Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

SmartPak Deluxe Neck Rug

SmartPak
- Item #17512

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Experience full neck protection against the elements with the SmartPak Deluxe Neck Rug.

  • Waterproof and breathable 1200 denier ripstop outer shell is ultra durable and designed to keep your horse dry and protected 
  • Lined with nylon to prevent rubbing 
  • 220g of polyfill keeps your horse warm and comfortable
  • Sturdy snap attachment with two additional hook and loop closures lets you easily attach the rug to your turnout, keeping it secure so that it can work efficiently 

Imported.

For a special deal on Brown, click here.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    SmartPak Deluxe Neck Rug is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 30.
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor durability I bought this for a 25+ yo retiree and it fit and looked really nice. However it only made it 2 days before the lining ripped out on the inside in 3 separate places. The other horses in the field still have grazing muzzles so it wasn't them, and this old guy horse isn't rough on blankets at all.
    Date published: 2014-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this, Mom! I had thought about investing in a neck rug for my TB Mare for a while. And this spring seemed to be the right time. Since it arrived we have had a snow storm a week for several weeks. This is just too cold for April!The rug arrived the day before a storm. I took it out, tried it on my girl and realized there are no rings on her blanket! Well, being a retired tailor, I added one, figuring it would hold things for that one storm. 3 storms later, the rug is still staying in place and working fine.My mare is very pleased!. She will ask for a blanket when she's cold. Now she asks for the neck rug as well! With just the one ring it has stayed in place very nicely. She is weathering the spring cold weather very well.My next purchase will be a matching blanket as her old one is about on its last legs.The only down side I found is it was a little awkward to put on the first few times. Seems like the velcro is backwards. But now that I'm used to it, it's fine. Goes on easy and stays put. Both of us are pleased with her new look!
    Date published: 2014-01-03
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from I used This for three days and the seams started pulling apart. Not the quality I would expect from smart pak.
    Date published: 2013-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value This was a great price, durable, is working out very well for our horse. I would definitely recommend it!
    Date published: 2013-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value, adaptable This is a great hood- I bought it to attach to a non SmartPak blanket and it works great. There are two snaps and it is very secure. Had ordered the medium and it was too small when my horse was grazing- he's a 78 and the large works great!
    Date published: 2013-11-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good purchase This neck rug fits my SmartPak blanket really well and has managed to withstand the beating that it gets on a daily basis. My horse lives outside 24 x 7 and so far there are no rips or tears anywhere. It is a little short. My horse has a really short neck so I ordered the medium and its a little short for her, so be aware of that.
    Date published: 2013-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great additionto the turnout blanket. So happy I bought this...it is effortless to put on or take off, snaps easily into the matching turnout and seems comfortable and warm. Great products!!
    Date published: 2013-01-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great neck piece This smartpak neck piece has worked great for my horse! She was clipped for the first time and it is keeping her plenty warm. Recommend this to use for an cheaper neck!
    Date published: 2013-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SMARTPAK DELUXE RUG WINS! We have used both Rambo and Amigo neck rugs - and like the SmartPak best. It is light weight and easy fitting - simple to make work with any blanket system. NO rub on mane - horses love it. So do we.
    Date published: 2012-12-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't last one night of use Not a bad neck rug for the money. It seemed to be nicely made, with sturdy velcro and fabric. Sadly after one night of use the stitching on one of the velcro closures came apart, so the velcro piece came loose and stuck to its "partner" piece of velcro. So it was no longer holding the rug shut. I think if the stitching on the velcro didn't break it would have held up nicely. My horse isn't very hard on his blankets either, which surprised me to see it broken the next morning.
    Date published: 2013-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from neck cover This is a great neck cover that has held up to my wild mans crazy antics! Very durable and clips have never come undone, even while wrestling with the other horses . I ordered a Large for my 16.1 hand thoroughbred who wears a 78 blanket and found the cover to be a little big, but it definitely works well. Would recommend it 100%!
    Date published: 2012-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Exactly as Hoped I bought this matching neck rug to go with the turnout blanket purchased last year. Fits well, very well made and no sign of any problems with the velcro. The SmartPak Deluxe blankets are being worn by many horses at our big barn and it's no wonder. Definitely a great product at a great price.
    Date published: 2012-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My wife loves this neck rug!! I gave this neck rug to my wife for Christmas for her horse Ray and she loves it. I was looking everywhere for a gift that she could use and one that would last a long time, and I found it with this product. Your quality product made her Christmas and the smile on her face made mine!
    Date published: 2011-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy with this. This neck rug is very good quality. The sizing was accurate and the price reasonable. I highly recommend this item.
    Date published: 2011-12-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from better than i thought my gelding lives outside year round with limited shelter. and in addition he's been body clipped (i want to guarantee he's cool/dry when i put him away hence the body clipping) meaning i want him snug and warm at night. and for the record he is not very gentle with his blankets. they typically have a hole in them within 2 weeks.so far it's held up to his antics. i'm guessing smartpak has listened to the comments of their customers because i have no problems with the velcro and the stitching seems tight. i'm very happy with his neck cover and he seems pretty happy with it. it seems to be pretty breatheable because he wasn't sweated up at all after running around the pasture in it in 50* weather.when i first used it, i didn't have the deluxe turnout so i attached the straps to my rambo liner and that semed to work out well. i just wish smartpak would add the dee rings to their thinsulate blanket.
    Date published: 2011-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice neck rug Great quality. I gave fit only 4 stars, because it runs a little big on my mare. But overall it's excellent!
    Date published: 2011-12-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Can't keep it repaired The velcro closing on this rug lasts about a day - two at most. I have resewed the velco - double stitched, used upholstery thread - and the next day it's off again. Frustrating!!
    Date published: 2011-01-10
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor design for a neck rug. Unless you have horses that are never turned out with any other horses, I would not recommend this neck rug. I had it on my two horses (in two entirely separate turnouts) and both had their nug rugs destroyed within 2 weeks. The poor design of the velcrow closures lead to the destruction. For the price I would never purchase these again.
    Date published: 2010-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-11-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from neck rug I do like the neck rug, but it doesnt stay on my horse very well.
    Date published: 2009-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice Easy to put on and take off, seems comfy, great quality and value. Very pleased. Fits well and not restrictive.
    Date published: 2009-11-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-10-29
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.