Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Natural Sponge

Item #10814

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Natural “wool” (no relation to actual sheep) sponges are the elite of the natural sponge world with unsurpassed absorption, softness and durability. They hold water extremely well and can be used for all washing and cleaning purposes but most importantly they are more pliable and easier to use on detailed tasks like tack cleaning than the common natural “grass” sponge.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Natural Sponge is rated 4.7576 out of 5 by 33.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Much Smaller Than Expected Although this sponge is described as "large," it's anything but large. It fits in the palm of my hand. That said, it is very absorbent and works well. It's just much smaller than expected.
    Date published: 2012-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I was looking for I was looking for a sponge to wipe my mare down after shows but it's hard to find one big enough for bathing. This one is the perfect size for the job and holds a surprising amount of water too. I was a little worried that it was going to be too stiff but the moment it hit the water, it was perfect. It seems like it will hold up well and not shred like some synthetic sponges. Even though this sponge is pricey, so far I'd say it's worth it and hope it holds up for the season.
    Date published: 2012-06-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better than Synthetic I had seen someone use a natural sponge to wash their horse and had been looking for one every since. What I noticed was the size, and the sponge's capacity to move flexibly around a horse's joints when being used.....no stiffness or partial contact when moving around non flat surfaces.I also noticed that it held a lot of water and soap...usefull characteristics when you don't want to bend down and put your sponge back in the bucket for more soapy water every few seconds.I looked at three tack stores in my area, and never found one.Finally, I found one at SmartPak and ordered the large.I've used it once and found it to be a little smaller than I had hoped for, but it's not too small and it's very useful.It's still a little stiffer than I had wanted....not at all like synthetic sponges though. One reviewer stated that issue ceases after the first use, however.All in all, although I wish it was cheaper, and just a tiny bit larger, it's the best sponge I've had for bathing my horse and a sponge does make a difference in how easy and quick bathing goes.
    Date published: 2012-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love thsese sponges I purchased these sponges because the tack sponges were out of stock and I was in desperate need of sponges. I got 2 small sponges and I love them! The hold my saddle soap and water nicely and clean up a storm. They are made nicely and do not break. They came a bit stiff but as soon as I put them in water they were softer than ever.
    Date published: 2012-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice sponge This natural sponge is very water absorbent. I especially like using this sponge on my horse's face as it is very soft. I am hoping that it lasts a long time as it was on the expensive side for a sponge.
    Date published: 2011-10-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use holds up well for several baths. Holds a lot of soapy water. Doesn't fall apart after several uses.
    Date published: 2011-10-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sponge I had bought a couple of sponges from walmart to use for bathing horses...they didn't last more than a month. I decided to get one of the Natural Sponges from SmartPak and it's great. Really holds water and soap for baths, it's soft, yet very durable. With our heat and drought, I pretty much bathe after every ride (with gentle mikrotek or lucky braids shampoos!) and it looks as good as the day it arrived.
    Date published: 2011-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sponge For me it is just the right size for my hands. Great for bathing.
    Date published: 2011-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good natural sponges! These are very good natural sponges, perfect size for tack and they are good quality. No spines or rough spots to rake your tack, very smooth.
    Date published: 2011-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Pleasure to Use This sponge holds water better & is easier on your joints to squeeze water out than a synthetic sponge. Definitely worth the few extra bucks! Will only buy natural from now on.
    Date published: 2011-05-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-05-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Kinda Small Ordered the big one and it was still really small, would suggest going through a sponge seller instead. This is not a good value in spongyness. Plus I wanted a more durable sponge for washing the horses that would really clean and this one started falling apart after five baths.
    Date published: 2011-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great size sponge I was a little worried about buying this sponge without seeing it in person as the other natural sponges I have purchased in the past have been too small for my tack cleaning tastes. This one is a perfect size. Large enough to get the job done but still easy to hold in my hand.
    Date published: 2011-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Much better! These sponges are much better than the other synthetic sponge. It really wicks the dirt away quicker
    Date published: 2011-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really better than synthetic! After reading other positive reviews, I decided to give these a try and I'm glad I did! I am using less cleaning product for my leather tack and really like the texture of the sponge and think it will hold up better, especially going over buckles, compared to synthetic sponges. The sponge is crunchy at first, but that goes away in the first use. They are also fairly large and I cut one into three pieces that are tack sponge sized.If you go to google if sea sponges are "ok" to use, beware of google's predictive search, a little NSFW. Apparently sponges are being used for other things too, but they are harvested responsibly and in a way that lets them regrow. Give them a try!
    Date published: 2010-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely Love These! The small is perfect for tack cleaning, and rinses out very, very easily. I've found it works much better than the small synthetic sponges. The large is excellent for bathing and is nice and soft for wiping sensitive faces.
    Date published: 2010-09-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best These natural sponges are the best ever for washing horses & tack. They last forever!!!!!!! FANETTE
    Date published: 2010-05-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The BEST sponges I LOVE the natural sponges. I have the synthetic ones for light duty, but for really cleaning before a show, you cannot beat the natural. Plus, all of the product acutally comes out of the natural sponge.
    Date published: 2010-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sponge - great price Excellent sponge. I use it with Tattersall Soap for tack cleaning.
    Date published: 2010-02-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid value This sponge is the sturdy natural kind I was looking for. I expect it to last - my old one of this type has served many years. It is fairly coarse, good for scrubbing!
    Date published: 2009-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tack cleaning sponge! This sponge is great for tack cleaning. I've only used the small round tack sponges before, and they don't hold up that well. This sponge is really soft yet really strong! Great for cleaning all your tack. I use it with regular glycerine soap. I hope it holds up for a long time (I've only used it twice so far)
    Date published: 2009-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Naturally clean The pores in the natural sponge are great for scrubbing. The best part is that it is completely non-toxic and much more durable than a synthetic sponge.
    Date published: 2009-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ooh La La Meets Rugged I am completely in LOVE with the Natural Sponge (strange, I know). The tack cleaning size is ideal for just that, tack cleaning. The texture of the Natural Sponge removes the dirt and grime much better than an artificial sponge. The bathing size is also great because it has wonderful 'recovery'- when you squeeze out all of the water, it puffs right back up and doesn't stay compressed like an artificial sponge can. And they are rugged enough that they last a long time, the bathing ones seem to last longer than the tack cleaning ones for me but that could all be my tack cleaning zest! ;) I love the Natural Sponge so much; I even bought one from SmartPak to use with body wash in my own shower!
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.