Product Image

Redmond Rock Salt

Redmond Minerals Inc.
- Item #18662
Form: Granular
Maintenance Dose: 1 SmartPak Well

Redmond Rock Salt is 100% natural mineral salt with over 50 trace minerals and a taste your horse is sure to love!

Feed as a tasty addition to your horse's SmartPak, or order the 7 lbs rock for free-choice access in the stall or pasture. Pure and natural, Redmond Salt is not kiln dried or processed with chemicals.

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Redmond Rock Salt is rated 4.7949 out of 5 by 39.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Way Better than Himalayan Salt I switched from the Himalayan salt to this Redmond salt because I saw in Smartpak's vitamin/supplement charts that the Redmond salt has way more vitamins and minerals in it than the Himalayan salt does! It is slightly more expensive but totally worth it since it provides so much more for my horse. It only comes in a huge block though, while the Himalayan comes in a smaller size with a rope for hanging. This is the only reason I gave it only 4 stars for quality. I bought a small bucket and Smartpak's bucket straps to hang in my horse's stall and put the salt inside that. So far he is licking away!
    Date published: 2013-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great salt block! I like this better than the square salt blocks. I can tie this anywhere and not worry about them breaking or catching on the cheesy block holders. Unlike the blocks that I find my horses eating out of boredom, this salt block relieves boredom without them overindulging. The price is great!
    Date published: 2013-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love, Love, Love! I put this in my horse feed pan with his grain to weigh it down so he doesn't dump it over, and to make sure he's getting his electrolytes and trace minerals.
    Date published: 2013-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Salt Supplement It seems every few months my horse decides he doesn't like his electrolyte or salt supplement. I decided to try him on this because he just loves his salt licks. I figured maybe he liked the salty taste better. He so far seems to be eating all of it and not leaving any in his bucket. I would definitely try this for a horse who continues to leave his electrolytes in the bottom of the bucket.
    Date published: 2013-01-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty good but going to try Himalayan The texture quality and value seem great but I am trying a different brand because it seems every couple of days my horse leaves half of it in his bucket. Not sure if it is the brand so trying Himalayan because he liked those salt licks very much
    Date published: 2013-01-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best salt I have tried to get my horses to lick the salt on a rope and salt blocks, both white and mineralized to no avail. They just weren't interested. We live in Arizona, and the seasons are both hot and quite cold here in the mountains. Salt is vital to the horses, as it is to us. So after getting the Redmond Salt in my SmartPaks, the horses have learned to love it. Now, they are even licking down the 50 lb white salt blocks that have laying in the pastures for over a year. This Redmond salt is really good for them, and we use the "people" version for ourselfs. Redmond also makes a clay for internal and external uses, including injuries and mineral infusion, for people and animals. Check it out on the internet! Thanks SmartPak for having such good products for our equine kids.
    Date published: 2013-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic I purchased this for my horse and he loved it immediately. A few weeks later I purchased another for the pasture at the barn where he is boarded. The second rock arrived broken, but I was blown away with SmartPak's customer care, couldn't ask for better customer service! Anyway, When the rock was put in the pasture, the other horses LOVED it as well. I will continue to purchase this product as the go to salt source for our horses.
    Date published: 2012-10-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful! My horse loves it, he is now getting enough salt and other imbalances are being addressed!
    Date published: 2012-08-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Skippy loves his Redmond salt block! As soon as I put it in the ground feeder he started to lick on it. Spent several minutes at it. Has consumed about half of it in a months time.
    Date published: 2012-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from They like it! Use this as an adjunct to the table salt I mix in their beet pulp. We've been up to 116 this summer and I hear my horses rolling these around in their feed bins. It helps to cover all bases!
    Date published: 2012-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Daily Salt Recommended Horse nutritionalists recommend to force feed daily salt (1 tablespoon), to ensure water consumption to prevent GI distress including colick. This is the only salt SmartPak offers and SmartPaks are the best way to ensure my horses get their supplements. They eat this no problem and enjoy their free salt source - a Himalayan salt lick from SmartPak.
    Date published: 2012-06-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must be tasty... At first, I thought my horse wanted nothing to do with ANY salt block. I had the plain salt and trace mineral blocks, and he never cared for either. I tried this rock and now I "catch" him standing with his head in his bucket. Also, my horse has a history of choking on his feed, so I feel better knowing there is a rock in his feed to deter fast eating. It also holds up better than other blocks. Will be ordering again.
    Date published: 2012-08-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I bought these salt blocks because the "normal" salt blocks are just disintegrating in all the rain here. These blocks are holding up much better and the horses seem to like them.
    Date published: 2011-05-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from All the horses love this. They stand by the rock licking for minutes at a time.
    Date published: 2011-05-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Natural Salt and Mineral Source I bought two rocks for my four horses. My husband broke them with a sledgehammer; they came apart in flat, 1 1/2 inch thick "sheets". The pieces are perfect to put in the small, 2 quart salt containers in each shelter. The horses love the taste.
    Date published: 2011-04-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better than plain salt My horses have licked on this block more than the plain blocks. And its holding up better in the elements.
    Date published: 2011-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! I love it! My horses and I love the redmond rocks! A little reluctance at first to try it but now they can not stop!
    Date published: 2011-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Product! Highly Recommended! Our horses love their Redmond Rocks! We highly recommend them to all of our friends and clients.All of our horses had free choice mineral and salt blocks when we introduced Redmond Rock salt and they never went back to the blocks!Trouper the Mustang is a HUGE fan of Redmond Equine products!!!
    Date published: 2011-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Horses Love It! Had used this product years ago, but have had trouble finding it. Thanks SmartPak!When I first put this out they all went after it, they were never that excited about regular salt blocks!
    Date published: 2011-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great supplement Our horses LOVE this produce. Once they start on it they just keep going back for more.
    Date published: 2011-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from REDMOND ROCK I RECEIVED SAMPLES OF THIS PRODUCT AT THE 2010 EQUINE AFFAIRE AND MY HORSES JUST LOVED IT!! I ORDERED THE 7 LB. ROCKS AND THE RESPONSE HAS BEEN THE SAME. THEY REALLY SEEM TO ENJOY IT MORE THAN REGULAR SALT BLOCKS, EVEN MY PICKY MARE. A GREAT PRODUCT
    Date published: 2010-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful!! My gelding has been getting the Himalayan salt licks for the past couple of years, but I thought I'd give this one a try since it was a bit less expensive. I love it, as does he.
    Date published: 2010-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from my horses love these! Since local Tractor Supply no longer carries these, I was very happy to find them available on line here. Regular shipping super fast and at a decent shipping fee. I put one in each horse stall, the next morning I could see they were already licking.
    Date published: 2010-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from fountain of youth! Put one of these in the 28-1/2 year old Arab geldings stall about a month ago. No other changes to his diet. This past week or so, I've noticed him a few times actually galloping, with tail flagging in Arab fashion... I haven't seen him all out gallop in years! I have to think the Redmond Rock has something to do with it! Just ordered more rocks for the other horses.
    Date published: 2012-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse loves it Like the shape and size of this salt. Better for my horse than the ones that hang from a string.
    Date published: 2010-08-02
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.