Product Image

TractGard

Foxden Equine
- Item #10089
Form: Pellets
Maintenance Dose: 1 SmartPak Well

TractGard® is an equine GI tract buffer, re-hydrator, digestaid and electrolyte source that is excellent for horses prone to stomach upset or discomfort. It is a pelleted mix of mineral salts, electrolytes, yeast and linseed meal, designed to help pull water into and lubricate the GI tract, buffer excess acids, and support normal digestion and healthy bowel function. 

TractGard® also contains Diamond V Yeast to aid in fiber and protein digestion, improve hoof and coat quality and support healthy weight maintenance in hard keepers.

View our Digestion Supplement Comparison Chart

View our Ulcer & Gastric Health Supplements Comparison Chart

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    TractGard is rated 4.6183 out of 5 by 131.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Change maker! Really is helping my ulcer prone mare! We are able to take her off of at least one of her ranitidine doses and after her stall rest from surgery we hope to only use tract guard and no ranitidine!
    Date published: 2013-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It definitely helped! I bought this product for a very sensitive 3 year old filly who was being a touch colicky almost weekly. She's been on it for approximately 50 days and has shown no more signs.
    Date published: 2013-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product I would recommend this to anyone. Great for the overall well being of any horse
    Date published: 2013-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from tractgard He is finicky about eating it by itself, he is on a strictly hay diet. I mixed it with a handful of equine senior and he cleans it up. In the 3 months I have used this product, Bucky has put on weight and had no further episodes of colic. I will re-order another 3 months worth and recommend it to other horse owners as well.
    Date published: 2013-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Product This is a fantastic product that should be used year round. It encourages drinking, helps the gut absorb water, and has ingredients to soothe the stomach. I've used this product for almost 10 yrs and its the first supplement I put all my horses on. I recommend it to everyone, especially during the winter months!
    Date published: 2012-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome so far!! My horse has only been on this supplement for a week but I would already recomend it to a friend ! My horse is a very picky eater and would only sometimes finishes his food and other supplements but since adding this he has consistantly finished all his food !! He also had some runny stool due to very good grass and hay and his stool is way less runny already!
    Date published: 2012-09-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very glad I purchased this! I live in WI and this summer has been a killer so far...day after day of temps in the 90s and the past few days of being well over 100. We are not used to that. I knew we were predicted for a hot and dry summer, and I added this to my horses supplement regimine (they are 23 and 10). It smells like banana, which is a flavor horses go crazy for, and I love combination of the digestive protection, antacid and electrolytes. Several fellow boarders asked me about it. My boys are drinking a lot of water to stay hydrated and no signs of colic (knock on wood) so far. Great multi purpose product and glad I tried it/
    Date published: 2012-07-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ok I really haven't noticed any difference in my horses loose manure with this supplement. Will go back to a cheaper electrolyte. My horse eats anything!
    Date published: 2012-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Used for years I like this product and have fed it on and off for years. While the horses I feed it to are healthy and not in distress, they haul a lot - sometimes thousands of miles a year - and move from climate to climate, and they seem to stay healthy and not in distress on this (we do use 1/4 tube gastrogard on the road as well). It feels like inexpensive insurance. While I sometimes do switch to individual sources of electrolytes, GI protection, and prebiotics when I feel like I am really going to stress those areas, I always come back to TractGard as day to day supplement.
    Date published: 2012-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from OTTB helpful I purchased this product for an OTTB rescue . She came into the barn 300lbs under weight and with ulcers. In the last 6 weeks she has gained weight, and no longer has gut issues. I really like the salt added to this product , it keeps my mare drinking plenty of water, while she is eating extra hay to gain weight. I will use the product on my next rescue as well.
    Date published: 2012-05-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this product!!!! My horse was textbook for impaction colics. At the change of every spring and fall he would get an impaction. He was never a big drinker and would not eat or drink electrolytes. I started him on tract guard in 2003 and he has been great since. He drinks much better and knock on wood no more impactions. His coat looks better and he is a very happy healthy performance horse. At 19 years of age he is still going strong and running barrels!
    Date published: 2012-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful! A friend was given a months supply of Tractgard, and she asked me to look up the product and see what I thought before she gave it to her horse.I found the product on Smartpak's website, and started reading the other reviews..We have two horses in our barn with chronic watery stool, the vet is stumped-we have tried everything. So I figured what the heck, and ordered the largest available tub.Within 12 days both horses had normal stool. I let them run out of Tractgard, and within two weeks both of them had watery stool again. They won't be off the Tractgard again!
    Date published: 2012-03-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seems to be helping I started a 5 year old gelding with a history of mild gastric upsets on this product 6 weeks ago. So far, I have not seen any of the usual minor discomfort he used to have every 2 weeks or so. I chose TractGard because of the buffering ingredient, even though this horse has been cleared as not having actual ulcers, and the digestive aides. As of now, I'm a fan and may start a couple of my geriatric cases on it as a preventative measure.
    Date published: 2012-03-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from this product got my gelding eating again!. all of my horses will be on this supplement.
    Date published: 2012-02-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not a tummy problem but a tooth I really like foxden products. So when I thought my gelding was having possible ulcer problems I started him on it before the vet was able to come out. I found out that his problem was his five year old caps were bothering him and when that was taken care of things settled down. It did seem to help though before the vet was able to get there, so it did help. should I have a real ulcer problem this is one that I will use again.
    Date published: 2012-02-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best for preventing colic i always use this at shows, when hauling, or after a hard workout!!
    Date published: 2012-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reliable product I have a 35 year old Arabian gelding with only 5 grinding teeth left and they don't line up with each other. Needless to say, I have this boy on pelleted feed, and have had him on it for about the last 5 years. TractGard has helped to keep his manure consistent and his digestion in good order. I think that this product is very effective.
    Date published: 2012-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from TractGuard This product is great! I recently started giving it to my OTTB gelding, as a precaution because it was hard getting weight on him. With this supplement as well as with a new diet program, he is gaining the weight I had hoped to see on him. I am sure that this product plays a big role in helping him to digest his food better!
    Date published: 2012-01-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Purchase This has really helped with my horse's ulcers! I tried another ulcer supplement that didn't seem to do anything, but after I switched to this one my mare gained back some weight and seemed a lot more comfortable. It hasn't worked wonders yet, but I would definitely recommend it.
    Date published: 2012-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definately a very good product Tract Guard has really helped a new horse we bought that seemingly has sporadic issues of non eating. This is a big hard working rope horse that 96% of the time cleans up his hay. There were some days when he just flipped it around and ate nothing. Since incorporating this into his diet he cleans every last piece of feed. Looks great too!
    Date published: 2011-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This stuff works! When ever i would take my guy to shows he would refuse to eat. I put him on tractgard and he started eating again. He's a really picky eater, i can't get him to eat any other kind of supplement but he just gobbles this stuff up. It's amazing!
    Date published: 2011-11-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works! Since we got her several years ago, one of our Paint mares has had diarrhea whenever hay would be changed or sometimes even randomly. Probios sometimes helped, but other times she’d still be left with an icky butt that would have to be scrubbed clean. TractGuard has gotten rid of 98% of her diarrhea! She seems much happier (and we are too, butt scrubbing isn’t fun!) and eats it with no problem. Probios, even in treat form, were almost impossible to get her to eat without all kinds of treats and tempting goodies. Plus, Smartpaks are great, since sometimes I can’t get to the barn and they make feeding supplements easy for others! TractGuard is a great buy; it’s cheap, it works, and it’s palatable.
    Date published: 2011-11-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good Value This product is palatable to my senior horse and readily eats it with his feed ration. Good value product.
    Date published: 2011-11-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT! I love this product and it works well on my horse. My horse had a real bad colic that required vet intervention and panned on about 4 days this past summer. He is on a NSAID pain reliever and thats hard on his stomach, plus he has never been one to drink enough water. After the colic I looked into these products. I purchased and have been using this for a couple months and I have definitely seen improvements in my horse. For one he drinks more water, its amazing!Also I took the supplement from the barn for almost a week to make baggies of supplements at home and by the fourth day he didn't feel well, pawing in his stall and having a small colic episode. I immediately took it back out and he has been great. This helps prevent stomach ulcers from the pain reliever and keeps him drinking water! He will be on this for life!
    Date published: 2011-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stuff Love the idea of electrolytes, digestive aid in this product. Works great doing a lot of trailering and trail riding in different areas.
    Date published: 2011-09-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Chronic Diarrhea My 6yo mare had consistent diarrhea. She had a very heavy show schedule, which obviously did not help the problem. By the end of the first week, she was completely solid, and her gut is obviously much happier. Would highly recommend! Worked FAST and WELL.
    Date published: 2011-09-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good buy I purchased tract guard for my horse who would get some stomach upset/gas when travelling. I have a friend that uses it and swears by it. I like that it has electolytes along with the antacid and that it is in pellet form. I used Tractguard about a month before my next show. At the show, my horse did not have any gas problems and finished all his food.
    Date published: 2011-08-19
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't seem to help... I bought this product after having my OTTB on the UGuard powder. While on the powder I noticed that he stopped cribbing so much and then I decided to switch him to a pellet, thinking he would like it more. He does eat it without a problem... but he has started cribbing more again (nothing else has changed). I don't believe this product works and once it is finished I will be putting him back on UGuard.
    Date published: 2011-07-26
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.