Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

SmartPak Deluxe Turnout Blanket

SmartPak
- Item #17376
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Designed for superior fit with uncompromising quality and construction. 

The SmartPak Deluxe Turnout Blanket is a barn favorite. Designed to keep your horse warm and dry in the cold weather with a generous shoulder gusset to allow shoulder movement. Your horse will love this blanket! Imported.

Favorite Features

  • Waterproof
  • 1200 denier breathable nylon outer shell is breathable
  • Lite - No Fill, Medium - 220g or Heavy - 360g
  • Nylon lining
  • Two low-cross surcingles keep the blanket secure on your horse
  • Quick-clip front closures are easily adjustable for easy on and off
  • Nylon/elastic leg straps allow freedom of movement and keep the blanket from shifting
  • Tail flap provides additional protection from the elements so your horse stays warm and dry
  • Fleece wither protection to guard against rubs

Matching SmartPak Deluxe Neck Rug also available.

Sizing It Up

Available in size 69-87" (3" increments)

How to measure a horse

Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing ability.

Turnouts, Sheets and Blankets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Deluxe Turnout Blanket is rated 4.4911 out of 5 by 281.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from excellent turnout blanket I bought this a month ago for my 16YO OTTB. It fits him perfectly. Keeps him warm and looks great. Excellent quality.
    Date published: 2015-01-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality is in the details This blanket is true to size, fits great, and is complete with the easiest chest buckles. I love them. I had it embroidered with my farm name - complete quality there. I am impressed with the quality of stitching, overall appearance and durability. I have received many compliments at the barn. Great blanket. It is pricey, but any heavy turnout will be.
    Date published: 2015-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket for the price My boy only goes out with one other horse and they like to rough house. Sadly he came in with a large L shaped rip from them nipping each other and I had to stitch the blanket back up. Also the white cording on the tail flap has started to bunch up. I really wish these blankets had the 10 year like the ultimate does, I would of bought the ultimate but it doesn't come in heavy weight. :( Overall, I still really like this blanket and the features it has.
    Date published: 2015-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value I have used for 1 month blanket is excellant !!!!!!
    Date published: 2015-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from handsome! Very handsome, good fit, looks like it will hold up.
    Date published: 2015-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket This is one of the nicest blankets I've purchased. It has stayed amazingly clean. We just hit a particularly cold snap, and this blanket has kept our horse nice and warm.
    Date published: 2015-01-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mesh lining in the light weight I ordered this blanket in a 84 light weight for my 4 year old 16 hand quarter horse and I was a little disappointed when I opened up the packaging.. The description states that these blankets have nylon lining.. The light weight has MESH lining! I did not want mesh lining. I expected it to have nylon lining because I bought a SmartPak Classic turnout blanket 2 years ago in a smaller size and it has nylon lining. Other than the mesh lining.. This blanket is beautiful, I think it fits great, and it's very good quality. I love the quick-clip front closures for easy on and off.
    Date published: 2015-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Quality Blanket Extremely well made and durable. I have horses that are rough on their blankets and this one is holding up!!
    Date published: 2015-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartPak Deluxe Turnout Blanket : DURABLE This is the second SP Turnout I have purchased, the quality is excellent and this balnket is durable. I have 2 horses that are turned out as they please, these blankets are warm, in particular I like the hood attachements that go with them, and I love the fact they have the leg straps that you can replace every year. they clean well and look good!!
    Date published: 2015-01-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well constructed turnout I was happy with the construction of this turnout. It appears to be very sturdy. The shoulder gussets are substantial enough to allow full freedom of movement. I haven't had it long so can't speak to durability, but I expect it to hold up very well.
    Date published: 2015-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great waterproof turnout I bought this turnout with no fill to keep my pasture-boarded horse dry and relatively clean. I've had it for six weeks now and he's worn it pretty much 24/7 since there's been a lot of rain. He has always remained dry and clean under the sheet. Some rain will creep down his chest/shoulders, but that may be because I have it a little loose up front so it can go around his huge Norwegian Fjord neck comfortably.He has his own pasture so I don't know how the turnout would hold up with buddies biting at it, but it's a very tough material and I suspect it would take a lot of damage before tearing. The front snaps are really convenient as you can set the straps to the correct length, then just snap/unsnap them. I haven't had a problem with the sheet moving or slipping at all. Overall, I'm very happy and will likely purchase another so I can have a spare.
    Date published: 2015-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Turnout is great Quality. As expected from SmartPak, they have done it again. The seams are strong. Buckles are tight. The weight is exactly as it was listed. This is my third horse wearing this. And the embroidery is beautiful.
    Date published: 2015-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I am really glad I made this purchase. I've been looking for a quality turnout and this is it.
    Date published: 2015-01-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from extra fill for warmth, easy close front, waterproo daughter is happy with blanket horse even happier because he needed a new one
    Date published: 2015-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome blanket! My Morgan mare is 33 years old and I got the heavy blanket. It's extremely warm, very tough and has great features. I did not get the hood yet, but it's nice to know I can attach one whenever I want to!
    Date published: 2015-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice hardware I bought this a few weeks ago and I love the blanket, fits my thoroughbred great! Love that it has easy buckles and neck piece rings.
    Date published: 2014-12-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good blanket, good price I actually wanted another blanket, but it was out of stock so I bought the SmartPak Deluxe turnout. It arrived exactly as described. I would say that it runs true to size. I like the fact that there are both buckles and clips on the front - it helps to keep it closed! So far, so good. I gave this product 4 stars b/c I've only had it for about a month, and I'm not sure how it will wear over time.
    Date published: 2014-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well made turnout This was bought for my gelding who never needed to be blanketed before. Sizing was easy and it's upholding to the mud we have.
    Date published: 2014-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent blanket!!! I love this blanket. It fits perfect and keeps my mare, Ally Cat, cozy warm. Remember to measure your horse. I ordered an inch bigger b/c she was a half size. I love the quick clips on the chest. The delivery was the exact day Smart Pak said the blanket would arrive. Thanks Smart Pak!!!
    Date published: 2014-12-25
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not as advertised I ordered the lite in this blanket. I called to make sure the lining was nylon as stated in the product description. I was assured it was nylon, not mesh for the lite. I even double checked as there did seem to be some confusion. Of course when I received it, it was a mesh lining over the back with nylon on the sides. I have told smartpak to change the description, but they have not. it is a mesh lining - it may be nylon mesh, but it is NOT solid nylon and sending it back has taken a month. I think otherwise it looked like a very good sheet, but not as advertised.
    Date published: 2014-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fit I bought this blanket for my Arabian to wear for turnout. It fits him great and does not rub or shift. Make sure you get any embroidery on the belly strap and not the hip because any punctures in will compromise the waterproofing of the blanket. Overall great value for the money
    Date published: 2014-12-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Quality! I am very satisfied with the quality of this product. I ordered one for each of my two horses and am very satisfied with the customer service I received.
    Date published: 2014-12-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful blanket I'm in the market for new blankets for my horse this winter. I bought a SmartPak Classic blanket, which I love, so I thought I'd try a Deluxe because I also wanted a 1200D. While the Deluxe is a beautiful, well made blanket, it did not fit my horse. She has a very bony point of shoulder. If I adjusted the front to give her shoulder enough room, the blanket gaped away from her neck. If I adjusted it so that it fit along her neck, then it was too tight across her shoulder. Sadly I returned it. But this would be a great blanket for a horse with different conformation.
    Date published: 2014-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome blanket! This blanket has been great so far for my horse. I did have to exchange for a smaller size than what my horse ususally wears, but the smaller one fits him beautifully! He has pretty high withers, but most of the high neck ones I've tried in the past just end up rubbing his mane out. This blanket fits him great and doesn't do that at all! And the black looks beautiful on my (very white) grey horse!
    Date published: 2014-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality blanket for price Well made and quality hardware. Super blanket for the price !
    Date published: 2014-12-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from An ok extra to have in the barn I was looking for a rain sheet and heard good things about SmartPak blankets, so I decided on this one. It is ok, but does not wear as well as I would like. It is true to size. It looks like the perfect fit, but I've tried the front buckles in different adjustments and the blanket still slips back. It leaves leaving a mark around my pony's neck. It may just be the way she is built, but I am not sure I would get another one.Seems to be good quality, but I've only had the sheet about a month, so I can't speak to the durability.
    Date published: 2014-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love smartpak blankets! This is my third smartpak blanket (I have a classic style lightweight, and a heavy weight stable blanket). I've been impressed with the quality and fit of the other blankets. I've previously had other heavy weights twist and not stay put, but I've not had that problem at all with the Deluxe Heavy Weight turnout. Hood attaches nicely and I expect this to last awhile (I just want to add I have a mare who is not hard on blankets)
    Date published: 2014-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SmartPak Deluxe Turnout Blanket I've ordered a few of these blankets and as always this one was no disappointment. They are well built, extremely good fit on my multiple horses, and very good looking. I love SmartPak and buy nearly all of my stuff from them.
    Date published: 2014-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fit! I have a 16.2 TB and it fits him perfectly. This is a very pretty blanket and very durable.
    Date published: 2014-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great blanket! Love this blanket! Fit is great. Quality is great!
    Date published: 2014-11-24
    • 2015-02-28T07:17CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_23, tr_258
    • loc_en_US, sid_7376, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.