Product Image

SmartCanine™ Senior

SmartSupplements by SmartPak
- Item #18037
Form: Tablet
Maintenance Dose: 1 SmartPak Well

SmartCanine Senior provides targeted support for joint health and overall wellness in senior dogs. This formula contains the key ingredients for healthy joints including glucosamine, chondroitin sulfate, and hyaluronic acid. Carefully chosen ingredients such as devil’s claw, MSM, and phenylalanine help manage discomfort associated with aging. Also includes taurine for a healthy heart, milk thistle for liver support, and the omega 3 fatty acid DHA to help maintain normal brain function.

Click here to view our Canine Joint Product Comparison Chart.

Click here to view our Canine Multi-Vitamin Comparison Chart.

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing dog
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing dog
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    SmartCanine™ Senior is rated 4.6462 out of 5 by 65.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from What's in these things?! I got these for my boyfriend's 10yo German Shepherd, who was refusing other "joint" supplements.... and he uses them like treats. The dog would do anything for them, and is comfortable to boot! I chose them because I've got my horse on the smartpak senior and the devil's claw seems to be doing her wonders... works on dogs too!
    Date published: 2013-06-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Still on the fence I've been giving this to our 16 year old pommeranian mix for about 3 months. I've not noticed a difference but its cheap enough I'm willing to give it a little longer. If I don't feel like its making a difference by fall I will probably stop ordering it.
    Date published: 2013-06-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Recommend! The very first day I gave this to our achy, listless dog, he became more perky. I was amazed! I was thinking "that's impossible, how did it work so fast?" I never expected to see results that quickly. Over the past year, his joints had become stiff and sore and he would lie around most of the time, or lick his knees in the evenings. After his tablets, he was right back to jumping up onto the couch, cantering around the yard, looking more bright-eyed than he had been in at least 8 weeks. And he wasn't licking his knees!Although it seemed expensive, it was money well spent. I've given Devil's Claw to our pony in the past, and was glad to see that is an ingredient in this as well.Our dog doesn't seem to want the tablet without cheese or a pill pocket wrapped around it, so that adds a step, but he patiently waits for his Canine Senior each morning and seems to be much more comfortable throughout the day. He's been having these for about two weeks and I definitely think it is helping. I hope the good results continue.Thanks SmartPak!
    Date published: 2013-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes Old Dogs Younger I bought this for a dog that "got old" over the winter. She sleeps more, is lame more, and is less tolerant. I was a little worried that she wouldn't want to eat the "pills", but she gobbles them right down like they are a special treat. She is more playful and less lame. Happy dogs make for happy owners! I refer to them as her "Old Dog Pills", but may have to start calling them "Young Dog Pills". :) I also like the combination of ingredients.
    Date published: 2013-05-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Shepherd with DM I have a 9 year old over sized female shepherd with DM. Although I know this disease is chronic, SmartCanine Sr. is definitely keeping her healthy and comfortable. I noticed a huge difference in her coat and her overall well being. She is less hesitant about going up our small stair case and can jump up on the couch. She doesn't have a problem scarfing the tabs down either. I don't mind paying the $45 because she is SO much better on these tabs. Thanks SmartPak for giving my big girl a chance at enjoying her golden years!
    Date published: 2013-05-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-02-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I think it is working. My 12 year old Boxer was having memory problems and having a hard time getting around the house. I use Smartpaks for my horse and love them, so thought I would give this a try for my beloved dog. He has been on it for one month now and I have noticed more pep and brightness from him, especially in the evening. The only reason I am giving this four stars is because it smells odd (kind of like cedar shavings) and my dog won't eat it with out being mixed in with wet food, but overall I would recommend it.
    Date published: 2013-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The DIffference it Has Made Tess is a 13 year old, very active border collie. Is there any other kind? I had noticed some stiffness as of late. Did some research and decided to try SmartPak Canine Senior because it had all that I was looking for in the ingredients.I noticed a difference in less then a month. While her hips are still a bit old lady, she now goes sailing over the cross rails with the panache of a much younger dog.I thought the big bottle a good value and will continue to use it. Thank you SmartPak!
    Date published: 2014-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Improvement In My Dog We moved to a new house in November and my 10 year old Sheltie could not make it up the steep stairs without falling or just running out of momentum. I started carrying her up and down because she was just so uncomfortable. We started giving her SmartCanine Senior in December. It didn't take long to see improvement and now in the middle of January she can go almost as fast up and down as she could when she was younger. I will definitely order this product again and would highly recommend it!
    Date published: 2014-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Lab! My 10yo chocolate lab was having back problems. she was no longer jumping on the bed, the couch, or us! Hard to be a couch potato when you can't even get on the couch! I've had very good luck in the past with another lab and my horse with MSM so I asked the vet if I should start her on a supplement. She said yes and told me what dose MSM she should be on. After doing some research, I decided to get the SmartCanine Senior. I based my decision of the value of the supplement, that it had the right dose, and that it had some other ingredients that would hopefully also help support an aging Labrador. After being on it for 2 weeks, with 1 week of pain meds to help her out, she is back to normal! It has now been about 6-7 weeks since she has been on it and she continues to do well.I emailed SmartPak customer service about a warning on the label that said "not for long term use." I got back a great, detailed response explaining why that label was there and that she is safe taking it long term.My only complaint is that the pills are crumbly and cannot be split. My dog gets 3 per day and I would prefer to give her 1.5 twice a day to split it up but I can't because the pills just turn to dust. Oh well, it is working with her getting 1 in the am and 2 in the pm. I'm very happy that my dog feels better!
    Date published: 2013-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smart Canine Senior Bunker is an elderly rescue dog who travels regularly with me to the Jersey shore and back each weekend, BUT, he just couldn't jump up into the back of my small SUV. Whew - what a job picking up a 55 lb. standard poodle and hoisting him in! Now, after about 3 months of Smart Canine Senior tablets, he jumps right in and is ready to go at a moment's notice. This was a difference I could easily SEE and FEEL. Thanks again.
    Date published: 2014-02-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Dog says YUCK! My lab is an 'eat first-ask questions later' kind of guy so I was pretty surprised when he turned down the tablets. He will now take them but it is with some hesitation and definite lack of enjoyment!
    Date published: 2012-10-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Choice for a picky eater My 7yo, 11lb, Yorkie is a real barn dog, but his joints have stopped agreeing with him. He had developed a limp that got worse on his really active days so I started him on a joint supplement in a powder form. He ate it for about a day and then wouldn't touch it. So I started him on Smartpak Senior and he gobbles it right down. I can feed it to him as a treat or just drop it in his food bowl. The limp has almost completely disappeared and I imagine it will get even better over the next month.One thing I absolutely love: You guys cut it in half for me! My little guy only needs a half dose so Smartpak cuts it in half and puts each one in it's own little package.
    Date published: 2012-10-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product! I love this product! My 12-13 yr old rescue dog was slowing way down and his hips were giving out. His eye sight was suffering also. He could not see in dim light. After just 2 weeks on the SeniorCanine his eye sight was better and he no longer falls. He even plays with my other dog, wrestling, jumping and running! He acts like a puppy again. This is a great product and I highly recommend it.
    Date published: 2012-10-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Product I gave this to both of my dogs, and only one dog would eat it.My dalmatian can be fussy,so no fault of this supplement.I had to go with a moist, chewy joint supplement for him.My other dog ate them,but I did have to put them in Pill Pockets.I did see an improvement in her,they are just not crazy about the taste.I am sure it is a great supplement,like everything else of Smartpaks,I just have some fussy babies.
    Date published: 2012-10-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product My dog was starting to get stiff after laying down. We had tried other joint supplements from our local pet store but they didn't seem to help. I've always ordered my horse supplements here so I decided to give SmartCanine Senior a try. Within a couple days of starting this supplement his stiffness went away. We did a rough 4 mile hike this weekend and he dragged me the whole way and wasn't even slightly stiff the next day. Looking forward to increasing the length and difficulty of our hikes. Thanks for keeping my favorite hiking partner going strong!
    Date published: 2012-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent choice My vet recommended putting my 11 year old corgi on a joint supplement, so I came to smartpak since their supplements have helped my horse immensely. Loved the ingredients in this one and he loves the taste! Eats it right out of my hand, and he has improved so much since he's been on it. He now jumps up on the couch with me, runs up and down the stairs, and play wrestles with my 5 year old corgi! Love this supplement, and I'll definitely keep him on it. It's also much cheaper than what my vet wanted to give him.
    Date published: 2012-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-08-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for my senior dogs My dogs are 16 and 12 years of age. The SmartCanine Senior helped both my girls move easier. They're back to chasing the squirrels around the back yard now.Thanks!
    Date published: 2012-08-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really Helped My Old Dog Within a few weeks of gobbling up her tablets my dog was running and playing like a 2 yr. old.She ate them fine at first then got a little fussier so I buried them in her food.Great product, I highly recommend for older, stiff dogs who don't want to exercise.
    Date published: 2012-08-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smart Canine Senior I started our 15 y.o. dog on this for his aging joints, and it has made such a difference. I had bought Smart Flex Senior for my horse, so I had confidence that this would help our aging dog, and it has. Thank You for having a product that improves the quality of life for my pets.
    Date published: 2012-07-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great when mixed with cetyl myristoleate This product I use twice a day for my black lab, Due. I also give him Cetyl Myristoleate twice a day. Both cover all the problems he has, arthritis, sore muscles; because he ain't a young pup any more. But being the best dog ever, he deserves only the best!!
    Date published: 2012-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Impressed!! I have been very impressed with this product. I bought it for my older dog who was starting to move a little slower and was starting to get "cloudy" eyes. I had hopes that it would help - but - can I say WOW! Within the first month, my husband and I were discussing that we thought he was more playful and seemed to be a bit more bouncy. But, just last night, I realized that the clouds in his eyes were basically gone. I really did not expect this many results to show up in such a short period of time, but I am definitely going to keep him on it for the rest of his life. I knocked a star off for palatability because my other dog does not seem to like them very much. But, fortunately the dog I bought it for eats them right up! Thanks Smartpak!
    Date published: 2012-07-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice product This is more of a taste review because we have bought these supplements as a preventative. Our 7 year old Chihuahua has been eating this supplement for almost 3 months now. She is a very picky eater and at first she would not eat this. We literally had to sit there and keep showing it to her over and over until she finally ate it. Now, all we do is roll it across the floor for her to chase and praise her for getting it and she eats it right up! Good value.
    Date published: 2012-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely pleased My family has an almost 17 year old Engish Springer Spaniel. Smart Canine Senior has really perked her up - we saw the results in about 1 1/2 weeks. She is moving better and seems to be much happier and healthier overall. Definitely worth a try - and at a great value.
    Date published: 2012-03-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These help my old JRT Within 3 or 4 days my 14 year old JRT began moving better and brightened up. She wanted to go on longer walks and appears to be more comfortable. She is running up stairs and jumping up on the bed and couch like she used to. She really does not care for the taste of the tablet, but if it is in cream cheese or peanut butter, it goes right down.
    Date published: 2012-03-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great purchase Although my 2 rescue dogs have only been on these supplement for 2 months, I'm amazed at how much they love them. No pill pockets necessary. 4 stars instead of 5 only because it's a bit too soon to see long term results. But so far so good!
    Date published: 2012-02-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to work! As the other reviews noted, lots of packaging for these pills, although they are good to have if you travel, which we do. My 7.5 year old border collie has arthritis already settling in in his right shoulder from two injuries he incurred when he was younger. He has been on this for over a month and I don't see him limp or show stiffness as he did a month before so wow, this stuff must work as I haven't changed anything else in his diet. He'll eat it when I mix it in his food and he'll eat it on it's own, but he isn't crazy about it, but that's OK, he's eating it.
    Date published: 2012-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I hoped for My 7 year old Boxer was suffering from hip and joint pain and this product has worked great after taking it for a month. He is playing again like a puppy. Just what I hoped for.
    Date published: 2012-01-04
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.