Product Image

SmartSox® Pellets

SmartSupplements by SmartPak
- Item #18246
Form: Pellets
Maintenance Dose: 2 SmartPak Wells



In addition to diet and proper hoof care, circulation also plays an important role in hoof health. Poor circulation may exhibit itself in multiple ways, from unhealthy hoof wall to a shortened stride and heel soreness.

SmartSox provides a comprehensive selection of ingredients to help support proper hoof circulation. These include the amino acid arginine, a precursor to nitric oxide, which plays an important role in healthy blood flow; herbs such as yucca, turmeric and boswellia to help alleviate discomfort; potent antioxidants including grape seed extract and vitamin C to support tissue health; and Flo-Ox®, a proprietary blend designed to maintain healthy vascularity. 

SmartSox is designed for horses with heel soreness, as well as those with weak hoof wall and poor growth, as a complement to biotin-based hoof supplements.

Please consult with your veterinarian before using SmartSox for horses with laminitis.

Looking for a biotin-based hoof supplement? Try SmartHoof Ultra

View Product Label

View our Anti-Inflammatory Comparison Chart

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    SmartSox® Pellets is rated 4.693 out of 5 by 114.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from improvement quick i have tried several other products and different shoes on my TB his front feet were always sore. I thought well why not try this product and I was amazed within 2 weeks i was riding him with very little soreness in his feet. Im almost done with the product and ive been able to ride him everyday with no issues...thanks!
    Date published: 2013-09-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from sole improvement My Fjords have thin soles. I contacted SmartPak to inquire if they had a product to recommend. They said SmartSox. I started them on it & after 6 weeks my farrier noted an improvement. They are shoeless but wear boots on the trail. The combination of SmartSox & boots for trail riding has solved the problem of sore feet while riding trail.
    Date published: 2013-12-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Horse likes the taste Just started feeding it a month ago so it's too early to really see results.My horse likes the taste and gobbles it right up.
    Date published: 2013-09-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Far So Good I tried this supplement when my horse went to 24 hour turnout and the expanding and contracting of the day to night moisture changes was wrecking his hooves. My horse has only been on this for a month so I can't really say for sure what the long term benefits will be, but the hoof wall seems to be growing in stronger. He was never unsound or sore but I feel like he is more comfortable on his feet as well. I think this is a great product and I'm confident it will do as claimed long term. I'm not sure if I will keep him on it long term, as I need to bump him up from the SmartCombo to the SmartCombo Ultra for the additional joint protection and can't afford both. I'm hoping the SmartHoof Ultra will do the trick for his hooves there. I wish SmartPak would come out with more combo supplements as the cost savings can't be beat.
    Date published: 2013-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from the BEST! Aside from the great improvements that SmartSox has made in my horses' feet, it also seems to aid in the prevention or speedy resolution of abscesses. I have two older horses (one Cushinoid) who were getting abscesses with distressing frequency. Since adding SmartSox, that frequency has decreased significantly. Keeping my horses healthy and comfortable is important to me and SmartSox helps.
    Date published: 2013-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My thin-soled (barefoot) OTTB has been on this supplement for a few months now, and it has made a noticeable difference in the way he moves. He's much less tender, and is actually beginning to land in his heel instead of shuffling along. Best investment I've made. Doesn't mind the taste, although, he is not picky.
    Date published: 2013-09-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-08-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-08-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Say Goodbye to Sore Feet As an eventer, I do a lot of gallop sets, conditioning sets, and this is done on varied terrain. My horse had sensitive feet, we even thought about putting pads on this season, but I opted to try SmartSox, and I am so glad I did, not only is it cheaper then pads, but it also increases the ever so important blood circulation to the foot, which helps my horses foot growth. Not only that, but it also helps my horses tendons and ligaments general health due to the increased blood flow to and from the foot. Win-Win!! I have all my horses on the product now, I couldn't have asked for anything better. I highly recommend this product, and with the happiness gurantee, it's fool-proof to try.
    Date published: 2013-10-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for thin soles plus sore feet I bought this product for a horse with sore feet and after having him on this product for 30 days I saw an amazing improvement in his soles. They were always thin, soft, and peeled off but now they look better than I have ever seen on any horse I have ever owned. I have had horses for over 40 years. I just put my other horse on this product just because I live in Florida with wet to dry conditions that are hard on hooves.
    Date published: 2013-05-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT for hooves This is something that I plan to never be without in my barn. What a difference it's made in my horses' feet! Even good hoof gets better, and it really makes a difference to poor quality hooves. I'm particularly happy with the support it offers my old Cushings horse (a picky eater who thinks it is a yummy addition to his dinners).
    Date published: 2013-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Highly recommend This product was recommended for a horse that did not grow a lot of foot....made a lot of difference in grow rate plus he seemed less sensitive to being shod. I would recommend this product highly.
    Date published: 2013-04-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from not bad It has only been a month. Not completely sure it is working. But willing to give it another month.
    Date published: 2013-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hope for terrible feet My 17.1 hand thoroughbred grows the hoof of a 12 hand pony. We have tried everything to help get his feet to grow and strengthen but everything has fallen flat. With a quick call to smartpak, I was recommended to try smartsox because a lot of clients had noticed an "accidental" side effect - better hoof quality and growth.We are only two months into our trial but I am very hopeful that we have found a winning combination with smartsox and smarthoof. Plus, my big guy loves the pellets!
    Date published: 2013-02-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product but not what I needed I ordered this product thinking it would be good for my foundered horse. After it came in realized I needed LamineX and not SmartSox. I had another horse at my barn that used this instead and is doing well because he needed increase circulation. Will be ordering again for both horses but being more careful on which is which.
    Date published: 2013-01-15
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Seemed Perfect... This seemed like the perfect supplement for my TB but he wouldn't eat it and he's never been a picky eater. SmartPak was great about it and gave me a credit. Might want to try a sample before you order.
    Date published: 2013-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't believe those tight gams!! I am a medical professional and a practiced skeptic when it comes to anecdotal claims. So, when I saw other reviews touting that this product reduced swelling in their horses legs, I thought, 'yeah, right', 'yadda x3'.What appealed to me was the amount of yucca in a pelleted formula and the possibility that it might help my 16 y/o DWB gelding with intermittant foot soreness. He has had documented circulatory loss in at least 1 foot [seen on a foreleg venogram]. Once that was resolved I have wanted something that would help prevent this from happening again. Also he has been intermittantly gimpy and reluctant to work and requiring 45 min to loosen up and work under saddle. Sar-start worked but was not palatable without 2 cups of applesauce mixed in. So after some research looking for yucca, I decided that Smart Sox might address two concerns.Even on days when he was out on pasture for 6-7 hours, after 3-4 hours in his stall in the evening, his legs would be stocked up. One of the first things I noticed was how tight his legs were even after the overnight. I was amazed!!!. We have several older horses that stock up and then get cellulitis as a result. I had prior concerns that that could happen with my horse. However, using the Smart Sox and getting the result of those tight legs has helped allay my concerns about that potential problem.I am a believer and am happy to add my anecdotal experiences to the positive comments on this product.***It does have to be stopped before a recognized show however. I did get that word from USEF Drug Committee. Stopping for 7 days before start of a show would be sufficient.
    Date published: 2013-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So glad I tried it! My horse has had soreness issues over the past year. After trying everything else I was suspecting the pain was coming from his feet. With in 2 weeks I could tell he was more comfortable. He keeps getting better every week. Worth every penny!
    Date published: 2012-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped a lot! My mare had a lot of problems this summer with no rain and a cement-hard ground. She was foot sore (diagnosed "officially" after a vet visit, rads, and nerve blocks). I had a little success adding pads to her shoes, but not 100%. I regularly iced her feet and always checked her digital pulse, as well as buted her as needed (before, during and after events), but I still didn't feel like she was 100%. About a month after starting SmartSox I noticed a definite improvement, nothing else had changed - same indoor, same turnout, same hard ground. I noticed her digital pulses were consistently "normal" and no longer bounding like they often could be. I just recently pulled her shoes for a cycle (giving her a little time off in the off season!) and for the first time ever she was not lame at all on the rocks in the driveway going out to the pasture, even after wearing pads for many cycles - something I was worried about as every time I've pulled shoes before there is at least a week where she "tiptoes" across the rocky driveway.
    Date published: 2012-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally a good solution! After 4 years I thought I'd tried everything for my mare's feet. She just had her first shoeing post-SmartSox and the farrier was thrilled- said he can never remember her ever growing that much hoof before! We'll be keeping her on SmartSox and considering it for other horses in the barn.
    Date published: 2012-11-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from HALTED Soreness after Farrier Visits I recently purchased a Thoroughbred (thin walls/flat feet :-x) and was told by his previous owner that he would always be incredibly sore after a farrier visit. He does not wear shoes. She said he would pad the ground softly for about a week after the visit and sometimes would be completely lame. I started him on SmartSox 30 days ago and he has had one farrier visit since, I rode him right after the farrier left (lightly of course!) and he was 100% sound with no soreness at all. It could have been the change in farrier, but I'm not doubting that SmartSox played a part in this!My farrier suggested keeping him on this supplement and we will review again about the quality of sole and hoof wall that is regrown in the next 6 months! He also eats this right up and has no trouble finishing his breakfast each morning :)
    Date published: 2012-10-28
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Wishful Thinking I wish I was writing a rave review for this product like so many of the others I read while making the decision to try it. I have used this product for the last 30 days on my navicular syndrome mare with absolutely no improvement in her overall soundness. I was extremely hopeful that this supplement would help her as she seems like the perfect candidate (mild heel pain and poor circulation from years of being shod.) I would love to give this supplement the benefit of the doubt and try it for another month, but the cost makes it difficult to justify when I am not seeing the results that other reviewers have experienced. If this supplement was helping her, it would be well worth the investment!On the plus side, I can say that my horse didn't even notice these pellets in her grain and ate them very willingly, so I did rate it a "5" for palatability.
    Date published: 2013-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Product My young PRE mare suffered from a bad abscess that had to be resected. After her cast was removed, she had developed supporting limb laminitis. She was recovering slowly with good hoof wall growth but the sole continued to lag behind until I heard about this product on the Hoof webanair and started her on it about a month ago. What a difference. Sole looks just about normal and she is walking well and is very anxious to "go". Eats it without hesitancy. Thank you Smart Pack for another great product. I intend to keep her on it to insure future hoof health.
    Date published: 2012-10-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really works! I'm always skeptical about the efficacy of feed-through supplements in my horses. However, there was no guessing whether or not SmartSox works ... results were obvious in just a couple of days.
    Date published: 2012-10-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from worth the money It has helped him grow better quality hoof, which results in fewer lost shoes.
    Date published: 2012-10-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from 22 year old pony I been given smartsox to my pony that founder from her previous owner. Since I started giving her smartsox I been seeing a different.
    Date published: 2012-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from amazing product Doc and I both love SmartSox. He is a foundation bred quarter horse with small feet so he can get sore after long rides or getting shod. SmartSox has helped immensely. I have had hoof problems for about 5 years with him and we have recently concluded he could develop navicular. Having researched this disease and possible routes to take I decided on corrective shoeing and SmartSox. Within the first month I could tell Doc was striding out farther and just happier to work.
    Date published: 2012-10-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a difference! My mare Christy, has been mostly lame for the last 5 years or so. The problem couldn't really be pin-pointed, just seemed like she had really sore feet. We tried different shoes and medications, but nothing really seemed to help much. As a last resort, before making a decision to retire her from riding, I decided to try Smart Sox. In a month's time, she was going around perfect. She is now off all medication, and is happy to work! I am a true believer in this supplement.
    Date published: 2012-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It So Far I have a 7 year old quarter horse with big, flat feet. He is prone to bruising, abcesses and has even punctured his soles to the point of bleeding. Even with shoes on, he would drag me through the bushes on trail rides to get away from rocky areas. I tried all sorts of shoeing jobs, trail boots, and even tried getting his feet strong by going barefoot. Finally, I decided to give Smartsox a try based on everyone's positive reviews. Within a week you could tell he felt great. My once lazy horse is now full of energy, trots about 90mph and he is sounder than ever. I still keep him on a normal hoof supplement as well, but plan to remove the leather pads from under his shoes soon to see if we can go without. He's not a picky eater so I cant speak much for palatability, but so far, I'm very happy!
    Date published: 2012-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Staying with this Product Smart Sox is my new favorite supplement. I have three horses on it and they are doing so much better with this than any other supplement I've tried. It's slightly more expensive but it's so worth it.
    Date published: 2012-08-18
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2013 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.