Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Ovation Competitor Helmet

Ovation
- Item #18868

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Stylish, lightweight low-profile helmet from Ovation!

The Ovation Competitor Helmet is made with flocked velveteen and has a rounded removable breakaway visor and coolmax lining. Easily adjustable dial ensures a snug fit while high flow vents keep you cool. YKK adjuster clip and buckle are positioned slightly off of the riders face for comfort.

Black.

ASTM/SEI Certified.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Ovation Competitor Helmet is rated 4.7368 out of 5 by 38.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Glad I bought this one This ovation helmet was on sale when I purchased it. It seems to run a bit small but I'm so glad I bought it. It seems super in every other way. The faux velvet finish is classic and looks durable.Bottom strap has a padded add on for comfort and it sports a removable lining. If I were manufacturing this helmet, which I'm not, I'd improve on the plastic visor. It is made of a thin plastic that appears not as well made as the rest. Overall, it is very comfortable to wear and looks great.
    Date published: 2014-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value This helmet is everything and more. If you are looking for a nice looking, low profile helmet that is not going to break the bank, THIS IS IT! It is lightweight and I love the adjustable dial for the winter when I wear an ear band or hat. It even comes with a little helmet bag to keep the "barn dust" off when you are not using it!
    Date published: 2013-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet for the price! I love Ovation helmets, they seem to be the only helmet that fits just right! This helmet is sharp looking in the show ring too!
    Date published: 2013-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like it! I bought this to replace a hard hat that was 17 years old! I am sort of 'old school' & love my worn out velvet hard hat with the grosgrain bow on the back, but it was time to upgrade & get with the times. I really like this helmet---it is lightweight, looks great, not bulky, & is super comfy. I finally got to ride in it this past weekend & it didn't shift or pinch. I like the air vents-will be nice for hot summer riding. The 'velvet' looks pretty good & fancy enough to show in. The visor is a little flimsy, & mine was actually bent from the box, but I was able to bend it back to it's correct shape. I love the dial in the back for getting the fit just right. I had put off buying a new helmet because I just wasn't embracing the 'new' styles, but I found what I like in this one.
    Date published: 2013-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Fit! Very comfortable helmet and the adjustable dial really helps when sharing. Cushy interior, durable exterior with a soft velvety finish but it withstands dirt. I toss my helmets around and this one still looks good.
    Date published: 2012-12-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great helmet! Great helmet, looks and feels great but a little narrow on the sides of the head. Great for people with more of an oval shaped head. The velvet is very appealing but does get dirty easily. Helmet keeps you cool even on hot days!
    Date published: 2012-11-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Recently I started showing again in an adult league and my trainer suggested that I get a show helmet and she suggested several and her fav was Charles Owens brand so I tried Dover's full line and none of them fit right. Low n behold OV makes a velvet version of my schooling helmet that I LOVE (I love the fact that I can adjust the tightness). You have to love SMARTPAK because they got it to me the Friday before my first ever show and I had ordered it Tuesday late night. And the price is wonderful because it didn't break the bank.
    Date published: 2012-11-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet The Ovation Competitor Helmet was a great purchase for a very comfortable helmet. I have always been a fan of ovation helmets because I like the dial-fit system. I am glad they make both schooling and show helmets, because they are comfortable and have a great life cycle.
    Date published: 2012-10-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Low Profile Helmet! Great helmet! Very comfortable low profile and light weight design. Wore it this weekend at a big rated show and received several compliments on it. Everyone wanted to know what brand it was and I loved that you couldn't tell just by looking at it. Looks spendy, but isn't!
    Date published: 2012-09-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! i had been riding in my previous helmet for two years and had just entered in a schooling show when i was informed that my helmet was not ASTM approved. the show was in three days and i was riding in two days. So i went to my local tack shop and tryed on the ovation competeter helmet. it fit perfectly and was comfortably. I loved the velvet look so i could show and was not sufficating it is easy to clean and comes with a helmet bag.The small viser is helpfull becuse it does not affect vision. At the tack show it was 75.99 dollors so I went to Smartpakequine.com and it was only 67.99. I was worried it would not arive in time but it came the nexed day! I also ordered ovation zocks so I could get free shiping. I LOVE THIS HELMET.
    Date published: 2012-08-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from pleasantly surprised Very surprised at the quality of helmet I got for the money! Extremely light-weight, and the most comfortable helmet I've ever worn. Keeps my head remarkably cool. Dont hesitate to buy, you wont be disappointed. Not a bad looking helmet either!
    Date published: 2012-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet, fantastic price! I bought the Ovation Competitor helmet during the International Helmet Awareness Day promotion. This is a fantastic helmet. My head is a bit small and the dial fit system allows me to get the perfect snug fit. The removable coolmax liner is a dream as I have always had issues trying to figure out how to clean the inside of my CO skullcap. The Ovation is well ventilated, which is a must for me in TN summers! I've only schooled in this helmet so far, but the velveteen exterior is sleek enough to show in. The only reason I did not rate the durability is that I have only had the helmet for about a month. I absolutely love this helmet and you can't beat the price for a helmet that looks this nice. Since buying this helmet, my CO skullcap is sitting in the tack trunk!
    Date published: 2012-07-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great value This helmet was the best deal! Excellent price and the quality was way beyond what I expected. I will use this for showing so I expect it to last for a vey long time.
    Date published: 2012-07-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Helmet Great Price This is my first helmet and I love it! I've worn several other helemts and this is the most comfortable and easy to adjust. The dial fit system is great and it looks sharp. The only drawback is the visor. It looks okay but feels cheap and flimsy. I have yet to test the durability. Overall a good helmet for a great price.
    Date published: 2012-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Fit as Always I really like how the Ovation helmets fit me. I ride in the Sync for schooling. I bought this helmet for show and had the opportunity to use it this past weekend. It fit perfectly and looks nice with the lower profile. It does seem like it will be hard to keep clean, but that is true of most velvet helmets. Since it will be used only at shows, I am not too worried about the dust.
    Date published: 2012-06-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great value! bought this helmet as a present for my student. wanted a nice middle of the road helmet for schooling and the possibility of schooling shows in the future. fit her perfectly from the second she put it on her head. great low profile and shape. nice enough for showing, and everyday schooling. comfortable interior. not sure about durability yet, but looks great!! GREAT value for the price! would DEFINITELY recommend!
    Date published: 2012-05-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Schooling Helmet This product is new - it used to be just a plastic helmet but then the company made the feux-velvet version. I loved the low-profile fit and the fact that it wasn't plastic - all for a really affordable price. I think it was great. I had to wait 2 months because it was on back order but that is because at the time it was a new product and I called 3 other companies and none had it in stock. Smartpak was the only one that offered to ship it to me overnight for free - they have the best customer service!!
    Date published: 2012-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Light, well fitting helmet (for a great price)! This helmet was recommended to me by a friend, and I'm glad I tried it. It is light, fits well and I love the dial to adjust it depending on what kind of "hair day" I'm having. It looks very nice, too; people always ask what kind of helmet it is. The only slight drawback is that the velvety material attracts dirt very easily.I can't attest to the durability yet as I've only used it for a few weeks (hence the average rating, I didn't see an option not to rate durability).
    Date published: 2012-05-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice show helmet I bought this helmet for my daughter and it fits very well. The dial adjust system is great. The profile is nice, too. It isn't too bulbous. The quality is what I would expect for a $67 helmet. She only does schooling shows, so it's perfect for her!
    Date published: 2012-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this helmet I love the adjustability of this helmet and the low profile. I have a small head and helmets always look huge on me. I can loosen the fit and stuff my braid or tighten it and keep the braid out. Nice enough to show in too!
    Date published: 2012-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well fit for big rounded brain! I have tried out a few numbers of helmets. This is by far the most fitting, good value and comfy one. If you have a big rounded head, this one is the one! Happy riding.
    Date published: 2012-01-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a Christmas present for my daughter. She loves it. The fit is great! It looks fabulous not like a giant black football helmet.
    Date published: 2012-01-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from No more sweaty hair I bought the helmet because it looks good and I wanted to stop sweating and getting so cold during the winter. Thankfully, it met all of my expectations. The one thing is that I have a large head, wear a 7 3/8 GPA helmet and I can barely wear my ear warmer headband underneath the ovation helmet.
    Date published: 2011-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Attractive, comfortable helmet I bought this for my picky daughter who just keeps on growing. It looks nice, the dial-a-fit allows for a great fit, it's light weight, the chin strap has a soft velcro-on cover & was a nice price. This was a good purchase.
    Date published: 2011-09-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Looks nice, just didn't fit I was really impressed with this helmet when it arrived. It was much nicer looking than I was expecting and I thought it looked really sharp. As such, it was rather disappointing to me when it didn't fit! My husband thought the profile of the helmet was nice, but profile isn't enough. I must have a more long, oval shaped head, because the helmet gaped on the sides. Still, for the right head shape, I would say this is a lovely helmet, especially for the price.
    Date published: 2011-08-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite helmets I purchased this helmet to use for showing FEI dressage. It has the lowest profile I've found in any helmet at a fraction of the price. The size adjust via a dial on the back is also great for getting a custom fit with my hair up in the helmet or down in a bun.I school in an Ovation, so I expect it to hold up as well as my other one has. My only complaint is they only offer black velvet, not navy. It would also be nice to have tan colored harness straps instead of black.
    Date published: 2011-08-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from An Awesome Helmet I bought this helmet with showing in mind. I wore it for the first time this weekend at The Vermont Morgan Heritage Days in Tunbridge, Vt. Not only did it fit perfect but it also looked great !
    Date published: 2011-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice fit Updated style, doesn't look like a mushroom head. Easy to adjust.
    Date published: 2011-04-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great helmet for the price If you want a nice-fitting, low-profile, well-ventilated helmet for show, then I recommend this one. No, it's not as fancy as the $400 helmets, but for less than $70, you can't beat it for looks and comfort. It's low profile and although I haven't had it long, it seems like it will wear well and will be easy to keep clean. I recommend this helmet!
    Date published: 2011-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice helmet! This is an attractive helmet, especailly for the price, lots of ventilation, and lightweight. My only issue with it is that I ordered the large, (biggest size availabe) and it is quite snug. I have a big head, though. I had to remove some of the foam pads and replace them with thinner ones I already had.
    Date published: 2011-04-05
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.