Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Rambo® Wug Turnout w/ Leg Arches

Horseware Ireland
- Item #18713
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Rambo Wug Turnout with Leg Arches is the Wug you love but with great new features! This blanket offers high-neck protection from rain and snow providing a snug fit and eliminating wither pressure. Ballistic Nylon outer shell and nylon lining offer waterproof and breathable protection so your horse can stay warm and comfortable in any weather.

Favorite Features

  • Made from 1000 denier Ballistic Nylon, the strongest and most durable turnout material on the market
  • The wicking nature of the lining pulls moisture away from the horse's body where it is absorbed by Horseware's unique AquaTrans coating
  • Thermobonded fiberfill insulation for longer lasting heat retention
  • Anti-static and Anti-bacterial lining helps eliminate the conditions that cause bacteria growth
  • PVC coated tail cord and removable triple surcingle straps make it easier for you to keep the blanket clean
  • Patented "V-front" quick clip closure system with snaps
  • Large tail flap for full coverage
  • Removable triple belly surcingles
  • Reflective strips for visibility
  • High neck cut with leg arches

We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing ability.

Sizing It Up


Lite has no fill
Medium has 200g fill
Heavy has 370g fill


Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    93% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Rambo® Wug Turnout w/ Leg Arches is rated 4.6056 out of 5 by 71.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from i like the blanket but not for the price. the blanket has sides that i think are too long for my 16 hands ottb & the long neck crumps up not giving him the coverage i was hoping for especially while out in the paddock grazing.
    Date published: 2014-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! These blankets are a must, they fit my horse perfectly, the V front closer is perfect for my rather narrow chested guy, the tail cord is great just hose it off, or wipe with a damp cloth when it gets dirty. And the third curcingle is great to keep him snug as a bug in a rug.
    Date published: 2014-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo Wug Everyone I had talked to before has recommended that I get a Rambo blanket, and I'm so glad I did. My OTTB was turned out with others who play rough in the pasture and they tore his old blanket to shreds. This new blanket fits him well (he is a size 78") and I have faith that it will actually last through the winter.
    Date published: 2014-09-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from super super blanket for horse with difficult withers. Perfect ! I have had the winter-version of this blanket for the same horse, first time in 5 years without rubs.
    Date published: 2014-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I've just graduated from regular neck to wug neck and it's heaven! No more wet shoulders inside the blanket.My Hanoverian I've tried in a wug neck that I still have from 2 horses ago and it didn't work, but exactly for the reasons it didn't fit him were why I knew I could buy one for my husband-horse mare. She's a long & low QH 24/7... My Hanoverian is very upright in the pasture, so the neck seemed a bit restrictive when he was in his upright-alert moments, still kept his shoulders pretty dry though.I haven't had problems with the extra material up the neck making them too warm on those "warmer" rainy nights and mornings that dry off and warm up before you get there for PM feeding/chores, that was a concern, and has yet to be a problem. Definitely love the blanket for the level headed horse!Expensive, but worth it! My mom replaces her cheaper blankets almost annually, either they fall apart or don't stay waterproof and we both care for blankets correctly and turn out in small groups/herds. I say it's the cheaper blankets she buys.FYI- the blanket I bought initially has been used 3 winters on a previous horse and now was used for this mare and is still completely waterproof and has no tears. My horses live out and turn out beside and with others, my 3 are together and she is the bottom of the pecking order, the old blanket has withstood herd behavior and fill is still where it belongs. That's why I bought her a Rambo rain sheet in the same style.Picture isn't beautiful, wasn't meant to advertise the blanket, but the blanket fits her great and I love the purple on a chestnut!
    Date published: 2014-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits Great and Stays in Place! My horse is a big warmblood with huge shoulders - he perpetually rips the shoulders in his blankets. He also tries to take his own blankets off when he gets too hot - ripping them. And, he rolls and sleeps lying down so they get crooked if they don't have hind leg straps. I hesitated on this blanket because it doesn't have shoulder gussets or hind leg straps, but I really wanted a blanket with the high neck (otherwise the rain runs down his neck and his chest gets soaked under his blanket) and the v-front closure (he was getting rubs from eating with his other blanket). This blanket was well worth the cost! He wore it all winter and it stayed put, even though it doesn't have hind leg straps, and no rips or any other damage! Water stays out and the rubs on his chest are gone. Very, very pleased this blanket.
    Date published: 2014-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent investment! The Rambo Wug is well made, waterproof and attractive. I own a number of the heavy weight Rambo turnout coats and find that they last for YEARS! This time I purchased a lite coat for spring rains. (Every time I try to save money by purchasing a less pricey brand I find that the cheaper products rip, wear out quickly or lose their waterproof quality.) You get what you pay for. Rambos are a worthwhile investment. These coats fit big athletic horses without causing rubs. The front closure system has been improved yet again. I removed the tail strap under the tail, yet the coats stay in place on all three horses without shifting.
    Date published: 2014-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stellar Quality My horse lives outside in the pasture in Montana 24/7 year-round. I own Rambo Wugs in all three weights. They fit great and are super durable. Love the increased neck coverage without having to get a separate neck cover. Really my only wish is that the back panel over his tail could be removed separately for washing--it gets dirty with manure quickly while the rest of the blanket stays clean for weeks.
    Date published: 2014-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm, tough blanket. I bought this blanket several weeks ago and have been impressed with how well it has stood up to constant wear. We had subzero temps for the past week and I was able to layer a midweight Rambo under this blanket with no trouble due to the generous fit. The plastic tail cord is a major improvement.
    Date published: 2014-02-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality sheet Bought this sheet for my daughters warmblood mare. She actually measures an 80 but I ordered the 81 even knowing they tended to run a tad big. We wanted to be sure we could layer the sheet over the Rambo blanket and hood (78") with enough room and it does that perfectly.
    Date published: 2014-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth every penny!! We purchased these blankets for our two OTTB boys, who can be rough and tumble during turn out, to say the least! After extensive research and some indecision, we opted for these and I'm so happy we did! So far, they have provided fantastic warmth and not a drop of moisture gets thru! These blankets are very easy to put on and take off with the chest clips and velcro (no buckles !) and I love the three belly surf ingles instead of the standard two. Best of all, these blankets STAY IN PLACE!!! With the high neck design, leg cut-outs, and well made chest closures, these blankets really do stay put, even through rough housing, rolling, and laying down. I've read some of the other reviews that state the blanket bunches at the withers/back which is does somewhat, but it has to in order to accommodate the horses head being down without shifting the entire blanket back. If you're contemplating like I was, don't! So far these blankets have stood up to Rambo's great name!
    Date published: 2014-02-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from stays in place I bought this because every other blanket on my horse ends up twisted and shifted that requires lifting and re-adjusting. This one stays put.
    Date published: 2014-02-03
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bad shoulder fit Thought I should bite the bullet and buy what I thought would be the best blanket even if expensiveHate the fit over the shoulder and tried it on several horses
    Date published: 2014-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Longevity and waterproof I purchased this blanket 10 years ago for my paint horse. We show on the APHA circuit thus we train all winter. We get a lot of rain and quite a bit of snow. Despite being out in the weather, rolling in the mudd in the pasture and rolling in his dirty stall the blanket looks great with just a quick brushing. It has remained waterproof!Despite all my friends recommending other brands that fit a "quarter horse build" this is the best blanket for us.
    Date published: 2014-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable, flattering, cozy I bought this blanket at the request of my trainer, and I thought it was way too expensive at first.  After my horse rolling around in it all of last winter, and bringing it out again this year for another season (still looking gorgeous), I can say it was worth every penny.  It fits my Thoroughbred mare well, it's a little roomy for her but that's actually kind of nice for her mobility.  It kept her warm all winter even with a full body clip.  It held up nicely against dirt and manure stains (no easy task given that her nickname around the barn is "Pig Pen").  Great blanket.
    Date published: 2014-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit for young narrow growing horse. I liked the fit, design, materials and hardware so much bought a medium and a heavy in this model. Excellent for horses who are sensitive in the wither area and may be narrower in front. The three belly straps keep rug snug and in place . . . so no rubbing. Plenty of range of motion room for turnout. Excellent for 16’2” Oldenburg & Arabian cross. Materials are very breathable and comfortable for horse. Keeps coat nice and shiny. No static (it is very dry and cold here). Rambo runs a bit larger so go down in size. Example: your size 78” go down to 75.” Super blanket! Thank you.
    Date published: 2013-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definitely worth the $ Needed a sheet that didn't rub hair off of my horses' shoulders. My other blankets/sheets are Amigo's so I decided to stick with Horseware. This one did the trick. Plenty of shoulder room--which may be because the neck comes up higher. Quality from chest to tail. Ease of use and quality of material make this turnout worth the dollar amount. The reflector tape is helpful, too.
    Date published: 2013-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horseware Rambo Wugs are fantastic I will never buy any other brand of horse blanket.  I like a product to do what it says it will do - be waterproof, fit well and last.  That makes me feel like I got my monies worth.  The price of the Rambo Wugs are very expensive for me. I have to save up to get one - but here's what sold me; 18 years ago when I decided I needed to get a waterproof blanket for my horse, I started doing research, and I looked at all of the products available to me in Arizona. I learned a lot about what it takes to make a waterproof blanket, a really waterproof blanket - and everything lead me to Rambo being one of the best made out there.  I saved up, I bought one, and I still have it and use it, and it is still waterproof - 18 years later.  Ever since then, as I've added horses to my herd, I've saved up and bought each one a Rambo blanket.  My first blanket was the Original Rambo.  I also like the thought that Horsewear Ireland has put into their product development, getting better each year.  I love all their designs, but the Wug is what I get, it does what I want, gives me options and it LASTS.
    Date published: 2013-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hard to beat a Rambo These are always excellent blankets. They are expensive but last over years so in the long run are good value. Well made and fits horse well.
    Date published: 2013-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome fit! I bought the Rambo Wug for two of my OTTBs about a month ago. One is really tough on her blankets and I had heard wonderful things about the Rambo line. I did a lot of research before making my final decision, but I am definitely glad I chose this one. This blankets fits both of my horses perfectly. Keeps them warm, dry and looks great. I would recommended this product to anyone. Also, I've gotten tons of compliments so that helps too :)
    Date published: 2013-11-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality! Very happy with this purchase! Ordered a 78 and had to return it for a 75 as it runs a little large. Well worth the wait! Thanks for offering such a great product! Quality looks fantastic. I guess we'll see how it holds up to my 3 year old!
    Date published: 2013-10-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good blanket Bought this blanket for my OTTB in November and he has been wearing it constantly ever since. It has held up remarkably well, particularly since he spent part of winter in a really pasture and got picked on a LOT - he's got bite marks and hoof marks on his skin, but no rips in the blanket - pretty impressive (although I'd rather it was the other way around). He's been moved to a kinder, more blanket-tag oriented pasture and so far, the blanket has held up really well. I've never come out and found the blanket on the ground, or even on crooked, so I think the design of the blanket is very nice. My only two complaints are:1. Runs huge. Comically large.2. The tail snap is nice - easy to clean, but breaks down easily. I'm tired of replacing mine already and the blanket isn't even a year old. The bungee cord is not what snaps - its where the plastic attaches to the bungee. Poor design in an otherwise awesome blanket.
    Date published: 2013-03-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great blanket This is a great product with great features. Fits large horses well!!
    Date published: 2013-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blanket The usual quality and durability of this product line. Is holding up really well.
    Date published: 2013-02-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Stylish, but could be more durable... I had already owned several Rambo blankets when I purchased the Rambo Wug heavy turnout in purple. I actually bought it for one of our younger (& growing!) horses, and planned to pass it on to our older horse for the next winter season when it was outgrown. I have to say that I had always liked the ring & double snap closure in the front, the 3 belly (& no hind) straps, and the front leg arches. I've never had a problem with Rambo blankets ripping, but with this particular turnout, I had problems with the front trim ripping. I also purchased this same turnout, in a medium weight for my other youngster, and had the exact same problem on two different Rambos - trim that rips. The blanket shell was fine, just the trim ripped. I also noticed some slight rusting on the hardware after only one season's use. I honestly wasn't crazy about the fit either - on my very long-bodied 17.3 hand Dutch WB/TB cross, the Rambo Wug was tight on his shoulders (he is a size 84), and he had rubs on both shoulders. I actually got rid of both Rambo Wugs after one season and replaced them with Weatherbeeta Freestyle turnouts - loved the numerous features on the Weatherbeetas, and the more generous fit just worked better on my WB crosses.
    Date published: 2013-01-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rambo Rocks This blanket while on the pricer side, is the best. You will have it longer and it will fit and look better than any other blanket there is making it well worth every penny!!
    Date published: 2013-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Blanket!! I love love love this blanket!! It is WELL WORTH the price. The design is perfect for active horses while they are in the field. The higher neckline provides extra warmth as well. Everyone in the barn loves this blanket....I bought the medium weight, and loved it so much i bought him the sheet weight as well for when the weather is a bit warmer.
    Date published: 2013-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket My horse cannot have legs traps...he's gotten them stuck on his hind legs and kicked a wall in during the night. This blanket looks great and has no legs straps. I have bought it for my little quarter horse and just recently for my big Warmblood who is 17.3 and the 87 fits him perfectly...he cannot have anything too loose or he squirms around and gets them off. I especially love the way part of the neck is covered...this keeps blanket perfectly in place and keeps him bundled up more. His old blanket would slide back behind his withers and be tight across his shoulders and chest; this one doesn't wiggle or rub his chest. Really a wonderful style in every respect.
    Date published: 2012-12-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice looking blanket Purchased this blanket only a week ago, and my horse has only worn it a handful of times. I cannot comment on durability as a result. However, the color (purple) is a beautiful purple and the blanket is very striking when on. I didn't think the fit ran large at all, contrary to what the reviews say. My 16.2" narrow-chested, high-withered thoroughbred usually wears an 81, and an 81 fits him well.My only complaint on this blanket is the design of the neck piece. I understand the theory, but I think the lengthened neck causes some discomfort. My horse is blanketed all the time this time of year (Wisconsin) with no trouble, but after only 2 days in this blanket, he started acting like his neck was sore. I'm not sure if its from carrying the added weight, or if it's just something he'll need to adjust to. The fit is darn near perfect, so it may just be that he's being fussy. Time will tell.Overall, the blanket was true to size, looks gorgeous and seems to be very high quality. Plus, you can't beat the Rambo guarantee.
    Date published: 2012-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket I have a 23 year old 17'3 Hanoverian with fairly high withers and this blanket fits her very well. I got her the 84 (heavyweight# and it fits great. She has a fairly large barrel and narrow chest and shoulders #she's retired so she doesn't have a ton of muscle tone).I like that the tail cord has a plastic coating so itwill be easy to clean and the surcingles adjust easily. The velcro closures at the front under the snaps are great too, double closure just like nice velcro bell boots. I can't comment on durability until she's had it for a year or so but it is nice and sturdy feeling.
    Date published: 2012-11-12
    • 2015-02-25T06:41CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_5, tr_66
    • loc_en_US, sid_8713, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.