Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

The Original Bit Butter

Item #17742

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Original Bit Butter's special formulation provides soothing care to replenish moisture for dry, callused, unresponsive areas of your horse's mouth. Enriched with a “Mouth Softening Complex,” this palatable blend of natural butters, essential oils and unique flavor encourages acceptance and improves focus on the bit! 4 oz. Made in the USA

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    The Original Bit Butter is rated 4.0625 out of 5 by 16.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Useful product I feel better about putting the double bits in my horse's mouth using Bit Butter. The corners of her mouth are no longer cracked and now she cooperates when I apply it. She knows the taste is pleasant and that she will be more comfortable!
    Date published: 2012-04-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really happy with this product I needed something for my horse that has a very sensitive mouth but have not been able to find something that works or that she will let me put regularly on her. Though the consistency was not what I was expecting, it is pretty much like chap stick for horses and she really seems to not mind me rubbing it on her mouth. Very happy I was able to find something to help!
    Date published: 2011-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from better than Vaseline This has been very healing for my mare's mouth where she had a tear. I will continue to use as a preventative.
    Date published: 2011-11-29
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not sure it makes a difference I read some of the other reviews that said that horses loved the taste of this stuff, im not sure how that is true because I tasted the stuff myself and it didnt really taste like anything at all, it has a light smell but that is it. Also it does not have a buttery consistency as the name would imply, its quite hard and thus a little difficult to get enough on the bit. My horse didnt realy care either way.
    Date published: 2011-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice product I've use the bit butter on and off again. I will say my horse loves the taste. It helps keep his mouth soft and he foams and drools more with this.
    Date published: 2011-03-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Didn't quite work for me I tried this because I had a problem with the bit rubbing at various places on my horse. I had this problem with many different sizes and shapes of bits (she has very sensitive skin).I tried this Bit Butter with high hopes but it didn't seem to help my problem and although it smells nice, my horse didn't seem to care for it. I thought I was imagining it when she salivated much less until I saw someone else make the same comment.I'd still recommend it to someone to try it if they had a chafing situation but it didn't work for me.
    Date published: 2010-06-14
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from My horses hated it My mare usually has a mouth that looks as though it was sprayed with whipped cream, but with the bit butter, she didn't get foamy at all. Also, I ordered this via the print catalog so I did not realize it contained soybean oil. I have a soy allergy, so I had to use latex gloves to apply the product. This product was not a pleasant experience.
    Date published: 2009-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-11-15
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.