Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Korsteel French Mouth Eggbutt Snaffle

Korsteel
- Item #17989

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Korsteel bits are proven performers for all levels of training and competition. They are crafted from materials of the highest quality. 13mm mouthpiece.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Korsteel French Mouth Eggbutt Snaffle is rated 4.8182 out of 5 by 33.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit Not sure if there's much variation in quality for bits but this one is just fine. My horse is much happier in this style of bit that the broken mouth loose ring snaffle we were using. I've only been using it a few months but so far I have no complaints.
    Date published: 2012-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent bit at a good price I've used French snaffles on all my horses for years and all have gone well in them. The Korsteel bits are reasonably priced and last forever. This one is a replacement for one I've misplaced.
    Date published: 2012-11-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bit is Good Value for Money but I purchased this bit for my tender mouthed QH. The bit is very well made but a tad heavy. I returned it for a lighter, 16mm bit.
    Date published: 2014-04-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice bit nice bit, rings are well proportioned, smooth finish
    Date published: 2012-10-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great baby bit I went to this bit after breaking my WB and he started fussing with any type of standard snaffle bit. The key makes him happy and he hasn't fussed at all. Not harsh but he has brakes and so far no squeaks from the eggbutt portion. This is a very good all around bit.
    Date published: 2012-08-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit! A nice solid bit that fits well, and cleans up great!
    Date published: 2012-08-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good purchase This bit is very gentle. My horse responds very well now. I would recommend this bit to a friend.
    Date published: 2012-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from First bit I bought, still using today! This bit has been an excellent value. It's soft and comfortable for my horse, and I like the feel and know it's never sharp in her mouth. Always cleans up great, never squeaky or dull colored. No signs of wear after several years of use.
    Date published: 2012-06-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse looks forward to being bitted! This is the second Korsteel French Eggbutt bit I've purchased. It's for his new Plymouth Elite Dressage Bridle. It's the only bit he's ever worn since he began training. When I unbridle him he holds onto the link and plays with it before turning loose the bit! He thinks it's great and so do I.
    Date published: 2012-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase I purchased this bit for my sensative TB who needed a change. So far he is doing much better and seems softer and happier in this bit. Good quality and is a great purchase for the price.
    Date published: 2012-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! Before this bit my gelding was resistant to the bit and I had a hard time getting him to soften and relax. I switched him over to this bit and I'm getting flexion at the poll, his mouth is quiet and he is salivating nicely. Absolutly wonderful bit. I would definatley recommend this for any horse with a soft mouth!
    Date published: 2011-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-09-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy I switched my horse from a regular single joint snaffle to the french mouth and he responds even better. The Korsteel is great quality for a great price.
    Date published: 2011-08-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Bit Overall, I'm very happy with this purchase. A good price for a good bit. It looks and feels very nice. Seems to run true to size.
    Date published: 2011-06-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! I decided to try this bit on my 15yr old Tb who really fights the D-ring snaffle that I rode him in. I would also have a hard time putting the bridle on bc he just didn't want the bit in. From first time I tried the eggbutt frenchlink he began fighting the bit less and is more pleasant to ride. He also lets me put the bit in with no problem. I really like this bit and will purchase another one in the future.
    Date published: 2011-03-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Quality, Good Price This bit has a good ergonomic shape, a good weight, and comes at a very reasonable price-well worth it.
    Date published: 2011-01-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Bit Great for schooling horses that don't need much bit in their mouth. Cleans easy and still looks new.
    Date published: 2010-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bit I bought this bit for my Morab, Tuff. He would shake his head and not give to pressure in the other snaffle I was using on him. This bit has helped him so much! He goes super well in it, and it never causes him pain like his other one did. A great bit, especially for smaller mouthed horses like my Tuff.
    Date published: 2010-12-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I was looking for! I have been toying with bits on my fussy half arab pony mare for awhile. I knew I wanted a 3 piece eggbutt and so I decided to try this one out first... and well this is the only bit I will use for now on. The head tossing and jerking has reduced by 80% within the first ride. Very pleased!
    Date published: 2010-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Korsteel French Mouth Eggbutt Bit was just what I needed, both of my horses hate traditional snaffles, but they do very good in these. I've used this one less than a month, but have another one just like it that I have been sharing between the two horses and that got old real quick so purchased a second.
    Date published: 2013-11-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent buy! This bit is true to size, built well and is great for keeping them soft and quiet. Quality exceeds price! An excellent buy =)
    Date published: 2010-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Bit Purchased this to start riding english. My horse loves it. Very well made and a good weight. I like the fact that it does not hit the roof of your horses mouth as a snaffle can do. Good all around bit.
    Date published: 2010-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bit! I have a 3yo TB in training. He loves this bit and his mouth stays more quiet and soft then his previous rubber snaffle. It fits his mouth nicely and does not take up a lot of room. I also like that it does not have the "nutcracker" action of a regular snaffle and this bit lays on his tongue well.The only issue I have is the bit seems a little long (as in length wise). I ordered a 5" and received a size five (it is marked 5" on the bit) but the bit is more like 5 1/4". He is kind of mouthy so will probably put a drop noseband on him. I am hoping that will help keep the bit in place better and the length will not be as much an issue. Otherwise I highly recommend this bit for working with a young horse.
    Date published: 2009-10-26
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.