Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Big D Nylon Halter

Big D
- Item #17531
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Big D Nylon Halter is a sturdy and classic halter that is a barn staple.  Adjustable chin and rolled throatlatch snap to ensure a perfect fit. 

Favorite Features

  • Rot-resistant heavy duty nylon that is doubled and tripled for strength.
  • Big D-exclusive heavy duty brass plated buckles, rings, and squares are designed for years of use.
  • Buckles are designed for easy on and off use.
  • Buckle tongue is 5mm in thickness for extra strength.

Made in the USA.

Sizing It Up

Yearling (17-22 months), M (800-1100 lbs) or L (1100-1500 lbs).


Please note, this is not a breakaway halter, and is unlikely to break under pressure.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Big D Nylon Halter is rated 4.3889 out of 5 by 54.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Halter Very nice halter. It ended up being to small for my adult miniatures, but works well on my yearlings. Put together extremely well. Very durable
    Date published: 2011-03-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from not happy The halter is very heavy and I should of really checked it out before I put my horses name plate on it. Some parts were twisted and sewed together. I have a feeling it might give my horse a rub. It is my fault for not examining it more carefully.
    Date published: 2010-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is one STURDY halter! My horse's narrow face is difficult to fit. He is also on the low end of the weight the big D halter is made to fit, so the chin strap is set to the smallest adjustment possible and could still stand to be a bit smaller-but it works ok. The throat strap is too big for him right now and I wish it could be made adjustable. My husband added a couple of holes in the head strap because it was still too big for him at his current size. So we had to modify that for wear at this time. But this halter will be durable for a looong time and I know it will continue to adjust. My horse is only 20 months old and the Big D halter is the 5th halter I have bought for him. It is so well made it just may be the last one I ever have to buy.
    Date published: 2010-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice halter Good quality from Big D, as usual. If you need to use a chain this is not the best halter since it has the adjustable chin strap.
    Date published: 2010-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Halter! I bought this halter for my mare about 2 years ago. I love the forest green color. It fits great and is very durable.
    Date published: 2010-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bid D Nylon Halter Love these halters, I will only buy and use this brand.
    Date published: 2010-05-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Was pleasantly suprised to find this halter had a throatlatch snap as well as an adjustable noseband, great deal for the price!
    Date published: 2010-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best nylon halter I have several Big D nylon halters and I have never had one break. I have one gelding who has had his for about 15 years and it shows no sign of breaking down anytime soon.Best nylon halter out there!
    Date published: 2010-01-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good.. So far my draft cross has not broken it. I bought this one because it was guaranteed not to break. I was skeptical, but despite some early testing by my mare, it has held. I am hoping this halter continues to live up to it's promise:)
    Date published: 2009-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great construction for a good price I was plesantly suprised at the quality of the hardware on this halter. For the price it is well made and very adjustable. My horse's head is hard to fit so it is a little big for her but overall I would recommend this product
    Date published: 2009-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I'd been looking for a Big D halter for my horse for awhile and was so happy to find one at SmartPak. These halters are well made and don't fray on the edges like other nylon halters. The holes on the crownpiece don't have any metal grommets that can be lost or twisted. It's adjustable noseband means that you have more flexibility in making sure it fits your horse properly. SO happy with this halter!
    Date published: 2009-07-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice halter for the price I got the colt 6-11 month size for my 10 month old ASB cross filly and it fits her perfectly. its not big and bulky like a lot of nylon halters are so reflects the size of her head nicely.
    Date published: 2009-06-23
    • 2015-03-04T07:29CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_50
    • loc_en_US, sid_7531, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.