Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Plymouth Padded Fancy Stitch Bridle by SmartPak

SmartPak
- Item #17734

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).


Plymouth bridles are crafted in imported leather with fine details and stainless steel hardware at an unbeatable value.  Traditional styling and unprecedented quality in this price range.  Available exclusively at SmartPak. 

Padded fancy stitch bridle with excellent detail at an unbeatable price - you will be amazed at the quality and craftsmanship and an unheard of price.  Traditional styling with delicate fancy stitching on 3/4” brow and 5/8"noseband. Hook stud ends and stainless steel hardware with 1/2” cheeks.  Complete with 5/8” plain laced reins.
Size:  Pony, Cob, Full, O/S
Color: Brown

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Plymouth Padded Fancy Stitch Bridle by SmartPak is rated 4.633 out of 5 by 109.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Beautiful bridle that looks great on my horse, leather was a little stiff at first but fairly easy to break in.
    Date published: 2013-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great leather, great price For being made in India, this bridle is made really well. I'm very happy with the leather quality. I got a Cob size for my five year old NSH mare who is 15hh. Everything fits her great, except for the nose band. It is always on the first of second hole, and when I first tried it on, I thought I wouldn't be able to buckle it! My mare has a weird face to fit, and it is the first bridle I have found that fits her well everywhere!
    Date published: 2013-09-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice bridle I purchased this bridle to be able to put another 'show bit' on since I show several horses. I was pleased with the look and the quality. Can be used for everyday and show without the huge price tag.
    Date published: 2013-08-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely bridle The perfect hunter/jumper/eq schooling bridle! Very good quality. A friend of mine commented, "THIS is your schooling bridle???" thinking that it was too nice for the job! Hardly needed oiling. Could even make it in the show ring if you're on a budget.
    Date published: 2013-08-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for schooling I use this bridle for everyday schooling. It is definitely suitable for low level showing (local, schooling, or "C" shows) but I have an expensive show bridle that I invested in. The padding on the noseband goes all the way around, which is very rare to find in a bridle. I got it plated and while the plate was well done and tightly secured, it was awkwardly off to the side a little bit. My 16.2 dutch warmblood wears a full size in this bridle. Nice bridle, quality leather. If you are looking for a bridle in this price range, I would definitely go with this one.
    Date published: 2013-07-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle! I read all the reviews I could find on pony bridles before i bough this one. It's great. Great value, nice looking bridle... Wonderful. So glad we picked this one!
    Date published: 2013-07-10
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Broke after 4 weeks I thought I'd update my original review now that we've been using the bridle for about 4 weeks. It has been cleaned, conditioned, and oiled several times, used for light w/t riding by a child on a medium pony...and after about 15 rides the throatlatch is breaking off where the buckle end comes off the headstall.I realized when I bought an $80 bridle it would probably not last years and years but I definitely expected more than a month out of it. Very disappointed.
    Date published: 2013-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! I ride mainly western but I do show English now and again. I love this bridle! It looks stunning on my horse and the quality for the price is awesome.
    Date published: 2013-07-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good purchase for the $ This is an economy bridle, but I was pleased with the quality and looks given the price - better than I expected. Would recommend.
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT BRIDLE. Cannot go wrong. I ordered this bridle and I was thinking the leather would be cheap and maybe the reins wouldn't be long enough. When it came in the mail it was completely dis-assembled (which was the only negative encounter I have had with this bridle), but other than that this bridle is amazing! I was shocked at the quality of the leather! All you need to do is condition/oil up the leather to make it a little more supple and you are good to go! The reins are long which is perfect considering my horse is huge 16.2++! My horse really responded well to the bridle! The bridle has EXCELLENT leather padding making it comfortable for your horse! This bridle is great for schooling and showing! I would recommend this to anyone! It looks like you would pay a lot more for a bridle...once you see it in person! Do yourself and your horse a favor by ordering this bridle! You won't regret it!
    Date published: 2013-06-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Bridle I bought this based on the reviews and they were all right!! Soft leather right out of the package and matches my new Stubben Ebony colored saddle perfectly! Thank you SmartPak .. Excellent buy for the price!
    Date published: 2013-06-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice bridle, strange sizing I got this for a 13.2 h Welsh X pony with a fairly dainty head in a Pony size. The throatlatch is on the smallest hole, but the noseband is tight. Weird. Seems like a nice quality bridle, though.
    Date published: 2013-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No breaking in! This is a beautiful bridle for the price. The leather is already nice and soft and needs no breaking in. Padding is great for my TB. Fits him perfect.
    Date published: 2013-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent bridle for the money This bridle is surprisingly nice for the price! It oils up very nicely (I used Walsh oil) and is nice and soft. The fit is slightly odd in that I think it is made to fit a wide range of horses. My horse is a TB with a pretty standard sized head. The throatlach is on the last (tightest hole) and that just barely makes it snug enough. The cheek pieces are about mid-way down, though, so the fit there is great. The noseband also fits great. The browband is a bit large, but not noticeable when riding. The standard size reins are a bit short. I wish I would have gotten the longer reins.Overall, this is a really nice bridle for the money. The leather and workmanship is much nicer than I was expecting, and the bridle really does look nice on. I'd buy it again, and I'd recommend it to others.
    Date published: 2013-04-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from pleasantly surprised i purchased this bridle for several reasons: 1. it matches my stubben saddle in ebony, 2. price, 3. other reviews and recommendations swayed me. it fits my 16.3 hand wb cross nicely in the full size. it accepts oil well, looks great on him, i really like the roller buckles on the noseband. the stitching is impressive for a bridle at this price point. the leather keepers are a bit hit or miss at this point-i think once i get a few more coats of oil-then they'll be fine. the dye on the reins has rubbed off a little bit and the reins are wee bit stiff for my liking but nothing a little oil, cleaning, and conditioning won't fix but for day to day-i swapped out the reins for my other reins that i like better. i would buy this bridle again for sure-i like it much better than my harwich bridle..
    Date published: 2013-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Plymouth Bridle This is a very nice bridle for the price. The nose and brow bands were very soft. The reins are stiff, like all new reins. They will require more treatment.
    Date published: 2013-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from perfect bridle Bought this bridle for my new OTTB. With just buying a new horse I did not have much money in my budget to really splurge on an expensive one but I found this bridle looks just as good! I plan on schooling and showing with it. I like the rich dark color. After riding in it for the past month or so I found it has broken in nicely. I have received alot of comments about it at the barn and I even think a couple of the girls are going to get their own!
    Date published: 2013-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice bridle, great value! Very nice bridle. It is very stiff when it first comes but has loosened up after a few oils. It looks great on my mare and the stitching is lovely and flawless! I can already tell that it will last for a long time!Also it doesn't dry out quickly like a lot of other tack does.
    Date published: 2013-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice Very, very, pretty and looks/feels high quality to me. It came (to my dismay) completely disassembled, but that made it easier to condition it right away, which it definitely needed. The reins were very squeaky, but after conditioning it just once, there was no squeak and the leather was super nice. I'm stoked that I was able to get my hands on such a nice looking bridle without having to spend too much.
    Date published: 2013-03-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Bridle This bridle looks lovely in the show ring. The leather keepers are a bit big on the cheek piece and don't stay in place unless they are oiled. That has been my only problem. I would recommend.
    Date published: 2013-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVE THIS BRIDLE. Honestly if you want a bridle that's durable and good looking, then this is your bridle! Horse-size fits my 16.2 Holsteiner perfectly. Obviously bridles are stiff when you first buy them, but oiling and cleaning tack is like my religion. This bridle has become so supple and soft, but oiling and cleaning is a MUST. Oh and its totally show quality (and I show in Wellington), I just swap the reins when I wanna show in it. (:
    Date published: 2013-02-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Schooling Bridle I bought 2 of these bridles for my twin daughter's ponies. Both ponies are 12.3hh POAs. I think the bridle runs a little smaller, but it worked for my boys. I run a riding program, and have used several different tack brands over the years. For a basic schooling bridle this is excellent.
    Date published: 2013-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for Show or School! I purchased this bridle for my two year old that I showed in Hunter Breeding. I was surprised with the wonderful quality and expensive feel to the leather. It was a little darker than I had expected, but nonetheless looked stunning on my solid bay filly. I recently started riding her in the last couple months and the reins are nicer than I had originally realized. The braided reins are thick and braided beautifully. I would recommend this bridle to anyone looking for that fancy stitch padded look on a budget cause the quality is amazing. I included a picture of Field Trip wearing the bridle at a show this last summer. It had been oiled about three times.
    Date published: 2012-12-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice Bridle I got this bridle for Christmas and it is beautiful. The leather is a tiny bit stiff and I am sure once I ride in it a few times it will be very soft. The padding is very soft and the stitched is very pretty.I can't say to the durability or the sizing yet but I will post another review once I now :)
    Date published: 2012-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle I recently purchased this bridle for use for schooling and local low level shows. This bridle is super nice. This stitching is really fine and it looks like it is worth much more than it it. Padding is soft. Reins were rather stiff out of the box and softened a little after being soaked in Neatsfoot oil compound, still not quite as soft as I would like them but I think they will soften with time. The rest of the bridle was very soft and supple. This bridle does run on the smaller side. My horse is a large cob and this bridle barely fit him on the largest holes with the noseband being too high for my liking. I was riding almost on the buckle with my reins at normal length. My bridle also came with a couple scratches and a break in the lacing, but I assume this is just a random occurence and SmartPak is hooking me up with a new bridle in the Full size. I would definitely recommend this product to anyone looking for a very high quality bridle for an affordable price for schooling or showing.
    Date published: 2012-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another Review I have already written a review, but I thought I may add a picture of this bridle, after about six months of use. It's still beautiful, easy to clean and soft.
    Date published: 2012-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle for So Cheap! Okay. This bridle is beautiful and I was so happy with the price. It became perfectly supple after the second conditioning and it is so well made. For so cheap I was sure I would be able to find a mistake in the craftsmanship, but it's flawless. I love this bridle and can tell that I'll have it for many years. It's great that it comes with reins, but I'll admit I'm buying new ones. These ones shredded my hands when my horse ripped them out of my hands while bucking (Lots and lots of fun...), and they slip readily out of my hands so I have to keep an iron grip on them and I like to have supple hands. I don't know. Personal preference. But these will make a great backup rein and they are very attractive. I'm also not a big fan of having PLYMOUTH stamped on it in multiple places either, but for the money, it's a STEAL. I would have bought this bridle without the reins so I am very happy to get them, I'm just being critical to give you a heads up. If you are thinking about getting this bridle, I highly recommend it! It's worth every penny!
    Date published: 2012-11-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from i thought that this bridle would be cheap for its price but when i opened the box it was beautiful and supple right away. I would recommend this to everyone.
    Date published: 2012-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful purchase! Thank you Smart Pak! I use this bridle on my lesson horse and students use it on him at schooling shows. It is a very affordable option for my business budget. Has held up extremely well and was super soft leather right from the start. It has been in use for two years now and looks like it came out of the box. Bought a O/S for my 17 Appaloosa/TB cross and the throatlatch was too big but there was room to punch two additional holes.
    Date published: 2012-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible value I first bought this bridle for my daughter's pony. I used it for both schooling and small schooling shows. It has held up great for three years and looks great still. The leather is good quality, better than some costing two or three times as much. I bought this for my two other horses as a schooling bridles and have been nothing but happy. Incredible bridle for the money!
    Date published: 2012-11-06
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.