Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

SmartPak Deluxe Turnout Blanket

SmartPak
- Item #17376

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Designed for superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction. 

The SmartPak Deluxe Turnout Blanket is a barn favorite. Designed to keep your horse warm and dry in the cold weather with a generous shoulder gusset to allow shoulder movement. Your horse will love this blanket! Click here to purchase matching SmartPak Deluxe Neck Rug! Imported.

Favorite Features

  • Waterproof
  • 1200 denier breathable nylon outer shell is breathable
  • Lite - No Fill (mesh lining), Medium - 220g or Heavy - 360g (nylon lining)
  • Two low-cross surcingles keep the blanket secure on your horse
  • Quick-clip front closures are easily adjustable for easy on and off
  • Nylon/elastic leg straps allow freedom of movement and keep the blanket from shifting
  • Tail flap provides additional protection from the elements so your horse stays warm and dry
  • Fleece wither protection to guard against rubs
Sizing It Up

Available in size 69-87" (3" increments)

How to measure a horse

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    SmartPak Deluxe Turnout Blanket is rated 4.4513 out of 5 by 226.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product Good price, good quality, seems like it will hold up well with a good amount of padding
    Date published: 2014-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible, tough blanket! My mare has been wearing this blanket through two very hard, cold winters now and it is still going strong and ready for another season! She is a very petite, narrow TB-type horse and it fits her excellently. All the hardware is still intact, and it is very easy to clean off with just a stiff brush if it gets any mud on it. The only complaint I have is that it did rub her a bit in the shoulders, but that was easily fixed with a shoulder guard. Not to mention it's absolutely gorgeous! I have the hunter/burgundy and it looks beautiful on my bay roan.
    Date published: 2014-03-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Fit for our Hard to Fit Thoroughbred This is the second blanket I have purchased in the past two months. We needed a new one for our quarter horse and then I saw the ad in the blanket book about their strength, durability and easy adjusting and knew I had to get another for our Thoroughbred who tears some portion of his blanket about every two weeks. Rather than paying for costly repairs I decided this was the blanket for him. It has turned out to adjust perfectly for him, and while pretty mud-caked, it remains in one piece.
    Date published: 2014-02-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Blanket EVER I bought this blanket after my horse ripped the one he had for years. I was looking at getting something comparable. So I looked at the Big D's. They were expensive but I was willing to spend the money to have a good blanket that would last. Right before I checked out I remembered that Smartpak had their own brand of blankets so I decided to look at what they offered. They had a similar blanket to the Big D I was going to purchase but for way less money. It also had better reviews & I actually like the look of Smartpaks blanket better. So I bought it! Once it arrived I was a little nervous until I put it on my horse & saw that it was the best fitting blanket that I have ever owned. Thanks Smartpak I will be buying another blanket in the near future since I love this one so much =)
    Date published: 2014-03-04
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ripped in first week The tail flap ripped in the first week. My horses previous blanket lasted seven years without any damage.
    Date published: 2014-02-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice blanket! Just didn't fit my horse This appeared to be a very nice, well made blanket. I really liked the adjustable closure on the front of the blanket. It had a nice drop and the sizing seemed accurate (I ordered an 81). However, my stocky QH has a very broad chest and big shoulder and the blanket seemed to pull across his shoulder and gap a bit around the neck. I chose to send it back because I was concerned it might rub or that he wouldn't stay dry with the gap around the neckline. Would definitely be willing to buy it again for a different horse though.
    Date published: 2014-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely nice blanket! This is my favorite blanket! Bought my mare one in brown last summer and it has held up beautifully in group turnout and private turnout. Just now am I finding that the cord and trim is coming undone- this is a miracle with my horses, let me tell you! Has never ripped, stays dry inside even in absolute downpour, the snaps are perfect and the belly straps are very easy to get on and hard for her to get off. Perfect fit! I will be replacing hers soon and getting one for my gelding too- poor boy is practically suffering in a weatherbeeta in comparison. I'll never buy anything else again.
    Date published: 2014-02-19
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Well made but not a good fit I bought this sheet for my Hanoverian gelding. The quality is good but unfortunately it didn't fit my guy very well. Too tight around the shoulders.
    Date published: 2014-02-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Coverage, Sturdy I have a trace-clipped QH gelding who likes to play rough, roll in the mud and is a hard keeper. I was concerned about the fit over his shoulders, but despite about three months now of regular wear, there are no rubs, pressure points or coat damage. It fits over his shoulder well, though his is not one of those 'brick house' QH, and the drop is low enough to make sure his belly is dry and clean. The fill is good weight and well-distributed and the waterproofing hasn't leaked a bit. I haven't had any issue with slipping or shifting when he rolls or rough-houses with the other boys. He did step on and rip the edging off one rear corner rising from a roll and there is a little wear on the tail-flap from his pasture buddies pulling on it, but nothing noticeable unless you look closely. Considering tail-flaps have been entirely ripped of his blankets in three DAYS before, I am very pleased! I love this blanket and think we're going to put the warranty to the test in the next nine years. :)
    Date published: 2014-02-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the features This blanket runs big so I had to return the first one for a smaller size. But I reallydo love this blanket. The leg straps have snaps on both ends which makes itreally nice and I like the snaps instead of the buckle on the front adjustment. Theservice I received when I had to return the blanket was outstanding.
    Date published: 2014-02-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great fit and warm Bought this blanket just in time for single digit temperatures and my horse is warm and comfortable. True to size. She wears 84 and the 84 I ordered fit perfectly. Favorite thing is the easy on and off adjustable front clips.
    Date published: 2014-01-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the fit! My warmblood mare, Cabernet, needs a blanket that will accomodate the broadness through her shoulders, and the gussets in this blanket do the trick! I live in Colorado where temperatures dip into the single digits, and at times below zero. The neck piece and blanket keep her warm and prevent her from growing too much hair, which I want to avoid. Both have been very durable, and I like the black color on my chestnut mare!
    Date published: 2014-01-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from He likes It! My horse has blanket issues--he doesn't like to have them put on. I don't know if the fit isn't right, or he doesn't like the front fit. This deluxe turnout blanket fit iswonderful. I say that because he gave me no hassle whatsoever. The shoulder gussets and the front closure adjustments are the reasons for the purchase ( as well as our Michigan weather lately). So far, so good.
    Date published: 2014-01-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sturdy quality turnout I bought this blanket to replace another blanket that I loved but ripped. Being I board, I don't get to check on my horse every day and need something that fits well and doesn't pull or rub. I put this on him and didn't see him again for 6 days during some of the coldest weather. Blanket stayed in place, fit well, and showed no signs of wear though I know he gets picked on from time to time, there wasn't a bite mark to be seen. I was very impressed with the quality of the hardware on this blanket, and love the leg straps.
    Date published: 2014-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Quality, Looks Great I have never blanketed my horse before, but this year it was needed (temps dropped in the -30 range several times---yikes!). After researching the many options, I decided to try this blanket. I am VERY pleased! It is waterproof, durable, and the straps fasten easily, which is a big plus when you're trying to blanket a horse while wearing gloves. The straps are attached well, and I even caught my horse rolling while wearing it...no damage was done. I am very happy with this SmartPak Deluxe Turnout Blanket.
    Date published: 2014-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Warm Quarter Horse Buffalo is known for it's cold snowy winters but it has never ( as long as I've had my horse) been this cold. I wanted a warm blanket for my 20 year old quarter horse. I had been doubling up 2 medium weight blankets but wanted him to have a nice warm blanket. The blanket is very attractive, love the front buckles & the way it fits him. He has high withers & can be hard to fit. This blanket is perfect !
    Date published: 2014-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit, style and value I have always been a big fan of the house brand blanket from a major catalog retailer because of the quality, price and consistent true-to-size fit across the entire product line. When my horse needed a new midweight blanket at the beginning of this season, I compared features and price and decided to try the SmartPak brand. I am really, really pleased. The SmartPak blanket is beautifully made. I especially like the front closures that give you lots of adjustment for different size shoulders, neck, etc. The quick snaps make it easy to take on and off without pulling the blanket over his head (he hates that). And the really deep shoulder gussets give my horse plenty of freedom to move around, lie down, etc. It doesn't seem to restrict him at all. I was worried about the size, as I've had issues with other brands. My gelding measures 80", so I ordered the 81 and it's perfect. I can cinch it up in front and still have plenty of coverage behind. One big factor that swayed me to try this blanket is the free return shipping. I knew there wouldn't be any cost or hassle if the blanket didn't fit or wasn't as nice as described. So far it has met every expectation, and I've also purchased a heavy weight version. Definitely recommend.
    Date published: 2014-01-27
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor quality I bought this blanket a year ago for my 25 year old. The rainproofing didn't last long. To prevent my horse from getting wet while wearing the blanket I have to add a cooler. This way the moisture gets trapped between the two blankets. One of the front snaps doesn't open and close correctly anymore and always needs some fiddling around with. This has been the most expensive rain blanket I have purchased and I must say that Tractor supply carries a better quality one. That one kept up for years. The piping is also coming apart and there are no other horses to bother around with his blanket.
    Date published: 2014-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from VERY waterproof! I went out to the barn last week in the heaviest rain I've ever seen to find that my horse's stall door had blown shut and locked him outside in the elements. When I went out in the rain to bring him in, my own waterproof jacket soaked through because of the sheeting rain. He had been out in the rain for much longer, so I expected him to be wet underneath his blanket, but he wasn't! Despite the heavy rain, this blanket kept him warm and dry. It's also held up very well, and is in perfect condition aside from being covered in mud. I would definitely purchase it again!
    Date published: 2014-01-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Rain-proof! Have been using this turnout rug for about a month now. It seems to be absolutely waterproof--my rain-loathing mare seems much less grumpy on rainy/snowy days--and although labeled as "medium" it seems very well insulated (snow just piled up on top on one snowy day--the cupcake look! ). So far it has held up well, still looks nearly new (but she's easy on her blankets). I wish it had a little more room (shaping, actually) over the withers; her withers are very long, but not exceptionally high (TBxMorgan) so I would think TBs and Saddlebreds might not fit this one as well.
    Date published: 2014-01-18
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor Durability I bought this for a 30 year old retiree.  It made it 3 days before the piping started coming undone in places all over the blanket.  It made it 2 weeks before the hooks and velcro for the neck attachment completely broke (the material attaching it to the blanket broke). Two weeks after that the blanket lining got rips in it. This horse is not hard on his blankets at all and his turnout buddies had muzzles on at the time so it's not possible that another horse pulled it.  Even if that had happened I'd expect it to not fall apart so easily. I had the same trouble with the neck cover ripping.  Between the neck cover and the blanket, I have no way of attaching the cover to the blanket without taking it in to be repaired.  I'll be paying the extra money and sticking with Rambos because I know they last longer than a month.  
    Date published: 2014-02-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A good rain sheet for those pesky rainstorms. I purchased the no fill option for my acrobatic 2 year old. It stays in place nicely, and I especially like the front gussets, they are long and give a lot freedom of movement. The only downside were the leg straps, the buckle slips too easily making them too long on occasion.
    Date published: 2014-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good fit and quality I bought this in a size 81 for a 16.1 QH and it fits him great. He has stayed warm and dry during some hard New England weather. One of the leg straps had a buckle that was broke and Smart Pack sent a replacement right away.
    Date published: 2014-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome blanket! I bought this turnout sheet (no fill) when I lived in Virginia and my horse lived out 24/7. It's now on its third winter and it's still in great shape. I live in the desert now, but the sheet is still waterproof for our occasional snow days. My horse is a fairly destructive gelding turned out with 4 other geldings, and I'm really happy with this sheet's durability. Also, I LOVE the front clips. If my horse gets bored he will undo chest surcingles or regular buckles, and then run around with his blanket only attached around his stomach. But he hasn't been able to undo these clips, thank goodness. Will definitely be buying more Smartpak brand blankets in the future.
    Date published: 2014-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very handsome blanket I bought this turnout a  month ago for my 16.3 TB/Belgian gelding.  His previous was an 82", but as this blanket comes in 3" increments, I ordered an 84 with the assurance that I could return it with free shipping if it was too large. The fit is great through the shoulders, no rubs.  It's a little baggy in the rear, but it's stayed in place though my boy lives outside in a hilly pasture with a run-in shelter.  Good quality, easy to use hardware and nice sturdy fabric, good waterproofing.  The medium weight is perfect for most of our nights (low 20's), and it layered well with a fleece for our recent single-digit cold snap.The binding on a bit of trim unraveled right away, but this is a minor point.  Overall, I'm very pleased with this product, a very good value for the price.  Love the free shipping both ways!
    Date published: 2014-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket!! I have trouble getting blankets to fit my horse. He is on the larger size 16.3 and built like a draft. The blanket fit him perfectly and is very durable. 
    Date published: 2014-01-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Nice I purchased the mid-weight blanket last summer when it was on sale and I'm so glad I did. When the cold weather hit it was nice to have the perfect blanket to keep my, size 84, princess warm and dry. The buckles and straps are all very adjustable and the material is sturdy. A bonus was the neck cover rings were in the perfect places and worked out old neck cover (different brand). Although, I would have liked and inch or two more drop on the sides, otherwise it is perfect.
    Date published: 2014-01-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Like Amigo blankets better I tried this on my Arabian mare, the lite weight. Like the mesh lining. I like the Amigo 1200 D Bravo WUG better for her, they fit so well and movement in them is better, easy to put on her quickly with no complications; so I'm exchanging this and getting the comprable Lite weight in the Amigo 1200D Bravo 12 Turnout(rainsheet).Love the tail straps in place of leg straps, SO much easier and simpler and the blanket stays in place perfectly. If it does shift, it only shifts a tiny bit. 
    Date published: 2013-12-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not the durability I expected Two of my horses have this blanket. One for two seasons (with little time in harsh weather) and the other in private turn out. I'm disappointed at how the durability of both of them have held up. The waterproofing is essentially non existent at this point, and even the mare in private turnout, that is gentle on blankets, is missing buckles and straps. I was hoping that there was some sort of warranty on them, but it turns out that there is none. This blanket might be okay for a horse that is extremely gentle with blankets and never sees the elements, otherwise I would suggest getting something else.
    Date published: 2013-12-18
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.