Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Tredstep da Vinci Field Boot

Tredstep Ireland Ltd.
- Item #19484
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Tredstep presents the "rebirth" of beautiful classically designed boots reinterpreted to offer the rider unparalleled performance, comfort, and fit. Incorporating the first ever design of a top class boot which flexes with the rider, enhancing the effectiveness and comfort of the riding experience. This innovation is enveloped in exquisite leather and beautiful lines offering unsurpassed sophisticated luxury.

The Tredstep da Vinci Field Boot, as the name suggests, represents the fusion of innovative design with beauty of line and proportion. This harmonious blend of traditional elegance and leading edge design makes the "da Vinci" boot a true masterpiece from Tredstep. The Tredstep Pro-Flex innovative design allows immediate full flexion of the ankle without the need to break in the boot. The "da Vinci" is made from exquisite Italian calfskin leather with full grain leather lining, and a specialist high performance Vibram outsole. The full length rear zip is supported by a flexible spine which maintains the height and elegant long line of the boot. The "da Vinci" sports a classic European top line, side spur rests and zip guard.

Imported.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    94% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Tredstep da Vinci Field Boot is rated 4.4444 out of 5 by 54.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Boots These literally have the widest range of sizes of any non-custom boot. Having insanely long and thin calves (I'm 5'11 and 105 lbs), I searched the far corners of the earth and these are the only boots that came close to fitting. I've had mine for over a year and I don't take particularly good care of them to be honest. I took about an hour to really clean and polish them the other day and they honestly look new. 
    Date published: 2014-01-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bummer I asked my parents for boots for christmas last year and they gave me these! Unfortunately, they did not fit. After trying SEVERAL pairs of different sizes, we concluded that none of them work. I'm tall and lean, and I have a size 9 / 9.5 foot. I even ordered the X-Slim Calf yet when I rode in them the leg immediately slipped down. I also tried the other two tredsteps (The Donatellos and Raphael) but those didn't work either. It is a huge bummer because they were gorgeous boots. 
    Date published: 2013-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THEM! Bought these over a year ago and they look brand new! They do cause terrible blisters at first but are worth it! You also have to make sure you get measured to get the right fit as the wait for the boots take awhile
    Date published: 2013-11-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lovely but Didn't Fit When I saw these on sale I thought I would give them a try, since folks at my barn love Tredstep, and I love my Tredstep half chaps. Indeed these are lovely but the proportions don't work with my calves. I tried different size and calf width combos. I normally wear a size 9 and have about 15 1/4" calves, and the best fit was the size 39, medium width, but while these were very snug in the lower calf they were still too roomy near the top. Regular calf would've been too tight. The leather quality and workmanship appear good. I did not rate durability since I have not used them.
    Date published: 2013-11-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Purchase I have had mine for a little over a year and decided to write a review. These are the first boots to ever fit me well in the calf. I have a bigger foot but skinny legs and the boots were slim enough to fit snug around my calf. Sadly they still give me blisters if I walk around in them all day. They were a pain to break in also. But they look great and honestly that is most important to me! I would by them again.
    Date published: 2013-07-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from great look but stiff leather I needed to replace my worn out Ariat Challenge's and was looking for something really fitted through the ankle and calf. These look great on, but the leather was not the quality I was hoping for - too stiff and the footbed was equally uncomfortable with a plastic like tread. After years of wearing nothing but Ariat's (paddock boots and field) there's not much out there that compare to the sneaker like comfort in their soles. I returned these and spent the extra money on Ariat Monaco's and am thrilled with them.
    Date published: 2013-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these! These are the first tall boots I've ever owned, and I LOVE them. They're a little big around my calf, but not to the point where they're uncomfortable, unattractive, or lacking contact. They fit beautifully around the ankle, which is the boots' biggest perk. The leather is extremely soft and supple, but I'm not sure how that will affect durability. They've held up well so far- I've been riding in them almost daily for a month. While the ankle flexes almost instantly on the first ride, I found that they were extremely painful to break in around my heel and the back of my ankle. Stock up on moleskin and bandaids. You'll need them. Now that they're broken in, they're super comfortable and a joy to ride in. I highly recommend.
    Date published: 2013-05-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from These are great boots for the price! A very good look for a box boot almost custom look.They didn't work out for me because I have a very short calf. I would say they would be very easy to break-in with the flexible ankle.I would recommend these to anyone
    Date published: 2013-04-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great!!! Needed NO break-in time. I rode in them on Thursday, showed in them on Friday. I've got an old pair for everyday riding, so these should last me forever. Fit my small (6 1/2) foot and LARGE (16") calves. I did not buy the stirrup system recommended with these boots and have no problems riding with my regular stirrup pads. They are also pretty comfortable to walk around in!
    Date published: 2013-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these boots! Excellent fit right from the start, they took very little break in time. I did have to return the first pair because the regular calf size was too big. The slims were a bit tight to begin with but loosened up nicely. I get a lot of compliments on these boots and am totally in love with them
    Date published: 2013-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value After the recent decline in Ariat quality I gave Tredsteps a try. The first thing I noticed was that the packaging was much nicer than the packaging the Ariat Quantums or Challenge IIs came with (despite being at the same price point). I had a pouch for each boot and inflatable fillers to hold the shape of the boots. Just gorgeous presentation.The second thing was that the flex pannel allowed me to ride in them right away. They broke in by my 3rd ride and are just as comfortable as sneakers to walk around in. The quality of the leather is supple, soft, and gorgeous--very unlike the plasticy ariats I've seen. The leather feels like $900 boots.The downside is that these require more maintenance than my Ariat tall boots did. It's very easy for these to get dirty and I find myself scrubbing them down from mud every day. A friend of mine has them and they do wear a little less nicely than Ariats used to over time.Also, the talls were too tall and the regulars were too short. I went with the regulars anyway since I will be buying nicer tall boots for showing. Since height scales with shoe size and no "short" is available they assume that people with the smallest foot size have short calves. I'm 5'5 and wear a 6 1/2.No regrets. Seriously, go for it.
    Date published: 2013-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So sad that don't have my size! I ordered size 42 regular/tall, hoping they would fit my wide calf. Sadly, they don't. :( So disappointed that they didn't workout. But the quality of the boot is great, they come in GORGEOUS individual velvet bags for each boot and the cardboard box they come in has a strap that you can use to carry them. I tried the Ariat Quantum Pro field boot and this boot and I personally thought this one was better AND cheaper. But I'll have to go with Ariat since they're the only ones who carry medium-wide/tall sizes. :( If you are tall, have wider calves, and big feet, I recommend Ariat. But, if not, go with these boots! You won't regret it.
    Date published: 2013-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fit like they're custom-made! These boots fit me like they were custom-made to my exact measurements. I can't get over how flattering and comfortable they are! They cost half the price of my trainer's Ariat Monaco boots, and I think they look better (but I might be biased).
    Date published: 2012-12-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really great boots! I got these at a horse expo for about 40% off, but they're definitely worth the full price!They run a little large, so I got half a size down. The regulars fit my calves perfectly, and are a good height. Unfortunately, I have VERY skinny ankles, and these boots are pretty loose in there, which gave me lots of blisters. I recently bought some gel wraps from smartpack that are helping that problem. AND because they have the stretch in the lace area, I didn't get any blisters on the front of my foot like usual. The stretch there also really helped keep my ankles (broken and sprained far too much in the past), from the extra stress that usually comes from the lace area. I'm still undecided about my feelings on the square toe. On one hand, I usually prefer a rounded toe, but on the other, the square gives my toes lots more room.Overall, the boot is just so gorgeous that it's worth the minor problems for me.
    Date published: 2012-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful boots but preferred Donatellos I ordered these boots to replace sadly outgrown 38 XS Donatellos. I thought my daughter needed a bit more height than the 18" high Donatellos, too, so we tried the DaVincis in a 39 XS TALL (her foot grew but not her calf). These were way too tall for her (she is 5'4" but long legged). The leather is beautiful and thicker than the Donatellos. However, the fit around the ankle is not as pretty since the Da Vincis do not have the elastic panel down the back like the Donatellos. The foot is lovely with the square toe, giving more width for wool socks and the toes in the winter. The overall fit is true to size.We did return them and tried instead the Donatello in the regular height in a 39 XS. To our surprise, going from the 38 to the 39 gave her quite a bit more height, even though according to the size chart they are both supposed to be 18". The leg also seemed roomier than the 38 though the measurement on the chart is the same (12 1/2"), so the 39 XS Donatellos were a perfect step up.Overall, the daVincis were very lovely, but just didn't offer enough of an improvement in any area to justify the price increase for us. I suspect the leather will hold up longer since it has much more of a leather lining. Both models could use a heavier-looking zipper, though we never had any trouble with the Donatellos with one year of moderate use.
    Date published: 2012-10-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! These boots saved my sanity! Keeping my 12y/o daughter in field boots during her growth spurt has been maddening! I bought her another pair of Ariat Heritage last June and by Sept, she had outgrown them. I recently ordered 2 pairs to try and the Tredstep Da Vinci was thankfully one of them. They seem accurate to their size chart and fit her wonderfully! She loves the slimmer ankle. It allows her much more freedom of movement. I really like the snap at the top and bottom of zipper. Most of all, my daughter loves the soft leather! Really no break in period and the full leather liner should allow them to stretch to her leg better than the Heritage with a partial synthetic lining. These cost more, but I think they're worth it. Her riding teacher said they look like custom boots. I can't really speak to durability yet, but she doesn't wear them around the barn and we store them with cedar trees in them and wrapped in a boot bag.
    Date published: 2012-09-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Look and Feel like Custom boots We tried several boots to find the "right" pair. We went up as high as Ariat Monacos and Sergios which were both nearly $1,000. These are the nicest boots of the bunch for half the price. The leather is soft right out of the box and the construction is nicely detailed. A very highquality pair of boots.
    Date published: 2012-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! and I mean Wow! We tried these on and they were a better fit than the $1000 Sergio boots. Much nicer than the $1000 Ariat Monaco boots. They are $200 more than the Tredstep Donatellos but are worth double that. These are an amazing pair of boots for $500. Worth double that and then some. They look like custom boots and we're not going to tell anyone that they aren't. Fantastic!!!!!
    Date published: 2012-08-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love these boots I first tried the Tredstep Donatello's, but they ran too short. I was iffy about spending the extra money on the da Vinci's, but I am so glad I did. They only take a few rides to start breaking in, and only a few blisters and only from the first ride.I almost always replace the zippers in my tall boots first thing, but for once it looks like I won't need too! They are beautifully put together.I cannot say much on the durability as I have only just gotten them.
    Date published: 2012-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definitely the best boots for me! I had my doubts when I read some of the reviews on the Tredstep da Vinci's and some of the fit issues they had. However, I am short, with small feet and large calves. Tredstep was the only company that carried my measurements so I figured I'd give them a shot.I absolutely love them. The ankle is remarkably comfortable, even during the first ride. The leather isn't as soft and flexible as the Ariat Monaco's, but I personally prefer the more durable feeling leather of the da Vinci field boots. The calf was a bit small for me starting out, but after the first ride the leather stretched and now they fit beautifully.I agree with some of the other reviews that the foot runs a bit large, and that the foot could be a bit more comfortable. However, to remedy that, I put in inserts. The foot fit is now perfect for me and really comfortable!
    Date published: 2012-08-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tall and Slim I have huge feet, very skinny calves, and I'm tall...which, for whatever reason (because I know I'm not the only rider with this body type) is incredibly difficult to fit. I couldn't afford custom, or some of the more expensive off-the-rack options and I was beginning to lose faith in any possibility of finding boots that fit. I could find boots that were tall enough, but nothing fit me in the calf or ankle. I have a size 41 Slim/Tall and while they're not perfect (I may still get the calf taken in), they're as close as I can find at this price point anywhere. They're a perfect height, and small around the ankle (which is the problem I was having with Ariats). They look fantastic, broke in after 2-3 rides, and the flexible ankle was a huge plus. For any other tall/skinny riders, I highly recommend!
    Date published: 2012-07-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice quality This is a very nice quality boot. Love the soft flexible ankle. It fit true to the size chart. The leather is good quality. The footbed is not the best, but easy to replace. The top of the boot needs a higher Spanish top, and it was too wide at the top and "winged" out on me. In wear a 41 (9.5), with a 16 in. calf--those parts fit great.
    Date published: 2012-07-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pretty Boots... if they fit! I'll start this off by saying I have very wide, short calves. Thus, the first pair of Da Vincis that I bought would not even zip up. But I was impressed by the quality, so I exchanged them for another size up.Initially, I thought I liked the second pair, and they fit my foot and lower leg extremely well, but when I looked in the mirror I saw a bulge at the back of my knee. It was like the boots never got slim again after passing the widest part of my calf, and so there was a whole lot of empty space for my knee to flop around in.This problem probably comes partly from my short stature, but I believe others have reported similar results, so be advised that IF they fit your legs, they will look lovely, but they don't seem to be proportioned quite right for most.I have exchanged them for a pair of DeNiro Leucas, and I am anxiously awaiting their arrival!
    Date published: 2012-07-02
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't Purchase Due to Fit I returned these boots and purchased the Tredstep Donatellos instead. There was no comparison between the two models in terms of fit. For the price, I feel I got a better deal overall with the Donatellos.
    Date published: 2012-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Boots i ordered these boots for my son, who is tall & skinny. The extra tall, extra slim-fit him like a glove. I don't think he could have gotten any better fitting boots- even with custom ones. They are beautiful and he says they are comfortable. Smart pack was wonderful to work with and shipped out the boots very quickly. If you order boots for a boy...order a larger foot size..as most boot foot sizes are made in woman's sizes. I made this mistake and had to send back the first pair.
    Date published: 2012-06-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best boot on the market i love mine! they fit great and are exceptional quality leather. the great features such as the pro flex heel and zipper guard are awesome! get theses boots!
    Date published: 2012-06-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING! I got these for $200 off at an expo this winter, and I LOVE them!! The "Pro-Flex" design is genious, I don't know why no one thought of it before. The calf was really tight on mine, but I'm kinda in between a regular and a wide. They have stretched a little but I still have to be careful when zipping them up. They are very durable and after about two rides completely broken in. So comfortable to ride in, too. They look like customs, but are a fraction of the price!
    Date published: 2012-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So happy with these boots! I bought these a week before a show when I gave up trying to get the ankles on my pull on boots to break in. They were very tight in the calf and I had to carefully zip them up but after wearing them around the house for the evening and riding in them the next 2 days, we were good to go. They do crease at the ankles and currently are still a little uncomfortable to walk in (blisters), but they are fantastically comfortable to ride in and I feel confident that once they are fully broken in the ankles will feel better when walking. These are really gorgeous boots, especially for the price! They were true to size in the calf and height but I did round down in the shoe size. I bought a 37 and I usually wear a 7 1/2 ariat.
    Date published: 2012-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boots These are a great show tall boot for the price. They break in easily to ride but not so easily on your heels/ankles (blisters). I can't comment on durability since I just purchased them, but if they are anything like my Tredstep paddock boots they will last forever!
    Date published: 2012-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing For The Price!! Very impressed with the quality of this boot for the price. I can see how the fit might be problematic for some shapes, but once broken in I think they will be very comfortable. Am having a little issue with the wrinkle in the back above my ankle, but with softening it should be fine. The finish on the boot is duller than the Monacos, but polish up nicely. Felt terrific to ride in and even better when taking the price into consideration. I honestly don't think my friend's Sergio Grassos are any nicer at twice the price. Highly recommend trying these boots out before spending money for a more expensive boot.
    Date published: 2012-04-20
    • 2015-03-04T07:02CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_53
    • loc_en_US, sid_9484, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.