Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

SmartPak Deluxe High Neck Turnout Blanket

SmartPak
- Item #17378

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Designed for superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction, the SmartPak Deluxe High Neck Turnout is sure to keep your horse warm and protected for years to come! All of the great features of the SmartPak Deluxe Turnout blanket but with a higher neck that offers protection against the elements and cold winter drafts.

  • Tough 1200 denier ripstop polyester outer shell is waterproof and breathable for the protection your horse needs and the durability you want 
  • High Neck design offers better protection from the elements and helps reduce blanket pressure on the withers
  • Two stainless steel quick-clip front closure buckles give a secure fit that can be adjusted and make it fast and easy to take the blanket on and off   
  • Combination nylon/elastic leg straps prevent the blanket from shifting
  • Tail flap protects from wind and rain and also helps the blanket stay in place 
  • Two stainless steel low cross surcingles help keep the blanket snug and in place  

Imported.

Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing ability.

How to measure a horse

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    SmartPak Deluxe High Neck Turnout Blanket is rated 4.6337 out of 5 by 101.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality blanket We have had a week of below zero temperatures here, so I wanted a heavy weight blanket for our Paint gelding. This blanket is good quality and feels like it will last. I like the front feature of buckles for adjustment but then there are front snaps and Velcro so you don't have to buckle every time. He tends to be easy on stuff so hard to review the durability. The colors are nice. I would have preferred a tail strap to leg straps and am thinking about removing them and using the back rings for a tail strap. Overall a really nice blanket so far.
    Date published: 2014-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Blanket I bought this blanket in a midweight and was so happy with it that I bought the heavyweight as well. The fabric is really nice and I'm especially pleased with all of the adjustment that is possible in the front and the very deep shoulder gussets. It fits my draft cross guy really well with plenty of room to adjust. This is my first high neck blanket and I'm happy I chose that as well. It gives him just that little bit of extra protection and warmth on the low part of his neck without having to resort to a full hood. We have had a brutal winter so far, and my horse has been comfortable outside and in his stall in this blanket.
    Date published: 2014-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the high neck I've only used this once as it's the heaviest version and I use the middle weight on my paint mare on a regular basis, saving this one for sub-zero temps. I really wish my usual one had the high neck this one does. Much nicer on the neck and withers as well as her mane. Like the hardware. Seems much nicer than the standard and more user friendly. Very happy with it so far. Love the placement of the Stitching on the hip. Looks great.
    Date published: 2014-01-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Runs small Glad it is a high neck rain sheet (lite weight),rather than insulated.  Runs small (normally wears a 68, 69 was too small, 72 fits. 72 was too small for horses normally wearing 72, so they were returned for next size up, will see if 75 fits them.).  Shoulder darts could be placed further forward.  So far, is waterproof
    Date published: 2014-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket, good looking and durable. Seems to have relieved the sore withers area on my Quarter Horse mare. 
    Date published: 2014-01-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the lightweight feel I bought this a couple of weeks ago, I love how lightweight it is but it's so warm. The buckles are easy, but after 1 week there's already a small hole in the side. :(
    Date published: 2014-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Relief for an old horse Well made. I got good advice on choosing the size when I ordered. It fits. It stays put. And the heavy fill keeps my old horse warm in this winter that came hard and fast.
    Date published: 2014-01-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality blanket This is my first smartpak brand blanket and I am really happy with it. Love the snap front and material of the blanket. Looks nice on my horse and like the high neck - it gives more warmth without rubbing his mane out like a full neck does. Also love that the sides wrap under his belly for more coverage. Only downfall is that it is restricting in the shoulder but shouldn't be too big of a problem for my horse since he is mostly in  a stall or in a small private paddock so he isn't moving around alot. It runs true to size. Overall very satisfied.
    Date published: 2014-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Fit I am very pleased with the fit (perfect for my retired Connemara) and the quality of workmanship. She is warm and comfortable turned out all day in near-0 temperatures. No rubs on her shoulders!
    Date published: 2014-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from High neck Great blanket fits well so far no rubs very good weight and not bulky
    Date published: 2013-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fit i first ordered a to large size & used smartpaks return policy. the 2nd blanket fit my horse like it was made for him. i like the high neck as this styling takes any pressure of the withers. the function/fit keeps horse dry & clean & puts its self back in place after the horse roles around on ground.
    Date published: 2013-12-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Blanket Fits nicely on my high withered horse.  I had problems with rubs on the withers and shoulder before, none so far with this blanket after several weeks.  It is a little long for her back, but fits nicely everywhere else.
    Date published: 2013-12-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent choice! I bought this blanket for my 28y.o. Thoroughbred. I can't even believe how amazing it is. I bought the heavyweight and he is toasty at 20 degrees and not hot or sweaty at 50. This is my first high neck blanket and it fits very well. He is broad with high withers. Again, I am super impressed.
    Date published: 2013-12-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket!! I love this blanket and my horse does, too! It is very high quality with nice buckles and snaps. I love the lining - it polishes my horses coat! The outer shell repels dirt and you can easily just brush dirt off while they are wearing it. It is not bulky but it is very warm. I love the arches because when my horse lays down, the blanket poofs out like a tent all around his legs and keeps him warm. I just really like everything about this blanket and would buy it again.
    Date published: 2013-12-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good!!! I bought this a month ago for my TB/Holstein show horse. I am really impressed with the quality and the way it is designed. It fits her perfectly- And stays put- even after her acting like a bucking bronca in the field today! It's only been a month, but so far so good. :)
    Date published: 2013-12-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the high neck. I bought this blanket right before we had a major cold snap. It arrived just in time. I had to quickly fit it to my horse and was very pleased with the front closure and how easy it was to adjust the strap so in the future I would only need to use the clips! The blanket has now been on for 2 weeks in a pen with 2 young mules as company. In their playing it has stayed put and is not showing any signs of wear from their nips. The only down side is the back leg straps. They will not stay tight. Will need to request new ones.
    Date published: 2013-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Impressed I have always purchased Rambo brand blankets. They seem to last forever and keep my horses warm and dry. My 24 yo retired Morgan needed a new heavy weight blanket and I did not have the money for a Rambo. The Smartpak Deluxe High Neck Turnout has been fantastic! I love the front closure snaps and the high neck makes me feel like I have given her a "little roof" over her neck. We get a lot of freezing rain and ice in Virginia, so I was also impressed with how dry it has kept her. As for the leg straps, I just adjusted them slightly longer than needed and tied a knot in each. No more length problems! She is 15h and quite wide, I felt the 75 fit her length and width well. If this blanket holds up well I will be buying all of my replacements through Smartpak.
    Date published: 2013-12-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket This is a durable, attractive blanket. I wanted a high neck lightweight turnout blanket, and had a hard time finding one. I bought a 75 for my 14.3 hh quarter horse mare, and it fits her very well. She is not hard on her blankets, so I don't know how it would hold up with a destructive horse. I would definitely buy this one again. 
    Date published: 2013-12-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sheet. I bought this sheet about a week ago, and so far its great.  I had read on a few reviews that the size ran slightly on the small side, so I ordered an 84" for my gelding who is 16.2.  The 84 was huge on him, so I sent it back and got the 81" instead, which fits great.  Free shipping both ways was so nice, and made my return effortless.  Smartpak sent me my new one quickly, too. 
    Date published: 2013-11-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits my TB true to size I recently purchased the sheet as an economical alternative to a Rambo Wug. I was told it would fit like my Rambo and it does. My horse is a 16.3 TB with high withers who wears a 78 Rambo and the 78 SmartPak sheet fits him well with room enough for a bottom layer if needed. He's only been wearing for a few days, so I cannot comment on how it wears, but it appears to be well made. I particularly like the overlap in the front and the quality of the clips. I will post an update after the winter.
    Date published: 2013-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Value and Quality The Smartpak brand provides excellent quality and value for the price. This is my second Smartpak brand blanket purchase. The fasteners are rugged and don't bend or break (like others I have had on more pricey rugs); the shell is sturdy and cleans up nicely, and stands up the horsey wear and tear.The back leg straps do tend to become loose after a few days but this is a very minor issue and should not deter a purchase of this product. I am 100% satisfied and would buy again!
    Date published: 2013-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice blanket I bought this as a medium weight blanket for my warmblood who was rubbed raw at the withers from his other blankets. This blanket worked perfectly for him. I haven't had any problems with any of the straps in the couple of months that he used it. I have no complaints about this blanket at all and will most likely buy a SmartPak blanket the next time I need one.
    Date published: 2013-10-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from First SP blanket purchase! This was my first SP blanket I purchased - I got it right from the Natick, MA SP store in their clearance section - great deal! I do notice some of the stitching coming loose around the trim and piping but not that big of a deal, she's a horse that plays outside - it's bound to get destroyed. :) It fits well, doesn't rub out her mane or withers due to the high neck and is very very warm. She used to live in Saxon brand blankets but this one turned us into SP blanket believers. ;)One only gripe I had about this blanket is the fact that the hind leg straps that came with it were a bit flimsy and didn't stay tight, they always loosened all the way out. I contacted SP and they promptly sent me a new, more durable pair for free.
    Date published: 2013-10-31
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good Value for the price This was my first SmarkPak branded purchase and overall I was pleased with the quailty. Great fit and durability for my large Dutch Warmblood mare who is very hard on her "clothes". She wore this blanket almost everyday this winter. The lineing did show signs of wear at the shoulder gussets and the stitching pulled out completely on the gusset. The exterior showed no signs of wear. I was pleased to get a season out of the blanket. Overall good value for the price but for everyday use plan on replacing every year.
    Date published: 2013-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best blanket ever I love these blankets. They fit well and are very warm. Love the high neck too!
    Date published: 2013-10-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Value! My only complaint is that the big size (86) isn't long enough on the sides for the bigger broader horses. Other than that I love it! My other guys have one of these as well and they've held up now for 1-2yrs!
    Date published: 2013-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! This fits my Arabian mare great! Love the high neck and heavyweight.. it has not rubbed her mane out and everything fits well. I did have an issue with the elastic leg straps in the back, but when I mentioned it to SmartPak, they immediately acknowledged it as being an issue they knew about and sent me a more durable pair of leg straps to use instead of the ones it comes with. Great buy and excellent customer service!
    Date published: 2014-02-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Value I did like the mid-weight, however seemed more suitable for a narrower horse than the Oldenberg Mare I purchased it for. When I ordered it, I was advised by the sales associate that they ran large, however I found it to be a true-to-small fit, and would have preferred the next size up.I like the weight, the material, the leg gussets, and the neck.
    Date published: 2013-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality We have been very happy with this blanket. The high neck is a great feature and so far the blanket is holding up well and looks to be very durable.
    Date published: 2013-02-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good value Purchased as an extra. My big guy is really big so it seems to fit a lil short on the sides, but the other two fit well in this product!
    Date published: 2013-02-20
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.