Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Plymouth Padded Flash Bridle by SmartPak

SmartPak
- Item #19023

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Plymouth bridles are crafted in imported leather with fine details and stainless steel hardware at an unbeatable value. Traditional styling and unprecedented quality in this price range. Available exclusively at SmartPak.

Incredibly soft and supple the minute you put it together. Beautifully designed with a raised and soft padded flash 7/8" noseband and browband. A perfect schooling bridle crafted to stand up to the rigors of daily use. Hook stud closures on 5/8” cheeks. Removable flash noseband. Brass buckles. Complete with 5/8" rubberized web reins for extra grip, even in wet weather.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Plymouth Padded Flash Bridle by SmartPak is rated 4.4576 out of 5 by 59.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Schooling Bridle Only It's as the item description says, it's only good for schooling. The leather was cheap. Same quality as my original schooling bridle, which was almost 1/3 of the price new on sale. If I didn't pay as much as I did, I might have considering keeping it, but not for $65.
    Date published: 2013-03-03
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Horrible fit! I bought the O/S bridle for my 17 hand warmblood (that has a large head)... the bridle was huge on her! I read the reviews that said it runs small. The cheekpieces had to get holes punched in, the browband sticks out 2 inches from her forehead, and the reins are really long. The only thing that did fit was the noseband and flash. The leather quality is poor and was "cracking" the second I put it together. The only good thing was the rubber in the reins. I will be returning it.
    Date published: 2013-03-02
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Leather not so nice... After purchasing the Plymouth Dressage bridle I was eager to try another Plymouth bridle. I was very satisfied with the quality and fit of the dressage bridle. The leather on this bridle (Plymouth Padded Flash Bridle) is nothing like the leather for the cheaper Plymouth Dressage bridle. It was covered with wax, so dry and stiff. My daughter cleaned the wax off and has oiled it many times. It's still really dry and stiff. I am afraid to have her use it until it's softened up some for fear of cracking the leather…it's still that stiff! As far as the fit, the bridle runs small. The Cob sized fit her hard to fit Section B Welsh. The throat latch was too big, but my husband added a hole and it fits just fine now.
    Date published: 2013-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Suitable, but a couple of surprises After buying the Plymouth dressage bridle, I had to have the same bridle & reins in brown to go with my jumping tack! The leather doesn't seem quite as soft immediately, but still fine. What surprised me most was that it's not self-padded, but uses a lighter brown for padding and stitching (I still can't identify this when I go back and look at the item image). Rubber in the reins is also black, which stands out against the brown. Note that the description in one place says stainless steel hardware, and in another says brass buckles (like in the image) - mine is stainless and I like that! I went up to full size after cob being a bit tight on my 14.2 Morgan gelding; full fits both him and my 16.1 TB gelding w/average head.
    Date published: 2013-01-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lovely Schooling Bridle I purchased this bridle while I was leasing a horse and I needed a bridle to use on the flat. While this bridle is not amazing leather my any means it is fine for schooling.
    Date published: 2013-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful bridle! The second I got this bridle, I was so excited! It is wonderfully padded, and just wonderful quality leather! Of course, it is a bit stiff, but I have only ridden in it twice, and that is inevitable with a new bridle. The color is very true to the picture, and the sizing is spot on! My horse is in between a cob and horse size for halters and bridles- but I just went with the cob, as she is a fine boned little TB cross. She is on the last hole for the noseband and throat latch, but it doesn't bother me at all. There is so many details you find on much more expensive bridles, such as padding under the buckle for the noseband. I love it, and my horse does too- she goes great in this bridle! My only complaint would be when I was putting together the bridle, the browband got three cracks in it. But, I bent it too far. It's unfortunate, but they sell matching browbands with clincher details so I'm just fine with that. :) Overall, a wonderful, beautiful bridle, that would look great just schooling or out on the event field during shows.
    Date published: 2013-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase for the price Wonderful quality leather. Originally purchased a cob size because it was for a petite TB, but the cob was way too small. The full size fits just right with enough adjustability. If you have a large TB 16.2+ or warmblood, the oversize would probably be the best size choice. I've only had it a couple months, but it seems to be a durable leather with proper care.
    Date published: 2012-12-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from After owning this for a few months It has gone downhill, I am religious about cleaning and caring for my tack and this bridle has gotten stiffer and stiffer with age and use. I don't get it, I have cleaned it and conditioned it weekly and wiped it down after every use. I cannot for the life of me figure out why in the world this bridle is like freaking cardboard, won't be buying another one. The dressage version is still supple and stunning!
    Date published: 2012-12-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Value I read all the reviews, but was still a little skeptical about such high reviews on such an affordable bridle. I was really pleased with the feel of the leather right out of the bag. Sure, it's not buttery soft, but I think it's honestly softer than a Kieffer bridle I bought previously for more than twice the money!I'm very glad I went for this, and I'm excited to try the other models next time I need a bridle.
    Date published: 2012-10-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice bridle for the price Got this bridle in July and have so far liked it. It was a little stiff when I put the bit on, but loosened up pretty fast. It was a little big on my mare, but my mare has a very smalll arab head that is hard to fit. Overall a nice bridle.
    Date published: 2012-09-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice bridle For the price this is a pretty nice bridle. I love the reins. It fits rather large on the cheek pieces, where others areas fit a little smaller, but it still fits well. It looks very nice and I would have no problems showing in it.
    Date published: 2012-08-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'd Buy 3 More!! My horse and I LOVE this bridle. The leather is supple upon arrival and fits beautifully. The only down side is the elastic in the reins is breaking more and more everyday but I dont even care. The value of this inexpensive bridle is so so so worth it! I would just buy separate reins. BUY THIS BRIDLE! :) :) :) :)
    Date published: 2012-10-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Smart Pak Flash Bridle Nice looking bridle, looks durable. Haven't ridden in it yet but for the price it will be a great schooling bridle.
    Date published: 2012-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy with the purchase Nice leather, good quality in the finishings, the reins excellent antislip! The color matches my pessoa jumping saddle. I am very happy with the purchase
    Date published: 2012-07-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice bridle for the money This bridle has that good leather "smell" ! and is a good value. Unfortunately, my horse is one of those "in between" sizes and nether the full or cob sizes fit :>((.But if it has fit, I would have been thrilled.
    Date published: 2012-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle I bought this as a schooling bridle but I think that it would work well as a lower level over fences show bridle. It fits my QH gelding well, I am just starting him english and didnt want to risk my expensive bridle on face scratching. The leather is a bit stiff out of the box, but it is quality and oils up well without a problem, I dont like the rubber reins though. I switched them out after the first ride.
    Date published: 2012-04-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great qulity bridle Great quality bridle for the money. The quality is what you would expect in the more expensive leather products. Quick shipping and free shipping.
    Date published: 2012-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I wasn't expecting the leather on this bridle to be nearly as nice as it is, and when I took it out of the box I even thought it might be too big on my mare's dainty head (that has happened with several other brands). I'm pleased to say that it fits beautifully, looks expensive, and is overall a beautiful bridle. My mare is a 16h WB with a normal sized head but smaller nose, and it adjusted to fit her perfectly.
    Date published: 2012-03-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good value After purchasing the Plymouth dressage bridle for my pony, I was sold on the Plymouth line of bridle work and and came back for an eventing bridle for my horse. This is a nice bridle for the price, especially considering it comes with reins. I like the rubberized web reins that come with this bridle and find them easy to ride with in all types of weather.The fit isn't the greatest as some parts of the bridle are adjusted on the shortest hole while others are on the longest hole but it works for my horse.Thanks SmartPak for providing another nice product at a great price!
    Date published: 2012-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks to be nice quality! I bought this but ended up not needing it. I'm impressed with the quality of SmartPak's bridle! The value is very good. Did not have a chance to evaluate durability and fit, but based on measurements (kindly provided by the SP expert customer service), I would expect this to be a great bridle for the price.
    Date published: 2012-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smart, Beautiful, Affordable!! I won't ever buy any other brand of bridle ever again. Only Smartpak!! Not only are they affordable, but unbelievably high quality! Soft and supple straight out of the box with a great fit on all of my horses! Not only good looking, but durable too! I have one Plymouth that's a few years old that's still looks new and gets compliments every where I go.
    Date published: 2012-02-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent schooling bridle I school a lot of horses and handle a lot of tack and this bridle is simply the most supple and versatile I've ever seen in this price range. My 17.1 TB has an enormous head and a narrow nose so I was worried about the fit, but it was perfect for him. He's been using this bridle for a year now, and with regular cleaning and oiling it's just as lovely as when I first got it. I'll certainly be using it for schooling shows when he's ready for them! The rein stops are also a nice addition for my running martingale.
    Date published: 2012-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow amazing bridle for great price Great bridle!!!! Leather is soft and easy to break in. Cleans well. Very happy!!
    Date published: 2012-02-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decent bridle I was a little dissapointed at how much dye I found rubbing off when i oiled this bridle. The dye coming off was almost purple, and i was using a white rag so there was no discoloration, however when I took the bridle out in the sun it was a much different color, thank goodness, take note this bridle arrived a much darker chocolate brown then the one in the picture above. It is more the color of the wellfleet flash eventing bridle. The padding is wonderfully soft and the leather is soft enough to bend and flex (after oiling and a little rolling) that it seems like it will hold up fine, it is pliable enough to allow flexing on the horses face. The keepers were fitting a bit loose. Alltogether I would say this is a great schooling bridle and nice enough for schooling shows but I wouldnt seriously compete in it. As it failed to keep the horses mouth shut ,a bit more adjustability in the canveson would be nice.
    Date published: 2012-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pleasently Suprised I was not expecting the quality that came out of te box for the price I paid. Boy was I wrong. This is a beautiful bridle at a economical price. The fit however i find is weird. For one a horse size was rather large. My 16h quarter horse I have almost everything on the last hole & my throughbred only one notch down. It's also difficult to size because last hole is to tight and one down is to loose. Overall however this bridle is a prize! No one can believe what I paid for it. Thanks smartpak!
    Date published: 2012-01-30
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed :( After all the rave reviews of this bridle, I was very excited about it. I was fairly disappointed with this purchase. After oiling the bridle really well it was still extremely stiff and unyielding and one of the cheek pieces wouldn't fit into the keepers even with a lot of stretching! Overall I was disappointed in this product.
    Date published: 2012-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Supple Bridle Great bridle for the price. Very soft supple leather. I was surprised how soft the leather was. Fits my Warmblood very well. Only complaint would be that the leather straps holders take a while to break in to secure the leather pieces. Other than that a great buy.
    Date published: 2012-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Supple Bridle This bridle was surprisingly very nice! The leather was very soft from the start! The sizing was true to size my 17'2 hand Warmblood went in the O/S size and it fits well! I love the quality of the leather. It is perfect for daily use and flashy enough for shows. A great steal for the price. I am going to order another for sure!
    Date published: 2011-12-27
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2013 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.