Product Image
Additional Views

Calm & Collected (formerly Confidence Plus)

Hilton Herbs
- Item #10744
Form: Powder
Maintenance Dose: 2 SmartPak Wells

Calm & Collected (formerly Confidence Plus) by Hilton Herbs is a natural calming supplement for horses and ponies. This supplement contains a pure dried herbal blend of Valerian, Vervain, Chamomile, Hawthorn, Marshmallow and Meadowsweet. Calm & Collected is designed for the nutritional maintenance and support of a healthy nervous system. Helps to maintain a calm outlook.

Learn more about Hilton Herbs

View our Calming Supplement Comparison Chart

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Calm & Collected (formerly Confidence Plus) is rated 4.2558 out of 5 by 43.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Supplement This product seemed to help calm my sometimes unconfident 6 year old Tennessee Walker gelding. His "alertness" was often too tuned in to his environment, making it difficult to focus on me, our riding and my ground work requests. In spite of our calm approach and patience, he seemed to be carrying some things from his past history of which we knew little. This products has taken the edge off and helped Max feel more relaxed and better able to fucus.
    Date published: 2012-09-22
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not For Picky Eaters This product comes in a powder form and has a STRONG odor. My horse won't touch it no matter how I try to disguise it. I strongly recommend you take advantage of SmartPak's sample offer before purchasing this product if you have a picky eater. I didn't and I regret it.
    Date published: 2012-09-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works! This product definitely works! I switched from another brand to try this one and within about 2-3 weeks I definitely noticed a big difference.
    Date published: 2012-09-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Miracle product In less than 2 weeks my stressed out show gelding when from a screaming meanie in every class to the western pleasure horse he is at home. I will always use this product!
    Date published: 2012-08-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unbelievable stuff It took about 3-4 weeks to kick in but this stuff has helped immensely! We used to have to ace before we lounged our horse just to ride him; now he is good to go after just lounging. We had tried the SmartCalm product prior but it did not seem to help enough to notice.
    Date published: 2012-05-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Calming Influence My mare was pretty spooky all the time. It wouldn't take anything at all to get her jumpy. After just a week or so, I noticed a huge difference. Where before she would have jumped at something, now she just lifts her head and looks.I've been very happy with this product. It's so fantastic. It actually gives me more confidence!
    Date published: 2012-11-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from this is a great product i would tell every body about it. my horse really likes it.
    Date published: 2012-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Product of value Tried this product on my nervous gelding and it worked awesome. He is more relaxed and focused on the commands given.
    Date published: 2012-03-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from This product really works! My horse "Stormy" was normally anxious, high strung, and spooked easily. After just 3 weeks on Confidence Plus, He is much more collected and mellow. His demeanor has improved, and he is more attentive with commands and ground training.Thank you "Confidence Plus"! Your Product is great, and I am recommending it to all my friends!
    Date published: 2012-03-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Even temperment I show a 'hot' arabian mare over fences. She can become distracted easily by noises and other things going on outside of the arena. Using this product has evened out her temperment considerably! While it is not legal to show with, it helps her focus during our workouts and lessons, which builds both of our confidence levels. USEF told me to discontinue its use 1 week prior to an event to not get a positive drug test. During the show, I use ear plugs and B-Kalm (10,000 mg. tryptophan) and get a similar attitude.
    Date published: 2012-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Continues to be a staple in my barn This is the second review I am making on Confidence plus. I am extremely happy with the results and my mare seems happier and more settled. She is easier to work with and is focused on me and not the things that scare her, therefore, she is learning more and progressing faster.The only complaint I have is that I started to receive Confidence Plus in Smartpaks. Smartpak grinds it down so that it fits in fewer wells. I don't like this. The result is a powder that my mare really doesn't like. I am not a fan of powders anyway as they tend to fall to the bottom of the feed bucket and are not eaten. I had to add peppermints to her feed for the first month to encourage her to eat. I never had this problem after the initial introduction with the way that it comes in the buckets.
    Date published: 2012-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the Money After moving my horse to a new barn this fall he became extremely anxious and spooky. He couldnt walk into the barn or stand in the cross ties calmly much less be ridden without huge spooks. We treated him for ulcers which helped but not totally. After being placed on Confidence Plus for a month he is calm again. He is more relaxed and able to focus on the rider instead of everything in his environment. He is still sensitive and forward but not doped from this product. I would advise anyone to use for at least a month before judging efficacy. I also chose the bag option as the smart paks were reported to be powder. The herbs mix in with his grain and are eaten up.
    Date published: 2012-01-12
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from This may be a great product, but my horse, that eats anything, even cheeseburgers, would not eat his grain with this in it. This is the first supplement, that has had this effect on him.
    Date published: 2011-11-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from The bucket is better than the smartpaks I like the effect of this product for my horse, however; the smartpaks are very dusty when I dump them in his grain. I tried the bucket version, and the herbs are in tiny pieces...not dusty at all. I would recommend the bucket if you don't like to breathing dust...
    Date published: 2011-11-02
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from ineffective 'Tried this product on my visually spooky horse for 2 months and saw no improvement. The powdered form does not stick to my horse's plain pelleted food and the odd odor of the valerian makes it unpallatable.
    Date published: 2011-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Updated Review I've written before about how much I like this product, but I felt it was time to sing its praises again. I'd used it years ago on my mare and her loony son, then stopped when it no longer seemed necessary. Back then it was called "Response" and was true to its name. The new formulation under the name "Confidence" has been an excellent choice once again for my now-middle-aged (but still loony) gelding. He'd gone through some emotional and physical upheavals that left him quaking in his shoes and basically useless. After much expensive vet care and retraining of several varieties, I discovered that this product was still available. Now, on the second bag since that rediscovery, even the barn hands have noted how unflappable the gelding is. His training has resumed with great success, and he's happily hacking out without a problem. Evil wildlife and rustling underbrush are back on the "No Biggie" list, and I couldn't be happier. Confidence is not a calming drug. It just helps the horse focus on the job at hand. He's not overly quiet or drowsy. His energy level is better than ever since he's no longer wasting his strength shaking and spinning and balking. Great product!
    Date published: 2011-09-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from surprisingly effective I was skeptical about trying this since it is so expensive, but after a couple weeks I could really see a difference in my right-brain extrovert ex-racehorse TB. I can actually lead him around the entire arena without him completely losing his mind. And now we are calmly walking in the horse trailer. Before, there were days that you could barely lead this horse...now I don't see that craziness. He seems to be able to control his emotions better.
    Date published: 2011-07-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really works! My horse is much easier to work with, lead, catch, etc. while on this supplement. She will still spook at things, but the change in her has been amazing. She is so much more trusting. She is like a different horse! I highly recommend this suppliment.
    Date published: 2011-07-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Did not work on the gelding Did not work on one gelding and made the other to lazy had to 1/2 the dose. So it depends on the horse you will see a difference in the 1st week if its working we found. Kept a couple on it 2 months just to see. Expensive experiment, made both horses a little lazier but did not make one any less apt to spook. We bought it for a horse who saw things when nothing was there in the barn.
    Date published: 2011-05-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING! I've tried 3 different calming supplements and none came even close to working as well as this product. My 7 year old QH gelding just had a nervous edge to him that I couldn't overcome. Never say never... but I'm never taking him off this stuff!
    Date published: 2011-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm Impressed! i have a Clide/TB mare that is afraid of EVERYTHING. She was a PMU baby and the previous owners did nothing with her. Unconfident is exactly the way to describe her. She spooks at wildlife, sounds, movement, if another horse snorts, cows, rocks, the farrier...you name it and she will jump out of her skin. Like another reviewer said, I was about to sell her because she just couldn't seem to get it together; however, she is so darn sweet, and beautiful that I wanted to try everything before I did so. After only 10 days of this supplement she was calmer and not as jumpy. I don't have a lot of time to ride her (part of the problem) so I tried this stuff 'cold turkey'. No groundwork, just tacked her up and rode after not riding for a week. (I know, not really smart, but I wanted to see if it was working.) I did this twice and she was amazing. She had a lot of energy (to be expected) but, was focused and did not jump out of her skin at everything. We even came upon a huge flock of turkey buzzards that flew into the air and she just looked at them.She is a picky eater and it did take some figuring out to get her to eat this stuff. I finally split the amount into two feedings and put some treats in with her feed. She finally got hungry enough to eat it.As for the price, it is a lot cheaper than a tooth implant, stitches and other medical bills I have incurred from injuries!My horse will be on this forever! GREAT stuff!
    Date published: 2011-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Product! Confidence Plus made a substantial change in attitude in my young TB gelding. I noticed a difference in behavior in under a week from the start of using this product. Since being on this product he's no longer so spooky & tense, and is more managable & enjoyable to ride. He's what people might call a "fussy eater", but this product was no problem, I rather think he enjoys it!
    Date published: 2010-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from helped with panic attacks There was a noticeable difference with my horse after receiving this product - he is prone to panic attacks over anything (including things he has seen before) and worry - after receiving this his panic attacks significantly reduced as well as if he runs out for a few days - I can tell immediately! Panic attacks commence! I have 2 wishes - one that it wasnt quite as expensive as what it is and 2 that it was legal for showing. Gosh does it help.
    Date published: 2010-09-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Made me a believer I have seen the changes in my mare just 10 days into using this product.She seems more relaxed but is still very alert.When she spooks now it is very subtle.... not over- the-top like before.I am very pleased with this product...but, it is a little expensive.
    Date published: 2010-03-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This one worked!! My daughter's quarter horse mare was very tense when being ridden. She always chomped on her bit, was ring sour and occasionally reared, especially at horse shows. We started her on the Confidense Plus and noticed a difference the next day. She is much more relaxed. We took her to a show this weekend after being on Confidence Plus for just a week and she was not nervous or ring sour. They placed in almost every class. She has almost stopped chewing her bit and is much more fun to ride. We were to the point of selling her because of the nervousness, but this product has helped so much we will be keeping her. She ate the Confidence Plus mixed with her pelleted feed with no problem.
    Date published: 2009-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Has given me a new horse I have a mare that is scared of everything and her reaction is to freeze. Her joints lock up and she cannot move. After many evaluations from vets and other equine professionals we found her problem to be mental/emotional. I tried this product (the liquid form) for a month and saw a huge difference. She was forward, no more locking stifles or any other joint, she was hard to stop and it was fabulous! I didn't really believe that it could be the supplement, so I stopped it for 2 months. She totally reverted back to locked up unable to move mare. I put her back on it and she is the crazy forward mare. I can say that she will be on this for life! I know that its supposed to be a calming supplement and not produce a crazy energetic horse, but for my mare it calms her internal anxiety and allows her to be a normal forward moving horse. I have found that the liquid form is a little stronger/works better, but the dry from has the same results, just milder or maybe I just need to give more.
    Date published: 2009-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best purchase ever This product really works to calm and collect your horse so it can think. I am a barrel racer and I have used it on my barrel horses that just get a little too nuts and stop thinking once we enter the arena. It doesn't slow down their speed, just lets them think.
    Date published: 2009-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME! My horse is perfect again! We noticed a change the first day we gave this to him. And now that he has been on Confidence Plus over two weeks, he is incredible to ride and control again. He still looks around but this takes the edge off his reaction - which is what we were looking for. He seems happier and we definately are!
    Date published: 2009-08-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Took The Edge Off My young horse is always on edge and riding him, you feel like he is ready to jump out of his skin. In fact sometimes he almost does. After a week of giving him just a quarter of what they suggested each morning you could see it working during his training sessions. We are currently using half the suggested amount given in the morning and it is taking the edge off his nervousness to the point that he can be ridden and trained.
    Date published: 2009-06-26
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.