Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Training Surcingle

Item #17452

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The Professional Training Surcingle is made of webbing and leather. Elastic insets allow for equal pressure distribution while girthing and comfort while in work. Multiple Dee rings placed for use with any type of training system. Leather lined girth and padded leather pommel. Stainless steel hardware. One size.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Training Surcingle is rated 4.7568 out of 5 by 37.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Yes This is a nice surcingle for the money. The billet straps are a little rubbery feeling, but overall, it is definitely doing the job. It has a nice weight-- substantial enough to stay put. The webbing and leather on the upper part is soft and flexible, giving a nice fit. I am very happy with this surcingle, and glad I bought it. I've been using it for about a week on my TB. I believe it will hold up well.
    Date published: 2013-05-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Surcingle I was amazed at the quality of this surcingle at the price. I had a cheap, web one where the non-roller buckles would get stuck on the hole grommets and it was soooo frustrating. So, I had resigned myself to spending the money and getting a good quality one. When I saw this particular model, I thought it can't be much better than the one I have at this price, but then in reading the reviews, everyone who had bought one said it was great quality and value. So, I took the chance and didn't regret it. The slight elastic between the leather pieces allows for give without slippage. The billets are leather and are easy to buckle and adjust. There are enough D rings to be able to attach long lines and/or side reins in whatever configuration you need. I am very, very pleased with this purchase and have already recommended it more than once.
    Date published: 2013-09-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality This surcingle is good quality and the blue fabric with the brown leather is attractive. Haven't had it long enough to comment on the durability, but I was happy with the first few uses and expect it to hold up well. Lots of rings so you can place attachments at different levels depending on what you need.
    Date published: 2013-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Surcingle I was quite surprised by this when it arrived. It has elastic in the surcingle on both sides, and the rings are very well placed. The only reason I gave it 4 stars on quality, is the leather could be a smidgen better, but really picky! Great purchase, excellent price. Definitely would recommend.
    Date published: 2013-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice surcingle Good quality with leather pads. It is light weight which works for me. I agree with the other positive reviewers.It also arrived quickly which is great because when I order something I am usually in a hurry to use it.
    Date published: 2013-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality. Used to attach side reins to girth - makes lunging much easier.
    Date published: 2013-02-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I am really happy with this surcingle. It's a gorgeous color and the leather is super nice. I'm not sure if I like the elastic or not only because I'm not sure if it's stretchy enough, but I've never had a problem with the surcingle slipping so I'm not too concerned. The only thing that didn't seem up to par were the buckles as they seem cheap compared to the otherwise great craftsmanship.
    Date published: 2012-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It! I love this surcingle. Has a somewhat stretchy girth and nice soft billets right from the first use. Buckles & keepers easy to use. Nice selection of rings with good size and placement. Has not rolled once on horse and he is comfortable and happy in it. Great color. I would recommend this highly.
    Date published: 2012-11-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality and useablity Easy to use, fits all sizes of horses, great quality in snaps and strapes. Really have enjoyed working with this product!
    Date published: 2012-10-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent and minimal slippage This is an excellent surcingle. It is well constructed, and the leather softened up quickly after I oiled it once and used the surcingle several times. The design and type of leather used in the girth area seems to help it slip less than other surcingles I have used. My high withered/awkwardly sized TB has managed to keep it on and straight, despite his antics.
    Date published: 2012-08-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Price!! My boyfriend gave this surcingle to me and it is so sturdy, well-made, and lovely I thought it was a much more expensive gift. Thanks Smartpak!!! I have had it for 1/2 a year now and it holds up well with sweat, dust, sand etc and cleans up to look new!! Nicely placed rings and very adjustable!
    Date published: 2012-06-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Solid Purchase I bought this surcingle in order to teach my horse to long line and with the hope of eventually using the surcingle with side reins. I have used this product 5 or 6 times now and it still looks good as new. The rings are well attached and stay on even after a significant amount of pressure is placed on them. The only thing I would change is that the girth that comes with the surcingle is barely big enough for my horse's barrel.
    Date published: 2012-08-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice This is a very nice surcingle. Durable, nicely placed and attached d-rings, and comfortable for my horse. The leather is a bit stiff and doesn't take conditioning very well, but it is a thick, fairly nice leather (no plastic feel at all - just a bit stiff). Bought it a year ago and is still looking and working very well. But overall it is a good surcingle and worth the price. I'm glad I got it. :)
    Date published: 2012-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from exactly what I needed This is exactly the type of surcingle I needed for starting my 3 year old. There are lots of rings and he seems very comfortable in it. Has lots of ways to adjust so as he grows it will still fit him!
    Date published: 2012-04-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Surcingle I bought this to use with the Pessoa Lunging System and it does the trick. It has many levels of rings to adjust the height of side reins or a Pessoa to your horse's training level. I have received many complement from other people at the barn and it is of very high quality which is reflected in the price. My only comment is the billet holes are a little small for the girth buckles which make tightening it a bit of a challenge for now.
    Date published: 2012-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality This is a really wonderful surcingle. Nice thick leather, well-placed and secure d-rings, a bit of elastic that helps with fit, and a good all around size. The girth is really nice as well with the stainless steel roller buckles and d-rings. I was worried that the blue and brown would be too stark (I prefer more conservative colors) but was pleased to find that it has enough color to give it a bit of spice, but not so much that it was in my face. Overall, well worth the money.
    Date published: 2012-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase Great quality for a reasonable price.
    Date published: 2011-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Training Surcingle Good Product for the money. Been using almost daily for approx. 3-4 months now. Holding up well.
    Date published: 2011-11-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very well made of high quality materials. Good fit.
    Date published: 2011-09-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from extremely happy with this purchase I've had other surcingles...mostly the cheap ones..but they were still $50 but I barely used them because they didn't do the job, slid around on the barrel of the horse, shoddy workmanship...I absolutely needed a new surcingle and saw this one and purchased the long lines from smartpak because I had to rehab a horse - the surcingle was the best surprise - very well made...doesn't move around at all...very sturdy....can use it with a pad or not.very happy
    Date published: 2011-09-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent value I purchased this surcingle after trying out a few at the barn. What set's this surcingle apart from those is the obvious craftsmanship and the quality products used in the manufacturing. I have no doubt I will have this for years to come - plus my horse seems quite comfortable with it as well!
    Date published: 2011-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! Stays in place and rings are at correct placement. My horse likes it!
    Date published: 2010-12-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Value This is a good quality surcingle for the price. I use it regularly with my young horse and it has held up very well. The rings are a touch small, making long lining difficult. My warmblood is quite round and it fits her well.
    Date published: 2010-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality for the price! This is the second surcingle I have purchased and this one is much better quality. For the small amount extra I paid, I would highly recommend this product. The area that touches the horse's back is padded, and the girth piece is very stretchy so it will fit a variety of horses. There are lots of rings to add any training devices you want.
    Date published: 2010-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely piece of equipment for the price. I really love this surcingle. Beautiful, soft leather, nicely stitched and riveted - so the many Dees aren't going anywhere. Because the nylon web girth will likely bunch behind my pudgy pony's elbows, I will probably have my saddler stitch a strip of saddle leather to the inside of the girth. For less than $60US that I paid for this surcingle, I can certainly afford a minor modification.
    Date published: 2010-03-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Okay for the price This was made decently, but the rings on the surcingle or a bit small and make it difficult to get the driving lines thru them. It is possible to get the driving lines thru, but one has to finagle them thru. My last surcingle had big rings that allowed easier use.
    Date published: 2013-05-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous This surcingle is great! I have a very large Thoroughbred and it fits him fine. I put a pad under it to raise it a little because he has very high withers, but that is not a product fault. The materials in the product are wonderful and the elastic is great for making sure it's snug. I'm very happy with this purchase!
    Date published: 2010-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great training surcingle! I purchased this to start ground driving my long yearling. It fits wonderfully and is made very well! There are enough rings to set the lines where I want. I also bought a fleece back pad to go on this, but found it fit better and stayed better on my horse without one. I would definitely buy again!
    Date published: 2009-12-04
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.