Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Dubarry Galway Boot

Dubarry USA, LLC
- Item #17708

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Dubarry Galway Boot is the original waterproof, breathable boot from Dubarry, perfect all purpose outdoor footwear for any weather. Raved about in Europe for years due to the unique marriage of function, durability and style that has been a hallmark of Dubarry since 1937. Used for a variety of outdoor pursuits from equestrian pursuits to dog walking or country lifestyle and from hunting to winter fashion. Imported.

Favorite Features

  • Full Gore-Tex® lining provides complete waterproofing
  • DryFast-DrySoft™ exterior leather offers protection, comfort, temperature control, durability and style.
  • Treated exterior allows you to rinse mud and muck from your boots with a hose!
  • PU/Rubber sole, unique to Dubarry boots, is direct injection molded to the upper to ensure a proper seal for superior function.
Sizing It Up

Because of the wider instep and roomier design, please consider sizing down if you are in between sizes. 

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Dubarry Galway Boot is rated 4.704 out of 5 by 125.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Dubarry boots not made in Ireland My Galway boots arrived. I ordered after the word "Ireland" appeared repeatedly in the advertising. So did the image of quality by Irish crafts persons. The warning to not ride wearing Dubarry Galway boots is not prominent in the advertising or in the papers contained in the packaging.The boots are stamped "Made in Portugal." I feel deceived.: .
    Date published: 2014-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Design and Craftmanship This was a gift from my husband. They are spectacular, beautiul leather. I am sure that I will enjoy for years to come.
    Date published: 2013-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Value! I bought a pair of Dubarry Galway's a year ago and have worn them daily for at least two hours for 10 of the 12 months I've owned them. I took a 1-2 month break in the hottest months of the summer, but other than that, I wear them everyday at the barn. I do barn chores in them; walk all over the property in them; groom horses in them, etc. Although they are not intended for riding, I have worn them a few times on gentle hacks.I did not care for them as conscientiously as I should have done in the first few months I owned them. I did clean, waterproof & condition them with Dubarry's products, but only once in the first 6 months or so. Since then, I've been more careful, because I noticed they were beginning to show more wear than I wanted. But treating them has brought them right back. They look great and continue to be comfortable ,versatile, and worth every penny.I do strongly recommend using boot trees, or they will sag at the ankles.
    Date published: 2014-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots!! I love these boots! I had looked at them online for about a year but was hesitant about the price. The boots are wonderful. I wear them all the time and get compliments every time I wear them.
    Date published: 2013-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most Amazing Boots Ever!! I have wanting these boots for quite a while and I have been doing my research on them and other boots and I could never get them out of my head. I finally bought the Black and Brown color and I LOVE them. I recently just wore them to Region 3 Dressage Championships and everybody loved them, they are super comfy and kept my feet nice and warm. They are a little expensive but they are so worth it.
    Date published: 2013-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these boots I bought both the Dublins and these Dubarry's in the hopes that the lower priced Dublins would be fine....The shoe part of the Dubarry boot feels just right for my foot, it is supportive and comfortable. I do not feel as though I am slipping around (as with muck boots or the Dublin's) and I could ride or walk a lot in them. The uppers being actually waterproof vs water resistant is a bigger deal. And the soles, well the Dubarry's have a sole that will grip much better in the mud I encounter than the Dublin's. And I end up having a lot of mud on my farm during our rainy season. Sometimes I drop into these sinkholes....lots of wild times in the mud thanks to the sheep having lambs in the rain! My muck boots lasted 3 glorious years before the new Livestock Guardian Dog chewed them up (they were indispensable) , my bad for leaving them out. These I will not leave out. These gorgeous boots could be worn to town, on my farm, riding, walking - everything. I love them. They are the ones that I kept, despite the price. I cannot speak to durability as they are brand new. I am looking forward to the adventures to come striding comfortably and confidently in them.
    Date published: 2014-02-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not worth it I bought these boots at AECs in Georgia, even after a few people told me not to. They lasted about two months before the stitching started to come apart and the leather started to dry rot. Did they tell you you aren't supposed to ride in them? No, well you're not. Did they tell you not to muck stalls in them? Did they tell you not to bathe horses in them? No? Guess what, you're not. I cleaned mine every day after I wore them, with the stuff they give you, and they still fell apart. They look good but other than fashion, they do not last. You would think for the price that these boots would be indestructible... nope! A friend of mine, a few months earlier, stopped at the Dubarry booth at Rolex to see if they could have hers fixed where the stitching had come apart. Not only did they tell her the stuff they don't tell you when you buy them- don't ride, don't muck, don't bathe...don't breathe- they then blamed her for not knowing this and not taking care of them. Don't waste your money, the knock off's are better quality and won't dry rot on you...
    Date published: 2014-03-19
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor quality, bad company response (dubarry) Stitching came apart after 5 months of minimal wear (1x/week). Dubarry refused to honor their warranty, their assessor said it was because they were used to ride horses. NOT.
    Date published: 2013-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Boots Ever I love these boots. They are comfortable, beautiful, and functional. I have had them for 9 months, they were a Christmas gift, and I get compliments on them all the time. They held up to real British weather without an issue for 3 weeks, and I can ride in them too!
    Date published: 2013-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Boots Ever! I bought these about 10 months ago, at the begining of the rainy season and my feet have been warm and dry ever since. I used them through the winter to walk dogs through the muddy Woodside Horse Park and I never slipped or got wet. One of the best purchases I have made.
    Date published: 2013-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth EVERY penny!! A spectacular investment, the Dubarry Galway boot offers unrivaled comfort. Better than your favorite slippers, you'll never want to take them off. Soft, cozy, inviting. Absolute perfection from the first moment you slip them on. You'll actually SAVE money by investing in the Dubarrys, as you'll have no desire to purchase any other footwear. Plus, you'll be so blissfully happy that you can fire the therapist. Recommended? Oh heck, ya!!
    Date published: 2013-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Boots! I just love these boots!! They fit great other than the calfs are too tight if I wear them over jeans. I can walk in them all day, stay warm, dry and comfortable. I normally wear european size 36 or 3, but had to get these a size up. I previously owned a pair of Dublin River boots which were way too big in the smallest size they provide and I had to wear several socks just to try to get them to fit- hated them and switched to these. I was quite hesitant about cost, but they are well made and from the reviews I believe I will get many years of comfort out of them. Very happy with my decision.
    Date published: 2013-11-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Good (But Not Great) Very nice, high quality boot but I'd still say they're more expensive than they should be.Pros:They look great. I purchased the Black/Mahogany and love the color. The two-tone allows them to look great with either a black or brown accented outfit. So far they seem to clean up fairly easily and work at the barn or everyday life. I've gotten many compliments from both horsey and non-horsey people.Cons:They definitely run small. I'm normally a size 6 but ended up needing a 7 in the Galways. Although they run small length wise they seem to be rather wide. And while there's nothing wrong with the sole it's not particularly comfortable. It doesn't offer much cushioning or arch support. I realize I'm being a bit nit-picky but for a $500 pair of boots I expect a lot. I wouldn't be as bothered by this if the boots were priced around $300 instead.
    Date published: 2013-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally I have looked at Dubarry boots for years after discovering them at The Hampton Classic where my husband made his first purchase. He has added to his collection and wears them exclusively. This winter, I tried many boot brands in search of something that my dressier boots could not offer: comfort, warmth, waterproof, tough, and good looking. My order arrived after a week of "arctic blast" and a few days before a blizzard. Finally, I was well prepared: I have a boot that is comfortable, worn for the entire day immediately after arriving, the option of using the liner when I need extra warmth, deep snow worthy, can handle a muddy ring. The brown is very rich and beautiful. Though they seem expensive, I know they are a well made classic that will be worn for many, many years. Smartpak's free shipping and returns made this an easy shopping experience.
    Date published: 2013-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dubarrys equal LOVE! I've been wanting a pair of Dubarry's for YEARS now, but always kept putting them off because I really didn't want to spend THAT much on a pair of boots. I looked at different brands that had a similar look, but was not really impressed with them. I was really sold on trying a pair of Dubarry's when I saw my first pair in person last Fall...they just looked SO very nice! I just received my pair of Dubarry's last week, and haven't really wanted to take them off. The quality is excellent, and the boots are very comfortable for all day wear. They run true to size...I take a size 9, and take a size 40, or US 9, and they are perfect. They are also just the right height for me...I'm 5'9". The calf width works well, and I've worn these over jeans. I just can't get over the quality of the leather...so soft and supple, you would not believe! They are not just a "pretty face" either--Dubarry's keep your feet dry and warm NO MATTER what the weather! I will say that I've already invested in the full line of Dubarry leather cleaning, conditioning and protective products, and I feel that if you are going to make an investment in such nice boots, you need to take care of them if you expect them to last. I'm also planning on indulging on some of the accessories too, such as the boot chains, liners & boot bag. I will say this...I've looked at similar boots at half the price. I think you get what you pay for--yes, you could spend half the price, but if you have you replace those boots in a couple of years, you could have purchased Dubarry's and still had them after a couple of years. After being able to pick up and look at lower priced boots in person, and being able to pick up and pull on my Dubarry's, there is absolutely NO comparison of quality. If you are on the fence, just think of these as an investment. You could keep replacing your boots, or you could buy boots to last! And you won't regret Dubarry's!
    Date published: 2013-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Love Love I have wanted a pair of these boots for a couple years after seeing them at Rolex. The price held me back. I finally bit the bullet and couldn't be happier. I work in NYC and have worn them every day Since I got them. They carried me through Hurricane Sandy and Winter Storm Nemo like a champ. Slogged through mush and slush without hesitation. Unbelievably comfortable and functional. I use them during dog training and all my doggy friends are hooked on them. Snow boots, rain boots, fashion boots and slippers all rolled into one. I wanted the Kilternan's but Smartpak was out of my size and I was afraid the Galway's would not be warm enough in winter. I was wrong. Haven't felt the slightest chill. Accept no substitutes!!! I'm gonna be buried in these things!
    Date published: 2013-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Has An Alternative These are excellent boots if money is no object; however, I have found the Dublin River Boots to be equal in quality - at half the price. The River Boots are also available on Smartpak, so you may want to seriously compare them with these prior to making a purchase decision. I've had my River Boots for over two years and have abused them endlessly... and they've held up beautifully!
    Date published: 2013-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these boots! I ordered these last fall and have been wearing them all winter. They are very warm and waterproof. I liked them so much I ordered a pair of the Galway River (blue tweed color) from another company for everyday wear and save the brown ones for the barn. Very durable and high quality.
    Date published: 2013-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THESE I absolutely love my new boots! The only thing I would have to say is that in my Ariat paddock boots I wear a 9.5, so that's what I initially ordered. They were too snug, so I ordered a 10, which I wear in tennis shoes. So sizing wise, they run more like tennis shoes than boots! They are amazing though and keep my feet dry and toasty!
    Date published: 2013-11-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Finally! I have been lusting after these for a while. First day out of the box was a little stiff in the toe area. After 24 hrs, they fit like a dream. Run true to size (fit more like a running shoe) and it would be better to err on the large side in order to fit a really thick sock. No problem slipping them on and off. Very warm, even in minus 20 below Wisconsin weather. I was breaking ice from the water troughs and my foot went in - I stayed completely dry. They will look better the more worn in they get - they look a little nerdy straight out of the box. I got the black and brown to be different, and they look great with everything. I used to run all my errands in my Hunter Welly Boots, but these look much more polished and professional around town.
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best boot EVER!!!!!!!! I LOVE this boot!! I wear and ride in them everyday in fall/winter!!!!!! They are soooooo comfortable!!!! And smartpak has the BEST customer service EVER!!!!!! I highly recommend these boots!!!!
    Date published: 2013-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy them! Best boot ever. It was my Xmas gift to myself. Happy, happy, happy. They are the hole package. Nothing bad to say. Good fit, comfortable and simple to keep up.
    Date published: 2013-01-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Small calf and footbed uncomfortable I wanted these to work so badly that I made compromises. I had trouble getting these up even on a bare leg! The very top where the boot lace threads through, tipped inward and makes the boot top opening even smaller. Also, one boot opening was smaller than the other. I took them to a good shoe repair place and had the tops put on the stretcher for a couple weeks. THen they fit well enough to go over breeches. [I did lose a little weight and now they will go over jeans too] It cost me another $20 to do this but it evened out the size and enlarged the opening enough to make them workable and comfortable.The footbed I find strange. In my pair of boots, the heel drops lower than the rest of the foot; almost like the old 'earth shoes'. Any podiatrist will tell you that that footbed conformation is not a proper balance for any type of foot especially for situations of long standing.I have flat feet and had previously developed plantar fasciitis. I have custom orthotics that I wear nearly all the time and slip in and out of boots, paddock boots and other shoes, etc,...so I DO use these orthotics in the DuBarry boots and now they are mostly o.k. and comfortable to wear. I still feel like the footbed could use even a little heel lift in addition to my orthotic.I live in the Midwest and love wearing them for my daily walks, dog walks, working around the barn and of course for all purpose wear and course walks at shows. They keep my feet wonderfully dry and warm.A little work and compromise allowed these to become serviceable for me. I really think the footbed issues should be addressed. I still feel a little drop in the heel area even with expensive custom orthotics in place. Something like a Birkenstock footbed might help balance the footbed enough to make them a healthier wear for those who don't have foot problems, but don't want to get foot problems either!These are such expensive boots, I find it vexxing that the wearer has to make 'fixes' to compensate for what appears to be poor [and unhealthy] footbed design.Overall I am pleased and happy I have them and thankful that some key adjustments allowed me to keep them. Those that are not inclined to compromise may find them a disappointment.
    Date published: 2013-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best buy ever! I got my boots for Christmas and I wear them every single day, when I get home from the barn all I have to do is rinse them off and they look like new!
    Date published: 2013-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT PAIR OF BOOTS Have been wanting to buy these boots for awhile but hesitated because of the price. Had to exchange them for a larger size. SmartPak was great and very helpful in the exchange process. I highly recommend these boots. Will buy them again when these wear out!!!!!
    Date published: 2012-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best All-Around Boot I purchased these to wear on an upcoming trip to Botswana and South Africa on safari horseback rides because they are waterproof. What has ended up happening is that I'm now wearing them every day with jeans and a top because they are so good looking. The first weekend, I took them on a day-long trail ride through Big Bend National Park where the nestled perfectly in the western saddle stirrups. I was worried they might not be as good to ride in as the Clares, but they certainly are. After the ride, I walked through the Rio Grande up to my knees and the boots were bone dry inside and quickly cleaned up. I would buy another pair, but I know these will last a lifetime. I highly recommend them to every rider, dressage, eventing, western, pleasure, trail, whatever!
    Date published: 2013-11-23
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.