Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Mountain Horse Active Winter Rider Boot

Mountain Horse
- Item #18000

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Active Winter Rider boot has a super cozy and warm faux fur lining to keep you warm on your coldest riding days. Calf sizes regular to wide. Sizes 6-10.

The Leg:
Has a flack, faux fur lining. The YKK® Vislon side-fitted zipper is strong and durable to enhance the life of your boots. New elastic design along the side of the zipper has 50% more stretch.

The Foot:
The faux leather foot part is waterproof and has been tested to withstand one million flexes in -10 degree weather!

The Sole System:
Heel is fitted with shock-absorbing IPS™ system to reduce shock impact. Specially slim and contoured sole design is made especially for riding.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Mountain Horse Active Winter Rider Boot is rated 4.2143 out of 5 by 42.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decent Boots I needed warm winter riding boots that I could wear riding in the snow.  I didn't want anything bulky, and they needed to be comfortable.  My Ariat Brossard boots that I bought last year, though comfortable, are a little too short and get caught underneath my saddle flap when I'm riding.  These boots seemed to be more comfortable that the Ice Riders I tried on recently.  So far they seem to be keeping me warm in cold, snowy weather.  They are still a bit stiff.  I'm hoping they'll get more comfortable as they break in.
    Date published: 2013-12-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm boots bad Zipper I ride all day long in the winter outside at 6 to 30F in the mountains of Utah. I have bought many Mountain horse and Dublin boots. This is a warm boot. I did wear with wool socks and bout 1/2 size larger to accommodate since I ride 6-9hrs a day when I can.Cons-Zippers were stiff and failed in the 1st season of use. Zipper broke at the bottom of the boot so they were unusable after 4 months of use. Local saddle shop wanted way to much to repair them.
    Date published: 2013-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Winter Riding Boots I love these boots!! My feet were wicked warm, maybe almost to warm! I'm glad I bought them and would recommend them to anyone looking for a warm riding boot. They are easy to clean and appear to be water-proof.
    Date published: 2013-12-23
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Wished they would hold up longer I lived in these for two year. While I enjoyed these boots my first year, the second year they started to get rips around the foot so they were no longer waterproof. The zipper also broke. I also didn't feel very secure when I rode. But for the first year I was very toasty in NY's cold weather!
    Date published: 2013-12-23
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Painful! I would call these boots just ok. They do keep my daughters feet warm but she has to put padding on her ankle bones because they rub her ankles so badly even through thick socks. The fit is true to size and they fit her well which is why it surprised me when they rubbed holes in the skin of her ankles. The foot material is so hard and stiff, made worse by the cold, that they crimp inward for a very painful experience.
    Date published: 2013-12-23
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Painful Ankles! I've been looking for a pair of tall winter riding boots that fit a wide calf and after reading reviews & chatting with customer service, picked these.Unfortunately, the ankles were really painful at the intersection of the foot material and the boot shaft. The zippers had a small fabric flap in the exact area, which is likely to prevent rubs against your outer ankle bone.For me, the boot material bunched in that spot, painfully poking me right next to my ankles. There are other reviews that note the ankle issues and since it was mentioned that they didn't go away with time (like leather boots), I'm sending these back. Hoping MH will address the issue on their next model!
    Date published: 2014-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boot, great value I've only had these boots a few weeks but they are breaking in quickly and are nice and warm. Got them on sale and would highly recommend them. My last pair of Mountain Horse winter boots (different style) lasted 7 years+ and I'm still using them to muck stalls!
    Date published: 2013-12-23
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Only for real weather These are not appropriate for just riding around in a cold indoor ring and could NEVER be used for a show ring. They are very heavy and durable looking and would probably be great for riding outdoors in the cold, snow, rain etc. Also they do not offer a slim calf size and that's a real problem in a boot this chunky.
    Date published: 2013-12-23
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cold Feet Very well fitting boot and would be ok if you ride one horse and then are done. I ride and teach all day and by the 2nd horse my feet are already cold. If I stand and teach my feet are freezing. :( Very sad because I like the fit.
    Date published: 2013-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm Boots that Fit! When the Mountain Horse Active Rider boots went on sale I figured I would give them a try. With HUGE 18 1/2 inch calfs I didn't think I would be able to get any winter boots to fit and still look nice. Much to my surprise, these warm boots are a great fit in the foot and while snug, the wide calf size fits my calf. I have not ridden in them yet, but they are comfortable to walk around in and if the weather ever cooperates, I will ride in them. I do find the zippers to be a bit "sticky", but they seem to work easier each time I put the boots on. I have not worn them enough to be able to judge how well they will hold up, but I hope to be able to wear them for years to come.
    Date published: 2013-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great cold weather boot I purchased these boots 1 1/2 years ago. They have held up well for two winter seasons. I ride about 6 horses a day and the boots have kept my feet warm in frigid Wisconsin winter months. The only wear is on the top of the foot where there is a small hole (which may have been caused by my spur while kicking the boots off). The faux fur lining is great.. But has lost a bit of it's fluff on the foot bed due to the fact that I have walked and ridden in them for two seasons equivalent to 10 months for 6 hours a day. I have already purchased a second pair for next year.
    Date published: 2014-02-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Didn't keep the boots cuz they were too big. I have always worn a size 8 but these were way too big. I even bought some insoles and wore heavy sox but I'd have gotten a blister had I worn them any longer. Other than the size, they seemed like great boots...I will order them in a smaller size when the weather gets cold again...we're having a short respite from winter right now.
    Date published: 2013-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boots Purchased a size 8 could have worn a size 7 but can wear an extra pair of thick socks. They look great and the placement of zipper makes them easy on and off. Very durable. Would buy again.
    Date published: 2013-01-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice boot, but 2 tall 4 me I received this boot as a birthday gift. They looked great. I loved the faux fur lining. They run true to size. I wear a 8.5 so I ordered a 9 regular and it fit fine in the foot. Unfortunately the height of the boot prevented me from sitting in a comfortable position. I returned the Active Winter Rider. After reviewing the size charts for Mountain Horse winter boots the only boot I found that runs shorter is the Rimfrost Rider Tall Boot.
    Date published: 2013-01-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Winter Riding Boots! I purchased these boots after giving up on getting a Galway Extra Fit boot to fit my shoe size (one size too tight, the next size too large) and I wanted a boot I could ride in. My calves are boarder line Wide/Extra Wide and I was worried these would not fit, but they do and they are great winter riding boots. My feet were never cold even in bitterly cold weather with three feet of snow on the trails. I like that you can just hose and sponge them off after a muddy, snowy ride too! Though be careful not to direct water directly towards the zippers as they will leak water into the boot, so I guess fording icy streams in them is a no-go. They are not the most comfortable boots for walking due to a stiff heel cup that can irritate your ankle bones if you walk a long time in them. This may go away with time as it does with many boots once they are broken in, but they are riding boots, so one hopes not to have to walk long in them anyways. I love the spanish tops to the boots that elongate the leg. So many winter riding boots are short and dumpy, these have a nice sillouette. As to durability, I cannot really give a review because I have only been riding in them for a couple of weeks. THe zipper appears to be very durable and I hope it does hold up.
    Date published: 2013-01-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great after Christmas bargain! So far so good. Warm & comfy. Loud swishy sound if you happen to brush them against each other, sorta problematic if you walk around much while instructing.
    Date published: 2013-01-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from 2nd Pair of MH Boots I've had the Mountain Horse Rimfrost Rider for about 7 or 8 years, and JUST this winter the sole started separating so I decided to try a new boot. I have a really hard time fitting boots because my feet are huge (size 10) but I have tiny little chicken legs so calf widths are usually too wide. These are the narrowest MH winter boots I could find. They are a teeny bit too tall but as someone else said the top is soft and just folds over. Also as other people have said the ankle is a little stiff but I have only worn them once so maybe it will break in a little. I did ride in them for a little over an hour and it wasn't too big of a deal. The foot is much narrower than the foot on the Rimfrost rider which is nice - fits better in the stirrup. I have already gotten several compliments on the nice look.I tried on many winter boots before purchasing these and overall decided to go with these because of the narrower calf and the fact that they are all rubber and completely waterproof all the way up. Also, since my last pair of MH boots lasted so long I'm hoping these will too!
    Date published: 2013-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these boots for winter I live in Montana and ride outdoors or in a nonheated indoor arena all winter. I've used the MH Ice Riders, and these are much warmer for me, plus the Ice Rider zippers broke after one season. I am hoping these zippers last longer since they aren't at the back. They are very tall, a little too tall for me, but they are so soft on top, that the little bit of extra just folds over and doesn't bother me at all. From the first ride, these were comfortable. I'm usually about a 7 1/2 and I got the 7s and they fit well in the foot with wool socks. I have an average calf - not super wide, but definitely not narrow, and these fit me well. The foot looks bulky, but I didn't notice too much in the stirrup. My summer schooling boots are also MH, so maybe I'm just used to a bulkier foot. So far these are the best winter riding boots I've tried.
    Date published: 2012-12-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Waiting to see. Bought the model below the active riders last year, the zipper broke, the boot leaked, and I was pretty disappointed. So far I am liking this model, and the zipper is positioned differently so I feel it will last. So far no leaking has happened. I am so far happy I have these boots for this winter.
    Date published: 2012-10-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beyond Excellent! I bought these boots to keep my feet warm during the cold months and they work GREAT!! The fit is awesome they are so comfortable! I even where them when I am playing in the snow or getting the mail! They did have a little more tred on the sole than I was expecting so they got caught in my stirrup when I tried to dismount for the first time in them resulting in a moment of funny Embarrassment.
    Date published: 2012-02-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I just wish they were shorter! I really loved the way these boots fit in the foot and the leg, with the exception that they were way too tall so I had to send them back:( It is difficult finding boots that fit and are short enough. At 5'1" and a size 6.5. I wish they made them in a short height.
    Date published: 2012-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Winter Riding Boots Wow...never did I think that these would make sure a difference in my riding. I am very happy with this purchase.
    Date published: 2012-01-23
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Warm....but... This boot is made very well. I have worn for several hours and my feet were warm and dry. My only complaint is the stiffness of the shoe part. The area around the ankle, where the shaft meets the shoe is very stiff. I have been working the boot in an effort to soften, I hope it does because other than that, it's a great book.
    Date published: 2012-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellant boots I was skeptical at them keeping my feet warm as nothing ever does when I'm riding in the winter. This rock! I am very pleased with them and would recommend them to anyone that wants to continue to ride in cold weather.
    Date published: 2012-01-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice but killing my ankle Agree with another poster, when in doubt go smaller. Keep my feet warm, but KILLING my right ankle. Trying the idea of putting a clamp on the inside of it overnight to encourage it to bend in a different place. Will see today if it works. They are taller then my older Mountain Horse boots ( measurement is given in the info for boot). Fits in sturrup fine.
    Date published: 2012-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Winter Riding Boots! These boots are everything I hoped they would be. I needed winter boots for training and riding horses, as well as teaching riding lessons. These boots are very warm even though I get cold feet easily. I wore them for 10 hours straight in 27 degrees and they were fantastic. As long as you keep moving you will stay very warm. A+ for fit and comfort. The only complaint I have is that the zipper is difficult to zip up.
    Date published: 2011-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Winter Boots These are simply excellent winter riding boots. They are comfortable right out of the box and break in very quickly. For winter riding they cannot be beat. I have notoriously cold toes when I ride - before these I had tried numerous other boots and socks trying to prevent the terrible cold and numbness I felt when I rode in the winter. Then I found these. I can now use my regular summer socks and even after 3 hours in the saddle/walking around the barn, my toes are still warm and oh-so-happy. I've also found them to be very breathable, as I've never had an issue of sweating in them and getting wet and clammy. Fit can be a little difficult, they either fit you or they don't, but if they do fit, you will not be disappointed. Highly, highly recommend the Mountain Horse Active Winter Rider boots.
    Date published: 2012-01-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Unfortunate I bought these last december because I live in Western NY where it's super cold and mucky. I was a 10 in the Ice Riders so I ordered a 10 in these--I'm usually a 9. They are huge on my and even after almost a full year are still extremely stiff in the ankle. They're very warm but I can't walk without getting bruises on my heel and ankle areas. I would assume that getting a smaller size wouldn't help the stiffness much either.
    Date published: 2011-10-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Anazing These boots kept ms soooo warm!! The zipper in back makes them eazy to get on and off. The boots definatly make riding in the winter a bit more bareable.
    Date published: 2010-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from the perfect choice I LOVE THESE BOOTS! They are warm... comfortable.... great for riding & barn chorse.Love the slim fit, outer materials and fur inside!I wear an 8, they seemed a little big in the foot - but not so much that an extra insole or thick sock won't fix.Higly reccomend these boots!
    Date published: 2009-12-16
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.