Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Stretchies Shoulder Guard

Item #18757

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Four-way stretch shoulder guard protects your horse from bothersome and unsightly blanket rubs. Elastic belly band and center yoke prevent shifting. Fully adjustable. Fast and easy on/off.

Small (70 - 72), Medium (74-76), Large (78 - 80) and XLarge (82 - 84). Imported.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Stretchies Shoulder Guard is rated 3.9074 out of 5 by 54.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great to Avoid Rubs Last year I bought this in a small, the size said 70 - 72, and my horse takes a size 72 blanket. It was a tad small for him last year and this year when I pulled it out it would not stay over his withers, it just kept popping up over his shoulder. He may have filled out a bit over the year, muscle-wise so I can see how it would be a little too small for him this year (he's a stalky 15hh Paint…sometimes he's a cob size sometimes a full it just depends). This year I bought a medium (74-76), and it fits much better and is working nicely to protect his mane from a winter of wearing blankets.The moral of my story: if size is a question, get the bigger one.
    Date published: 2014-01-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Its good, depends the reason you use it... I bought this because my horse had surgery between his arm pits and I was looking for something to keep his bandages secure. This product worked, however I had to modify it due to the 'Yoke' was a little more narrow than pictured...
    Date published: 2013-12-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from So so I bought this several weeks ago for my big-boned TB gelding. It fits alright, but does ride up a bit and shift---which, I was no expecting given the breast plate design. I am not super pleased with this purchase.
    Date published: 2013-11-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have a hard to fit QH appendix which makes blanket and sheet rubs a winter nightmare. This is the only shoulder guard I've found that fits high enough up the neck to guard the "roaming" blankets. Had one for 2 years and it has finally worn out at the withers - it was used daily during fall/winter months so feel like I got my money's worth.
    Date published: 2013-04-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Does the job The shoulder guard does mostly work to protect the point of the shoulder. It can ride up some and if the horse has a low point of shoulder or gets lower rubs this guard might not fully protect the area. It is easy to put on, although the buckle does not stay adjusted well, it always goes slack.
    Date published: 2013-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does What It's Supposed To Do! My TB gelding is a 78, and the large fits him well. I could see it fitting a bit tight around the neck for a larger-boned horse, although the neck elastic is both tight yet surprisingly unrestrictive. He doesn't mind wearing it, it fits, and seems to be helping his rubs from getting worse. It's too soon to tell if they will heal and hair will grow back while he is wearing his blanket and this (plus I switched out blankets). I am giving this product the benefit of the doubt since it has been around for a long time and I've always heard success stories with them. The price was definitely reasonable. Thanks SP. =)
    Date published: 2013-03-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Watch out for static build up! Also, the adjustment does not do much because it slides back out to its longest adjustment overnight, but this does not seem to affect how it fits or stays on, so I started just leaving it that way. Comes up higher on the neck than I expected, leaving it a bit exposed on a regular neck turn-out. Overall happy with the purchase!
    Date published: 2013-02-27
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Worst Fit Ever The Stretchies Shoulder Guard I purchased from Smart Pak had the worst fit ever. The fabric was nothing like a Sleasey and gapped in the back part of the shoulder guard. The front was also loose even though I purchased the correct size for my 78 horse. They must run very large. I went back and bought another Sleasey. They are less money than these, fit better, and my horse loves the feel.
    Date published: 2013-02-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from It works I got this to keep my grey warmblood from getting blanket nicks. I wasn't too sure about it when I got it, the material is thin and band that goes around his middle is pretty flimsy. But it does work and it doesn't get a lot of wear and tear because it comes off in the morning with his blanket. So. Works fine. It seems like it should cost about 19$ but it was double that!The L fit my 16.2 big chested gelding.
    Date published: 2013-02-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Works Fine The shoulder guard seems to have helped with shoulder rubs and is of reasonable quality. The belly attachment does not maintain its size adjustment well so it does not always stay tight, but it does not displace the shoulder guard as far as I can tell.
    Date published: 2013-01-30
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Decent Product I purchased this because my awkwardly sized draft-cross was getting some rubs on his shoulder from his blanket. It fit a bit tight around the neck, but around his elbows it was loose. The strap on the bottom does not stay tight. After about 2 weeks, he's ripped the elastic around the neck hole, but it is still functional. Next time I'll buy a different brand.
    Date published: 2013-01-30
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from neck opening is small After reading the reviews, I bought a large for my 15.3 warmblood. He has a fairly high-set neck, and this guard seems to ride high and tight. I'm afraid to pull it down lower on his neck because I don't want it tighter and rubbing. I had the beginnings of a shoulder rub, and this guard is definitely protecting against that. The elastic belly band does not stay tight. It is always completely loose after 24 hours. I also think that the buckle is fairly clunky, and I hope my horse doesn't lay on it. I would probably try another brand in the future. Not crazy about the fit on my horse.
    Date published: 2013-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Shoulder Guard I've never used a product like this before but I needed it because my horse had a blanket that was rubbing hair off the point of his shoulder. I loved the feel of the material and found it to be very soft & stretchy. I read the previous reviews that said the belly stap sometimes loosens by itself so when I put it on my horse I grabbed a few inches of electrical tape and ran it around the strap to make it a bit more secure to stay in place. I've had no problems with this product & the hair seems to be growing back quickly.
    Date published: 2013-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Investment! Before I purchased this item I was unable to even put a fly sheet on my horse because he would get terrible rubs at the withers. He got one infection that prevented me from riding him for 2 weeks while he healed. If your horse gets rubs on the withers or shoulders, this is a great product. It does run fairly large and the girth takes a bit of adjusting every time to make sure it is correctly tightened. Thank you SmartPak for giving me peace of mind when my horse has his blankets on!
    Date published: 2012-12-27
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too small I was disappointed in the neck opening. I have order other stretchies items and never had a problem however the neck opening (large) was way too small for my 15.2 hand quarter horse.
    Date published: 2012-11-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Shoulder Guard - Good Product but Runs Small I love using these for my horse but this one really does run small. Buzz wears a 78 blanket so I thought large would work...but I bought a large and it just doesn't fit right. It's too tight but I paid a pretty penny for it and can't afford a new one. Will know better next time!
    Date published: 2012-10-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best stretchie ever Love this stretchie for my xl warmblood mare, keeps her from getting ugly blanket rubs and it stays on with belly belt.
    Date published: 2012-04-02
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Way too small The XL was way too small for my quarter horse. He is 15.2, and wears an 82 blanket, and an XL Schneiders shoulder guard fits fine. The quality seemed to be ok otherwise, I can't say anything about the durability becasue I couldn't get it on him. If you have a smaller horse it looked like it would be fine, but I would order a size up.
    Date published: 2012-03-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love this Perfect solution to preventing blanket rubs. Easy to get on and off and works very well. Liked it so much bought another!
    Date published: 2012-03-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Solid Value with Caveat I bought this for my Fjord mare as the winter blankets resulted in significant chest rubbing. She was already clipped and with her rugged pasture endeavors, her chest became bare no matter what type of blanket she wore. Within 2 weeks of wearing this guard her hair was returning and the balding areas are no longer irritated. My only complaint is that the plastic clasp is quite large and when tightened, sits directly behind her elbow. The product runs small and I ordered a medium, even though the small is suggested for a 70" blanket size. The product is easy to take on and off, appears comfortable but the surcingle does loosen throughout the day and should be checked at least daily.
    Date published: 2012-02-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does it's job Bought this Shoulder Guard to keep blankets from rubbing.....only started using it and hair is already coming back on the point of his should!! Very Happy!!
    Date published: 2012-02-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great product I really like that this stretchie fits so snug around my QH's shoulders and chest. The loop between his legs keeps the shoulder guard from creeping up under his blanket!
    Date published: 2012-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! Easy to put on, stays put thanks to the center piece, durable, fits very well, comfortable for my horse, at a reasonable price.
    Date published: 2012-02-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from My horse thanks you After a small rub started at his shoulders this guard was a life safer!
    Date published: 2012-02-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Stretchies shoulder guard My mare developed bad shoulder rubs from constantly wearing a blanket. Since she began wearing the shoulder guard her shoulder hair has started to grow back. The shoulder guard has held up well despite constant use. My only complaint is the fit. I got the extra large and it is slightly tight across the chest and shoulders, but she has very prominent points of shoulder and is a 16.3 hh Trakehner. Other breeds/sizes of horses may not have this problem. Overall I would definitely recommend this product!
    Date published: 2012-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-02-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Runs really small! Glad I read the other reviews...I ordered a large for a 15.1 hand QH, and it just barely fits. An extra large probably would have done just fine. Other than that, the quality seems good, and the product does work.
    Date published: 2012-02-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from It does the job The fit is good, and I like the center yoke that goes between the front legs. This keeps it from rising above the rub spots (which my last one did). But, the adjustable part on the belly band doesn't really work and there are no keepers. The elastic slides through the plastic part in 5 seconds making it too big. Also, my mare is still getting rubs through it, but I guess not as bad as if she didn't have this at all.
    Date published: 2012-01-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-01-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Order next size up This is a great product, but order the next size up. It is snug around the neck like others have said, but it doesn't slip and is a great product!
    Date published: 2011-12-21
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.