Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

SSG Silk Lined Soft Touch

SSG Riding Gloves
- Item #17558

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The SSG Silk Lined Soft Touch glove is the most comfortable lined glove you will try.  No bulk, extra comfort. Silk - natures best natural insulator! Hook and loop wrist closure for a secure fit.  Machine washable.

Imported.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    SSG Silk Lined Soft Touch is rated 4.1765 out of 5 by 17.
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from hard gloves to get on It is almost impossible to get the gloves on because of the lining. I have stopped wearing them because they are such a pain to get on and off!!!
    Date published: 2014-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves! I bought my first pair of these gloves over 5 years ago. They are without a doubt the best winter gloves I've ever owned. They are very warm, yet my hands do not sweat in them. They are very durable. Even though I have worn these gloves for roughly 5 months for each of five years, they have not worn through any seams or have any tears in them. I bought a second pair recently thinking my first pair might wear out this year but that has not been the case. I'm still wearing the old pair daily and have tucked my new pair away for maybe.... next year? I hightly recommend these gloves.
    Date published: 2014-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm! These gloves are warm and flexible! What more could you want in the winter??
    Date published: 2013-01-23
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed Lining sticks to hand when damp from sweat then extremely hard to get back without bunching up. I ended up returning because of this. May be OK to wear on only really cold days where your hands do not have a chance to get warm enough to sweat.
    Date published: 2014-01-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from No bulk! I got these gloves for Christmas and so far I like them. I am super picky about gloves, and can't stand winter gloves that are so bulky you can't feel the reins or do tasks that require dexterity (like adjusting bridle parts or wrapping legs). These gloves are not bulky at all, and while they may not be as warm as a result, they are a really good compromise since they provide excellent feel on the reins. The material for the body of the glove is a little plasticy for my taste, but for the price I can't complain. The silk lining does bunch and shift around sometimes, but not so bad that it's terribly annoying. As for the other reviewer that complained how they are short on the wrists, I personally only wear this kind of glove, so they are perfect for my preferences. I can't speak to the durability since I've only had them for a short time, but I have had SSG gloves in the past, and they last well for the price point, so I expect these to perform the same. I would recommend these gloves for someone that wants warmth without sacrificing feel, and doesn't want to spend $50 on a pair of gloves.
    Date published: 2012-01-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from almost like not having clothes on I really like these gloves although I found them a little short at the wrist. They are almost like not having clothes on, I could work so well with them, even dialing the little number pads on my cell. Although my hands didn't get "cold" in the mid 30 degree temperature we had in the morning recently, I could still feel the "coolness" of the air so I don't think they would keep hands warm for a long period, but I haven't had the chance to test that theory.
    Date published: 2011-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like Roeckl's but better I have these and winter Roeckls and I like these better. The fingers are longer and they are much cheaper!
    Date published: 2010-05-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Warm, yet flexible I work with horses, but ride only seldom. I wanted a glove that would keep my hands warm in winter, yet still allow complete movement (i.e. write medications on a clipboard). I am actually willing to sacrifice a little bit of warmth in order to not have to take my gloves on and off every five minutes.After some guidance from a smart and friendly SmartPak rep, I chose the Silk Lined SofTouch gloves. They provide a skin-tight fit that I can indeed work a pencil in, yet provide a good grip for pitchforks and the like. The silk provides a nice layer of warmth, although they probably are not as warm as some of the bulkier gloves out there (read my earlier statement, though). The fact that they are also machine washable is a huge bonus.I have not owned these gloves long enough to make an objective comment on durability yet, and I do wish they didn't cost so much, but they met my main two objectives nicely and I would recommend them to a friend.
    Date published: 2009-11-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super soft! These are really comfortable gloves - they are so thin that you can really feel the reins, but the lining does help to keep you warmer. Not for the bitter cold days, but for the cooler fall and spring mornings they are perfect. Plus they just feel so soft! I've been using mine for driving as well - I may wear them out, but the aren't so expensive that I can't replace them!
    Date published: 2010-10-25
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.