Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Dubarry Galway Boot

Dubarry USA, LLC
- Item #17708
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Dubarry Galway Boot is the original waterproof, breathable boot from Dubarry, perfect all purpose outdoor footwear for any weather. Raved about in Europe for years due to the unique marriage of function, durability and style that has been a hallmark of Dubarry since 1937. Used for a variety of outdoor pursuits from equestrian pursuits to dog walking or country lifestyle and from hunting to winter fashion. Imported.

Favorite Features

  • Full Gore-Tex® lining provides complete waterproofing
  • DryFast-DrySoft™ exterior leather offers protection, comfort, temperature control, durability and style.
  • Treated exterior allows you to rinse mud and muck from your boots with a hose!
  • PU/Rubber sole, unique to Dubarry boots, is direct injection molded to the upper to ensure a proper seal for superior function.
Sizing It Up

Because of the wider instep and roomier design, please consider sizing down if you are in between sizes. 

You Might Like
    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Dubarry Galway Boot is rated 4.7114 out of 5 by 149.
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor quality, bad company response (dubarry) Stitching came apart after 5 months of minimal wear (1x/week). Dubarry refused to honor their warranty, their assessor said it was because they were used to ride horses. NOT.
    Date published: 2013-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Boots Ever I love these boots. They are comfortable, beautiful, and functional. I have had them for 9 months, they were a Christmas gift, and I get compliments on them all the time. They held up to real British weather without an issue for 3 weeks, and I can ride in them too!
    Date published: 2013-08-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Boots Ever! I bought these about 10 months ago, at the begining of the rainy season and my feet have been warm and dry ever since. I used them through the winter to walk dogs through the muddy Woodside Horse Park and I never slipped or got wet. One of the best purchases I have made.
    Date published: 2013-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth EVERY penny!! A spectacular investment, the Dubarry Galway boot offers unrivaled comfort. Better than your favorite slippers, you'll never want to take them off. Soft, cozy, inviting. Absolute perfection from the first moment you slip them on. You'll actually SAVE money by investing in the Dubarrys, as you'll have no desire to purchase any other footwear. Plus, you'll be so blissfully happy that you can fire the therapist. Recommended? Oh heck, ya!!
    Date published: 2013-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Boots! I just love these boots!! They fit great other than the calfs are too tight if I wear them over jeans. I can walk in them all day, stay warm, dry and comfortable. I normally wear european size 36 or 3, but had to get these a size up. I previously owned a pair of Dublin River boots which were way too big in the smallest size they provide and I had to wear several socks just to try to get them to fit- hated them and switched to these. I was quite hesitant about cost, but they are well made and from the reviews I believe I will get many years of comfort out of them. Very happy with my decision.
    Date published: 2013-03-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Good (But Not Great) Very nice, high quality boot but I'd still say they're more expensive than they should be.Pros:They look great. I purchased the Black/Mahogany and love the color. The two-tone allows them to look great with either a black or brown accented outfit. So far they seem to clean up fairly easily and work at the barn or everyday life. I've gotten many compliments from both horsey and non-horsey people.Cons:They definitely run small. I'm normally a size 6 but ended up needing a 7 in the Galways. Although they run small length wise they seem to be rather wide. And while there's nothing wrong with the sole it's not particularly comfortable. It doesn't offer much cushioning or arch support. I realize I'm being a bit nit-picky but for a $500 pair of boots I expect a lot. I wouldn't be as bothered by this if the boots were priced around $300 instead.
    Date published: 2013-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally I have looked at Dubarry boots for years after discovering them at The Hampton Classic where my husband made his first purchase. He has added to his collection and wears them exclusively. This winter, I tried many boot brands in search of something that my dressier boots could not offer: comfort, warmth, waterproof, tough, and good looking. My order arrived after a week of "arctic blast" and a few days before a blizzard. Finally, I was well prepared: I have a boot that is comfortable, worn for the entire day immediately after arriving, the option of using the liner when I need extra warmth, deep snow worthy, can handle a muddy ring. The brown is very rich and beautiful. Though they seem expensive, I know they are a well made classic that will be worn for many, many years. Smartpak's free shipping and returns made this an easy shopping experience.
    Date published: 2013-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dubarrys equal LOVE! I've been wanting a pair of Dubarry's for YEARS now, but always kept putting them off because I really didn't want to spend THAT much on a pair of boots. I looked at different brands that had a similar look, but was not really impressed with them. I was really sold on trying a pair of Dubarry's when I saw my first pair in person last Fall...they just looked SO very nice! I just received my pair of Dubarry's last week, and haven't really wanted to take them off. The quality is excellent, and the boots are very comfortable for all day wear. They run true to size...I take a size 9, and take a size 40, or US 9, and they are perfect. They are also just the right height for me...I'm 5'9". The calf width works well, and I've worn these over jeans. I just can't get over the quality of the leather...so soft and supple, you would not believe! They are not just a "pretty face" either--Dubarry's keep your feet dry and warm NO MATTER what the weather! I will say that I've already invested in the full line of Dubarry leather cleaning, conditioning and protective products, and I feel that if you are going to make an investment in such nice boots, you need to take care of them if you expect them to last. I'm also planning on indulging on some of the accessories too, such as the boot chains, liners & boot bag. I will say this...I've looked at similar boots at half the price. I think you get what you pay for--yes, you could spend half the price, but if you have you replace those boots in a couple of years, you could have purchased Dubarry's and still had them after a couple of years. After being able to pick up and look at lower priced boots in person, and being able to pick up and pull on my Dubarry's, there is absolutely NO comparison of quality. If you are on the fence, just think of these as an investment. You could keep replacing your boots, or you could buy boots to last! And you won't regret Dubarry's!
    Date published: 2013-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Love Love I have wanted a pair of these boots for a couple years after seeing them at Rolex. The price held me back. I finally bit the bullet and couldn't be happier. I work in NYC and have worn them every day Since I got them. They carried me through Hurricane Sandy and Winter Storm Nemo like a champ. Slogged through mush and slush without hesitation. Unbelievably comfortable and functional. I use them during dog training and all my doggy friends are hooked on them. Snow boots, rain boots, fashion boots and slippers all rolled into one. I wanted the Kilternan's but Smartpak was out of my size and I was afraid the Galway's would not be warm enough in winter. I was wrong. Haven't felt the slightest chill. Accept no substitutes!!! I'm gonna be buried in these things!
    Date published: 2013-02-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Has An Alternative These are excellent boots if money is no object; however, I have found the Dublin River Boots to be equal in quality - at half the price. The River Boots are also available on Smartpak, so you may want to seriously compare them with these prior to making a purchase decision. I've had my River Boots for over two years and have abused them endlessly... and they've held up beautifully!
    Date published: 2013-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these boots! I ordered these last fall and have been wearing them all winter. They are very warm and waterproof. I liked them so much I ordered a pair of the Galway River (blue tweed color) from another company for everyday wear and save the brown ones for the barn. Very durable and high quality.
    Date published: 2013-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THESE I absolutely love my new boots! The only thing I would have to say is that in my Ariat paddock boots I wear a 9.5, so that's what I initially ordered. They were too snug, so I ordered a 10, which I wear in tennis shoes. So sizing wise, they run more like tennis shoes than boots! They are amazing though and keep my feet dry and toasty!
    Date published: 2013-01-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Finally! I have been lusting after these for a while. First day out of the box was a little stiff in the toe area. After 24 hrs, they fit like a dream. Run true to size (fit more like a running shoe) and it would be better to err on the large side in order to fit a really thick sock. No problem slipping them on and off. Very warm, even in minus 20 below Wisconsin weather. I was breaking ice from the water troughs and my foot went in - I stayed completely dry. They will look better the more worn in they get - they look a little nerdy straight out of the box. I got the black and brown to be different, and they look great with everything. I used to run all my errands in my Hunter Welly Boots, but these look much more polished and professional around town.
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best boot EVER!!!!!!!! I LOVE this boot!! I wear and ride in them everyday in fall/winter!!!!!! They are soooooo comfortable!!!! And smartpak has the BEST customer service EVER!!!!!! I highly recommend these boots!!!!
    Date published: 2013-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy them! Best boot ever. It was my Xmas gift to myself. Happy, happy, happy. They are the hole package. Nothing bad to say. Good fit, comfortable and simple to keep up.
    Date published: 2013-01-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Small calf and footbed uncomfortable I wanted these to work so badly that I made compromises. I had trouble getting these up even on a bare leg! The very top where the boot lace threads through, tipped inward and makes the boot top opening even smaller. Also, one boot opening was smaller than the other. I took them to a good shoe repair place and had the tops put on the stretcher for a couple weeks. THen they fit well enough to go over breeches. [I did lose a little weight and now they will go over jeans too] It cost me another $20 to do this but it evened out the size and enlarged the opening enough to make them workable and comfortable.The footbed I find strange. In my pair of boots, the heel drops lower than the rest of the foot; almost like the old 'earth shoes'. Any podiatrist will tell you that that footbed conformation is not a proper balance for any type of foot especially for situations of long standing.I have flat feet and had previously developed plantar fasciitis. I have custom orthotics that I wear nearly all the time and slip in and out of boots, paddock boots and other shoes, etc,...so I DO use these orthotics in the DuBarry boots and now they are mostly o.k. and comfortable to wear. I still feel like the footbed could use even a little heel lift in addition to my orthotic.I live in the Midwest and love wearing them for my daily walks, dog walks, working around the barn and of course for all purpose wear and course walks at shows. They keep my feet wonderfully dry and warm.A little work and compromise allowed these to become serviceable for me. I really think the footbed issues should be addressed. I still feel a little drop in the heel area even with expensive custom orthotics in place. Something like a Birkenstock footbed might help balance the footbed enough to make them a healthier wear for those who don't have foot problems, but don't want to get foot problems either!These are such expensive boots, I find it vexxing that the wearer has to make 'fixes' to compensate for what appears to be poor [and unhealthy] footbed design.Overall I am pleased and happy I have them and thankful that some key adjustments allowed me to keep them. Those that are not inclined to compromise may find them a disappointment.
    Date published: 2013-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best buy ever! I got my boots for Christmas and I wear them every single day, when I get home from the barn all I have to do is rinse them off and they look like new!
    Date published: 2013-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT PAIR OF BOOTS Have been wanting to buy these boots for awhile but hesitated because of the price. Had to exchange them for a larger size. SmartPak was great and very helpful in the exchange process. I highly recommend these boots. Will buy them again when these wear out!!!!!
    Date published: 2012-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best All-Around Boot I purchased these to wear on an upcoming trip to Botswana and South Africa on safari horseback rides because they are waterproof. What has ended up happening is that I'm now wearing them every day with jeans and a top because they are so good looking. The first weekend, I took them on a day-long trail ride through Big Bend National Park where the nestled perfectly in the western saddle stirrups. I was worried they might not be as good to ride in as the Clares, but they certainly are. After the ride, I walked through the Rio Grande up to my knees and the boots were bone dry inside and quickly cleaned up. I would buy another pair, but I know these will last a lifetime. I highly recommend them to every rider, dressage, eventing, western, pleasure, trail, whatever!
    Date published: 2012-11-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely Boots Comfortable, stylish, lovely. Have received many compliment 'to boot'! :)
    Date published: 2012-11-08
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Problems with sizing The boots are lovely - but so-o-o-o tight in the calf area. I usually don't have this issue. I'm a "regular" size in most things. I could not get this boot up over my calf over a pair of straight-leg Levi jeans. Not what I expected from a premium pair of boots!
    Date published: 2012-10-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Work well... I quite like my Dubarry's, only complaint being the toe seems to lose it color a bit after getting wet. They darken back up after I put some conditioner on but I was surprised at how quickly this happened. I only use the boots to walk through dew soaked grass and haven't bathed a pony in them yet. But they look great at the barn or out in town and are more comfortable than I expected.
    Date published: 2012-10-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Sad they didn't fit I was excited to try these boots as they looked so beautiful and I was looking for a nice looking, waterproof, walking boot that would stand up over time and survive trips to the barn. I had also liked that there wasn't much heel and the sole looked comfortable enough for people who actually walk all day. Unfortunately, there just isn't enough room in the toe box. I would think an expensive boot designed for lots of walking and chores would have more toe room. I would want to wear medium or thicker socks and I also use an orthotic insert. My feet are average sized 10 and not wide and this boot touched my big toe on the inside. I tried ordering the next size up but then the whole boot was just too big and loose in the heel.
    Date published: 2012-08-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from All around boots I have had my boots for about a year now and I love them! I wear them for riding about 3-4 days a week and go straight to running my errands in them. They are very comfortable to walk in and to ride in. It is also very easy to wear, easy to clean and will match almost any outfit. For this much use, it is not even showing any signs of wear and tear. All it needs is the occasional cleaning with water. They are the perfect all weather boots for CA. Overall, they are very practical. I hesitated to purchase this for a while because of the price but it is so worth it and when mine falls apart, I am sure to get another pair!
    Date published: 2012-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exquisite Two Words - Exquisite Craftmanship... If Dubarry is going to break your budget... I recommend Dublin River Boot and Dublin Pinnacle Boot...
    Date published: 2012-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The things one needs trekking in Ireland Roll-up shopping totes, a cross-body Tumi bag and a pair of dubarrys. We were in Ireland 10 days and I wore my dubarrys 8 out of the 10 days. My foot is long and narrow but a pair of thick socks did the trick. We walked and walked and then walked some more. My feet were tired but no more so than when I wore tennis shoes. Plus, the dubarrys were warmer.They are a lot of money but as ferris bueller said " if you have the means...."
    Date published: 2012-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these!!! I got a pair for christmas and let's just say I'll never be buying the Dublin version again. These boots are beautiful and hold up really well. They are a sinch to clean and last a very long time with proper care. I wear them for at least 5 hrs a day and my feet never hurt, never overheat, and never get wet. These boots are very much worth their weight in gold!!!
    Date published: 2012-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from How do I love thee..... Let me count the ways....I LOVE these boots. I waited and waited and finally convinced myself I deserved a pair. These are the best boots ever....great quality - great fit - great comfort - great style. I hate to take them off at the end of the day. They were comfortable from the first time I put them on....seem to run very true to size. I have not worn them to the barn yet in all this mud, but maybe one day.....I just hate to get them dirty! So glad I broke down and bought them...expensive, but worth it!
    Date published: 2012-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love, love, love these boots! After having frostbite on my toes twice last winter my boyfriend purchased these boots for me. My feet have never been so warm and dry! I love that I can wear them at the barn all day, while walking the dog, or out to dinner and be comfortable and stylish!
    Date published: 2012-03-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These boots are the cat's meow I'm a college student in Michigan, and I love strutting my stuff in these boots. They're extremely comfortable, and I get loads of compliments on them. I have been wearing them all winter long, and they've been holding up great for me. Wearing them on campus when it rains or snows is fun, because while other girls are dodging puddles left and right trying not to get their UGGs or leather boots wet, I'm splashing right through them without a care in the world. My only complaint is that when they really started to break in, the right boot rubs on the back of my ankle a bit, so I have to wear tall socks with them. As college student with a small budget, took me about a year and a half to finally decide to save up and fork over the cash for these boots, but it was one of the best purchases I've ever made. I absolutely love them.
    Date published: 2012-03-02
    • 2015-03-06T07:00CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_139
    • loc_en_US, sid_7708, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.