Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

The Tailored Sportsman Trophy Hunter Mid-Rise - Front Zip

Tailored Sportsman, LLC
- Item #18605

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Tailored Sportsman Trophy Hunter is a trendy new addition to the Tailored Sportsman line.

Comfortable, mid-rise, 2" wide waist band and Euro styled seat gives this breech an updated look. Two brass horse designed snaps and zip front closure complete the detailed styling.

The Trophy Hunter is designed with Tailored Sportsman’s signature relaxed fit. In lightweight, woven 73% cotton/20% polyamide/7% Lycra®, with four-way stretch for comfort. Classic European leg seams, Clarino™ knee patches, front pockets, belt loops, VELCRO® brand ankle closures.

Same as the wildly popular Trophy Hunter - Front Zip but with a more modest rise at 1" higher. 

Made in the USA.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    The Tailored Sportsman Trophy Hunter Mid-Rise - Front Zip is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 30.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I almost never write reviews I actually never liked the old Tailored Sportsmans AT ALL (Royal Hunter or Supreme Hunter) and only moderately liked the TS Cotton Schooler (the calves were too big, the longs weren't long (they hit me about mid-calf! It was ridiculous), the fabric was too thin (and revealing) and wore poorly, they still had that long strip of velcro that stuck to everything). So I basically gave up on the brand for the last 3 or 4 years.But these are the best pair of breeches I have ever owned. The fit is perfect (I'm tall so low rise is too low, and I don't like the look of regular rise), they're actually truly long, the calves are fitted, the velcro is a small patch. The fabric is stretchy but not too stretchy (as I've found with too many breeches these days - blecchhh - many have this slippery, thin, running tight quality - NOT flattering - or grippy in the saddle) - it still has a nice substance/weight to it that hides my lumps and bumps and doesn't bind anywhere. I love the front zip, euro seat style, and it's hard to find that in a mid-rise.I've tried almost every other similar breech on the market (in style and price point)- and these are head and shoulders above the others.I would say these fit true to size to maybe on the larger side compared to other brands - I tried about 5 other brands all in the exact same size and style and these had the most generous fit - or maybe they're just cut incredibly well. (No waist gapping, no straining across my thighs or butt - and I'm not the super skinny type - sort of average for my height). I would say if you are in between sizes you might want to size down in these. Otherwise, go with your regular size.I've only worn them once so far, so I can't speak to the durability, but it really seems like it will be a non-issue
    Date published: 2014-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GReat value for a great product Bought these on a whim. I needed some new show breeches and didn't want to pay for new pikeur Ciara's. I ordered up due to the fact that they were a higher rise pant. The fabric is nice and breathes well. Fits just as we'll as my pikeurs just run on the small side. Really love the mid rise. Will definitely order these again!!
    Date published: 2014-06-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Only one problem I love my Tailored Sportsman breeches. I loved the fit of the front zip, but because I don't usually tuck my shirt in, I would get a pinch everytime I sat down. I returned these for the side zip Tailored Sportsman breeches.
    Date published: 2011-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love as Always! I've been a tailored girl for years, every once in a while ill try a different brand, but I always return it and go back to what I love!
    Date published: 2013-05-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mid-rise is perfect compromise! Ok, I can't speak to durability because I sadly had to return these breeches. What I really liked: The fabric is nice and the mid-rise is the PERFECT height for a short-waisted person such as myself - regular rise breeches come up to my bra (ok, not quite, but almost!), while the low rise breeches gap at the back. The mid-rise is the perfect compromise. The euro seat is a nice style update. The tan color is perfect for the show pen. Light enough to be more modern than the green-beige, but dark enough to be slimming and hide those inevitable dirt smudges. I really really really wanted to love these breeches! Unfortunately, they just were not flattering on me. I'm 5'6" and very hourglass shaped. I wear a 32R in most breeches. Unfortunately, I think these are shaped for somebody with a straighter build. They were a little big in the waist, snug in the thighs, and made my butt look...square-ish. I realize I don't have a breech model's body, but I just couldn't get over how odd these made me look. The Pikeur Ciara side-zip breech looks great on me...just not so great on my wallet...but unfortunately I can't make myself like how any of the Tailored's fit...and at this point, I've tried them ALL! (Thank goodness for SmartPak's liberal return/exchange program for sized items!)I would note, the front-zip version of this breech does fit slightly higher than the side-zip version.
    Date published: 2014-08-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent - Love These These are the best breeches I have ever worn. The fit is great, the material is the perfect weight and feel. Like some other reviewers, I also have a curvy figure and have no problem with these breeches. My straighter figured riding friends also wear these and love them. I've yet to meet anyone they didn't fit. These are the only breeches I wear now. More colors would be great!
    Date published: 2013-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fitting Breeches These mid rise pants are the best! Not to low and not to high. Perfect fit especially if you have curves. They wash like a dream, and are perfect for showing or schooling....love the euro seat.
    Date published: 2013-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Search Is OVER! I am a curvy girl- no question about it. I am 5'8", 155 lbs and these breeches FIT every curve. I wear a 30 R and my show pants are a 32R because they are light colored and cling a bit more. Honestly, this breech is unstoppable! The fabric is soooo comfortable and fidgure flattering...if ya catch my drift! :) Also, the wide, 2 inch waistband and front zipper and give me great shape and tummy tucking appeal. I really couldn't be any happier with the fit, feel and quality of the mid rise, front zip TS Trohpy Hunter breech! The price is much more appealing than my other $300+ favorites (Pikuer Cara).* I also like the FITS Beka but I have to buy the XL because the waist is too high and tight-- but GREAT fabric there as well!-- even though I wear a jean size 8-10.I hope this info is helpful to other gals with dangerous curves out there in search of a great fitting breech!! xoxoxoxxo*I can't wait to see the Mid Rise TS Trophy Hunter in some other fun colors!?- like PLUM!? These are my favorite for their excellent value, durability and shape retrention. Teh Euro seat is awesome, too!!Thank you Smart Pak for your amazing customer service & FREE returns that keeps me coming back year after year.Jenn
    Date published: 2013-03-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from New favorite breeches! Embarrassingly, I have been riding in the same few pairs of breeches for 10 years, so I decided to finally get a new pair. I was a bit hesitant to spend so much money on a pair of riding pants, especially because I tend to be unhappy with the riding pants that are available these days; however, I LOVE these. They have a great and flattering fit. They also fit true to size in the waist and legs. They're not too tight at all. I personally like the velcro bottom also. They fit well in my boots, and I had no issues with riding up. They also fit perfectly over my thick winter riding socks. They are also very warm, so there's no having to worry about wearing these during the colder months. I am extremely happy with these, and I will be investing in buying a few more in the future. I just got them so I can't really speak to the durability, but they seem well-made, so I think they will do just fine!
    Date published: 2012-12-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Stylish and comfortable Super comfy breeches. However, I wish they would come up with the elastic leg, instead of the velcro.Cannot tell you about durability yet. So far, so good.
    Date published: 2012-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most Comfortable Breeches The Tailored Sportsman Trophy Hunter Mid-rise breeches are the most comfortable breeches I have ever worn. They fit perfectly, although a little long for petites (who cares-they are worn under tall boots or half chaps!). They also wash AND dry well with no shrinkage. These breeches are a perfect weight for hot, muggy Virginia summers and are attractive enough for horse shows.
    Date published: 2012-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Breeches I love these breeches - they are cool and comfortable and fit very well. The rise isn't super low, maybe 1 inch below the navel. Shirts stay tucked in well. Easy to machine wash - I have hung them to dry and machine dried them, both without problems. I have these breeches in a few colors and they seem to hold up well with riding 3-4 days a week.
    Date published: 2012-08-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-05-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Favorite Breeches I love the fit & feel of these breeches. They also launder well. The colors are beautiful, and the tan is definitely nice enough for showing. I only wear these breeches now!
    Date published: 2012-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable & Flattering These breeches are great! My only complaint is that the pockets aren't deeper. I like to keep a tube of chapstick or other lip product with sunscreen on hand, but it always falls out of these shallow pockets.
    Date published: 0201-10-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great breeches Mid-rise fit is wonderful, material is nice retains stretch and comfort through washings. Nice color choices. Wish they would add a green/beige in addition to the tan that is offered for show days. I have 2 pair now and plan to buy more.
    Date published: 2012-10-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW!!! After years of wondering why everyone raves about Tailored Sportsman breeches, I finally understand all the hype!! These breeches fit me like a glove and offer the support and compression I like to have in the saddle. The material is top notch, no "see throughs" with this brand, and it still light enough that they're not too hot. I love all the colors they are offered in and plan to buy more! High quality, great construction, will definitely last me years.
    Date published: 2012-07-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great breeches I bought these for my 14-year-old daughter, who is relatively new to riding. She has tried on several brands of breeches and this was the only brand that fit her. She is more a fan of the low-rise, but that is personal preference. The mid-rise are the same pant, just a different fit.I will continue to buy Tailored Sportsman breeches for her.
    Date published: 2011-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more plumber's putty! These are great - I'm no longer tugging them up constantly, like I was with the lowrise version. These are beautiful breeches, great fabric and fit. Now if only Smartpak would start to carry more colors, I'd be in heaven!Or if TS would drop their prices some, that would also be a help - I'd buy four pairs if they were around $50....
    Date published: 2011-03-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Supe Comfortable! These breeches are the most comfortable breeches I have ever owned. They fit like jeans and the 4-way stretch makes them wear well. The mid rise is is very comfortable and stylish. They are great for schooling and appropriate for shows (I couldn't tell a difference between these and the more expensive ones in my local tack store).
    Date published: 2010-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Flattering, High-Quality Breeches A very flattering breech in a nice fabric. Fabric seems durable and repels stains.This rise is perfect for me - even though I usually like low rise, the regular Trophy Hunters are cut a little too low in back. These are "just right". My only wish is that they were offered in more colors! I would buy them all.
    Date published: 2010-08-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mid rise a good fit My daughter loves the Trophy Hunter, but the low rise was not a good fit for me....tried these mid rise and loved them. Only an inch higher, but it works. Cut slightly higher in back, so very comfie. Lightweight fabric feels great If you were avoiding the low rise, try these.
    Date published: 2011-01-22
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.