Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Ariat® Volant Tall Boot Front Zip

Ariat International, Inc.
- Item #19412

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Ultimate performance technology meets innovative design in this brand new series of English riding footwear using premium leathers, advanced materials and construction. Not only do they have a sleek looking exterior, but the Ariat Volant Tall Boot Front Zip also feature Ariat's Cobalt Quantum technology plus stretch mesh and oiled leathers, plus a full length zipper. All designed to create a great looking, fitting and feeling boot that will ensure peak performance for all equestrian athletes.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Ariat® Volant Tall Boot Front Zip is rated 4.0909 out of 5 by 22.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seriously, best purchase EVER! Bought these boots a week before we were scheduled to show, and figured it would take me at least that long to even start breaking them in.. I was COMPLETELY wrong!! My first ride in them was incredible, they felt totally broken in and my posistion was incredibly more secure. I didn't ride in them again until the day of the show, because they already felt THAT good!! I felt much more effective in the saddle as my lower leg was held firmly in place. PLUS they look sooo good! They are super easy to zip and clean right up. I absolutley adore these boots and would recommend them to anyone!
    Date published: 2014-02-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The GRIPPIEST Boots...! I recently acquired the red Volants for my birthday back in the beginning of October, and I have been riding in them ever since. These boots were extremely easy to break in -- withing 2 or 3 rides they were ready! I absolutely love the hint of red as well! So far they have been extremely lovely to ride in. I ride 6 or 7 horses a week who are extremely powerful jumpers, so I needed something that would give me that extra grip for air time. The Volants are PERFECT in my eyes for that exact reason! The grippy leather covers the top of the boot, as well as the whole inside leg so that no matter what the horses and I are doing in the ring, whether it being jumping a 4'6" oxer or just schooling on the flat, I know I will always have traction. I also love the spur lock because you know that your spurs aren't going to move. I've had several different tall boots and these Ariats are my favorites, BY FAR! :)
    Date published: 2012-12-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pretty Boot but Bad Fit! I had already purchased the Ariat Volant Vented Tall Boot and I loved it so much that when I had the opportunity to buy this model, I jumped on it! I actually liked the "look" of this Volant better. However, when I took my first ride in them I was shocked to find that my left ankle was in quite a bit of pain and not from like blister or rubbing pain. Oddly enough, my right foot was fine and the boot fit very comfortably! I have been through hundreds of new boots and I have never had my left foot fit different than my right. The problem was the zipper where it crossed over the outside of the ankle. When I flexed my ankle deep while riding it kept cutting off my circulation and making my foot fall asleep. Since it wasn't particularly painful, just awkward, I continued to ride in them thinking they just needed to be stretched a little. When I jumped off my horse, I couldn't feel my leg! I let it go thinking I would walk it off but 5 days latter and still not able to feel my leg... I ended up in urgent care! It had pinched a nerve where the zipper dug into my ankle when flexed!I love the look and they feel immediately broken in! A very comfortable boot!!! I school in them every day but be warned buy separate muck/hard wear boots as these will not hold up to hard daily wear! Just use them to ride! I would also recommend getting the vented pair as I cannot recommend this model!
    Date published: 2012-11-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Close, but quite right I purchased these boots in all black as well as the Volant Vented at the same time. After some comparison this pair went back and I kept the Vented version. The fit felt true to Ariat sizing and the footbed was super comfortable. No pain behind the knee as the zipper is off to the side. I really liked this boot more for street wear but felt that they may not hold up well for riding.Pros: Comfy right out of the box, sleek, sporty appearance and very lightweight. Cons: Sticky zipper at the foot, zipper pressed sharply into the front of ankle when foot was flexed, the top line is not very attractive due to the zipper placement and the spur rest felt quite sharp - as mentioned by a previous reviewer.With a few changes from Ariat, the next version of this boot could be amazing.
    Date published: 2012-10-21
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ariat Volant: Not for the slim of calf I ordered this boot for my 5'3", 112 lb 20 year old daughter. She had tried on a friend's Volant in a size 7 and it fit well. We ordered the 7-1/2/slim/regular ht boot and were very surprised when the calf was HUGE on her. (She walked into her barn and the trainer said, from across the arena, "Those boots are WAY too big for you".) Apparently the calf gets larger as the foot size increases, so while the 7 slim regular fit, the 7-1/2 slim regular was too big. Both of her trainers tried on her boots and had the same problem with the calf being too big, but when they tried on the tall height the calf for some reason was a good fit. My daughter isn't tall enough for the tall height calf, so this boot is not a good fit for her. She was very sad, as the quality and comfort of the Volant seemed excellent. We ordered the Tredstep Donatello, which comes in an extra-slim calf, and we're hoping that will work for the girl with the slender calves.
    Date published: 2012-10-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spiffy Fit! After just three days of riding, this boot feels completely broken in (with no blisters during the process)! My position feels much more secure since the Volant offers me a better grip in the calves and in the stirrup irons (my mare seems to like my steadier leg as well!). The added bonus of style and color makes this boot that much more awesome!
    Date published: 2012-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth it! I always preferred half chaps for everyday schooling and saved the tall boots for shows, so I took a gamble on the Volant boots. The other reviews are right, they have the stability of a tall boot but the flexibility and comfort of half chaps! They are a little stiff in the ankle at first, but by the time I rode my second horse, they already felt completely broken in the very first day! As far as the spur rest goes, I also have a VERY sensitive warmblood, and they have not left any marks on him whatsoever. I actually think my leg is more still in the Volant boot than it was in half chaps! As far as sizing goes, they fit true to size, just make sure you take proper measurements before ordering. I am so happy with this purchase and I am sure I will not be wearing any other boots to school in ever again!
    Date published: 2012-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boots I got these in September so I could make my more expensive boots last longer. I have worn them all winter. They are incredibly comfortable walking around and great to ride in. I knew I liked these boots but didn't realize how much until I pulled out my Cavallos to get in gear for the show season. I actually may buy the vented version of these and show in them.
    Date published: 2012-02-28
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't Do it!!!! These boots fit great, and that's where it ends! The spur holders are massive and sharp! My poor sensitive dutch warmblood has developed some very ugly rubs from these holders, luckily my draft cross has more resilient skin! Just thank the lord for Smartpak's Happiness guarantee or I'd be out 500$ with a pair of boots I can't even use!!So overall: even if you don't have a horse with sensitive skin, I wouldn't risk it! Ariat needs to look over their design, let some time (and hopefully some improvements) pass before purchasing these!
    Date published: 2012-05-03
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Stained my feet red! I have had these boots for two weeks and the red has bled through my socks and stained my feet red....buy the non red volant boots instead!
    Date published: 2012-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Boots!!! These are so comfortable!!! Best of all they required no break in time and felt great from day one. I would highly recommend them and the red color is not as noticeable as the pictures would make you think. The zipper location is much easier to use than those straight up the back and with the zipper in front your heal doesn't get sore from rubbing up on the zipper. I would highly recommend these boots!
    Date published: 2012-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sizing a little different than other Ariats. I love these boots, they were comfortable instantly. Size-wise they were a bit hard to figure out, so here's what I wear in case that will help anyone else figure out their size. In Ariat Terrain I wear a 7, in normal shoes I wear a 7.5, in Ariat 1/2chaps I wear a ST(small tall), in the Monaco's I wear a 8 regular width calf,tall. But in Volants I wear an 8 slim calf , regular height. So the footbed runs small, the calves run normal(I found Monaco's calves run small), and the height is fairly tall, but they do say these boots will not scrunch down like the Monaco's because of all the elastic. The footbed is really really comfy and cushy, and the boots themselves are flexible and require almost no break-in. I've only had them a few weeks so I can't speak for durability, but my Monaco's have been abused and have held up admirably, so I expect these will, too.
    Date published: 2012-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very comfortable I like the gel footbed, I walked in them the first day I wore them and they were comfortable right off the bat. The fit is perfect. I wear both tall boots and half chaps and these are kind of the best of both, easy to get on, but with enough substance to feel like a tall boot. The only negative comment I can make is that the zippers are hard to zip, although I tried several different things (soap, wax, etc) to loosen them up. Maybe it will get easier with time. Otherwise, they are great!
    Date published: 2011-04-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Happy Tried these boots on in one of the first stores that stocked them and they were SO comfortable. Felt like there was gel in the foot and the fit was fantastic. Can't comment on durability yet but this boot was quality. However, I tried on the boot without red and even across the large tack store my trainer's reaction was "What the heck is on your leg!?" so definitely will not be buying these boots to wear anywhere near the hunter/equitation ring.
    Date published: 2011-03-28
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.