Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Mountain Horse Ice Rider Tall Boot

Mountain Horse
- Item #18001

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Mountain Horse ice rider tall boot has a tall, sleek look and elegant features. Keep your feet dry and warm in or out of the saddle. Calf sizes regular to wide. Sizes 6-10.

The Leg:
Heat insulating Thermolite® lining covered by a soft foam material keeps your legs warm. Super strong and durable YKK® zipper to enhance the life of your boots.

The Foot: 
Sleeker shaped foot for a closer fit. Breathable, waterproof HYDRO-Tx membrane prevents water from entering into the footpart up to the zipper.

The Sole System:
Stirrup Control System™ with enhanced grip will help you maintain correct stirrup position as well as increase traction on snow and ice while on the ground.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Mountain Horse Ice Rider Tall Boot is rated 3.5965 out of 5 by 57.
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Sent them back I read the reviews on this boot, and thought I would give them a try. I will say, they are very comfortable. I wore them on a day that started out in the 30's, and they were relatively warm. The boot fit in the stirrups well. I did think the hard plastic did not allow for as much of a feel of the horse as I would have liked. The temperature started dropping, and my feet got really cold. I was disappointed, and sent them back.
    Date published: 2014-01-22
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Difficult zippers I returned these boots because the zippers were very difficult. I have other Mountain Horse boots that I love but these were not the same quality.
    Date published: 2014-01-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great boot. I bought these boots to keep my feet warm around the barn. I also have a hard time finding boots to fit my calf. With the elastic panels by the zipper they fit perfect.
    Date published: 2014-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best winter boot I ever had I had a previous pair and they always kept my feet warm with the right socks.  So I love the new ones too.  My only complaint, the zipper is hard and being a senior my hands and fingers don't work as well as they use to.  I'd like to see a leather tab added (like half chaps have on their zippers).  It would give people having strength issues or arthritic issues more leverage to pull the zippers up.  Overall, I got these on sales and their great!
    Date published: 2014-01-23
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sent them back. The boots were so stiff and uncomfortable. I had a different version of these boots for years and was disappointed these did not work. Ended up with Ariats.
    Date published: 2014-01-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great boot!! I bought these boots to keep warm at the barn during the winter and walking around shows. They do exactly that! These boots aren't advertised as show boots, so they don't look like show boots! They are very warm and durable. Fit me perfectly. I'm a big fan of Mountain horse stuff.. I have the coat and hat also! I have ridden in these boots before and while they're not as close contact as my slim fit tall boots, they weren't distracting me at all. 
    Date published: 2014-01-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent boots except it was too tall I wear a size 9 shoe and height is 5'4. The boots were too tall and came up past my knees
    Date published: 2014-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots! These are wonderful boots. They keep my feet warm and they are sleek and easy to ride in. 
    Date published: 2014-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love these! I have had these for two years and they look good enough that I can wear them fox hunting on wet days. They clean up very well with some leather new (yes, on the plastic) which was my only issue I would scrub with a brush and when they dried there was still dirt in the texture. Leather new fixed that. I find them super comfortable and very warm.
    Date published: 2014-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT BOOTS WE LIVE ON THE COAST OF MAINE AND RIDE ALL YEAR. THESE BOOTS ARE PERFECT IN THE FALL, WINTER AND SPRING. AND FROM A DISTANCE THEY REALLY LOOK LIKE SHOW BOOTS, WHICH MY DAUGTHERS LOVE. THEY ARE WARM, COZY, COMFY AND ELEGANT.
    Date published: 2013-12-14
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from COLD toes!! I ride all day long in the winter outside at 6 to 30F in the mountains of Utah. I have bought many Mountain horse and Dublin boots. This particular boot was the coldest! The sole is SO thin the cold from the concrete and riding. The sole is thin so if you ride English in an indoor arena or just ride for 30 min to 1 hour you may be fine. If you want something to wear all day make sure you buy one of their thick sole styles and not this ice rider boot. Try Rimfrost, Active rider etc.
    Date published: 2013-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Invincible boots Best winter boots ever! warm and last several winters or until I have actually worn the soles out.I think I am on my third pair.Zippers are good. Pretty much watertight. Good support for riding and walking. Comfy.
    Date published: 2013-12-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Love and hate them When I got these boots I was worried the inside of the calf would scratch my saddle, however it did not leave any marks on my saddle at all. They were comfortable to ride in. Comfortable to wear around the barn and kept my feet warm except on below zero days. My disappointment in these boots came a few months after I bought them. The outside material came apart from the sole on one boot. It's a 4 inch opening and caused my foot to get soaked and VERY cold. It's quite disappointing because I found these boots very comfortable from the start and I loved that they kept my feet warm and dry. I hope it was just a faulty boot.
    Date published: 2013-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fit perfectly I absolutely love these boots. They are warm, fit perfectly and were comfortable to ride in the first time I wore them. I rode in a clinic several weeks ago in 23 degree temperatures and my feet were toasty warm!
    Date published: 2013-12-14
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Uncomfortable I only wore these for about 30 minutes, they were very stiff and way too uncomfortable. I returned them and bought Ariat Brossard boots which were comfortable right out of the box. I only wish they were as tall as the Mountain Horse Boots which is the only thing I liked about the Ice Riders.
    Date published: 2013-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm, Waterproof, Functional This is the second time around I have purchased these boots. My mother and I bought the first set 4+ years ago, and I am still wearing mine. I ride in them quite a bit during the winter, and I never have a problem with my feet getting cold, even on 4-5 hour fox hunts. Mostly waterproof, but if you have to swim a creek then they are going to get water in through the zipper. Other than that a very great quality boot for the price! Comfortable and plenty of room for thicker socks, layers, winter breeches, etc.
    Date published: 2013-12-27
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Regrettable purchase I purchased these boots a year ago and should have returned them at that time. On the positive side, the boots are warm. However, the zippers are incredibly stiff, even after an application of lithium grease. My achilles is rubbed raw every time I wear them so I must use moleskin to protect that area. My feet hurt in them in the saddle and on the ground. Since I've had them for some time, I've not pursued a return and continue to "make do.". Smart Pak has great products and service and this is the only time I've been disappointed.
    Date published: 2013-01-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfy but TALL I just got back from using my Ice Riders for the first time and was pleasantly surprised at how quickly they broke in. I knew to order down one full size as I have the Mountain Horse Firenze tall boots as well. I usually wear a 7-7.5, got a 6 in these, and they fit perfectly. They're very flexible, allow for good contact with the stirrups, and kept my feet more or less warm in flimsy little dress socks. My only gripe is that they're too tall for my 5'4" legs (well, the legs on my 5'4" body, I should say).I really wish SmartPak carried the short version of the Mountain Horse Active Winter Rider. It's the only Mountain Horse winter boot that comes in a short calf, and I'd buy it in a heartbeat! (HINT HINT, SMARTPAK!!!)
    Date published: 2012-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hot Hot Hot I purchased these thinking they might be duplicative to Dubarrys with a liner or just warmer socks in my regular boots, as my feet are rarely cold-cold. A day after they arrived, we had a cold snap and I quickly threw them on for my 30-degree ride. They were AWESOME. The only problem - and this is minor - is that when you get them, they smell like a wetsuit. My car smelled like rubber for the day I kept them in the front seat. They are surprisingly flexible for such thick neoprene and loosened up by the third and fourth uses. Overall, a GREAT value for a tremendously warm boot.
    Date published: 2012-11-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Glad I purchased them I have only had the opportunity to ride in these boots a couple of times. The best part, my feet stayed warm, the bad part is the boot is a little bulky, but I prefer warmth overall.
    Date published: 2012-02-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm I bought winter boots because I was having trouble keeping my toes from getting so cold I would lose feeling in my regular Ariat Heritage Paddock boots. I gave these a try and they really seem to make a difference. I can't attest to their durability since I haven't had them long, but so far I am satisfied.
    Date published: 2012-02-13
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Would not buy The fit of this boot is excellent. Size 7 fit with medium weight sock. First time I wore the boots, they developed a crease on the inner and outer sides just above the stitching joining the foot part with the upper part. I have only worn these maybe a dozen times. They are extremely uncomfortable. My feet also get very cold in them at 35 degrees. I had a pair of MH Stella Polaris that were extremely comfortable and warm. I should have bought a second pair.
    Date published: 2012-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE these boots! SO happy with these boots! Keep my feet and legs toasty warm, very comfortable, great for walking and riding. Have only had them a month, but they seem very well made and durable. Usually wear a size 6-1/2, but the 6 fits perfectly. I like them so well, I also wear them to and from the barn, and all points in between.
    Date published: 2012-01-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from The Jury is Still Out I got these boots for Christmas, and I haven't yet decided how much I like them. As for fit, they run true to size in the foot, and for my size, the calf and height are about perfect (I wear a size 7, and my half chaps are a 15/17- the regular calf fits just right). I have had one "break-in blister" so far, but that's expected for new tall boots. I appreciate the use of heavy-duty zippers, so I don't have to worry about them failing on me. They are still a bit stiff, but they haven't fully broken in yet, but so far they are pretty comfortable, the foot bed especially. I wore them to muck stalls on Christmas day, and my feet stayed warm and dry. In fact, I haven't yet ridden in them because they are SO warm they make my legs sweat! So I have to save them for the bitter cold days. I'm skeptical that I will like them to ride in because they're pretty clunky, so I might have to use them only for light hacks and barn chores. You will require a wider stirrup iron with these boots due to the clunky factor, but if you need a boot to keep you warm and dry without breaking the bank, I would recommend giving these boots a try.
    Date published: 2012-01-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great purchase, but the fit could be better I really love these boots. I bought them two years ago and am so glad I did. They are incredibly warm, super comfortable, and have lasted me through two tough winters! The only complaint I have is that the calf is HUGE. I don't think I have small calves, but when i wear these I feel like my legs are sticks! I usually wear thick socks with them, though, so that helps. Other than that, they are totally worth buying and I would definitely recommend them to a friend.
    Date published: 2011-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-11-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warmmm! Since I live in NY, I finally decided to get myself a pair of winter riding boots so I could feel my feet after I got done riding. These do take a bit to break in but once they do, they are extremely comfy! I find that I wear them everywhere, riding, the store, home, the barn, college. Plus, they're waterproof so I wore them to college to trek through all the snow. The only downside is that because I do a lot of trail riding in the winter, the boots scratched from branches easily. If this pair breaks, I'm definitely buying another pair.
    Date published: 2011-05-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love These Boots I grew up riding competitively and recently returned to riding after 20 years and took up fox hunting and hunter/ jumper showing. I bought these last winter for cold, wet, long days in the saddle and I LOVE THEM. The foot bed was comfortable from the first time I put them on. I like the slim lines and sole that looks like regular boots. My toes and feet stayed warm and tosty no matter how cold or how long we rode. So comfortable in the stirrup, no pain up your leg when you dismount. I'm 5'6", so at first, just like a leather boot, they were a little tall on the ground, but they broke down after three or so rides and were comfortable while mounted from the get go. I have continued using them into the spring, and even with the weather warming (60 to 70 degree days) my calves have been a bit sweaty but my feet remain dry and comfortable. I bought a scrub brush at the grocery store and after a long messy day some dish soap and a scrub and they look nice again. No problem with the zippers riding 2-4 times per week for 5 months. A tiny bit of leaking when I actually waded through water but never from rain or splashing through streams while mounted. I got lots of compliments in the field, and while I finally bit the bullett and bought leather dress boots as I returned to the show ring this spring, I felt fine my first few shows in these. I will continue to wear these for schooling and huning if its cold or wet for the simple fact that I don't have to polish them! No spur rests, so if you wear spurs you have to crank them down to keep them kind of in place, but that's my only issue.
    Date published: 2013-12-12
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not the best boot These boots do not fit well. I have a normal size leg and the calf on these boots are enormous. The inside of the leg is rough and would scratch the leather on my dressage saddle. The mountain horse sport riders are excellent boots, but I was disappointed in these boots.
    Date published: 2011-08-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic they seem a bit large n the foot area but it does leave room for an extra pair of socks . other than that they are great .
    Date published: 2011-02-03
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.