Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

SSG Fleece Lined Winter Gripper

SSG Riding Gloves
- Item #10910

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

SSG Fleece Lined Winter Gripper glove is an economical, comfortable, warm knit cotton glove with pimple grip palm. Fleece lining for warmth. Reinforced in key areas. VELCRO® Brand wrist closure. Imported.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    SSG Fleece Lined Winter Gripper is rated 4.3661 out of 5 by 112.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable and Warm! I bought these gloves because I had another pair just like them and loved them. They are made well and just warm enough that my hands don't sweat. I work with a lunge line quite a bit in my program and they hold up longer than any others I've tried!
    Date published: 2014-01-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A decent glove Bought as a christmas gift for some students. A bit bulky but well worth the price. Good closure and seem well made just not the sleekest looking glove. But the kids tell me they are comfortable and warm and that's what I was wanting!
    Date published: 2014-01-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm Excellent for winter schooling, hopefully will last the winter
    Date published: 2013-12-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good glove but only for light use I really like the fit and thickness of this glove, but after only a month of wearing them, there is a hole in one finger and the grippy stuff has worn off all the fingertips.  I was wearing them to do some barn chores as well as riding, so I would only recommend them for someone who wants to wear them riding only a couple of times a week.  Happily smartpak gave me a refund I can use for a more durable glove.
    Date published: 2013-12-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm and comfortable!  Love these gloves. Use them to feed, ride and drive. Will definitely buy several more pairs. 
    Date published: 2013-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from practical and affordable I am a photographer and the nubs on these gloves allow me to operate my camera without removing them--a great thing in Chicago winters. My hand measured a 7 but the small fit just right. I gave the medium to my husband.
    Date published: 2013-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprisingly warm I use the unlined version of these gloves for everyday chores and for pleasure riding. I ordered the fleece line ones for fall & spring and was surprised how warm they are. They aren't bulky, you still have great grip and dexterity. Really good value too.
    Date published: 2013-05-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pinkie finger too long SSG's are usually one of the better fitting gloves. However, in this case, the pinkie finger is as long as the ring finger. Seems like an odd fit for SSG's.
    Date published: 2013-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-03-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A good, easy glove I like these gloves. The fit is good. Washes well. Easy to work blanket clasps and other buckles with these gloves on. Not terribly warm but a great weight for daily barn work and riding.
    Date published: 2013-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice gloves These gloves have a thin fleece lining which adds some warmth compared with the regular gripper gloves -- in a mild winter climate they are nice, not sure how they'd be in a harsher climate. Have only had these lined ones for about a month and like them. They were a good price and are comfortable to wear. The size M has a tag inside that states 7 but I usually wear a 7-1/2 and these gloves fit me fine.
    Date published: 2013-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice glove, good price These gloves are super comfortable and feel pretty warm. I have to admit that I have not been able to find any gloves that really keep my hands warm on the real bitter cold days, but I like the comfort and flexibility of these.
    Date published: 2013-01-31
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Could be excellent but..... I thought these were going to be best ever: weight is good, size was good (most of the fingers actually fit), liked the velcro at wrist, fabric at palm was nice, but the fabric between fingers is all wrong. Very uncomfortable, seemed too large and bulky or just sewn wrong. I tried wearing them a couple of times, but they were just too uncomfortable, so I'm not sure how warm they are. The search for wearable winter gloves continues.
    Date published: 2013-01-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great for lesson students- not for trainers. I love these gloves, and have been using them for years. My problem is that I now ride 4 or so horses a day and I wear through them quickly (I have holes in the fingers after 1 month!). When I was riding only a few times a week they lasted much longer so I would recommend them for a casual rider. I will start shopping around for a more durable pair and recommend that if you ride a LOT, you do the same.
    Date published: 2013-01-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not for winter riding Purchased these gloves thinking they would be warm enough to ride with in the winter, but they were thinner than I thought.
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Reasonably priced and functional These gloves are not made to do any kind of heavy work, but they keep your hands reasonably warm in somewhat cold weather. They are functional when riding inside a cold arena during the winter, but fall short if you are outside and the temps dip below 40 degrees or so.
    Date published: 2013-01-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good for the price. Perfect for students! I have used a pair of these gloves for about 3 months or so and just replaced them as they became worn through in several places. There were large holes in several of the fingers, which was dissapointing to me, as I usually love SSG gloves. However, then I realized that I paid less than $10 for them, they had lasted several months, and they were warm (until the holes!) and they are thin enough that you can tack up in them. So, while I am replacing them with the SSG Windstopper, as the flexibility of those gloves is similar, the Gripper Gloves are a good option if you need something cheap without a lot of bulk that will keep your hands warm for a few months of light cold-weather riding.
    Date published: 2013-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pair of Gloves These gloves fit perfectly, very warm. They look well made.
    Date published: 2012-12-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gloves Should Work Real Well I haven't actually worn these, just tried them on & the fit is good, quality good, I like them very much. Should be nice & toasty when it turns cold.
    Date published: 2012-09-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good gloves! For the price of these gloves, you really can't go wrong! Haven't worn them too much, due to the heat of my location, but I can tell they will be warm in winter. Love the grip placement as I tend to hold a loose rein. Read a few reviews that said the size ran a bit large, so I opted for a small when I'm usually a medium, but the small were tiny on me, so I returned and exchanged for a large (which was a quick and easy transfer by the way) and they are a little bit baggy in the thumb area, but I have slightly long fingers so they fit well otherwise. I would say go for the size you usually are because they don't really run large, not now anyway. Good purchase! And always great customer service. :)
    Date published: 2012-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm & Comfortable at Great Price! I think these gloves are great for the price. I love the fleece lining and the grip outer. My only complaint would be that the new version I just purchased were a larger in the same size 7 than the 2010 version. I have long slender fingers so that makes them slightly bulkier, but if you have fuller fingers you will like this change.
    Date published: 2012-03-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bought another Pair I like these gloves. They fit nice .velco on, Very durable. use then to feed hay early in the morning. I bought another pair and have remended them to other firends. This would be a great gift Idea for the budget shopper. They look like they cost about $30. a pair. Happy Riden. SPLASH2011
    Date published: 2012-03-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good price I like to keep a couple pairs of these gloves around as backup for grooming or riding, they don't last very long but are comfortable and not expensive so they are well worth it- and not a big deal when they get lost.
    Date published: 2012-03-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm and good value These gloves are a great value for the price. They tend to run a little large. Not superior quality, but at the price they are better than expected. The gloves are soft and have gripper nubs, and can go through the wash. Pretty warm too. Don't expect a show glove - but these are not advertised as such.
    Date published: 2012-03-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great inexpensive gloves I just bought my 2nd pair of these after my cheese-grater stirrup pads ate my first pair. They're not bulky like most winter gloves. They're thin enough to be able to do everything I normally take my gloves off to do (like put on a bridle). They're warm and comfy and I really like the pimple grip palm. My 2nd pair are a bit larger than my first, so the fit isn't as nice. Plus they're not super durable. But, for $8.95 I can get over all that.
    Date published: 2012-03-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great for the money They don't last super long--it's still cold out and my right index finger is poking through-- but for the money who cares!? I have a replacement pair on the way with my next SmartPak, and now I know to just order two pairs right away next winter. Warm enough to get the job done, long enough fingers to fit properly, and cheap enough that I won't care when I can't remember what I did with them when it gets cold again next winter :)
    Date published: 2012-02-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-02-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good Price, Odd Fit Great for their price. I work in a sporthorse barn and bought them because I needed some new gloves. They were a GREAT price but wore out in the finger tips fairly quickly (within one month). However, I ride multiple horses a day so I was not surprised that they wore out as they were not leather. They are also very warm.My biggest concern was the fit. The sizing chart ran large. When I returned the gloves for a smaller size, they fit great with room for my long fingers. HOWEVER, the thumb was still TOO LONG which I found odd because I have long fingers.
    Date published: 2012-01-30
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-01-30
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.