Product Image
Additional Views

SmartMetabo-Lean™ Pellets (formerly SmartControl IR)

SmartSupplements by SmartPak
- Item #17885
Form: Pellets
Maintenance Dose: 2 SmartPak Wells



NEW SmartMetabo-Lean Pellets are designed to help manage insulin resistance, a condition that is part of Equine Metabolic Syndrome, and frequently associated with obesity. This comprehensive formula supports healthy metabolic function by providing ingredients such as chromium and magnesium to support proper insulin function, along with vitamin E and other antioxidants to combat oxidative stress. Also includes cinnamon and bitter melon to help maintain healthy blood sugar levels. Along with diet and exercise, SmartMetabo-Lean Pellets may help your horse achieve and maintain a healthy weight. These tasty beet pulp-based pellets are perfect for horses being fed little to no grain.

View our Metabolic Supplement Comparison Chart

View Product Label

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    SmartMetabo-Lean™ Pellets (formerly SmartControl IR) is rated 4.5825 out of 5 by 206.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seeing results My mare has been on this product for a little over a month. She seemed to be gaining weight very easily, cranky, and was having a lot of abcesses in her feet(every few weeks). She has started to lose some weight through her belly and seems to have more energy.
    Date published: 2014-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than expected My two morgans got overweight this summer with too much rich pasture. They both developed cresty necks and fat pockets seemingly overnight. I tried the SmartControl IR hoping for fast results, but not really expecting them to come. However, I was pleasantly surprised. They have been on the supplement now for about 3 months along with reduced pasture time. Their weight is back to where they were before the issues and their cresty necks and fat pockets are gone. Very happy with the results.
    Date published: 2014-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seems to be working! I have been giving this to my mare for about six weeks now and have seen great improvements. She was overweight and had a very cresty neck. Since beginning this supplement, she has had better success losing the extra weight and her crest has decreased dramatically. Her feet are looking better also. She had seedy toe and recurrent episodes of mild laminitis. So far, we have not had another episode and her white line appears tighter. She is also on limited grazing and eats a forage based diet with no grains. However, the improvements only really became noticeable after being on this supplement for a few weeks.
    Date published: 2013-12-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from i m on my 2nd month of using this product...as of yet , i havent noticed a change in weight on my pony, although its hard.to tell with her winter coat anyway. shes not laminatic, just fat, having fat where its not supposed to be... i ll continue using the smart control IR pellets as it might take a while to see progress.
    Date published: 2013-12-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy horse! I purchased this supplement after recieving a horse who had been a poorly maintained chronic founderer. My horse was over-weight, had terrible feet, and a HUGE cresty neck! After being on this supplement just a short while her neck is already diminishing in size and she is moving around better than she has in years. She is a much happier horse, not to mention she gets to enjoy a little something special during meal time like the rest of the horses.
    Date published: 2013-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from helped my horse I started giving this to my laminitic horse that has EMS about 2 months ago. She is way more comfortable now and I'm even riding her lightly.
    Date published: 2013-09-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from miracle I read about carnitine in USDF Connections last month and could not get this stuff quick enough. Max has EPSM and within 3 days of this he feels better, cramps less and loves his work more!
    Date published: 2013-11-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to be working Have been using this product this summer to see if it helped my old boy through the heat. I also body clipped him because he never sheds out slick. He has had a much better summer than last year. Has not dropped weight and has been more active. He has a problem with chronic laminitis and has not had any hoof abcesses this summer. Just acts like he feels better.
    Date published: 2013-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very fast results My 22yo APHA gelding lost 2" on his neck within the first month of using SmartPak IR pellets. He continues to have a slimmer neck and less dimples from fatty tissue on his rump as he stays on this supplement.
    Date published: 2013-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Keeper My 20 yr.old QH mare is a very easy keeper, as such I have to watch what she is fed. They are out on grass, Coastal in warm weather and winter rye in the winter months, for at least half a day and get a Timothy/grass mix hay that is fed through a nibble net. The IR pellets helps keep her system stable, which is important to me. Ashley gets on-line Parelli and light riding as my arthritus limits me.Having Smart Paks delivered each month makes feeding her a supplement so easy. Smart Pak has high quality products, many of my friends shop via Smart Pak
    Date published: 2013-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Still using cause its still working My horse is on a double dose of the Smart control IR pellets cause he was so fat and Thyroid meds didn't help, though the meds did bring my horse's T3 and T4 levels into the normal range. He is off of thyroid meds and I can't say if the IR pellets helped, but I know I will keep him on them forever if they continue to help with his weight management. He is 17.2 and people would say how big he was, not how tall he was. Now everyone says how great he looks. He's dappled and has lots of energy.
    Date published: 2013-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helpful Purchase The product has been beneficial to a horse with Cushings and another who tends to hover toward being "full" figured. It registers on their blood panels.
    Date published: 2013-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-08-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and Definite Results! Thank you, SmartPak, for making an appealing IR supplement that really works! I have a QH that was very overweight, with a very hard, cresty neck and extra padding around the tail withers (heck, extra padding everywhere!). I put him on a restricted diet in the Spring and he definitely dropped weight, but I did not see much reduction in his neck and tail area. I put him on this product about 1 month ago and I've really noticed results! His neck is no longer rock hard and it is less cresty! I put my miniature donkeys on it about 1 week ago and I'm starting to notice results with them too!
    Date published: 2013-11-13
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from no changes I didn't see any change in my mare's fat on her neck or her rump. I would not reorder this product.
    Date published: 2013-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smartpak IR Formula I think this product is helping my mini donkey! He's been on it for about 6 weeks- he shed out, his feet aren't sore and he is shiny! He will actually eat it too! We still need to get his weight in a better place, but we are on the way!
    Date published: 2013-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent results I have a COPD, metabolic pony, who has foundered, on this product for 4 weeks and notice he has more energy and has lost weight. His coat is shiny and also, his lungs seem clearer. Love the product! I am also putting my quarter horse on it as well.
    Date published: 2013-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Requested a Sample First! My retired 4th level dressage horse, now in her 20's, was recently diagnosed with Cushions Disease to add to her woes as a VERY easy keeper. Looking at add chromium to her magnesium, I purchased a supplement which she would not eat. Speaking with a SmartPak representative, I requested a sample of SmartControl IR which arrived soon after. My horse ate the pellets without issue so I'm ordering more.Thank you for the sample! What a great service!
    Date published: 2013-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Noticeable Improvement My mare, an extremely easy-keeper, continued to gain/maintain excessive weight even with dietary restrictions and exercise; she had a thick, hard neck and fatty deposits on her rump and around the tail head. In addition to her metabolic imbalance, she grass foundered. For several months, SmartControlIR pellets have been fed in addition to proper veterinary/farrier care and controlled nutrition. The mare is now maintaining a healthy weight; has a shiney coat and is sound to ride. I think SmartControlIR pellets played an important part in her recovery and plan to continue using them.
    Date published: 2013-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I use for cresty Morgan cross! I use this for my easy keeping cresty Morgan cross mare. I want to prevent any problems, because she fits the Insulin Resistant profile. I can't tell if it works because she hasn't had issues, but I trust SmartPak and their ingredients. I plan to keep her on it indefinitely.
    Date published: 2013-06-23
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from I didnt see a difference I used this for several months with my pony, and I didnt see any decrease in his fatty deposits, or body score. Hope it works for you, but I cant recommend it from my experience.Also in reviewing his supplements I noticed the fine print on the product info that it says "not for long term use". So given lack of positive result, I discontinued it.
    Date published: 2013-06-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for a fussy eater Only been using this for a month or so, so I'm not sure yet if its working. I liked the samples they sent to make sure my fussy eater liked it before I purchased.,
    Date published: 2013-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great! We found out our new pony was IR during the pre-purchase exam. We started him immediately on a proper diet and this supplement. Within 1 month, he lost the fat rolls on his hips (fist sized), lost approximately 75lbs, and has started to lose his cresty neck. He has now been on it for 3 months. His condition is excellent. We are still working on his cresty neck but it is continuing to improve.
    Date published: 2013-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from soundness this supplement helps keep my old (30yo) 18hd hanovrian moving. He founders and winters are very hard, but ir control really makes a difference.
    Date published: 2013-12-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome Product!!! I have a mare that has laminitis from winter pasture. We tried for 2 months with changing diet and special shoeing to get her sound again with little success. I read up on the IR supplement and decided to give it a try. After only 2 weeks on the supplement my vet did a check and she was so much better with her hoof test and her overall personality. Its been 1 1/2 months now on the supplement and she has been released for normal workouts. I had to get creative with hiding it in her other feed as she didn't like the taste but I figured it out and we are good. I am so impressed with this product that i would recommend to anyone to try it!!! Thank you smartpaks!!
    Date published: 2013-12-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Horse would not eat......... I ordered IR Control because my horse was diagnosed with Insulin Resistance and I thought that the magnesium, chromium, zinc, etc. would help get his metabolic system on track. The first day or two, he ate most of his grain (which was very minimum) and then refused - I even cut down to just one well with no luck and then just a sprinkling of the IR. Now, I am still having trouble getting him to eat any grain at all.I guess that it would be an okay product if your horse would eat it, and believe me, before this, this horse had never refused anything or any kind of grain or hay.
    Date published: 2013-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I have been using this product from about 1 year. It has totally controlled the problem with my gelding. I also am giving it to his half sister because last spring she gained a lot of weight and would not lose it so in panic mode I started her on it. She now does not gain weight to the point I worry about her. Yeah!
    Date published: 2013-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Founder Preventative I used this product on a horse that had foundered and after an expensive vet visit, wasn't getting any better. It actually reversed the inflammation in his feet and made him sound again. I have to keep him on it now permanently as a preventative, and it works. Less expensive than a vet visit!
    Date published: 2013-12-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Product I moved my horse from Wisconsin down to Kentucky last year during the winter. Approaching spring and summer the barn manager advised me about the grass and how fat he would get; I didn't believe her. My horse got really fat and it happened so fast. He got fat pockets everywhere and was active very lethargic and just not himself. He is a 13 year old Arabian/Quarter horse that just wasn't acting his usual nosy self. I found out about this product and was willing to give it a try; I am so happy I did. I started him on this supplement and moved him into a stall and after two weeks that was such a tremendous improvement in him. He was happier and has more energy and getting back to his pushy self. He has been on this supplement for just under two months now and acts like he is 6 again! He has lost weight and everyone thinks he is looking so good.Use this product, it worked for me and my boy, it can work for you too!!
    Date published: 2013-04-10
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.