Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Ariat® Volant Vented Tall Boot

Ariat International, Inc.
- Item #19405

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Ultimate performance technology meets innovative design in this brand new series of English riding footwear using premium leathers, advanced materials and construction. Not only does the Ariat Volant Vented Tall Boot have a sleek-looking exterior, but it also features Ariat's Cobalt Quantum technology plus stretch mesh, oiled leathers and vents for air circulation. Designed to create a great looking, fitting and feeling boot that will ensure peak performance for all equestrian athletes.

Imported.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Ariat® Volant Vented Tall Boot is rated 4.3902 out of 5 by 41.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from most comfortable boots I recently purchased the Volant boots and love the ease and fit. Given the choice between my custom boots and the Volants, I reach for the Volants.
    Date published: 2013-06-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fit like a glove after the 2nd fitting The first pair indicated to me that these boots run large in the calf. I swapped out for a smaller fit and they are wonderful. So comfortable even after the first ride. The footbed is cushy like a tennis shoe. Love them!
    Date published: 2013-06-01
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Expect some pain! I am really disappointed with these boots. I work for a trainer and am at the barn on my feet pretty much all day - every day. I thought these boots would be comfortable to walk and ride in as every day boots and I liked how they looked.Well these boots gave me a ton of blisters and bruises on my ankles and worse behind my knee, not only while breaking in, but still to this day a year and a half later. I have gone to a couple local tack stores and talked to employees about these boots and they all tell me they hear lots of complaints about how bad these boots give blisters. I have even compared blisters with other people who ride in these boots more than once. Of course blisters are a given when breaking in, but a year in a half later I would expect these to be broken in by now?The footbed runs a little narrow too; much more narrow than my other Ariat tall boots (Heritage and Quantum) I have had. They gave me calluses on the side of my feet and I really believe they even were the culprit to my right foot fracturing. Shortly after feeling like I broke them in (besides still blistering) I was walking around my barn when my right foot felt super tight and then I felt a pop with super intense pain following. After feeling like I wanted to cry for several minutes and hobbling around I took off my foot to find a faint bruise that continued to darken (pictured). I went to the doctor and x-rays shows I fractured my 3rd metatarsal bone, telling me to wear a foot brace and stay off it for 6 weeks - like that is possible when you work at a barn. I bought some Ariat paddock boots, which I should have bought from the start, after the fracture and wore those around trying to take it easy on my feet. Several weeks later my foot did heal but still after a long day of walking I will feel a slight pain where the fracture was as a reminder. I mostly wear paddock boots at the barn now days but every now and then I will wear these boots because I paid so much for them and feel like I should use them. I have been meaning to buy Equifit Gel Bands to try and reduce the blistering but for now these boots remain pretty much useless because I can't show in them for hunters and my paddock boots are 100 times more comfortable.The left boot also split at the seams in the section right behind your toe. It was $30 to get it repaired from my local tack store. The person who repaired it commented that they were surprised at how well they held up for being as old as they were. Not a good thing to hear.The plus: You will get tons of compliments on these boots or will spark conversation about them but the coolness factor is not worth the pain. I would never repurchase them!
    Date published: 2013-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them! Well, I haven't had them very long but so far I love these boots! They are so comfortable! I've been looking for forever (it feels like) for a tall boot that is comfortable enough to walk in as well as ride in and these seem to fit the bill. I do have to use boot lifts but that is pretty much par for the course for me, otherwise the fit seems pretty true to size to maybe just a little large.
    Date published: 2013-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Comfy This boots look great and are the most comfortable boots ever!
    Date published: 2013-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sturdy boots! We ride 10-12 horses a day and these boots are not only comfterable but hold up great!
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cannot Find Fit Beautiful boot! Would have loved to keep if I could find a pair that would FIT me. Finally after 4 returns, I said, "I Give Up". The 8-1/2 was larger than the 9, and the 9.5 was way too big. For that amount of $$$, you want it to fit. I may try to reorder later, but got really frustrated with the fitting issue.
    Date published: 2012-12-27
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good while it lasts I purchased a pair last fall when my old ariats finally kicked the bucket. The volants we comfortable and seemed like the perfect boot for me. The design was cool looking while still being conservative enough to take in the dressage ring at events.Five months ago I left for Argentina for a working student position, riding 4 to 6 horses a day, six days a week. The leather has held up great but within 2 months the stitching on the foot started to come undone. Completely disappointed! A fellow rider down there had the same problem as well. These boots are advertised as durable and for riding a lot but I can not recommend them if the stitching is just going to rip out. Very disappointed in ariat, especially after my last pair of boots which lasted 5 or 6 years of abuse and still cleaned up great.
    Date published: 2012-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boots So, it was really difficult to shell out five hundred dollars for boots......but I am glad I did! The boots require very little break in, they are super comfortable, and they are grippy on the parts that touch the saddle. The zippers work very well too.The boots are quite snug in the calf so it was easy to opt for the wide. Smart pak graciously agreed to send me to different sizes with free return shipping for the pair that did not fit...a win/win!
    Date published: 2012-10-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful and Comfortable I ordered these and the Volant front zip (in all black) at the same time based on hours of research trying to find a comfortable boot for my vertically challenged frame... I am 5'4" 123lbs, athletic build with 13" calves. I previously wore the Ariat Crowne Pro and was in agony ALL the time from my crinkled ankles to the bruises and abrasions behind my knees. I thought I would have to wear 1/2 chaps forever. I chose this boot over the front zip because it felt more substantial and more comfortable walking and with heels down. It feels more like an athletic shoe than a tall boot and the vents at the front of the ankle completely eliminate the painful scrunch. The high topline is also much nicer than the front zip. The panels stretch a bit, so you can wear a thicker breech and/or sock in winter. Also the spur holder is smoother than the front zip version which feels a bit sharp and unfinished. At first I was a little hesitant on both of them based on their progressive design, but I am totally in love with these boots after riding in them. Every day they get more comfortable and I get tons of compliments, from trainers to students, everyone says, "Wow, those are really cool boots!" I hope they will wear well.
    Date published: 2012-10-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great durable boots! These are awesome boots as usual for Ariat. They are durable and clean up very easily with some effax. I love the vents near the ankles because they make putting your heel down very easy from the beginning. The only think I don't like is that unlike normal tall boots, they do not drop down very much. If they are too tall for you when you first try them on, then try a different size. I have been wearing these for a few months and they are still leaving blisters and bruises on the back of my knees when I ride hard. Other than that, they are awesome boots!
    Date published: 2012-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Didn't Want To Like Them I have ridden horses my whole life. i have also given into what I thought was COOL as to not embarrass myself. But at the tender age of 56, I needed paddock boots/half chaps But really wanted to ride in in my custom boots so. . . .I was geting some bad vibes about the Ariat Volant but did it anyway. All I can say is go do it. You will not regret it.
    Date published: 2012-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from *FEELS JUST LIKE A TENNIS SHOE!!!! ~I LOVE THESE TALL BOOTS~A#1 PURCHASE!!!!!~I absolutely LOVE my Ariat Tall Vented Boots! They are no doubt worth each and every penny spent! I am new to riding English and had heard horror stories about breaking in new riding boots.I loved the look of the volants when I first saw them so I went ahead and purchased them.They literally are like wearing a tennis shoe! (I had read some of the designers at Ariat have backgrounds indesigning for Reebok.I don't know if that is in fact true but from my experience wearing the volants, I would guess yes! :) I didn't need any break in time! Just put them on and went and so happy that I did! I wear an 81/2 and they ran very true to size.(I have a 161/2 calf and I'm 5'5). I bought an 81/2B-medium full-regular height boot & they fit perfect!! The insoles are wonderful and so very comfortable! I never imagined tall boots could be this comfy.I often times stay in these boots when I leave the barn to do a day's shopping! They are truly that COMFY! My next purchase will be the waterproof H2O lace up pair! If I had the money I promise I'd buy each style they're that impressive!
    Date published: 2012-08-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Don't wait - buy them today! I have worn paddock boots and half chaps for more than 25 years. I always thought they provided the comfort, control and security in the saddle I needed. The purchase of these marvelous tall boots has completely changed my mind. My feet, ankles and legs are much more secure and more correct than I ever thought was possible. I waited almost a year to actually purchase these boots because I just wasn't sure about the cost, style and fit. Now that they are here, they are PERFECT. If you are considering paddock boots/ half chaps - the difference in cost is negligible and the benefits of tall boots are phenomenal. And they look and feel GREAT!
    Date published: 2012-07-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really loved them, but.... I purchased these a few days ago and fell in love with them. They fit very nicely right from the box, but...after wearing them for a couple days the feet stretched way out. I would definitely order a half size smaller then what you are used to, they will be snug for a few days, but it is better than having too big shoes. I will hopefully be purchasing a smaller pair to keep from tripping around the barn like I have been.
    Date published: 2013-05-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Them This boot isn't for everyone as it is a very contemporary look. However, the foot (like all ariats) feels like a running shoe and the leg is awesome. I bought them to replace paddock boots and half chaps I wear every day. After 40+ years in the Hunters I am having the time of my life in the jumper ring and I just may wear them in the ring. I feels like a rebel! I love them and recommend them highly.
    Date published: 2012-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everything I wanted! These boots are fantastic! I love them! I really wanted a pair of tall boots but needed to have ones that I could walk around in all day. I do Parelli so I spend alot of time on the ground and in the saddle. I wanted boots that I could go from saddle to playing on the ground and back to the saddle without missing a step. They needed to be super comfy and supportive but not tight like a vice grip on my leg. I love that these boots are not very traditional but are still subtle. They're like athletic shoes for equestrians! The best part is that they start to break in the minute you put them on!
    Date published: 2012-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love these boots I already have the front zip, red lining style and wanted to add the dressier ones. You kindly sent me 4 different sizes to try, and the 4th pair fits like a custom boot.Congratulations, Ariat! Thank you, SmartPak
    Date published: 2012-06-23
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Couldn't handle the style I really, REALLY wanted to like these, but I just could not deal with the "style" of them when they arrived. The little vents in the front of the boot put me off completely, as did the overall plastic look of the heel and sole. Some of the stitching was coming out on side panels, but I'm sure that wasn't normal, probably just my pair. The boot in general seemed study (good zipper) and a the footbed was comfy... but, I sent it back mainly because I just couldn't deal with such a non-traditional looking boot. Just not for me!
    Date published: 2012-05-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots! I've purchased many boots in the past and I've always ended up returning them for a refund because they didn't fit well (either the boots were too big or the height of the boots would annoy the back of my knees). I decided to try the Volant Vented tall boot as the reviews were all favorable, I wore mine for the first time yesterday and I was impressed. It fit well (it is definitely true to size), the 16-1/2" height did not bother me (even though it is an inch higher than what I would have wanted it to be), it kept my lower legs in correct position, and was very comfortable as it had the "broken in" feel. I have arthritis in my feet and ankles, and normally I will experience much pain and/or bruising from whatever I wear at the end of a ride. Wearing these boots------no pain! Even my instructor and another rider in the arena, were amazed that I did not go out limping. They also like the looks of the boots and had a lot of questions as to comfort and fit. At the end of the day, I told them.......save up and buy a pair. They won't be disappointed. I simply LOVE mine!!
    Date published: 2012-05-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great boot Great boot but very warm. The ankle is snug. I have normal size ankles and I do get rubs. They break in immediately and they are like a great pair of tennis shoes. They are easy to get your ankle down in and walk and bath and do all your chores in after a day of riding. They stay damp longer than most boots so air them out. I take a 7.5 in an Ariat and these are 7's. I could have gone comfortably into a 7.5. But they break in and stretch to fit your foot just like tennis shoes. I would say they are not narrow but not wide. THEY WILL STRETCH in the foot. They will be like a glove everywhere else. My biggest complaint is they are warm. But, they look custom.
    Date published: 2012-04-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product I really like these boots. I have been an Ariat boot buyer before. The Volants are much nicer for riding as the soles have better traction on the stirrups for your foot. Also the quality of the leather is excellent and they don't require the normal break in. These are good boots for warmer weather because they are vented. I have the water proof Volants for the frigid winter which are also a good boot. The boots fit true to size for Ariat.
    Date published: 2012-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great every day boots I have only had these boots a few weeks and they are already broken in. If it is time to replace your paddock boots and half chaps, I recommend you consider pooling your funds and purchasing these super comfortable boots. A little pricey, but if they last as long as my Ariat paddock boots did, then they will be worth the investment. Easy to wear for long periods of time. Just wish we could wear them in the show ring!
    Date published: 2012-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Money well spent I absolutely LOVE, LOVE, LOVE these boots. They are even more comfortable than you can imagine. They are easy to keep clean. You need to only wear thin socks for they keep your feet very comfortable. They have a sneaker feel to them. You can wear them ALL day. I highly recommend them. They are true to size. I have long calves and thought I may need the "TALL" size but I measured in the "Medium" range and ordered the "medium" and they fit perfectly!
    Date published: 2012-03-27
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Exceptional comfort but doesnt last I'm so disappointed with these boots but in love with them at the same time. They are the MOST comfortable boots I've ever ridden in but I have gone through 4 pair in just 6 months. All of the stitching came undone and always in a different spot, I hope Ariat figures it out at some point because I would love to have these again but this time expecting them not to fall apart.
    Date published: 2012-03-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very comfortable boots I bought these a few months ago as schooling boots because they were just so darn comfortable. I have worn them 12+ hours several days in a row with no complaints! At first I thought the look was a little odd but when you're on the horse it's much less noticeable. I like them so much that I show my jumper in them! My other boots just don't seem nearly as appealing on long show days.
    Date published: 2011-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonder Boots! My old ariats were finally falling apart on me (they were five years old and well used) and so in need for a new pair before my show this weekend I set out to find some. The Volants had caught my eye a while ago and I am so glad I tried them on first. I don't think I can ever go back to my old boots now, these ones are just TOO comfortable! They have broken in really nicely in less than a week and they really do look better in person. Going out for gallops is so nice because my feet still feel great at the end. I can get off my 17.2hh on pavement and not fall over thanks to the wonderful footbed! In my lesson on wednesday my trainer called them "wonder boots" because my leg was that much steadier even with a longer stirrup. Some of the stitching is doing a tiny bit of fraying but then again I have found that it always happens and then never goes beyond the slight fray.I can't wait to show in these boots and doubt I'll ever be able to go back!
    Date published: 2011-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So comfortable! Tried these on at the Smartpak store and couldn't believe how comfortable they were. The boot is pretty high, they have an air panel for breathability (perfect for warmer weather) and they look great too. They are not the traditonal, stiff, uncomfortable dressage boots that dressage riders usually buy, but in my opinion, are better. My only concern is the longevity of the mesh panels. Otherwise, love these boots! Also, just have to say that the employees at Smartpak are so wonderful and helpful. Thanks Smartpak employees!
    Date published: 2011-09-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfortable boots I bought these for my daughter for schooling and she says they are very comfortable and they fit her really well. They look like they will last but time will tell. I hope so because they are not inexpensive.
    Date published: 2011-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I call them my Magic Boots! These boots are amazing. I hesitated a little bit with the price but once I rode in them, I forgot what I paid. They are unlike any tall boot I have ever worn. The footbed is stable and really helps absorb shock in both the sitting and rising trot. It facilitates suppleness in all the leg joints and I feel like I am sitting the trot more comfortably than in any other type of boot. The slightly "tacky" feeling of the inner panel helps stabilize the lower leg without too much "grip". These are "athletic shoes" for riders, wonderfully designed for function. I don't care if they don't look like a super traditional tall boot...they don't ride like them either!
    Date published: 2011-07-11
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.