Product Image

SmartBreathe® Pellets

SmartSupplements by SmartPak
- Item #18915
Form: Pellets
Maintenance Dose: 2 SmartPak Wells



SmartBreathe Pellets provide 5,000 mg of MSM plus Bromelain and Quercetin, two herbs that help support a normal inflammatory response. This customer favorite includes the antioxidants Grape Seed Extract, Super Oxide Dismutase, Vitamin C and bioflavonoids to support respiratory cell health. This comprehensive formula also contains N-Acetyl Cysteine, which has been shown to help protect airway tissues from seasonal respiratory conditions. SmartBreathe Pellets are an ideal way to soothe and support your horse’s airways. Your horse is sure to love these tasty pellets!

View our Respiratory Supplement Comparison Chart

View Product Label

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    SmartBreathe® Pellets is rated 4.4162 out of 5 by 197.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from prepackaged doses , no measuring, My horse has been on this 2 months. His coughing is just about gone and we are out riding the trails again with no coughing fits at all.
    Date published: 2014-03-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yay-it works! My horse is breathing much easier and loves the taste of this stuff. She did not have any negative reactions of any kind. I have only been giving it to her for two months and it is a noticeable difference. This is the season that is a little easier for her, though, so the true test will be in the summer humidity. I do think it is a little pricey-but if it works it's worth it!
    Date published: 2014-03-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very edible and seem to work! Got these when my mare had a cough earlier this winter. We later learned that it was from some bad hay, but for a while couldn't figure it out. She would eat these straight from the palm of my hand before a ride and definitely coughed less than if I rode her without them. They must taste great too.
    Date published: 2014-03-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from prefer the powder i was very disappointed when i was told they had discontinued the powder. my horse had no problem with the taste and mixed well with my feed. the powder was more economical. this works ,just costs more, and this horse already costs me a fortune each month due to his allergies, so every penny saved helps!
    Date published: 2014-03-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Product works!! I put my filly on this to help with some chronic inflammation following a mild respiratory illness that had been treated with antibiotics long term. She had a low grade persistent cough and a thick nasal discharge some mornings for over 4 weeks following the last antibiotic treatment.  After about 2 weeks on the product her nasal discharge was completely gone, and after 3 weeks, the cough was completely gone.  
    Date published: 2014-03-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Did not work for my horse My mare had been on Ventipulmin Syrup for 4 months, 5cc daily. I had hoped this product would be an alternative that would not have the long term side effects that Ventipulmin has. However, the product did not work for her and I had to put "Georgie" back on syrup after 4 days. A friend's horse however had been having breathing issues and as this is cannot be returned, I gave my leftover SmartBreathe packs to her. The product worked great for her horse and she will be a steady customer of this product going forward. I will say that my horse is a fussy eater and she ate the product without any problem.
    Date published: 2014-03-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No cough!! I thought Id try this on my warmblood geld who was just diagoised with heaves.I started this a month ago and was able to wean Rohaun off the dex for 2 weeks now.Still no cough,im thrilled.Also a nice add bonus is he isn't stocking up in his stall at night anymore,so smartbreathe seems to be helping keep inflammation in other areas also.
    Date published: 2014-03-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love I put my 6 year old Quarter horse mare on this after she was diagnosed with heaves this summer. She breathes so much better now and she is still able to do what she loves, Barrel racing and trail riding
    Date published: 2014-03-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It worked This made a big difference for my mare. No more sneezing and coughing at the beginning of the ride.
    Date published: 2014-03-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse has stopped her coughing~! She has never hesitated to eat this product
    Date published: 2014-03-03
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Need more information before purchase I purchased 9/13 and read the back label.  It clearly states on label that this product can upset the GI tract - I have a horse with a very sensitive GI tract.  I truly wish this had been noted on the website and would not have purchased - more money down the drain on supplements :-( - I gave a Fair review because I really do not know if it works or not.  I would recommend Smartpaks, but you should research the products as much as possible before buying
    Date published: 2014-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big Difference! My two year old KWPN filly randomly developed a cough and had some nasal discharge over the course of a few weeks. We determined it was seasonal allergies, but at her age, I didn't want to have to resort to serious measures. I ordered SmartBreathe because every Smartpak supplement I've used so far, I've had great results with. There is a phenomenal difference in my filly - her coughing decreased 80% and she has little to no nasal discharge. Not only that, but she loves the taste of the pellets! I will always keep her on this supplement - huge difference!!
    Date published: 2014-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent product! My gelding seems to suffer from some seasonal allergies and I started him on SmartBreathe this summer. I am happy to report he feels terrific! No more coughing and heaving!
    Date published: 2014-03-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from he likes it, he loves it, he wants some more of it My horse really likes The Smart Breath Pellet. I was sceptical to give him the two so I only gave him the one serving of the Smart Breath, and I hope that is okay. He tends to sneeze alot on it yet he has no allergies to speak of. It was most helpful after such a hot summer.
    Date published: 2014-03-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not just for breathing issues I got this for its usefulness both as an anti-inflammatory and anti-oxidant product. It must be tasty because Miss Mare ate it happily. I believe it helped her.
    Date published: 2014-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Supplement for Allergies/Heaves I could find My new horse was boarded in a barn w/o much ventilation, a lot of dust, and musty hay that he was burying his head into. I got him moved to a good stable where he lives outdoors 24x7, and put him on Ventipulmin, SmartBreathe, and Trihist. I gave him Ventipulmin for ten days (1 dose per day). After the ten day period, I dropped the Trihist, which I don't think was working. After much research, I'm keeping him on SmartBreathe "all year round". I read that climate change is causing animals/people to get asthma, and I do believe the N-Acetyl Cysteine is useful in at least limiting the symptoms. Also, this is the only respiratory feed supplement he would eat in his grain, and I tried several. His cough cleared up in about 14 days. His breathing is almost normal now (no coughing at least), and a month after the Ventipulmin. I also give him a shot of Finish Line's Air Power before I ride. This is a natural product that opens his airways much like cough syrup for people. I do believe this combination is working for my horse. Glad he didn't need the Dex.
    Date published: 2014-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Supplement Purchase Yet Started my mare on this supplement last summer when she devolved heaves and her lymph nodes would swell after grazing in the field. She has not had a single issue since it built up in her system. I would recommend this to anyone that has a horse with allergy and respiratory issues.
    Date published: 2014-03-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Product My horse has really bad allergies, and he was developing a cough each spring. We put him on local bee pollen, but it did not help. A friend recommended trying SmartBreathe. After about a month, I noticed his cough beginning to disappear. I would recommend this product.
    Date published: 2014-03-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good product but didn't help my horse I started giving this to my 30 year old who started developing exercise intolerance (his exercise is hand walking and turn outs) and seemed to have trouble breathing. I was worried about heaves and other customer reviews said it helped their horses with heaves. However I didn't see much difference in my horse after 3 months. My vet says he could be having allergies so this product may not be suitable for treating him with what he has. However, I do love the ease of the smartpak supplement strips and they always arrive on time on my front door. Although I may not be administering this supplement to my 30 year old again, I will continue to use Smartpak due to their amazing customer service and products.
    Date published: 2014-02-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from saved my girl My 18 year old mare developed heaves this spring for no normal reason. She's outside with shelter. Never stuck in a stall. Fedexcellent hay. Spent $700 at vet' no better. Ran into smartpak on the the web. Thought what do I have to lose' money back guarantee. Ordered, ....one week latter she was 75% better. I almost cried' I had thought I was going to have to put her down she was so bad. Now were back to chasing cows and trail riding. Don't know if shell ever be 100% but I'm happy to have most of my girl back! Thanks smartpak!
    Date published: 2014-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smart Breath This product has almost totally eliminated the need for my pony with the heaves to be on a regular schedule of Ventipulman syrup. I know this all natural supplement works and is much more cost effective than the Ventipulman. It gave my whole pony a second chance in the show ring with my daughter!
    Date published: 2014-03-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product My horse hasn't had a flare up since starting these. He was diagnosed with COPD last fall. He loves the taste and they are easy to feed with minimal or even no grain.
    Date published: 2014-03-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for maitenance My quarter horse was diagnosed with COPD last year. He was on meds from the vet but i was looking for something to keep it undercontrol long term. I tried cough free for alittle but he just would not eat it and it was a hassle masking the taste in his food. So i switched him to smartbreathe along with smart bug off becauae he is allergic to bites as well. He doesnt even know its in his feed and also keeps his flare ups at bay during his off season through spring and summer. Sadly its just not enough for fall and winter when he usually has flare ups and i have to put him back on meds.
    Date published: 2014-03-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from she has a respiratory airway disease and this product along with the smart omega really helps.
    Date published: 2014-03-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps our 29-year-young AQHA mare 'going' Pace Maker Rose developed emphysema at age 26...we couldn't believe it - otherwise she was in perfect health. We tried just about everything from Tri-Hist granules to injections, nothing provided relief to the old girl. Decided to give SmartBreathe a try a couple years ago and she has been comfortable ever since. You put a saddle on her and she wants to know "where the party is" and promises to get your there first. She's 95% retired now but it's reassuring to know she's also comfortable. WELL DONE SmartPak!
    Date published: 2014-03-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth Every Penny! Great value, my horse's allergies are under control!
    Date published: 2014-03-03
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Natural Alternative I have a horse with allergies, and wanted to try something more natural than the antihistamines the vet had prescribed. My horse hated the taste of the antihistamines too. The SmartBreathe was very easy to give to him, and he loved to eat it. Unfortunately his cough came back, so I have to go back to the antihistamines until I find another natural alternative to try.
    Date published: 2014-03-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it!! My horse has had a reoccuring cough ever since she had a bout with colic 4 years ago, the cough would start in the winter and disapear around mid spring. This last year her cough didn't disapear, I tried cough free, which seemed to help but was a pain to get her to eat. (Drenched in mollassas worked, but she still didn't love it.) I had been researching online about upper respiritory problems in horses when I found smarkpaks breathright, and after reading reviews like this one I decided to give it a try.It is a miracle supplement! Her cough is nonexistant in the barn, under saddle, as well as outside. Plus she gobbles it up like it's candy! I am very happy I decided to give this a try. I highly reccomend it to all of my friends and any time I hear a horse in a barn coughing I sing smartpaks praises!
    Date published: 2014-03-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good purchase My mare has a lot of respiratory issues including heaves. I had her on special cough medicine twice a day and would also have to use a back up emergency tube of air power or wind air in case she would have what is almost like an asthma attack. That puts her into panic mode and so goes the spiral. She is an older mare so I have to be careful what I use. The ladies here at smartpak have helped me narrow it down to the smart breathe pellets which I get on a monthly basis. I was skeptical at first due to giving both wells at night as opposed to giving her cough medicine twice a day. I gave it a month and then another and another. Finally after seeing good results I decided this was the right product for her. It has helped her keep the respiratory issues at bay and has only had 2 minor asthma like attacks since then. I think it has been 6 months or a bit longer since she has been on the pellets. I would recommend them to anyone who is looking for help for respiratory issues and coughing issues.
    Date published: 2014-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Update: Great response after 30 days! My Shetland pony, Peekaboo, has responded well to the addition of Smartbreathe in her daily ration this past month. Even though we are in extreme heat conditions, which increase her respiratory burden, she has dropped from a respiratory rate of 60-62 in March 2013, to a rate of 40 after antibiotic treatment between March-May, and finally to 28 currently after 30 days on Smartbreathe pellets!! Her weight increased from 415# to 441#.
    Date published: 2014-03-03
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.