Product Image

SmartCalm® Ultra Pellets

SmartSupplements by SmartPak
- Item #17477
Form: Pellets
Maintenance Dose: 2 SmartPak Wells



Is your horse especially anxious, inattentive or spooky? SmartCalm Ultra Pellets are an herb-free formula designed to support proper nervous system function, helping to minimize skittishness. SmartCalm Ultra Pellets offer a comprehensive approach to calming by providing 10,000 mg of magnesium, 1,000 mg of vitamin B1, 2,000 mg of inositol (a B vitamin relative), and 500 mg of l-tryptophan. This essential amino acid is converted into serotonin, a hormone that may increase feelings of well being and contentment, helping to calm and soothe.

New & improved formula features higher levels of key ingredients such as taurine, l-tryptophan, and vitamin B1 for even more comprehensive support. SmartCalm Ultra Pellets also have a new tasty apple-banana flavor your horse is sure to love!

View our Calming Supplement Comparison Chart

View Product Label

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    SmartCalm® Ultra Pellets is rated 4.4161 out of 5 by 834.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really works I have had my horse on this for over a month and have noticed a huge difference in his behavior. Less jumpy, more focused and so much calmer all the way around.
    Date published: 2014-04-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from He doesn't really like it??? I bought this a month ago -- and have had some trouble getting him to eat it.I just received my 2nd order so will see how this goes and decide if I am going to continue with it or not.
    Date published: 2014-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartCalm Ultra Pellets We have a 5 year old reining mare that pinned her ears and tried to bite us when we were saddling her. One week on SmartCalm Ultra Pellets and she no longer pinesher ears or tries to bite us. In fact, she is happy to see us and wants to be petted.Amazing!
    Date published: 2014-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked Wonders I was very skeptical about this product but was at the end of my rope and was willing to try anything. My 8 year old Arab gelding had a hard time focusing (a little ADD). I had given up but wanted to try one more time. Both my trainer and I noticed a difference within the first week. Now that he's been on it for over a month I am a convert. He is calm, focused, and doing great. It has worked wonders :)
    Date published: 2014-03-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Laser focused but just as strong I ended up getting this after my usually impossible-to-spook mare became spooky and a bit unpredictable this January. I know it was due to the super cold weather and less turnout than usual, but it didn't make riding her any more fun. Since she's been on this, I don't think she's spooked or been naughty once (the spooking would turn into some playing around). That said, she is a very forward minded horse, and I was hopeful this might change that. Nope! She is just as forward as ever, but laser focused on her job.
    Date published: 2014-03-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Still waiting I started my horse, Rusty, on the UltraCalm, a month ago. Altho I've noticed a small difference in his jumpiness, I guess I was expecting to see a bit more progress by now. I understand how it works on the seratonin levels in his brain. Ilove the SmartPak products.
    Date published: 2014-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2014-03-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great! i have a 6 year old ottb and he wasn't to bad but i wanted to take the edge off so i bought these and gave them to him the minute i got them. I noticed a HUGE difference within a couple days. works amazing!
    Date published: 2014-03-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smart Calm Pellets work Tried this a month ago for my 2 Arab show geldings that seem distracted and spooky at things over the winter in the indoor arena huge improvement
    Date published: 2014-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Life saver! I purchased a 14 yo Paint gelding on or about February 7. I loved everything about this boy except the fact he was so spooky! I wanted him to be ridden in the Go Texan Parade in Conroe on February 22, as well as the Rodeo Houston parade in downtown Houston (MAJOR scary things there!!!). I read the reviews of Ultracalm Pellets on the internet and thought, "Well, it can't hurt". I received the shipment and immediately started giving him the supplement. (Note: He is a big boy, so I gave it to him 2x a day for two weeks. After the parades, I cut it back to 1x a day.) Holy cow, I was riding a different horse!!! He was so good in both parades and we are now working him into our drill (I ride on a rodeo drill team). We're still working on not being so spooky about flags, but this supplement has made a huge difference in this horse's demeanor. I would recommend the supplement to anyone.
    Date published: 2014-04-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing supplement My horse Four Dollar Limit has been On this for 2 months now and it has Made an amazing difference
    Date published: 2014-03-19
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Was a good try I have a very active mare whose paddock and riding exercise was limited by a very bad winter. I tried the product to see if it would limit her frustration. Frustration remained until weather improved & she got back to normal activity.
    Date published: 2014-03-19
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from No success I have a hot tense mare that I hoped this would work for. She has a ton of try but needs to relax and focus. Sadly this didn't make a difference.
    Date published: 2014-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped calm my horse I have a 10yo warmblood gelding that I ride and compete in dressage. I've had him since he was a yearling and he has always been rather "hot". He's very responsive and reactive and tends to want to spook at everything. While training has helped, my trainer recommended SmartCalm Ultra. I was skeptical but with SmartPaks money back guarantee I figured I had nothing to loose. Within 3 days my horse seemed more relaxed and was able to focus on me and within about 10 days I was convinced it was real and not just coincidence and a few good days. He still will notice things but the big spooks are gone and his whole demeanor is calm and focused. I was convinced I would be sending them back and getting my money back but I was wrong. Thank you SmartPak!
    Date published: 2014-03-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best product ever!! I don't know why I waited so long to try it.
    Date published: 2014-03-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2014-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought my mare sight unseen and as soon as I got her home I noticed she was a bit spooky. Three month later she still had not settled in. I thought after reading about this product that perhaps she had a vitamin deficiency. She has been on smart calm a month and I have noticed a huge improvement. I highly recommend this product.
    Date published: 2014-03-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It works........ I've used this product before and whether it was from stall rest or the winter weather/lack of turn out and it worked. I have two very different OTTB's and both of them have done quite well on Smartcalm. I put them on it again this winter to help with spookiness and there extra energy and once again they both have behaved and seem to be just a tad bit quieter and more focused, I believe it takes the edge off. :)
    Date published: 2014-03-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome products! For all those crazy mares out there, this product helps them stay sane!!
    Date published: 2014-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2014-02-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to do the job Loved the original powdered product, the new pelleted form isn't as popular with the gang, some of them leave it behind in their feed but it seems the newly improved formula isn't quite as noticeable and they are getting used to it. I feel it does take the edge off a little.
    Date published: 2014-02-26
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Effect Didn't last I tried two different horses on this product and at first it worked well on both. The effect did not last though. It was worth trying but after several months I felt like I was wasting money. I read the same thing in several other reviews so I think it is on a horse by horse basis as far as how it will work for you. The price was pretty good and both horses ate it with no problem. It just stopped working for me.
    Date published: 2014-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartCalm We were moving my daughter's horse so he could be closer to her while she's at college. He can be spooky and flighty in and unfamiliar area. i read the reviews and tried Smart Calm and his transition has been great. Thanks for a great product!
    Date published: 2014-02-25
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Used to work.. mare won't eat it any more I used to get the powder version of this product which mixed in well with the feed. My mare didn't even know it was there and ate it right up. Over the past several days I've discovered that my mare is leaving both these and the Smart Hoof pellets after eating all of her feed. When I try to hand feed the pellets to her, she makes faces and refuses to eat them. I am hoping to find a replacement product in a powder again, but no luck so far.
    Date published: 2014-02-18
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from My horse has been in rehab for 7 months. I do not see any diferance using this product.
    Date published: 2014-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must Have for the Horse on Stall Rest! I've had previous experience with SmartCalm Ultra Pellets for a mare that I had adopted from a rescue. She came with many issues including explosive and dangerous fear behavior. She was on this supplement for about 6-7 months. It really helped her through the rough spots. Now, she's developed a lot more courage and curiosity and is doing fine without the supplement.As for one of my other thoroughbreds... He had sustained a suspensory injury a couple of years back during his training on the racetrack. He went through many months of rehab including the initial 3 months on complete stall rest with just 10 minutes of hand walking a day. He completely lost his mind during that time. A super fit racehorse does NOT do well on stall rest. It was absolutely heartbreaking for me to see what he was emotionally going through during that time. Also, he had become such a handful to the handlers who needed to hand walk him daily. It took multiple men to control him. He was quite a wreck and definitely wasn't the same horse.After a long rehab with stem cell therapy, he went back into training. After about 9 months, he re-injured the same suspensory, only at a greater magnitude. He is now back on stall rest. This time, however, I've placed him on SmartCalm Ultra Pellets and really hoped that we would have the same success with them that I had experienced with my mare.What an amazing difference from the last time he was injured. We went to visit him after two weeks of being on the supplements and although he'd like to come out of his stall for some play, he's got some peace of mind and appears to be quite content. The ranch reports that he's much better now when they pull him out for his short 10 minute hand walks. I was so relieved and thankful to see that SmartCalm Ultra Pellets are doing their job and giving my beloved racehorse a sense of well-being during this incredibly difficult time for him.Thank you SmartPak!
    Date published: 2014-04-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful Product! I started my 18 year old OTTB on this after this winter he started to spook at everything in the indoor ring. Everything was terrifying no matter how many times we rode past. He has always had some spook but he was getting to the point where there was no point in trying to ride through it all. I started him on this supplement and what a difference! It's like he's found his happy place. He still has some spook but has gone back to being able to focus on his work and soon forgets about what he was frightened by in the first place.
    Date published: 2014-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm starting to see a better mare I no longer feel like my mare is going to blow up every time I rider her. Her anxiety levels are dropping every week. No more running herself silly in the round pen for an hr. I can now lounge her for 5-10 min and ride safely. Her concentration is improving also. I couldn't be happier with this product.
    Date published: 2014-03-26
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Had high hopes Had no effect on my TB Gelding. If I didn't know any better, I would say that it made him worse. I think that it is like all supplements - works for some, but not others. It's worth giving it a try......
    Date published: 2014-03-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Impressed so far! I bought this product 5 weeks ago for my 16 year old spooky Hanoverian, Aethon. He has always been a nervous nelly, and since I moved to a new barn with an indoor, his inattentiveness was becoming unbearable. It took about 2 weeks, but he calmed down tremendously. I'm only giving it 4 stars as it's the dead of winter and I really haven't had enough opportunities to test it completely, but I'm thrilled so far to have a horse that is calmer, willing, and doesn't feel like he wants to explode. Thank you SmartPak.
    Date published: 2014-03-10
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.