Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

SmartPak Deluxe Turnout Blanket

SmartPak
- Item #17376
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Designed for superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction. 

The SmartPak Deluxe Turnout Blanket is a barn favorite. Designed to keep your horse warm and dry in the cold weather with a generous shoulder gusset to allow shoulder movement. Your horse will love this blanket! Imported.

Favorite Features

  • Waterproof
  • 1200 denier breathable nylon outer shell is breathable
  • Lite - No Fill, Medium - 220g or Heavy - 360g
  • Nylon lining
  • Two low-cross surcingles keep the blanket secure on your horse
  • Quick-clip front closures are easily adjustable for easy on and off
  • Nylon/elastic leg straps allow freedom of movement and keep the blanket from shifting
  • Tail flap provides additional protection from the elements so your horse stays warm and dry
  • Fleece wither protection to guard against rubs

Matching SmartPak Deluxe Neck Rug also available.

Sizing It Up

Available in size 69-87" (3" increments)

How to measure a horse

Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing ability.

Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Deluxe Turnout Blanket is rated 4.4894 out of 5 by 282.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket! Love this blanket! Fit is great. Quality is great!
    Date published: 2014-11-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice blanket This is a nice fitting, good quality turnout! All the materials seem to be a good quality and it fits my very narrow TB well.
    Date published: 2014-11-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great blanket for the value I bought an 81 for my 16'3" Westfalen. He has a broad chest and this blanket fits him great in the chest but is actually long for him (I didn't exchange because I needed to use ASAP and was afraid a size smaller would be too tight in the chest). This blanket is great value! Would purchase again.
    Date published: 2014-11-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Quality Love the tough construction in this blanket. Looks like it will last for years.
    Date published: 2014-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit I bought this plus one more for both of my horses and they both fit great......
    Date published: 2014-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value and quality product I bought this for my large warmblood and it fit him great! You get a good quality product with durability to last through harsh winters.
    Date published: 2014-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket! I haven't been using this blanket long enough to speak about durability but so far, so good! It seems to be of great quality, it fits my horse well, and I love the velco and front clips. Will definitely be buying more Smartpak brand blankets in the future!
    Date published: 2014-11-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality This turnout fits my TB perfectly and looks so "Smart". I love the quick clip closure and Velcro in the front - so much easier than buckles!!!
    Date published: 2014-10-22
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not as advertised I ordered this sheet (no fill) specifically because it advertised having the mesh lining. BUYER BEWARE - THIS SHEET DOES NOT HAVE MESH LINING.
    Date published: 2014-10-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome blanket! This is a truly top-notch turnout. I have it in both the heavy and the light weight because it's such a good product. The quick clip front buckles are awesome without compromising fit and the waterproofing is great. After my horse comes in after a heavy rain I can literally just shake it off and it's dry. The blankets look great too - my trainer is quite content to let my horse wear them at shows!
    Date published: 2014-10-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Blanket Fits my warmblood like thoroughbred very well. Hasn't been cold enough for him to wear out yet, the blanket is very well made. My horse tends to be hard to fit, so I am thankful for a good fit.
    Date published: 2014-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well made, sturdy and fits well. It hasn't been very cold yet, but my mare appreciates her new blanket already. I like the way it fits over the shoulders and has nice gussets so she can move her forelegs freely without rubs. I also like how this blanket comes down farther on the sides than many other blankets.
    Date published: 2014-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from "must have!" As a first-time horse owner, I bought this as my mid weight turnout option. It's really well constructed, sturdy, and comfortable. Haven't had it long enough to know about durability over time, but so far it's a winner!
    Date published: 2014-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Quality Good Price The Smart Pak Deluxe Turnout is very good quality. I like the adjust-ability of the front snaps. It fits my Perch/TB great and I love the colors. I have had this turnout for other horses in the past and they hold up great. And you can't beat the price.
    Date published: 2014-09-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from after about 5 years of use I bought many years ago. I USE this blanket-- I have a teenager who abuses this blanket. I used it on three different horses-- latest one just passed on so I thought it time to clean it. I camp ..monthly... rain, mud, snow, my horses love to lay down..roll in the their blankets-- so you might think this blanket is getting a bit beat. Well, it is ...was... very dirty. I took my heavy duty power washer to it. I think I am a bit OCD because I went over it many times. Frankly, it doesn't look BRAND new but, well darn close to it. I LOVE this blanket and if I needed another, I would't even go shopping, I would just go directly and buy another.
    Date published: 2014-06-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Poor Durability In the beginning of the winter season, I purchased three of these blankets. A sheet, medium, and heavy (plus a hood). Unfortunately, the sheet tore in the back near the tail flap, and the piping started to unwind. In the medium weight, a hole started to form and one of the front clips became defective. In the heavy weight, the clip that attaches to the hood fell off and we had to send it back and purchase a new one immediately due to what a cold winter it was. Also, the hood tore in the inside. We sent that back as well with the heavy weight and received a new one. A month later, that hood ripped in the same spot and one of the velcro straps on the outside came off. Very disappointed in quality because it is such a great price. My horse isn't very rough on blankets, which proved to me that since they ripped, the quality really could have been better. Although I must say, the fit is great and they are very attractive blankets. I got many compliments on them this winter. And of course, Smartpak's customer service is one of the best around.
    Date published: 2014-04-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great fit, cheap hardware I bought two of these on sale last summer, a medium weight and a light weight. They are a perfect fit for my tall narrow thoroughbred. He wore them all winter with no rubs. He managed to put a huge rip in the medium weight by the end of the winter. What really bothers me though is the cheap front clips. They get bent and then they won't close properly. My other horse's Weatherbeeta has the same front design and those clips have lasted two seasons with no problem. I'd pay a few bucks extra for better hardware on the SmartPak blankets.I'll be replacing the ripped blanket with the SmartPak Ultimate Turnout that comes with a 10 year guarantee. Unless your horse is very easy on his blankets I recommend spending extra for the Ultimate Turnout.
    Date published: 2014-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Turnout I bought the lite and medium weight for my OTTB last summer on sale and I am so pleased with the fit. I had never tried a SP turnout before and other brands rubbed his shoulders. The leg gussets on this product really help with that and I love the clips on the front making it easy for other people to pop this on without buckling the front too tight or too loose. I am a big fan of the leg straps as well and mine two turnouts have held up very well (fall, winter, and now spring use).The only thing I would change, and it was completely my fault for not reading more carefully, is that the lite has mesh lining which is a nightmare to keep free of shavings, dirt, and hair. I will be investing in the Ultimate Lite Turnout which has nylon lining when I can.
    Date published: 2014-04-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not as durable as expected. I bought this blanket for my stocky paint gelding, as he fits into blankets with a high neck rise well. I purchased the heavy-weight and it kept him warm in our bitter Wisconsin winter. It didn't rub him anywhere and he seemed to like it. Only problem was that the shell was not nearly as durable as I thought it would be. He managed to put four holes in it - but he's pretty rough on blankets. I wish it would have lasted more than one season.
    Date published: 2014-03-17
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor quality I bought this blanket in the medium weight last fall. Due to the extreme cold inIN this winter, my horse has only worn this blanket less than 10 times. Thepiping has already unraveled by the tail flap, the clips on the chest no longer clip closed, and it has a tear in the fabric. My horse is not hard on blankets at all - his last blanket was a cheap internet buy for $50 - and it lasted 5 yrs! I expected so much more from Smartpak!!
    Date published: 2014-03-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not what I expected! I decided to replace all of my blankets before this past winter. I bought 5 SmartPak blankets! I read all the reviews and made sure of the product. However, I was sad to see that my horse has numerous rub spots on his shoulders. Usually he gets one but this year he has probably 3 per shoulder and the blanket doesn't look like it lays right. Every time I put it on him I go to pull at it but it just has a bunched up area, almost like there isn't enough material there. It is a decent blanket but I guess I just expected a better experience. I love their customer service and supplements so I felt like I should try their blankets as well, will have to try something different next time.
    Date published: 2014-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works for Hard to Fit Thoroughbred This is the second SmartPakTurnout Blanket I have bought. Our quarter horse needed a new blanket and we found the perfect fit with this blanket. So when our Thoroughbred tore up his blanket I knew I wanted to try another one. He is tall and thin and finding a blanket to fit his chest was hard. This one can be adjusted just right and I am very pleased. We shall see how strong it is with this crazy guy who rolls and twists when he's tired of having to cover up!.
    Date published: 2014-03-09
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor durability I purchased this for my retired mare. She is out 24/7 and is neither rough on her blankets nor does she play hard. This blanket had a few tears on the outside, probably due to other horses, but it was the lining that I am really disappointed with. There are multiple tears on the inside of the blanket. One is large enough that the filling is starting to come out. Also, the leg straps are low quality. They are very long, even when shortened all the way and the elastic stretches out fast. Overall, I was disappointed with the quality of this blanket despite the great reviews.
    Date published: 2014-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product Good price, good quality, seems like it will hold up well with a good amount of padding
    Date published: 2014-03-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible, tough blanket! My mare has been wearing this blanket through two very hard, cold winters now and it is still going strong and ready for another season! She is a very petite, narrow TB-type horse and it fits her excellently. All the hardware is still intact, and it is very easy to clean off with just a stiff brush if it gets any mud on it. The only complaint I have is that it did rub her a bit in the shoulders, but that was easily fixed with a shoulder guard. Not to mention it's absolutely gorgeous! I have the hunter/burgundy and it looks beautiful on my bay roan.
    Date published: 2014-03-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Fit for our Hard to Fit Thoroughbred This is the second blanket I have purchased in the past two months. We needed a new one for our quarter horse and then I saw the ad in the blanket book about their strength, durability and easy adjusting and knew I had to get another for our Thoroughbred who tears some portion of his blanket about every two weeks. Rather than paying for costly repairs I decided this was the blanket for him. It has turned out to adjust perfectly for him, and while pretty mud-caked, it remains in one piece.
    Date published: 2014-02-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Blanket EVER I bought this blanket after my horse ripped the one he had for years. I was looking at getting something comparable. So I looked at the Big D's. They were expensive but I was willing to spend the money to have a good blanket that would last. Right before I checked out I remembered that Smartpak had their own brand of blankets so I decided to look at what they offered. They had a similar blanket to the Big D I was going to purchase but for way less money. It also had better reviews & I actually like the look of Smartpaks blanket better. So I bought it! Once it arrived I was a little nervous until I put it on my horse & saw that it was the best fitting blanket that I have ever owned. Thanks Smartpak I will be buying another blanket in the near future since I love this one so much =)
    Date published: 2014-02-24
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ripped in first week The tail flap ripped in the first week. My horses previous blanket lasted seven years without any damage.
    Date published: 2014-02-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice blanket! Just didn't fit my horse This appeared to be a very nice, well made blanket. I really liked the adjustable closure on the front of the blanket. It had a nice drop and the sizing seemed accurate (I ordered an 81). However, my stocky QH has a very broad chest and big shoulder and the blanket seemed to pull across his shoulder and gap a bit around the neck. I chose to send it back because I was concerned it might rub or that he wouldn't stay dry with the gap around the neckline. Would definitely be willing to buy it again for a different horse though.
    Date published: 2014-02-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely nice blanket! This is my favorite blanket! Bought my mare one in brown last summer and it has held up beautifully in group turnout and private turnout. Just now am I finding that the cord and trim is coming undone- this is a miracle with my horses, let me tell you! Has never ripped, stays dry inside even in absolute downpour, the snaps are perfect and the belly straps are very easy to get on and hard for her to get off. Perfect fit! I will be replacing hers soon and getting one for my gelding too- poor boy is practically suffering in a weatherbeeta in comparison. I'll never buy anything else again.
    Date published: 2014-02-17
    • 2015-03-03T07:00CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_23, tr_259
    • loc_en_US, sid_7376, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.