Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Mountain Horse Polar Breech

Mountain Horse
- Item #18519

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Mountain Horse Polar Breech is the ultimate winter riding pant. Great for those cold, snowy, blustery days!

Breathable, windproof and waterproof, with fully sealed seams to lock out moisture and snow gaiters in lower leg to keep out snow. Reinforced imitation leather full seat and ergonomically shaped seat and knees for maximum comfort in the saddle. Complete with full length waterproof zippers at side seams , reflective piping around the knees, elasticized waist with belt loops and adjustable, elastic foot strap.

     Imported.

    You Might Like

      SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

      Mountain Horse Polar Breech is rated 4.5652 out of 5 by 46.
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Purchase These winter breeches are great and live up to the positive reviews. They do run bigger just as the reviews say, but I ordered a size down and extremely satisfied. Usually I wear a size small (3/4-5/6) and I ordered an extra small in these and they fit perfectly! I wear them comfortably over jeans, but can easily get on from the ground when I wear regular breeches underneath them. These are great.
      Date published: 2013-12-14
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from
      Date published: 2013-12-06
      Rated 3 out of 5 by from Unisex cut; not for curvy women I've owned a pair of these breeches that I bought from another vendor and asolutely love them. Friends from my barn have warned me that the same breech from Smark Pak are oddly cut (male cut; straight through hips), but I had to try after my other pair wore out. I returned them because they were definitely different (small) through the hips and thighs than the ones I have had before. Be forewarned that these appear to be unisex size and not for curvy women. Very sad about that because other than that, these are great winter protection. Very warm and waterproof!
      Date published: 2013-12-05
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm and not bulky! I just moved to an area with cold winters and needed something warm to ride in. I just used them for the first time today at 24 degrees and a 15 mph wind (so with wind chill it was about 7 or 8 degrees) and they are excellent at keeping the wind out and I was comfortably warm the whole day. The zippers were easy to manage and I'm sure I'll be using the snow gaiters inside soon. I've used ski pants in the past but they were too slick on the seat to ride properly; these are actual breeches, so the seat has some grip- nice and easy to ride in. Although they kept me warm, they're not at all bulky or bunchy, which is another improvement over ski pants or jeans with long johns. I have no idea how durable they will be, but the materials and construction are quite good and I think they'll last for quite a while. Am planning on giving a pair to a friend in Montana for Christmas, they're that nice.
      Date published: 2013-11-22
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very warn and easy to wear. These are really nice pants and very high quality. They are easy to get on and off and have GREAT zippers. I like to put them on over my breeches in the morning and when it warms up in the afternoon I take them off. I'm going to use them for skiing too. They are very comfortable.
      Date published: 2013-11-06
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from warm in upstate NY Held off because of the price but so happy I ordered these breeches - they are so worth it.I am at a cold barn in upstate NY every day and am able to ride in a icy indoor or out on trail in comfort. Higher -waisted than I expected since everything seems to be low waisted these days but warm and cozy. Wear silk long underwear underneath and I am fine. Nice quality. Good length with zipper to accomodate boots.
      Date published: 2013-12-24
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Cold Weather Gear! These pants are fantastic! The fabric is very nice and WORKS in cold, dirty, working conditions. They are comfortable and fit well. They are not hipster style clothing which I appreciate. (I don't have to tug on them to keep my body covered!) I can wear them over other layers too. The fasteners work well and they open at the ankles to accomodate boots and stuff. I think they may double as an extra pair of ski pants too when I hit the slopes.
      Date published: 2013-10-29
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Changes the game These full-seat breeches totally changed my relationship to winter riding. They are extremely warm and comfortable, totally waterproof, and sealed well (no drafts at the ankle). As other reviewers have said, they are sized generously enough to layer (today, I wore jeans under them). Best investment I've made this winter!
      Date published: 2013-10-29
      Rated 3 out of 5 by from "Mountain Man" breech These breeches are made the best. They are warm, materials and stiching are excellent and I especially like the seams at the knees for easy bending. Problem is they are unisex in size and I would say they are actually made more for a man than a woman. If you happen to be shaped like a man and are really tall and order a smaller size you might get along pretty well. If you are shaped like a woman and don't mind a big gap in the waste and an extra 6 inches at the bottom of the pants, you will also probably get along well with these breeches. For what they charge I think it is time Mountain Horse ditched the unisex sizing and designed something specifically for a woman's figure and height. That said, the workmanship is great and although pricey, you get what you pay for. Too bad they don't fit!
      Date published: 2013-10-29
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Warm LOVE these pants. It was 7 degrees here today. I stayed toasty warm all day. I have stopped wearing my Carhartts because these pants are warmer. They are comfortable to ride in and breathable so I do not over heat.
      Date published: 2013-10-29
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from
      Date published: 2013-01-22
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome quality Nice pants w/ lots of extras. These pants look so durable. I haven't gotten to use them much yet but, they look like the perfect pants to put over my riding pants in the extremely cold winter weather in SD.
      Date published: 2013-01-23
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality, but very large I'm 5'5 and 105 pounds (and normally wear 25 inch waist / 30-32 inch length jeans) ... and I tried these in the smallest size, XS. Unfortunately, they were way too big!The quality seems great, and I would definitely buy if they had only had a smaller size...
      Date published: 2013-10-29
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Warm! I got these pants over Christmas. I have been wanting a pair since 2011. I love them they are very warm!!!! I even can wear them with my jeans, but you get very warm. I would wear them with breeches or sweats. :) But they look great and hold up!
      Date published: 2013-01-09
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pants I love mountain horse products and these pants aren't an exception! I live in Utah and we have cold, snowy winters. I board my horse at a facility that keeps all the horses outside 24/7 in paddocks and shelter. They don't have a barn and other than the shelter there's no cover for me from the snow while I'm working with my horse. So far these pants are indeed waterproof and wind proof. I work my horse in the outdoor ring year round the outdoor round pens and these pants keep me warm and dry. In fact, I just got back from the barn and it's snowing hard right now. I was outside till almost midnight cleaning my horses paddock and shelter, etc. It was a whopping 28 degree and I was toasty as ever!
      Date published: 2012-12-27
      Rated 4 out of 5 by from Runs Long! Many reviews say that these breeches run large. I am a size 16, 5'7" and they fit loosely, but they are looong!Giving 4 stars across the board based on previous MH products but will have to exchange these for a smaller size.
      Date published: 2012-12-27
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Winter Comfort Investment Ever These pants are the best. They are warm, comfortable and easy to get on and off. I ride in temperatures in the low 20's most of the winter and these pant are awesome.
      Date published: 2012-11-28
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Winter Pants Ever! I received these pants last week and LOVE them! It snowed the day I got them, so I got to try them out in the cold and wet, and they stayed warm and dry. They were comfortable to wear on the ground and in the saddle, and I love that I can wear either jeans or breeches underneath them.
      Date published: 2012-11-13
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Happy I bought these because I tend to be very cold in the winter which effects how often and how long I ride in the winter. After reading all of the reviews that said they run big I wasn't sure what size to order. I am 5'8", weigh 160lbs and wear a size 4, the small ones will work just fine over my jeans. They have just enough room in the hips and seat so as not to become uncomfortable for extend periods of time in the saddle. I can't wait for the cold weather to get here so I can put them to use!!
      Date published: 2012-11-11
      Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very big Huge! Ordered a medium and it was way too big. Im 5 ft 10 and 150. I have never been a small and I could have fit 2 of me in the medium! But good quality.
      Date published: 2012-03-05
      Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice pants Because of reading the other reviews, and because I wanted these pants to wear only over long underwear -- as I HAVE other insulated pants for use over clothes, I ordered the XS. They are still HUGE. I am 5'6" and less than 120#, and although still large, they fit OK over thick jeans, but I would not be able to wear them alone.They appear well-made, and are easier to get on and off than my older pants, so I will keep them... but disregard the sizing and measurements when ordering... not even close!
      Date published: 2012-02-22
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from great winter riding pants love the snow pants... a little long in the legs but very nice over all
      Date published: 2012-01-23
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! It finally got cold here! It was a negative 6 out and barn chores had to be done. I have been waiting all year to try my new mountain horse pants out! LOVE them! I didn't get cold, best buy ever! They are comfy and I could move freely. I climbed the hay loft stairs and carried down bales without issue. I highly recommend them. Im not a big winter rider and without an indoor I don't ride often this time of year but Im thinking I just might now since I won't be cold now! Great product!
      Date published: 2012-01-17
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from very nice.. I love the new snow/riding pants... I'm 5'5 and 155 and I ordered a large.. I like the fit but a little long. these are very very warm... I live in the northeast and they are great for our cold weather... best winter riding pant I ever had..
      Date published: 2012-01-11
      Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sizing Runs Huge I'm short but average build (5'1", 115 lbs) and am a small in most things so that is the size I ordered. They just arrived, and fall right off my waist and hips with the snaps done up. Other than that they look extremely warm and well made. Bummed that I won't be wearing them in the cold this weekend, exchanging for an XS.
      Date published: 2011-12-09
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definitely run on the large size . Otherwise these are the warmest winter breeches I have ever owned even on the coldest winter days and have lasted well over 3 winters so far. I love them.
      Date published: 2011-11-28
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Buy I live in Alaska and I love these riding pants. Winter riding can be hard. I first used these pants for a trail ride on a nice day when it was 15 degrees. And surprisingly I stayed warm. They fit like my snowpants but without the slick seat. The quality is great and very sturdy. Originally I got a size larger than I usually wear because other reviews said they run small. I wear a 12 and ordered a Large. Even with jeans on under them they were too big.
      Date published: 2011-11-16
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm I don't know how my daughter will feel in these polar breeches. I can tell you I have a pair that I received as a gift 2 years ago and I love them. We trail ride in the winter and they are just great. So that is why I brought her a pair for Christmas.
      Date published: 2011-11-08
      Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best purchase this year I purchased the medium size - they ran a little larger than I thought they would but work well when wearing Jeans under them. Very well made and comfortable. I have no problems getting on or off the horse and really stick in my old hard saddle.
      Date published: 2011-01-24
      Rated 3 out of 5 by from The unisex fit is a problem I purchased these 2 seasons ago and compared them against the other brands availible at that time for quality, durability, style, etc...My biggest complaint is the fit. They are made unisex, and this is why every other review has a fit complaint. They are made very narrow through the hip and thigh, like a boy jean. Most girls need a different fit. If you aren't comfortable in a boy-fit jean style, then these probably are not going to work for you. They don't have much give and tend to run long in the inseam for the average woman's leg length. I'm 5'7" and have a 30-31" inseam. The med. are still a bit long and need to be scrunched up around my knees to get the pant at the ankle for riding.Also fitwise, the waist is nice and high (Like a ski/snowboard pant) and the lower leg hangs large, allowing for tall socks, boots & an extra layer underneath.Early on, one of the knee seams tore during a trail ride, but otherwise durability has been good. Full seat is nice and grippy.Pants are VERY warm. The design is flattering for a winter riding pant and the extras; full length outside leg zippers and belt loop clips are heavy-duty and nice to have.I always get compliments on them from people.But the fit needs some more options please.
      Date published: 2011-11-08
      Have questions? Contact us »
      Connect with us:

      Meet the SmartPakers

      Brittany and Nate
      Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

      Learn more »

      Read our blog

      Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
      I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

      Read More »

      Healthy horses, happy riders.
      SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
      Sign Up Now!
      Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

      SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
      Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2013 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.