Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Mountain Horse Active Winter Rider Boot

Mountain Horse
- Item #18000
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

With its super cozy and warm faux fur lining, the Active Winter Rider Boot is sure to keep you warm on your coldest riding days! 

Favorite Features

  • Warm faux fur lining
  • YKK® Vislon side-fitted zipper is strong and durable to enhance the life of your boots
  • Elastic design along the side of the zipper adds 50% more stretch
  • The faux leather foot is waterproof and has been tested to withstand one million flexes in -10 degree weather!
  • Heel is fitted with shock-absorbing IPS™ system to reduce shock impact
  • Slim and contoured sole design is made especially for riding
Sizing It Up

6-10.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Mountain Horse Active Winter Rider Boot is rated 4.16 out of 5 by 50.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Warm....but... This boot is made very well. I have worn for several hours and my feet were warm and dry. My only complaint is the stiffness of the shoe part. The area around the ankle, where the shaft meets the shoe is very stiff. I have been working the boot in an effort to soften, I hope it does because other than that, it's a great book.
    Date published: 2012-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellant boots I was skeptical at them keeping my feet warm as nothing ever does when I'm riding in the winter. This rock! I am very pleased with them and would recommend them to anyone that wants to continue to ride in cold weather.
    Date published: 2012-01-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice but killing my ankle Agree with another poster, when in doubt go smaller. Keep my feet warm, but KILLING my right ankle. Trying the idea of putting a clamp on the inside of it overnight to encourage it to bend in a different place. Will see today if it works. They are taller then my older Mountain Horse boots ( measurement is given in the info for boot). Fits in sturrup fine.
    Date published: 2012-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Winter Riding Boots! These boots are everything I hoped they would be. I needed winter boots for training and riding horses, as well as teaching riding lessons. These boots are very warm even though I get cold feet easily. I wore them for 10 hours straight in 27 degrees and they were fantastic. As long as you keep moving you will stay very warm. A+ for fit and comfort. The only complaint I have is that the zipper is difficult to zip up.
    Date published: 2011-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Winter Boots These are simply excellent winter riding boots. They are comfortable right out of the box and break in very quickly. For winter riding they cannot be beat. I have notoriously cold toes when I ride - before these I had tried numerous other boots and socks trying to prevent the terrible cold and numbness I felt when I rode in the winter. Then I found these. I can now use my regular summer socks and even after 3 hours in the saddle/walking around the barn, my toes are still warm and oh-so-happy. I've also found them to be very breathable, as I've never had an issue of sweating in them and getting wet and clammy. Fit can be a little difficult, they either fit you or they don't, but if they do fit, you will not be disappointed. Highly, highly recommend the Mountain Horse Active Winter Rider boots.
    Date published: 2011-11-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Unfortunate I bought these last december because I live in Western NY where it's super cold and mucky. I was a 10 in the Ice Riders so I ordered a 10 in these--I'm usually a 9. They are huge on my and even after almost a full year are still extremely stiff in the ankle. They're very warm but I can't walk without getting bruises on my heel and ankle areas. I would assume that getting a smaller size wouldn't help the stiffness much either.
    Date published: 2011-10-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Anazing These boots kept ms soooo warm!! The zipper in back makes them eazy to get on and off. The boots definatly make riding in the winter a bit more bareable.
    Date published: 2010-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from the perfect choice I LOVE THESE BOOTS! They are warm... comfortable.... great for riding & barn chorse.Love the slim fit, outer materials and fur inside!I wear an 8, they seemed a little big in the foot - but not so much that an extra insole or thick sock won't fix.Higly reccomend these boots!
    Date published: 2009-12-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not sure jet I used to ride in the MH Ice Riders, which fell apart after only three seasons.Trying the Active Winter Riders now. They are very wide in the calf for me. Wish they'd come in Narrow. However, the part where the leg meets the foot, is very narrow. The zipper isn't helping, since it runs to the side in that area. I think people with a high arch will have a real problem.They are stiff right now and are rubbing in the heel area when I am walking in them.Not sure about the warmth. I think the Ice Riders kept my feet warmer, and it's not even that cold jet. (30s)They certainly look good, not sure about the quality jet, but maybe they'll surprise me....
    Date published: 2009-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The perfect winter riding boot! Living in Michigan means extremely cold winters and lots of snow. These boots are perfect for the conditions. They are EXTREMELY comfortable, very warm, and fit perfectly. I generally have to get wide calf boots, but these boots have enough elastic to keep me in a regular calf. Plus, the elastic is great quality and retains its elasticity rather than just stretching out. Well worth the price!
    Date published: 2009-12-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for what it is I bought these because I always have numb feet when the temp drops below 50 degrees. I was hoping to find a warm pair of boots to keep my feet cozy this winter while I am on the ground and in the saddle. The boots are well made. Mountain horse did a good job with the quality. I am not wild about the synthetic upper, but I am not wild about almost every synthetic. It is functional. It keeps my feet warm. The boots were very stiff and the first few rides were comical. The sole was stiff and I found it hard to keep my heels down. They stayed waterproof and the have done their job, but fashion and function do not meld here.
    Date published: 2009-11-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great deal/comfort for winter boot I ordered a size 8, (I wear size 7 1/2) and they seemed a bit big. So before I returned them I ordered a size 7. Size 7 fits perfectly...so order down a size rather than up a size, unless you wear very, very thick socks. They are comfortable from the time you put them on and are warm. I just finished a clinic this week, terrible weather, low 30's, windy, damp and snow, decided to try the new boots out, my feet were warm (and I ride in thin socks) and I didn't even notice that I had new boots on. I would definitely recommend them.
    Date published: 2009-10-24
    • 2015-02-28T07:36CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_50
    • loc_en_US, sid_8000, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.