Product Image

SmartDark & Handsome®

SmartSupplements by SmartPak
- Item #19476
Form: Powder
Maintenance Dose: 1 SmartPak Well



SmartDark & Handsome helps bring out a deep, dark shine in black, bay and brown coats. This unique formula provides a rich blend of Omega 3 fatty acids from Fish Oil, Flax Seed and Chia Seed combined with Paprika and Nutmeg. SmartDark & Handsome is not just for the boys – it’s great for mares, too. (We just couldn’t resist the name!)

Note for Competitive Riders: This product contains Paprika, which may contain trace amounts of Capsaicin.  

Have a horse of a different color? We recommend SmartShine Ultra.



Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    SmartDark & Handsome® is rated 4.2994 out of 5 by 167.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Horses don't really like the taste but works well.
    Date published: 2014-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from All Black Senior QH I purchased this to give to my 17 yo all black QH. He was sun bleached and looked like a dark bay horse. I wanted him to be and stay black. After a month, he was black as can be. Loved it!!!
    Date published: 2014-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stuff! In only a month, my beautiful bay has lost that 'orangey' look and is dark and handsome, as advertised.
    Date published: 2014-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This Supplement Actually Works!! I admit I was skeptical at first. A lot of products don't hold up to their claims, but SmartDark and Handsome does! I'm so happy! My horse looks fantastic. After only a couple of months, he has his nice dark color back and his coat is shiny and his tail is even growing longer! I am DELIGHTED with the results!!!!
    Date published: 2014-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow. . .incredible change I was extremely surprised and pleased at how quickly and how well SmartDark & Handsome turned my mare's sun damaged and poorly conditioned bright bay coat into a stunning blood bay color with incredible sheen. What a great alternative to Dark as Knight. Good job, SmartPak!
    Date published: 2014-02-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dark horse magic I bought a black & white pinto that had been sunburnt out in a field. After feeding her smart dark & handsome, she darkened right up. All the new hair growing in her mane is nice and soft with lots of good, natural oils.
    Date published: 2013-09-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good results I started the Smart Dark and Handsome in April and am using it through the end of September. My black gelding has stayed black this season. It helps that I also use sunscreen fly-spray and a fly-sheet faithfully. Using all 3 methods are successful in keeping a great black, shiny coat on my boy.
    Date published: 2013-09-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My mare has the most beautiful coat! I started my mare on this supplement over the winter because her coat would bleach under the saddle area. Her coat is so soft, black and shiny this year. I get so many compliments on her shine and black even when I don't wash her!
    Date published: 2013-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for my gelding! I bought this product for my black gelding a few months ago because I noticed he was starting to turn brown from the sun. At first he didn't like the taste, but after a few days he was licking it out of the bottom of the bucket. This has done wonders for his coat. He is now back to his beautiful black color and is very shiney. The other black horses at my barn all look like bays, but my boy is still black. I love this product and will feed it year round!
    Date published: 2013-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Supplement! I not only like this for the coat color preservation, but it really does have a lot of nice nutrients in it for overall health. I fed SmartDark to three different colored horses, a dark-dark brown, a medium bay, and a chestnut. All three had great results with daily double doses. Considering we live in the New Mexico desert, I'm quite pleased. My d-d brown is shiny and kept most of his dark color throughout his body, mane and tail--and he's only kept indoors during the warmest of days. My medium bay is stunningly rich in color and shine. My chestnut OTTB, who has dark pigment, retained his pretty liver color. Additionally, this supplement greatly improved his coat condition and skin. He used to show every scratch and bug bite, and would take forever to recover. His skin is far more resistant and resilient to paddock playfulness. For many years I fed Black as Knight, and reluctantly tried SmartDark. So glad I did!!
    Date published: 2013-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good product, wish did not have to stop for compet product contains Paprika. The active ingredient for coat color is copper I think. Why not ditch the paprika and just give same amount of copper so we don't have to stop it for competitions? when active show season, they have to miss it for months if it takes2 weeks to get out of the system and we show only twice a month.
    Date published: 2013-12-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from NO CHANGE! My mare loved the taste! But it didn't help her coat. I had her on Black as Knight witch worked really well and she had a flawless black coat all year round. When SmartPak stopped carrying it I tried this. Sadly it didn't work. Her skin and coat were overall healthier but she still had sun bleached fur.
    Date published: 2014-04-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great shine I started my black and white paint gelding on this in January. It put a great shine on and helped with increased hair growth and hoof growth. He usually dapples out in the winter and this year for the first time he dappled out in the summer. I had hoped that it would keep his coat from bleaching out in summer-but he still has faded. Even though he faded out his coat is still shiny and healthy just not black. I would still recommend this product because it has done wonders for my horse.
    Date published: 2013-12-26
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't work for me I used this for 4 months and didn't notice a difference! My horse is black and bleaches out to a rusty brown in the summer and I show so I was hoping this would keep her nice and dark. It didn't help a bit and I actually think she is even lighter than last year.
    Date published: 2014-04-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Dark!! I purchased this product for my gruella gelding. He had turned a faded black color from being out in the sun during the winter. I put him on it in March and when he shedded out completely in June he was PURE BLACK! If your showing a dark horse this product is a must have!
    Date published: 2013-12-26
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Must not taste good Because I could not get my horse to eat this. I wanted to try this to see if I could prevent the usual summer coat fading (in the SW, lots of intense sun) that my horse experiences. The ingredients 'seem' good so it may or may not work. If you horse won't eat it, it's hard to tell. I would recommend this to someone to try because maybe someone else's horse would eat this. And I have a whole tub left to share ;)
    Date published: 2014-04-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from My horse didn't really like the taste, not sure if he wasted more than he ate. His coat was shiny but he is also blanketed and in a barn every day. I would probably try again.
    Date published: 2013-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-06-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from awesome I was skeptical about getting results that were claimed. But my horse looks great, his coat is shiny, his eyes are bright, and he is somewhat darker after 40 days or so. He didn't like it at first and would turn his feedpan upside down. I would suggest starting out with a small amount and increase gradually.
    Date published: 2013-12-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from My horse found this unpleasant... As much as I wished I could get my horse to eat this (I've heard raves from others), my horse completely refused to eat his feed with this in it. As a result, can't rate it's efficacy. Hoping for a pellet form, but will have to defer until then.
    Date published: 2014-04-13
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Still Evaluating My bay Arabian gelding has recently finished sheding his winter coat. He has been on Smart Dark and Hansom for about six weeks and if anything his "socks" are browner and his new mane hair is coming in brown, not black. The SmartPak may not yet be taking effect. We will give it another month or two and see if he darkens. Until that time, I can't recommend for or against this product. We have a half brother to him that is a dark bay without benefit of the SmartPak so we have a means to evaluate progress.He didn't like the palatability for the first three days. Now eats his feed without hesitation and others in the herd have been sampling it.
    Date published: 2013-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-04-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from BOSS Works Just as good We had our AQHA gelding on this for a month and half,no change was really noticed. I did went back to using black oil sunflower seeds and noticed a large change in the same amount of time.. Just not worth it to me.
    Date published: 2013-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really works!! I bought this for my chestnut gelding even though it's more meant for bay and black horses, I was hoping that it would improve the health of his skin thus preventing a fungus he had last year. Well not only his skin shinier but his coat has gone from a dull orange-ish brown color to a deep rich red! Multiple people from my barn have come up to me saying that they didn't realize he was so red before. I was worried that my horse wouldn't eat the supplement but he actually licks it out of the bowl!
    Date published: 2013-04-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice! My horse is not a very picky eater....or so I thought...so when I heard all the reviews saying that people had troubles with their horses not eating it...I thought it wouldn't really apply to me and my horse. So, I bought the supplement anyway. And when I got it, I just gave it to my horse dry in his grain. And he was not having any of it! He just tipped the grain pan over and skipped his meal. I really thought he would NEVER skip his meal because grain time is his favorite time of the day! But no....not that day! So I asked my trainer about what I could do. She said that she usually just mixes the supplement with water into a paste form for her picky eaters. So, I tried it. But....my horse outsmarted me and just avoided it and ate the rest of the grain. So then I tried just diluting it with a lot of water. ( about 1 and a 1/2 cups ) he gets 3 scoops of grain, so I just gave him one scoop,put a third of the supplement mixture in, and then mixed it in with the grain. I did this with the other two scoops, mixing it together until all the mixture was all used. And then.....my horse ate every last bite! He was licking the grain pan by the time he had finished! I am so happy I found a way to make him eat it! I'm just posting this review so I can share my approach to other people. He's been on the supplement for about 2 weeks now....but I haven't noticed any color change yet. I have noticed a difference in the quality of his coat though! It's so much shinier! I will check in again once I see some results.
    Date published: 2013-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This stuff is great! I bought this for my chestnut TB gelding a few weeks ago even though he's not a color they recommend this for, but I hoped it would keep his skin healthier. Despite being shedding season, he's now really shiny and his coat has turned from a more orange-ish brown color to a deep rich red. A couple people at my barn commented that they didn't realize he was such a red color before!
    Date published: 2013-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Results are immediate!! After a few weeks on this product, my horse is black, shiny and handsome! The results are impressive! He is definately show material now!
    Date published: 2013-03-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty good! This really helped my filly with her dry flaky skin but her color wasn't affected much. That may be because she still has her winter woollies.
    Date published: 2013-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It actually works! I have a buckskin who typically fades to grey in the fall/winter. I put him on Smart, Dark & Handsome in September and what do you know? He stayed as dark as caramel. Don't know why it worked but it did!
    Date published: 2013-02-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-01-30
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2013 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.