and decided that I would wear them to my lesson, and bring my old pair just in case too. I rode had them on for about an hour total before I rode in my lesson and they did not give me an ounce of trouble, completely bendable, no sores. I then rode a second horse and still no trouble. After over 2 months of owning them, over 150 rides, mud, snow, and getting stepped on, they still work and look perfect. I would recommend cleaning and oiling them after every ride because the leather can look a tad dull otherwise. I ordered to size, the calf was a tiny bit big, but the foot fits great. I LOVE these boots. I don't know how anyone can't. Oh and I still haven't had a sore, bruise, or rub from them. 
    Date published: 2013-12-05
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from A TOTAL disappointment! I purchased these for schooling only so my expectations were not high to being with but... wow!So they look decent.... but everything else was a disappointment. Why can't there be an 8? 8-8.5 was WAY too big! Thanks to smartpak I returned for the 7.5.. a little too small...hmmm?The regular calf also seems a little small, but it would probably stretch to correct size with time..VERY hard sole! Would probably have to add insertsAnything but comfortable! Multiple blisters after only a single ride...... I don't see a single thing positive to say about these... needless to say I couldn't wait to return these and go back to my Ariats. Ariat has the Heritage tall boot which is about the same price ($20 cheaper). I would honestly go with these hands down!!!
    Date published: 2013-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Boots for the Price! I bought these boots in July, and I've been in love with them ever since! The fit is great on my leg, I have a small calf and the slim fits me great. They only took a few days to break in and were far more comfortable/easy to break in than my last pair of tall boots, which were Ariats. The leather is nice and polishes up well. My favorite part is the stretch panel in the back. Sometimes my calf muscle will get a little bigger, and the stretch panel accommodates this well. I've gotten lots of compliments! Even been asked if they were custom. LOVE these boots!
    Date published: 2013-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST BOOTS I'VE EVER BOUGHT I had bought Ariats before and they took forever to break in and didn't really fit right. I happened upon these boots when I was  at the tack shop one day and fell in love. I had a horse show two days after I bought the boots and wore them! They didn't run, give me blisters or any other problems. In about three rides they started to mold to my leg and break in perfectly. I'm saving for a second pair just for showing because the leather does get a little soft. Going on 3 years with them, and I'll keep buying Treadstep! 
    Date published: 2013-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! Better than Ariats! I was using Ariats for ever, but after being frustrated with them wearing out so quickly in the calves & the zippers failing, I needed something new.  After talking to my friend, she directed me to the Donatellos.  I purchased a pair & was amazed how well they fit right out of the box in the foot & ankle region.  They were almost impossible to get on over my calf, but I know that leather stretches so I went with it.  After only 3 days riding 2-3 horses, they were easy to get on.  I never had any blisters from them or had any issues.  Even almost a year out, they still look fantastic with no sign of wear on the inside calf!They do bleed red dye on the inside, but most boots do.  They have dropped, but in a good way for me.  They are just awesome & I have recommended them to several other riders now that love them as well.Saving up for a second pair now.  :)
    Date published: 2013-11-23
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Can't stand them. These were okay at first. They look good and fit okay for new boots, especially when in the saddle, but don't ever plan on walking even short distances in them. There was a sweet spot about two weeks into daily wear where they felt almost comfortable, then the more they broke in, the more the zipper jammed into my heel and started cutting it. This is through extra thick wool socks and a protective pad! I think I will have scars on my heels now. To add insult to injury, they dyed my brand new show breeches orange! This was after 1.5 months of at least 4 days a week wear. I made the mistake of recommending them to a friend when I was in the "sweet spot" and now she hates them too... how mortifying!
    Date published: 2013-10-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Be careful they drop I reviewed these back in April after I had worn them for the first time. I do still love the boots, it is nice they are available in such a variety of sizes. However now having worn them for a few months they have dropped more than I expected and are too short. It is nice to see they now have the tall size available as this was not an option when I purchased. Having the ankle be so giving from the first ride led me to believe they wouldn't drop that much, but just beware they do.
    Date published: 2013-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Boots! I just received these boots a few days ago and from the moment I put them on, they have been comfortable. They have a more tailored fit than many of the other boots I have tried on, especially around the lower leg (they taper more towards the bottom). They give you more of a custom look without the large price tag. The "cut out" area around the laces allows for much better bend in your ankle from the start...no waiting for them to "break in". The leather is high quality and beautiful. I would highly recommend these boots to anyone!
    Date published: 2013-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great boots! :D These are super comfy and durable. I love how they look too!
    Date published: 2013-09-25
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nice, but... These boots fit and look great, but the dye on the inside of the boots bled all over my breeches and won't come out.
    Date published: 2013-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT BOOTS I love these boots! They are a geat value. Some women at my barn bought boots for the same price and they aren't nearly as nice! I get lots of compliments on them when I wear them. I am now definately a fan!
    Date published: 2013-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Boots I adore these boots. I have had other brands but these are just truely amazing. The fit is incredible and they are so comfortable that when I wear them to shows I forget I am wearing my boots. I do have to wear the EquiFit gel bands with them but I have always had a problem with my heels rubbing and creating blisters. Otherwise they are great boots and I have gotten compliments on them from people wearing their custom boots.
    Date published: 2013-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Tall Boots Ever These are my first tall boots, but I will never buy another brand of tall boots. I love them so much! They break in soo easy. It only took a couple days to break them in and I got no blisters or anything. They look great. I thought they were a big even though I got a slim but now they fit perfect. They are perfect to school in or compete.
    Date published: 2013-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've Fallen in Love with Donatello These boots are both the lust-have and must-have for me! They fit as if they were high-end, custom made boots, for a fraction of the price! So flattering from the first time I put them on and by far the easiest pair of boots to break in! After just a handful of rides they were supple enough to comfortably wear all day at a competition!
    Date published: 2013-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THEM Before these I had hastily bought a pair of Ariats that were HUGE on me. I decided to thoroughly research these boots before I ordered them. They fit soooooo well on me. They hug my legs just the way I want them to. The ankle is nice and broken in when you get it, so there isn't much break in time unless you're stretching the calf part. Like all boots, you're going to get a few blisters, no surprise there. They do take a little extra to keep shiny though. Something to consider if you show frequently.
    Date published: 2013-06-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful boots! I finally saved up to buy my first ever brand new field boots for riding and showing in. I was extremely indecisive on what brand I should buy - Ariat or Tredstep. I have had several used Ariat boots and they always very hard to break in. I finally settled on the Tredstep and am I glad I did. These are really beautiful boots. So soft and comfortable, in fact they are so nice I almost don't want to ride in them and get them dirty..lol. The fit was perfect the first time out. Super happy with my purchase! I haven't put a durability rating because I have not had them long enough to know - hope I'n happy with their durability as I am with their looks and feel.
    Date published: 2013-06-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love.these.boots good quality great price very easy to break in fit perfectly in three days soft leather comfortable all round amazing!
    Date published: 2013-06-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally!!! Having a 12 year old with a woman's size foot and a very long, slender calf posed a HUGE problem with finding a boot that fit her properly. Not with the Donatello! I just couldn't bring myself to have boots custom made quite yet with her still growing. I was incredibly pleased with how well the boot fit! She is equally pleased with how comfortable it is and how easy it was to "break in." Solid boot for the price. As far as durability? We need to see how it holds up during the show season, but it appears to be made very well. If you asked me, I wouldn't hesitate to buy this boot again.
    Date published: 2013-06-12
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible quality, didn't last through a month. I do wear through boots- I ride 10+ horses a day and I am constantly on my feet. I was not looking for a show boot but I did want something that would hold up for home use. I was excited when I pulled them from the box, they fit quite well and looked decent. However, the next day the zipper broke. The zipper was replaced three times in the month that I used them but thats not all; these boots have spent several trips to the cobbler as I replaced stitching on the toe cap, where the zipper meets the boot, etc. The leather stretched a good bit- and within a few weeks they were too big, slipping and rubbing as I rode. Invest in a better quality boot- the repair costs alone will warrant it.
    Date published: 2013-10-19
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.