Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Oster Mane & Tail Brush

Oster
- Item #18857
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Say goodbye to broken or pulled hair with the gentle Oster Mane & Tail Brush! This mane and tail brush uses gentle bristles that effectively brush through hair to remove knots with extra care.

Favorite Features

  • Comfort handle and round brush head for grooming ease
  • Doesn't break or pull out hair

You Might Like
    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Oster Mane & Tail Brush is rated 4.675 out of 5 by 80.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great brush!! This is a wonderful product!! I am sooo picky about my horse's tail and do everything I can to keep from ripping it out while brushing. The bristles on this brush are spaced wide apart and specially designed to minimize breakage of the hair. It also has a substantial handle that is comfortable in your hand. You need one of these if you want a beautiful, thick tail!!
    Date published: 2012-08-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mane & Tail Brush This brush does an excellent job of brushing out the mane and tail quickly and without pulling tons of hairs out or breaking them.
    Date published: 2012-08-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from mane and tail brush I love this brush. My horse has a very thick mane and tail and I can get thru it easily without breakage and pulling too hard.
    Date published: 2012-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy and Comfortable This mane and tail brush is well made, sturdy and fits nicely in my hand. It does an excellent job on my horse's long, thick tail and full mane.
    Date published: 2012-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth Every Cent! My horse has a thick tail and a thinner mane. While his tail is lush and eats normal grooming brushes for lunch, usually the thin grooming combs will work fine on his mane. I was looking for something more versatile for both his mane/tail. I've always known Oster to be a great brand, but the price raised my eyebrows. I had heard a few negative things about the brush, such as it's durability--I have never had any such problems. The bristles are very durable and I have not seen a single dent or bend to any of them. I love this brush. It's also very stylish and easy to used. It fits easily in my hand and makes brushing out a huge mane a ten second tidy!
    Date published: 2012-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super This brush is easy on my hand/wrist and it does an excellent job combing out manes and tails quickly and without pulling lots of hairs.
    Date published: 2012-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent tail brush This is a very sturdy, well balanced brush for any mane/tail. Strong bristles and handle make it easy to use. Our trainer has one and when it came time to replace ours, I didn't hesitate. Well worth the price, will last a long time.
    Date published: 2012-07-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Brush I was looking for a second mane and tail brush, and this one is quite nice. Fits well in your hand and is sturdy enough to get through my trail horse's super thick/tangly mane.
    Date published: 2012-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best I've Used ! Tried every brush/rake/device out there....still come back to Oster.
    Date published: 2012-05-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Mane and Tail brush ever... bought some years ago that i still use but they are finally getting pretty beat up so i replace my old with new...
    Date published: 2012-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's improved over the one I bought five years ago My 5 yrs old Oster Mane and Tail brush held up so well and I guess someone at the barn felt they needed it as mine went missing. So I ordered a new one. What a nice surprise to see Oster had redesigned it so that the new one is even more comfortable. Good thing too, as with age, my arthritis has worsened.There isn't another mane brush I would use than Oster as it works so well on the mane and tail. I use it with Mane 'n Tail Spray once a week and do not have breakage of the hairs. My Tennessee Walker has a long mane, tail and forelock that is very healthy, I believe because the products I use do no harm.
    Date published: 2012-03-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Brush I have read rave reviews on this brush and, being the cheapy I am, decided that I finally had to give in and order one. I will say the durability seems impeccable. I am pretty sure I'll be holding on to it for a long time. The bristles are great because they do not pull out any hairs. I have only used it a handful of times and I was being very gentle, so time will tell, but thus far, I think this is a great brush!
    Date published: 2012-03-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sturdy Mane and Tail brush I purchased this for my part friesian and have gotten quite a bit of use out of it already. I'm pretty solidly impressed with the Oster line of products, they're worth the investment for durability compared to just buying a brush from a pharmacy on the cheap.The bristles have held up well, even through my mare's abuse, as she likes to grab them in her teeth and fling the brush while standing in cross ties. My only wish was that it wasn't so easy to get the rubber tips off of the bristles, but I don't know if that's due to quality or the abuse my horse puts it through.It detangles a thick mane and tail well and acts as a really good scratcher when I find that special itchy spot on her skin. Bonus! I like the weight of it. Other people have mentioned that it's big, but I rather prefer it that way. I purchased this brush in person so I knew exactly the size of the item when I bought it, so there were no surprises. Definitely a good grooming box addition.
    Date published: 2012-02-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Doen't last long I liked this mane and tail brush at first but then the bristles started breaking and becoming sharp. It now does more harm than good and can scratch the skin. It now breaks the hair rather than detangle.
    Date published: 2012-01-21
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Dissapointed I agree with the review who said it is too big, very awkward to handle. Went thru the mane okay, tried it on the tail - did not glide - actually broke off a bristle. Not what I expected.
    Date published: 2012-01-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Durability unknown since I've only had this brush for a short while. Very satisfactory so far. I like the fact that the rounded tips are molded with the bristles so they don't pull off leaving a sharp bristle.
    Date published: 2011-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great mane and tail brush I love the Oster brush. It feels good in your hand and works great for the mane and tail. My only complaints would be that it is a little pricey and the little knobs on the bristles tend to break off eventually. I think that it is the best mane and tail brush we have found. I love it.
    Date published: 2011-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST mane brush EVER I have literally tried every brush on the market! I have a haflinger, 2 drafts and 2 friesians and live somewhere very windy - their manes knot up like crazy. Even with detangler every other brush I have tried has broken as soon as I even put it near their manes or tails and pulled out huge chunks of hair - but not this one! Its a truly exceptional brush I can get it through their thick manes and tails with minimal hair loss even WITHOUT detangler, something I never thought would ever be possible! This brush is worth every cent of the purchase price, I would still buy it even if it were twice the price! LOVE it!!!!!
    Date published: 2011-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best mane and tail brush ever I love this brush for my Thoroughbred's really long and thick tail it doesn't rip any of the hairs and it works great on his mane. It is better than most of the mane and tail brushes I use in the past.
    Date published: 2011-11-24
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from too big!! This brush is so HUGE! it rips out horses manes and tails even when not tangled, however my boyfriend ran this brush over with our big truck and it survived!
    Date published: 2011-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best style of mane brush. I like these mane and tail brushes the best. Way better than metal comb/rake types. These do take out a little hair but if you are taking out knots hair is going to come out so its not the brush. But this brush is great and I have a few and similar ones like this. They work really well.
    Date published: 2011-09-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rips out horses hair! The price is good, the fact that you could run it over with a truck and it looks brand new is good, it ripping out my horses mane/tail, not so good, I couldn't believe just how much it really takes out of your horses mane and tail, won't recommend
    Date published: 2011-08-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from works well Great brush--de-tangles easily, and holds up well. This one was a replacement for one just like it that was lost. I'd had that one for eight years, and it was as good as new. Hope to hang on to this one for at least that long.
    Date published: 2011-08-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great brush! I was using a comb for the longest time so ordering a proper tail and mane brush was overdue. I chose this one because of the brand and the reviews. It works wonderful, does not get stuck in tangles or pull the hair out. She seems to like the way it feels when I use it and it is very comfortable to hold.
    Date published: 2011-07-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for thick manes & tails Much better than other brushes and combs when it comes to really thick manes & tails. My haflinger has a long, thick double mane and thick tail, and this brush gets through his hair much more effectively than brushes I've had in the past. Sometimes I wish the bristles were slightly longer, but it's still superior to other options.
    Date published: 2011-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Brush My sister has one, and I've used it on her horse when visiting. It cut right through tangles and clumps of burrs. I was so impressed, I had to get myself one!
    Date published: 2011-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Brush I haven't had mine long, but where I work has had one for a year. They brush their morgans' thick tails with it and hardly lose any hair, even without any detangling product. Even better it hasn't lost any teeth and pulls out very little hair. I got one to use on my Friesian Perch cross who has an incredibly thick tail and it has worked very well so far.
    Date published: 2011-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simply The Best! I love this brush. Makes grooming manes and tails so easy. Couldn't believe how well it worked till I tried it. Just makes going through manes and tails so easy and doesn't rip out hair.
    Date published: 2011-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love 'em This is the 4th one I have bought, I want to make sure I have one everywhere I have a grooming kit.
    Date published: 2011-03-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Must have brush! My AQHA show mare has very thick and long mane and tail. This is the perfect bush!
    Date published: 2011-03-01
    • 2015-03-05T07:33CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_71
    • loc_en_US, sid_8857, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.