Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Rambo® Original Turnout w/Leg Arches

Horseware Ireland
- Item #18714

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The classic Rambo style, with great updated features!

1000 denier ballistic nylon outer shell with nylon lining is durable, waterproof and breathable for your horse's comfort and protection. The wicking nature of the lining pulls moisture away from the horse's body where it is absorbed by Horseware's unique AquaTrans coating. Anti-bacterial lining helps eliminate the conditions that cause bacteria growth, while the PVC coated tail cord and removable surcingle straps make it easier for you to keep the blanket clean.

Lite has 0 g/No Fill, Medium has 200 g fill, Heavy has 370 g fill.  All weights offer the patented "V-front" quick clip closure system with snaps, nylon lined, surefit neck design, a PVC coated tail cord, large tail flap, removable triple belly surcingles, reflective strips, with leg arches and removable liner.

Lite weight is available in Green/Silver, Medium/Lite weight is available in Denim Blue/Lime Green & Mustard, Medium weight is available in Navy/Silver, Heavy weight is available in Green/Silver or Olive/Lime Green & Mustard.


Imported.

For ultimate warmth and protection don't forget the Rambo Original Neck Cover.

Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing ability.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Rambo® Original Turnout w/Leg Arches is rated 4.8462 out of 5 by 39.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo - Consistent Excellence Over the years I have become an ardent fan of Rambo blankets. Especially the Original Turnout with leg arches. The newer fit, especially in the sheet (lite) runs larger than it used to with the change to the current innovative front closure with two Velcro closures and snaps on the bias. Very tough blanket, very waterproof even with somewhat frequent machine washing. My oldest Rambo is greater than 15 years old and is still going strong, although over time the insulation has thinned out (the blanket is a medium weight). I have not been impressed with the blanket liner concept as I have multiple horses that need blankets changed and I see much more shifting of the blanket/liner combo than with the original style. Expensive though it sounds, I have found that single distinct weights work best. They can be layered if need be.
    Date published: 2013-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful blanket This is a great blanket! This is my first Rambo blanket for a TB that I have a hard time fitting. This blanket is perfect for his high withers. I am a Rambo blanket buyer from here on out. Thanks smart pak for carrying great products.
    Date published: 2013-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this turnout! This turnout fit my performance-built Quarter Horse a little big in the shoulder area, but overall I am very pleased with the fit. I like how the blanket stayed put without leg straps.
    Date published: 2013-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo original turnout with leg arches Fantastic turnout. I have 2 and use them on different size, shape horses. They fit well, stay in place and are easy to put on and take off. I have a 200 gram liner for one of the turnouts and have been able to unfasten it from the turnout and pull it off my horse without taking the turnout sheet off. That is handy when I come home and find him getting too warm in the pasture because the weather changed but I don't want to take the turnout off and have him coat himself in mud!
    Date published: 2013-03-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Durable blanket I went through two other medium weight blankets in about 4 weeks.So I decided to invest in a Rambo. My horse is always out and he runs and plays and rolls in his blanket so I needed something that would really hold up.The sizing is weird he typical wears a 74 but those ran too small.But so far so good this is a super quality blanket that I hope to have for years to come.
    Date published: 2013-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely LOVE RAMBO! I have used Rambo products for years, I absolutely love the fit and durability on all things Rambo. This particular turnout blanket, I own in both the medium and heavy weight and I can highly recommend it!!
    Date published: 2013-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit, durability with great closures. The new type rear strap seems to work better than previous blankets. Coupled with the matching neck cover, this combination is the best I've ever purchased
    Date published: 2013-02-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from An excellent investment The Rambo original turnout is a rugged, generously proportioned high quality coat that will last for years to come, outlasting cheaper coats making the higher initial investment of $$$ worthwhile. I own another one of these Rambos which is 10 years old and remains waterproof with no tears whatsoever. I own 5 of the purple Rambo wug turnouts as well which are also excellent but have higher neck coverage to keep rain/snow out. I bought a new green original Rambo this winter for my hard to fit Freisian cross who is very big in the neck and shoulders. The size 84 fits him well through the body though it is a little too long in the back. Rambos run large for a given size dimension when compared to other brands on the market. I think they are especially well suited for warmbloods and draft crosses; however, my Appy and my thoroughbreds enjoy the comfortable fit with NO RUBS. These coats stay in place when the horses run, play, roll or lie down even though I have removed the strap under the tail of each as it collected manure. I highly rec'd these coats for all climates. In the Northwoods of MN the heavy-weight is perfect for the winter. The waterproof sheets without fill are perfect for Spring/Autumn conditions. I wish I could afford to buy some more Rambo sheets for turnout!
    Date published: 2013-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Back to My Trusty Rambo Ordered the new Smartpak Turnout with the 10 yr. guarantee, but after less than 5 wears I had to return it. Should have known to stick with a Rambo. Yes, they are expensive, but they are the best I have ever found. You get what you pay for, and with how hard horses are on their clothes, if you can swing it, you won't want to buy anything else. Highly Recommend!
    Date published: 2014-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Effective RAMBO Turnout Blanket! I have a Morgan horse - she wears a 78 but had to order a 75 to fit her well. I love the construction of this product - heavy hardware, quality craftsmanship. The front closure is totally awesome - two velcro strips and metal hooks ensure complete closure. The three straps under the belly rock and keep this on my horse well. I feel confident that this particular blanket will be what I purchase whenever the need arises. Rambo = Quality.
    Date published: 2012-12-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from High quality, specific fit After reading the reviews for this blanket i decided i'd take the gamble and order one for my quarter horse. I ordered a size down as recommended. She is built bulky in the hind end and shoulders but is long tall and refined so i thought that it should fit alright. I was excited to open the bag as the blanket is gorgeous, heavy duty, sleek and you can tell is tough as nails. Sadly it couldn't have fit much worse. It was tight in the butt yet hung way too long, and was baggy in the shoulder area. I can see where the reviews saying "built for a thoroughbred" come into play. Thankfully smartpak has free returns so its not that big of a deal. I still rated this blanket high as it is the nicest blanket ive ever handled. Too bad i don't have the horse to fit it!
    Date published: 2012-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket Rambo is always a great purchase because of quality and durability. My horse is difficult to fit, but this blanket fits perfectly and I know it will last a long time.
    Date published: 2012-03-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fit problems I purchased this turnout because my horse is really hard on his blankets... So the Rambos are definitely very resistant. But the fit is terrible I think. They are made for giant tall legged horses... "dressing" an arabian with one of those is apparently impossible. I still don't know if I'll keep this blanket or if I'll return it... it's very frustrating because I can tell the quality is amazing. If only they could do a cut for smaller horses, and more room in the shoulder area... (and I got the correct size after trying bigger and smaller...) so that's it.
    Date published: 2012-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from They Fit. They Last I've stopped trying other blankets and sheets because nothing fits as well, breathes as well, looks as good, or is as durable as a Rambo. Only complaint might be that I don't understand the butt strap they use instead of leg straps. No matter how I adjust it, there is manure all over it and often on my horse's legs and backside. I just remove the butt strap. The blanket stays in place fine on my horses without it.This medium weight is quite warm for our Pacific Northwest climate.
    Date published: 2012-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good fit / Good quality Have had other (the original) rambo blankets in the past that have fit better, stayed in place better, and held up better than any of many other brands I have tried. Also had a Rambo supreme, but one of the front clips has broken and there is no repair/replacement part available, so I like the original closure better! This latest one was ordered for a blanket destroying Selle Francais who is always into something. He is a tall and broad guy and the blanket fit true to his measured size of 84. He and I are both happy with it so far, fits him well and stays in place.
    Date published: 2012-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo makes great blankets I have two Rambo blankets, liners, a sheet, and hoods....they're great and while expensive they LAST. Very importantly they FIT my 16.2 heavyset thoroughbred with tall withers - no rubbing. No slipping, no tearing. Still waterproof after two seasons and I'm very happy with them. I personally wasn't crazy about the tail cord instead of leg straps when I first bought them but now have no reason to complain - with or without liners they are always exactly where I left them the night before. Great products.
    Date published: 2012-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Blanket fits my Dutch warmblood mare wonderfully, never comes off her during her night turnout and the reflectors on the side are terrific! Would purchase again.
    Date published: 2011-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket! Rambo does it again! This turnout is awesome! I ordered the size 78 for my 16h appendix paint gelding and it fits him perfectly~he is a very active boy and the blanket does not shift at all...I am very pleased! Thank you Rambo and Smart Pak!
    Date published: 2011-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Purchase I just bought a new rambo turnout sheet with leg arches and love how it fits my appaloosa/mustang cross. I was not sure if it would work since in the past these blankets seem to fit more the Thoroughbred type horses with long deep shoulders. I am glad I finally decieded to spend the money for a sheet I know will last quiete a few years without ripping and will stay waterproof. Our pony has one since last year and the horse he is turned out with has not been able to tear a hole in it all last winter.I also love the new features with the douple velcro at the chest, it gives it some adjustability. Only drawback are the new snaps on the tailcord, I don't like those kind of plastic buckles.
    Date published: 2011-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo Turnout with leg arches This was just to replace a old rambo blanket, but this one has the leg arches which the other one did not. The old one got turned on our horse and we had to cut the straps, but with the leg arches it stays on better. I highly recommend any Rambo Blanket for your horse, I wish everyone had one for their animals.
    Date published: 2011-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A classic Excellent product from horseware......their quality is always excellent. Their products stand up to all sorts of adversity. Looking at "cost per wear", this product is worth every penny.
    Date published: 2011-02-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from New Plastic Hardware is the Worst!!! I have always been a huge Rambo fan and I have many Rambo blankets. This year I needed a new heavyweight blanket because of the colder than normal weather. The newly designed Rambo original fits better than ever with its new front closures however they have used plastic fasteners for the "removable surcingles" and for the new tail strap. The first few days, the plastic fastners broke and I had surcingles dangling. A few days later the tail strap plastic ends broke. Rambo sends you 3 spare plastic attachments and I have only 1 left. Obviously they know this could be a problem. When a 1200 lb animal rolls with their blanket onto this cheap plastic, of course it is going to break! I have informed the SmartPak people about this and they are trying to help me. We'll see. I don't want to return the blanket, I just needs tons of spare plastic parts inlcuding a new tail strap from Horsewear. If this new Rambo was a car it would be recalled. I'm sure they will come out with metal hardwear to replace this plastic eventually. This is the first time Rambo has ever disappointed me.
    Date published: 2014-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Is the best. Excellent blanket, lives up to its reputation. Well made with attention to detail. Would buy another despite the high price because it fits/adjusts and is so well made. As well as the guarantee for three years.
    Date published: 2010-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo is the best We have two horses and many Rambo blankets. We have been buying NOTHING but Rambo for about 20 years. We live in the mountains and the temperature is always different so the light, medium and heavy weights are used. Rambo fits well, manufactured extremely great and the horses are comfortable in them.
    Date published: 2010-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it, love it, love it. I bought my first Rambo blankets 0ver 10 years ago. I like most of the new improvements, I don't like the hooks on the neck, I plan on removing them.
    Date published: 2010-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from RAMBO blankets are fantastic! My TB hunter is very difficult to size (just under 16 hands, but measures 80 inches from middle of chest to tail); the RAMBO Original Turnout w/Leg Arches - size 78 - fits him perfectly. I love how the V-front allows him to graze freely and comfortably. The removable liner system easily attaches to the new RAMBO line and is a lifesaver, especially when dealing with unpredictable MI weather. After reading the other review, I would agree that the belly surcingles are a bit long, but the blanket has stayed in place. The PVC coated tail cord is also much easier to keep clean than the older version. While pricey, these blankets are extremely well constructed/designed and have outlasted all other non-RAMBO blankets purchased over the last five years.
    Date published: 2010-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Brilliant blanket! I just bought this blanket in a size up for my growing gelding and it is one of the best blankets I've had so far. Its very well made, easy to get on & clip, and I love the leg arches. The bigger size fits him quite well- its easy to adjust to fit him at his in between size. I love the 3-straps across the belly, it keeps the blanket more secure & holds the blanket close to the horses body. He is right at 16.1 hands, and wore a 78" Rhino, so the 80" Rambo fits well but roomy. (which is what I wanted)These Rambo's last forever, so they are absolutely worth the price.
    Date published: 2010-11-15
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.